Victor Matfield

Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke named Jurgen Visser at fullback in his team to play the Brumbies at GIO Stadium in Canberra on Friday. Visser will replace Jesse Kriel who has been named on the bench for this match, the 1st of 2 on Australian soil for the Vodacom Bulls in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition.

Visser joined the squad on Monday in place of injured Jan Serfontein and with Kriel recovering from a knee contusion, Ludeke opted for the 30 times capped fullback to start. This will be a 1st start at fullback for Visser since the opening week in February against the DHL Stormers.

Serfontein has been replaced by Burger Odendaal in the midfield.

In the pack, there is a return for Adriaan Strauss, who was rested last weekend, with Callie Visagie moving to the bench, as well as a 1st start on tour for Grant Hattingh, who replaces Victor Matfield at lock. Matfield is rested according to the SARU agreement.

Dean Greyling rotates with Trevor Nyakane at loosehead prop and Arno Botha swops places with Jacques du Plessis at the side of the scrum in the other change to the pack.

“We are well aware of the threat the Brumbies pose in many positions, so realise that we will have to play to our full potential if we want to succeed in Canberra,” Ludeke said.

“The changes in the team are all within the squad set-up. Jurgen has played for us many times and will slot in with ease, while Burger showed his worth earlier in the season. We know that we need log points if we want this season to still mean something to us and the team will be going out there determined to achieve what we set out at the beginning of the season.”

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (Captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van de Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Dean Greyling
Replacements: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Jacques du Plessis, 20 Lappies Labuschagne, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 Travis Ismaiel, 23 Jesse Kriel.

Date: Friday 29 May
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-Off: 11:40 SA Time (19:40 AEST, 21:40 NZ Time, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Rohan Hoffmann, Ed Martin
TMO: Ian Smith

21 Responses to Super Rugby: Bulls – Matfield rested, replaced by Hattingh

Hugely, hugely disappointing team selection!

A loss is in the offing!

With both teams still in contention for a playoff position I am trying to convince myself that there is absolutely nothing sinister WRT (especially) referee appointments for this weekend.

A fairly similar scenario exists for the Ellis Park game as well and I really believe that “neutral” referees should be appointed.

They have Van der Westhuizen, you have Rohan Hoffmann.

Seems fair to me 😆

Ja-ja, but Hoffmann doesn’t have the whistle…

Weary

Oh well, maybe he can find a new place to stick his flag!

Weren’t the Aus commentators singing vd Westhuizen’s praises during the game last week?

I just get the feeling that the Bulls selectors have decided to “tank” this one and hope to finish strong, setting themselves up for a good couple of SA games when they get home.

Maybe I’m wrong that is just the impression that I get.

Stormersboy wrote:

I just get the feeling that the Bulls selectors have decided to “tank” this one and hope to finish strong, setting themselves up for a good couple of SA games when they get home.

You’re wrong, they’re not losing as if it’s some grand design or strategy by Frans

They’re simply kak

A good article by Keo

I love Bakkies must have memorised it word for word by now? 😛

http://www.sarugbymag.co.za/blog/details/bakkies-is-a-rugby-legend

Victoriabok wrote:

A good article by Keo
    I love Bakkies must have memorised it word for word by now?
    http://www.sarugbymag.co.za/blog/details/bakkies-is-a-rugby-legend

I am almost as big a fan of the player. Legend indeed!

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

A fairly similar scenario exists for the Ellis Park game as well and I really believe that “neutral” referees should be appointed.

Nigel Owens

Victoriabok wrote:

Stormersboy wrote:
    You’re wrong, they’re not losing as if it’s some grand design or strategy by Frans
    They’re simply kak

LOL I am talking about the team selection for this game. They are unlikely to win based on some of the previous results, and given that he owes some players a rest, may as well be this game.

Stormersboy wrote:

Motivation to win the one sa game we have against the cheetahs?

As ridiculous it is and with the bulls board we are dealing with you could still be right.

Stormersboy wrote:

I am almost as big a fan of the player. Legend indeed!

Bakkies is a Yster

I have to get my bru picks in soon.

Remind me, who are the Bulls losing to this weekend? 🙄

“…Arriving in Canberra as a hefty lad with a soft-spot for ham and pineapple pizza back in 2003…”

Thelo would be proud of him…

Delicious

http://www.brumbies.com.au/News/Article/tabid/1213/ArticleID/15351/Alexander-re-signs-ahead-of-Bulls-clash.aspx

Spies selected again?

nortie wrote:

Seems fair to me 😆

It’s whom saru favours actually 😉

Victoriabok wrote:

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

Nigel Owens

Hi VicBok nope he will be taking centre stage on Saturday in a far bigger game in Belfast.

6 @ Stormersboy:
    And here I am having them to lose by 18…only. You think I’ve underscored myself?

19 @ Nama:
    Hi Nama that’s a bit harsh on the Brumbies but thanks for your vote of confidence in us Bulls. GO BULLS! Approve

@ Nama:
    Phew 18 points is a lot in stornmers pointz. For the rest of the world thats like a 50 point difference.

Total 45 users including 0 member, 45 guests, 0 bot online