South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (10) 20 / 27 (10) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in Round 2 of The Rugby

Championship at Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT, 12:05 Arg Time,

Sunday 03:05 NZ Time, Sunday 01:05 AEST). This was the live match discussion Article.

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (2)
  • Tries – Willie le Roux (1), Jesse Kriel (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2)

• Penalties – Lima Sopoaga (1)
  • Tries – Ben Smith (1), Dane Coles (1), Richie McCaw (1)
  • Conversions – Lima Sopoaga (3)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
25 July at 17:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger (Captain), 7 Francois Louw, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lionel Mapoe
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Liam Messsam, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ben Franks, 19 Sam Whitelock, 20 Victor Vito, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa

Referee: Jérôme Garcès
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite, Leighton Hodges
TMO: Graham Hughes

441 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

As an aside….I’m somewhat disappointed that Pollaerd didn’t at least attempt a couple of drop kicks.

These are the type of matches that would warrant him to start getting into that groove, come WC time we have all seen the merits and rewards that a well timed accurate drop kick brings to the table.

It also adds another string to his bow and more importantly, gives the defending opposition something else to also worry about, maybe even allowing the centers an extra couple of seconds to move.

It’s a mindset that he must now start mastering for it to become second nature during the tight WC matches, but he needs to have started doing it already

I agree there were one or two cases where he could have gone for it… That said we had a few penalty chances at goal and didnt take them.

I must say though, id still like to see the 10 12 13 combo stick together, pollard needs to get his tactical kicking right but no better place than a match situation.

Our goals for now should be fitness and the hope that some okes can come back from injury and strengthen our bench which is by fae our biggest weakness.

I also think its ridiculous for people to shit themselves because if any kick we make is not farking brilliant because then we are just “kicking the ball away” there is no way on earth where every kick cant be amazing, some credit has to be given to the oposition for their ability to position themselves to field those kicks, infact we kicked less than the all blacks who also take into consideration that it is impossible to run everything the entire game, even aaron smiths kicks arnt 100% brilliant everytime but sometimes they gove his team a chance, and thats what rugby is about… Ruan pienaars one up and under led to a try.

@ MacroPolo:
    I agree, I also like our current 10,12,13 axis…but we know it’s injury enforced at the moment.

We will have to wait and see what HM plans if and when his first choice players are fit and available.

Regarding the fitness, that is a major concern, and even if he works the players hard in these next two weeks, it’s not as if Aus and NZ will be sitting back doing nothing…so if they also continue working their players hard, we will still be behind the eight ball

Sorry, typo, meant the next two months not two weeks

There was one or two cases where pienaar pucjed the ball up and all the players were standing around him without anyone running onto the ball where pienaar was slow, but i think he can hold his head high, none of our 9s wpuld have been even close to as good as good as he was yesterday.

MacroPolo wrote:

There was one or two cases where pienaar pucjed the ball up and all the players were standing around him without anyone running onto the ball where pienaar was slow, but i think he can hold his head high, none of our 9s wpuld have been even close to as good as good as he was yesterday.

From JC after the match…..

“Furthermore, having had the benefit of seeing the entire picture (TV follows the ball only), there were numerous incidence of a poor decision-making in terms of the direction the play went. Ruan Pienaar was chief culprit in this regard. A player of his experience cannot be shielded from this type of criticism. Gone is the dynamic and exciting player that captured our imagination in his early career, replaced with a robotic impostor. So sad.”

http://www.sarugbymag.co.za/blog/details/bok-attack-fails-to-inspire

Wonder of Fikele al aan bal gevat het in sy lewe…

Natuurlik ja boet, seker elke dag, maar dis net sy eie twee flokken ballas.
    Bully Caveman

At last….something exciting happened at a bicycle race 🙄

TDF (File)
    Related Links
    Doping suspicions worthwhile – Froome
    Alps favour us, says Quintana
    Ill Froome ‘died a thousand deaths’

Paris – Police opened fire at a car which drove through barriers set up for the final stage of the Tour de France in central Paris on Sunday but said it appeared to be a minor incident.

The driver escaped after refusing to obey police near the Place de la Concorde, Paris police said.

“This is a minor incident. It wasn’t aimed at the Tour de France, it’s not terrorism, it’s just a simple refusal to comply, as there are many every day,” a police official told Reuters.

Hundreds of thousands of people were expected to gather in the Place de la Concorde and along Champs Elysees avenue for the final leg of the Tour de France later in the day.

428 @ nortie:
    The biggest peeve i had about our general play (now you can blame whoever, van Graan, Meyer, Matfield or Jan van Riebeeck), is that often when we have players running off 9 the forwards get the ball from a standing position. It happens too often when there would be 5 guys standing STILL next to pienaar waiting for the ball, this is where some of his hesitance come from (I feel), because he knows it is not a practical play to pass to those players.

In contrast Aaron Smith is able to give those long flat passes because his forwards are running into the ball with speed and momentum.

“However, the bad far outweighed the good. Had the Springboks taken even half of the try-scoring opportunities they created, they and their supporters would have been celebrating a famous win, rather than lamenting another defeat to their traditional rivals.”

Confusing article, he is trying to show how impotent the bok attack is, but then here is saying that we are creating opportunities but not converting them… I can agree with that, it is up to the bok management to try and change something clear to everyone all year in superrugby.

het vandag eers die game gekyk,net n simpel vraag…..het makou wettiglik by daai lynstaan aangesluit en kan mens by n lynstaan aansluit NADAT dit reeds gevorm is????

smallies wrote:

het vandag eers die game gekyk,net n simpel vraag…..het makou wettiglik by daai lynstaan aangesluit en kan mens by n lynstaan aansluit NADAT dit reeds gevorm is????

HA goeie vraag!

@ MacroPolo:
    my opvolg vraag is nou,was dit n drie of was dit n strafskop vir die bokke,en het daai fransman nie dalk n reuse fout gemaak nie????

@ smallies:
    Ek dink ongelukkig met ons eerste drie was bissie myle onkant, toe pienaar geskop het het bissie vorentoe gedraf, en ek dink nie hy mag nie, want sy tackle het tot die drie gely.

smallies wrote:

Presies dieselfde vraag het onmiddellik by my opgekom toe hy van buite die lynstaan soos n ekstra skrumskakel in die lynstaangaping inhol en gaan druk !!
    Maar ek was te bang om te vra en my onkunde oor lynstaanreels hier te ontbloot …
    Nou te laat! Weary

nortie wrote:

At last….something exciting happened at a bicycle race

In winning the TdF Chris Froome did not only have to beat all the best cyclists in the world but also the French spectators who threw urine at and spat on him during the race.

Unlike in most other sports the riders have zero protection from crazy fans and haters who wait for them especially when they race up the massive climbs of the Alps and Pyrenees.

No wonder Froome told Roger Federer ( tongue in the cheek) to “harden up” when he nearly blew a gasket when a fan tried to take a selfie with him while he was practicing.

Is it time for Jdv to pull out of the race for the WC…I think so…

cane wrote:

Here’s something to get you all into the mood.

It must be played at MAX volume.

The Black Keys / Gold on the Ceiling.

Something for us all …………………………..whatever side you shoot for.

Brumbie Boy even makes a guest appearance at about the 0.40 minute mark.

Bwahahahahaha Overjoy watching it at work now (but without sound) and you could be right…the resemblance is remarkable!!!

Devilish

Refers to #33

Total 20 users including 0 member, 20 guests, 0 bot online