Peter de Villiers

Former Springbok coach Peter de Villiers was a guest speaker at an event where a group of supporters burned a Springbok jersey out of protest last week.

A new organisation, Supporters Against Racist Rugby Associations (Sarra), was officially launched in Mossel Bay last Friday, where the group burned a Springbok rugby jersey.

The group wants to see more players of colour in the Springbok team and feels not enough is being done to speed up the transformation process in South African rugby.

De Villiers, 58, attended the event as guest speaker.

De Villiers, who coached the Springboks between 2008 and 2011, has made headlines over the past few weeks for his scathing criticism of current national coach Heyneke Meyer.

He feels Meyer is not giving enough black players the opportunity to prove their worth and wrote in a column that the current Bok coach “underestimated the intelligence of black people with a dishonest selection”.

He has also said that Meyer has taken South African rugby “into the gutters”.

De Villiers will work as a rugby pundit for the SABC during this year’s Rugby World Cup.

The 2015 Rugby World Cup, to be staged in England and Wales, runs from 18 September until 31 October.

rugby365

157 Responses to Snormonster attends burning of Springbok jersey event

59 @ Ben-die-Bul:
    Dis 9 as mens Damian de Allende as gekleurd tel… hehehe

Dis omtrent 30% van die squad.

Ek dink daai ou het meer europese bloed in hom as ons.

@ MacroPolo:
    Janee, die Madeira bloed loop sterk daar… maar daar’s dalk ‘n klompie Angolese of Mosambieker bloed ook ingemeng, anders sou sy pa ‘n Groentegans of Kaffee-eienaar gewees het… miskien is hy!

De Ellendige Kaffee…

“Clowns to the left of me,
    Jokers to the right, here I am …”

Well, I reckon you don’t have to speculate about DDA:

You can accept that SARU & the Ministry of Sport know the race of every potential Bok contender

Why don’t the journalists just ask SARU or the Minister of Sport about DDA’s classification? I mean, it is a perfectly relevant & topical question & potential answer, isn’t it, if not for the rank and file then most certainly for Cosatu, Sarra, PDiv, HM (& possibly numerous others)? Why should we be left to surmise when there is an official policy. Spell it out, mon …

@ MacroPolo:
    Janee, die Madeira bloed loop sterk daar… maar daar’s dalk ‘n klompie Angolese of Mosambieker bloed ook ingemeng, anders sou sy pa ‘n Groentegans of Kaffee-eienaar gewees het… miskien is hy!

De Ellendige Kaffee…

Sy Pa sê hulle is van Spaanse afkoms

Gunther praat altyd van die Cape Spanish

Ek gee nie om nie hy speel baie goed, beter as Jean en Janneman en hy en Kriel moet saam speel

http://www.netwerk24.com/nuus/politiek/2015-08-16-los-die-ras-toets

De Allende Snr is van Spaanse afkoms. Ek sien in “Die Burger” hy meld dat hy telkens voor sy aftrede by Telkom bevordering geweier is omdat hy kwansuis “te wit is”. Damian is derhalwe beslis nie n “kwota” seleksie nie, hy is uit en uit daar op meriete.

67 @ Pietman:
    So Damian is eintlik “Olé-Olé-Olé de Allende”

Sooooo…if DDA is a “Ole, ole” sort of oke then why isn’t he playing for the Bulls?

Conceited

Ek weet darem nie van Rudy Paige nie, dink jy hy sal die span haal?
    Ek onthou van Cravens in Pretoria, hy was Leeus se kaptein, Jantjies se skakelmaat, skitterende speler tydens daai toernooi gewees.
    Maar ek kan nie saamstem dat hy voor Hougaard moet plek kry nie.

El Torro Torro….se die Paarlse Piet man met die Snorro! Wink

Somehow PdeV looks out of place there with Tony and Cosatu, trying to play the part of a celebrity guest and “expert witness”…it doesn’t suit him, imho. All he manages to achieve is to come across as an aggrieved “suurgat” for being left out in the cold by SA rugby.
    He had his change, he did his country proud, and he should no tend to his rose garden in the valley, instead of this “black like me” victim attitude he is displaying at the moment.

And on a “lighter” note…I may have posted this before so if I have please bear with me…

Chinese Sick Leave – “I no come work”

Wong Chow calls into work and says, “I no come work today, I really sick. Got headache, stomach ache and legs hurt, I no come work…”

The boss says, “You know something, Wong Chow, I really need you today. When I feel sick like you do, I go to my wife and tell her to give me sex. That makes everything better and I go to work…you try that”.

Two hours later Wong Chow calls again. “I do what you say and I feel great…I be at work soon…you got nice house.”

PDV love’s Bok Rugby and everything it stands for. During his tenure as Bok coach he continually emphasised the value of the sport and how it unites the nation.

He would never condone the burning of a Bok jersey.

Who the fark decides what player is a merit selection and who is not…

Was Pierre Spies, Wynand Olivier, Jacqueline Potgieter, Dean Greying etc. merit selections.

Good one! It is a keeper, going to use it at work for some of those professional sick-leavers, we have plenty of them here!

76 @ Jeraldjay:
    That’s just the thing… who decides what is a merit selection… is it the team’s coach or is it a political selection forced by a political pressure group?

My obvious interpretation is that it is the coach’s privilage and prerogative to pick his side… or should be… and to pick his preferred players – not be forced to pick along a colour line and certain colour targets.

When a coach is forced to choose along colour lines, THAT’s when the second term, “Quota” comes into play and where democracy flies right out the window.

So, how do you want it, Jay-walker…. do you want selections forced along politically motivated colour lines… or let’s be blunt – along racially discriminative lines – or do you want selections based on the coach’s prerogative?

I know which process I want… and it does not include political pressure!

76: as jy nou so paar spelers van ander provinsies ook genoem het sou jou argument dalk so bietjie gewig gedra het.

Maar jou naamlysie wys hoe hang jou ‘anti-Bul-bitterbek-pro-PDV-ek-hoop-HM en die Bokke-misluk-totaal’ gestreepte onderbroek uit …..

Wink

I reckon an international coach in a world cup contest will be hard pushed not to field his best players on the da; no coach in that arena wants to throw a match because of deliberately leaving out his best men.
    PdeV was one of them, he went for the win in Dunedin and only brought on Luke 6 minutes before the end in place of Danie Rossouw, and only after Ricky had scored the winning try (much to Cheeky’s disgust). Read that part in PdeV’s book.

Meyer’s squads always consisted of about 30-35% players of colour. Go look at all his touring squads since he took over. Therefor 8/31 would be no surprise. In fact, it is less than the usual 11 or 12 from the past. It is what he put on the paddock, that counts and on that score, he fails miserably.

Merit in SA, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.

BB, for example, had no problem with Kriel starting at centre ahead of the specialist, and in form, Mapoe. But boy, don’t let HM select Kolisi ahead of Coetzee, for example, and you will hear all kind of kak from him.

54 @ gunther:
    PdV has been doing work for the SABC for some time already. Usually as a radio analyst. Also did some work during the recently completed RC.

So, I don’t know why you find it sinister.

“As for some Saru plot to deny him a job how come the Kings have never offered him work?”

Stupid question. It is common knowledge that there was some beef between PdV and Cheeky.

GBS.Personally I don’t care who the coach selects as long as the Boks win.

I coach also wants to win at all costs so won’t choose a white player over a black player if he thinks the latter is weaker.

But SA Rugby dynamic isn’t as that, is it.

Based on Super Rugby form Mapoke should’ve got an opportunity ahead of Kriel at the start of the Championship and Jantjies more game time cause Pollard was looking worse than average.

And HM knew that.

It appears that Lionel Mapoe will not make the squad, because of Zane’s inclusion as utility player. Pity, I would have both of them in my team.
    What happened to Frans Steyn, by the way?

76 @ Jeraldjay:
    Let’s look at the facts, Jay-walker… they speak loudly for themselves.

1. There was a meeting by a group with political motive… Sarra.
    2. Because of the meeting and presumably because of the speeches at this meeting, attendees got so riled up that they burnt a Springbok jersey.
    3. Peter de Villiers was one of the speakers at this meeting.
    4. This meeting is followed up by a Cosatu meeting last night (Wednesday night), and we all know Cosatu is a Politically driven Labour Movement.

Right so far?

5. We have plenty of video footage of the Cosatu meeting… 4 of those videos appear in the comments on this thread above.
    6. Peter de Villiers sits right next to a well-known political activist, Tony Ehrenreich, at the head of the meeting table.
    7. At this Cosatu meeting direct threats of protest and political action against the Springboks are made and Peter de Villiers is OK with it. He does not say, hey don’t do anything against “My Beloved Springboks”… right?

Hope you are still following here… right?

8. Peter de Villiers is once again a Speaker at this meeting, and his speech (as captured on video) and vitriol is full of political motivation (which leads me believe it was like that at the Sarra meeting too, it’s only logical).
    9. In fact he says he can’t support the Springboks but also won’t support any other country… yeah.. he says that about his supposedly beloved Springboks…. mmmm!
    10. During Peter’s speech he wants selections based along colour lines… that much is quite clear.

So, now tell me where is his love for the Springboks?
    Tell me again how and why he won’t condone the burning of a Springbok jersey?

The facts all speak loudly to the contrary!

@ Nama:
    Janee, PdeV het nie Cheeky se nonsens gevat nie, hy het selfs versoek dat Cheeky in ander hotel as die Bokke verblyf soek tydens die NZ Drienasies!

Why is Kirchner all of a sudden a front runner for a spot in the squad. Did not Meyer make a comment along the lines of not taking him to the WC when he selected him for the friendly against Arg. Or did he do enough in that match to convince HM otherwise?

I’ve always been of the opinion that comes crunch time, Meyer will revert to his tried and tested kicking trio of FdP, Morne and Zane. Should take Basson as well to compete for the ball in the air. Happy-Grin

It appears that Lionel Mapoe will not make the squad, because of Zane’s inclusion as utility player. Pity, I would have both of them in my team.
    What happened to Frans Steyn, by the way? @ Nama:
    Wys jou net weer eens, predikante en onderwysers moet maar liewer uit die SA politiek bly, hulle maak net kuk, al van 1948 af!

86 @ Pietman:
    That is interesting, the first time I’ve heard that those two don’t exchange Christmas cards.

Amazed

83 @ Jeraldjay:
    So, now YOU are going to dictate to Heyneke Meyer what MERIT selection is, because of your own interpretation of which player is good or better than another?

Pretty rich from you, dude… let Meyer decide who he deems should merit selection!

Any forced plan to include a NUMBER of players based on ANY COLOUR GROUPING (whether they be black, coloured or white), is a politically engineered result and is nothing else but a form of racial pressure and racial discrimination.

P-Divvie is trying to achieve this…. this abomination of racial engineering!

So fuck him, big time!

Total 18 users including 0 member, 18 guests, 0 bot online