Dillyn Leyds

DHL Western Province coach John Dobson pulled no punches in the wake of his team’s humiliating 29 / 47 loss to the Vodacom Blue Bulls.

The Blue Bulls, having trailed 15 / 16 at halftime and then 15 / 26 early in the 2nd half, went on to score 5 unanswered tries in the last half-hour – culminating in a 2nd-half rout in Pretoria at the weekend.

Dobson, who admitted to being embarrassed by his team’s performance, was particularly incensed at the behaviour of some players after wing Dillyn Leyds scored an intercept try in the 45th minute.

“We scored an intercept try – as the Bulls were about to score themselves – and we celebrated like we had won the game,” an irate Dobson said.

“To me the signs were already on the wall there,” he said of the celebratory dances behind the post, adding: “That was poor behaviour by us.

“If you score a 12-phase try, fair enough. They were about to score.

“That was a 14-point turnaround – it could have been much worse.”

The Province coach felt that no player in his team enhanced his reputation.

“We normally have a man of the match award after the game. We have not awarded one.

“I think it was an embarrassment to Western Province rugby that 2nd half.”

Dobson was full of praise for the table-topping Blue Bulls and their newfound expansive game.

“What I will give them credit for, is when we got the Yellow Card (for Dillyn Leyds taking a man out in the air in the 60th minute), they kept attacking that left-hand side so well,” he said of the touchline where Leyds, a right wing, would normally defend.

“Maybe I should have thought of some plan, but the Yellow Card was a game-changer,” the coach said, adding that he has no problem with the Yellow Card.

He said that once the Blue Bulls got their momentum up, it was very hard to stop them.

“The way they play is good for the Bulls, it is good for the Currie Cup competition and it is good for the game in South Africa.”

Dobson said it is always easier to play an expansive type of game with younger players.

“What I give them credit for is their obvious skills,” he said, adding: “Some of the previous Bulls teams, if they tried to play like that, wouldn’t have had the skills.

“They do have the skills and it was an exceptional performance by them.”

rugby365

58 Responses to Currie Cup: WP – Coach Dobson embarrassed by “Poor Behaviour”

RIP Ian Robertson

Read some comments from Gert Smal today. Besides the new Super rugby coach being announced, there are expected to be more signings and re-signings.

Speaking of extending coaching contracts, how the hell do we still have to put up with Russel Domingo for 2 more years after a contract extention?

How many dropped catches in this series? has our fielding ever been this bad in the last twenty years?

@ MacroPoloInexcusable – not at this level.

I think that is the 15th drop in the 5 games according to SABC

Maybe they were thinking of and visualizing catching and fielding practice at their hotel yesterday after they decided to cancel their practice session as “there is not much more than they could learn in one day”

“Domingo defended the Proteas’ decision to cancel practice on Tuesday morning, a change-up to the schedule that has worked well for the squad in the past.

“We’ve done it before,” he said.

“We did it for a few big World Cup games in Australia but we also have a few niggles at the moment that needed some rest. I don’t think one practice session now is going to make too much difference. We have trained really well in this series, the intensity has been good, we just feel it might be a good time to connect as a team to spend time doing other things than cricket.”
    http://www.sport24.co.za/Cricket/Proteas/Domingo-calls-for-turnaround-performance-20150825

37 @ nortie:
    We all know how well they did in those few big World Cup games don’t we?
    Wonderful thinking by the coach and players

Cant argue with sound logic like that 🙄

Imagine if Dobson was Tahir’s coach….he would blow a foefie valve very time Tahir gets a wicket and starts running like a chicken who had his head chopped off.

That semi-final loss was heartbreaking – a six off the 2nd last ball of the match. Deja vu sucks.
    It could’ve gone either mate.

nortie wrote:

Imagine if Dobson was Tahir’s coach….he would blow a foefie valve very time Tahir gets a wicket and starts running like a chicken who had his head chopped off.

Dobson wont mind it as long as they win.

Hell I bet Dobson would not even have mentioned it if Leyds did not get the yellow card.

again, as I said before, it is very ironic considering how cocky dobson was in the pre match interview, especially thinking that his talented backline will enjoy playing on the Loftus field 😆

He is just disappointed about the loss, the Leyds thing is getting exaggerated in the media.

@ MacroPolo:

I agree that Dobson was pissed off about Leyd’s celebrations and rightly so.

I did not see or watch the game so can’t comment on what Dobson said. Just that they would’ve preferred a dry field rather than a soggy Newlands.

Province have the world of respect for the Bulls 😆

41 @ IAAS:
    The semi wasn’t the only big WC game we played, we didn’t fare too well against any of the decent opposition if I recall, didn’t we lose to India and Pakistan?

42 @ MacroPolo:
    Nee wat, dis tyd dat n coach hierdie windgat celebrations n bietjie aan die bek ruk, dis nie sokker nie.
    Volgende moet hulle bietjie die voorrye en forwards wat so high five as hulle per geluk n lucky packet skrum strafskop kry mekaar high five aan die bek ruk.
    Partykeer loop die span agter op die telbord, maar hulle wil mekaar oopbek soen net omdat hulle nou die ander span terug geskrum het

Did we make the semi-final of the cricket WC? Yes or no?

IAAS wrote:

Did we make the semi-final of the cricket WC? Yes or no?

Yes, I wasn’t aware that making the semi was the goal though

ja nee, ek haat dit ook as die ouens, mekaar wil lek as hule n scrum strafskop kry… en kyk, as dit n groot scrum is waar jy 5 meter teruggeloop het met die teenstanders agv n span poging, maar dis net fuctup om te wil crediet vat vir n 50/50 penalty wat net toevallig in jou guns getel het.

Maar ek moet se, self ek wou Jannie high 5’s gee na daai game teen NZ na al die kak wat hy moes opvreet n week voor die tyd toe julle almal so vir hom gelag het met daai video. Pleasure

49 @ MacroPolo:
    Daar was merit aan die video 😆 en dit was moer snaaks.

Maar na al daai skrum celebrations het ons steeds as verloorders van die veld gestap.
    NZ het mekaar seker lekker in die kleedkamers gehigh five en hulle bier (of deesdae Energade) geniet

It is not as if the Proteas had to just pitch up and win. They are not as naïve as that.

Same applies to the Bokke. You have to put yourself in the position to get to the semi’s. Then anything can happen. And usually does.

Now get behind the Bokke. Half glass and all. 😆

@ IAAS:
    Will be behind them, won’t be picking them on SuperBru though come crunch time

The realist in me keeps drinking from the glass, so it’s difficult for it to stay full 😉

Ja nee ons het die oorlog verloor, maar Jannie is nou amper die meerderheid mense skielik die eerste keuse.

Ek dink mens moet dalk net daai personal battles waardeur, veral as die underdog bo kan uitkom.

@ MacroPolo:
    Dalk het Jake vir hom gese om sy vinger uit te pluk en nie met sy Shark maniere in Frankryk aankom nie 😆

ja nee ek sou ok vinger trek as hulle my dreig om iets soos 150 000 euro terug te betaal.

MacroPolo wrote:

ja nee ek sou ok vinger trek as hulle my dreig om iets soos 150 000 euro terug te betaal.

Ha ha, dis waar daai

Well done to Wayde van Niekerk..world champ and the 4 th fastest 400m in history…fastest 400m ever by a non american.

He put in such an effort that he ended up in hospital… many of our overrated sportsmen can only dream about performances such as this on a true competetive world stage.

robzim wrote:

Well done to Wayde van Niekerk..world champ and the 4 th fastest 400m in history…fastest 400m ever by a non american.
    He put in such an effort that he ended up in hospital… many of our overrated sportsmen can only dream about performances such as this on a true competetive world stage.

excellent, will look out for highlights

Total 30 users including 0 member, 30 guests, 0 bot online