Francois Steyn

SANZAR, the controlling body for Southern Hemisphere rugby, moved swiftly to defuse the storm that erupted in the wake of Springbok Francois Steyn’s 5-week ban.

A SANZAR appeals committee – chaired by Terry Willis (Australia), who was assisted by Nigel Hampton (New Zealand) and Robert Stelzner (South Africa) – slapped the ban on the Sharks utility back after a hearing earlier this week.

Steyn, who was Red-Carded for his lifting tackle on Aaron Cruden in the Sharks’ 12 / 11 win over the Chiefs on 21 March, was cleared by South African judicial officer Jannie Lubbe at the original hearing on 23 Match. He also expunged Steyn’s Red Card.

However, SANZAR felt strongly about the message sent out by the result of the original hearing and appealed.

That hearing, which took place on Tuesday this week, found Steyn guilty and suspended him up to, and including 3 May.

In reaction to the fall-out to their appeal and subsequent ban of Steyn, SANZAR said they felt Lubbe made a ‘clear error of fact and law’.

The public outcry aimed at SANZAR hinted at ‘inconsistency’ in how SANZAR treat South African players – when compared to their New Zealand and Australian counterparts.

The 2 Sharks players – captain Bismarck du Plessis (4 weeks for kicking an opponent) and Steyn (5 weeks after the SANZAR appeal) – were both handed substantial bans in the wake of the spiteful encounter.

Yet 2 Chiefs players – Liam Messam (guilty of choking an opponent, but not banned) and Hikawera Elliot (1 week ban for dangerously charging into the back of an opponent) – got off with proverbial slaps on the wrist.

However, SANZAR said they are all “very different” cases.

SANZAR also provided a briefing of the reasons behind the decision to appeal and subsequently ban of Steyn.

“Under World Rugby Regulation 17 the tournament organiser has a right of appeal,” a SANZAR spokesman said.

“As a result, SANZAR has this right in its own rules.

“The right of appeal will only rarely be exercised as there is a threshold that must be met. SANZAR cannot appeal simply because it doesn’t like a particular decision or because SANZAR would have imposed a different sanction than the judicial officer had SANZAR been the decision maker hearing the case.

“The onus is on SANZAR to prove that the judicial officer made a CLEAR ERROR OF FACT OR LAW in reaching his decision and therefore the decision was wrong.

“What differentiated this case from others is that the judicial officer ruled that there was no foul play, that the referee had made an incorrect decision in issuing a Red Card and that the Red Card should be expunged from the player’s record.

“In SANZAR’s view, he made CLEAR ERRORS both of FACT AND LAW in making the findings he did and the judicial officer’s decision would cause real doubt as to how these type of tackles should be treated by referees, citing commissioners, judicial officers and ultimately those playing and coaching the game.

“Player safety is paramount. Tip tackles in breach of Law 10.4(j) have a high risk of serious – or even catastrophic – injury and need to be eradicated from the game.

“For this reason, having considered all the evidence, SANZAR reached a view that the original decision by the judicial officer was wrong and SANZAR exercised its right of appeal.

“The appeal committee consisted of 3 highly qualified and very experienced Judicial Personnel (1 from each SANZAR country).”

SANZAR also said the appeal committee’s full written decision will be available in the coming days and this will provide the full rationale for the decision it has reached.

rugby365

65 Responses to Super Rugby: SANZAR says Lubbe was WRONG

At least this goes some way to explain why they appealed this case and not the Liam Messam one, so it would have been better for Frans if the judge said to him you have been a naughty boy but its ok we will not give you a ban – like they did with Messam. That way surely the arguement SANZAR are making as to why they appealed would no longer have been valid…

So what happens to Jannie Lubbe, does he get to continue conducting these hearings or does he have to step down? Surely SANZAR have made his position untenable with their statements.
    Interestingly enough in a similar case a while ago up north here Toby Flood got away with it, would be interesting to find the hearing documentation from that one, although I guess that is not SANZAR’s problem.

The Cell C Sharks (vs. Crusaders)

15. SP Marais
    14. Odwa Ndungane
    13. JP Pietersen
    12. Andre Esterhuizen
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    10. Patrick Lambie (Captain)
    9. Cobus Reinach
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. Jean Deysel
    6. Marcell Coetzee
    5. Marco Wentzel
    4. Mouritz Botha
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    2. Kyle Cooper
    1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements
    16. Franco Marais
    17. Thomas du Toit
    18. Matt Stevens
    19. Lubabalo Mtyanda
    20. Renaldo Bothma
    21. Conrad Hoffmann
    22. Fred Zeilinga
    23. Waylon Murray

– See more at: http://www.sharksrugby.co.za/index.php/component/articles/?view=article&id=2842628#sthash.pXk2gfP7.dpuf

Crusaders (vs, Sharks):

Israel Dagg, David Havili, Kieron Fonotia, Ryan Crotty, Nemani Nadolo, Colin Slade, Andy Ellis, Kieran Read (c), Matt Todd, Jordan Taufua, Sam Whitelock, Luke Romano, Nepo Laulala, Ben Funnell, Wyatt Crockett. Reserves: Codie Taylor, Joe Moody, Owen Franks, Jimmy Tupou, Richie McCaw, Mitchell Drummond, Tom Taylor, Nafi Tuitavake.

Chiefs (vs. Blues):

Damian McKenzie, Tom Marshall, Andrew Horrell, Sonny Bill Williams, James Lowe, Aaron Cruden, Augustine Pulu, Michael Leitch, Sam Cane, Liam Messam (c), Brodie Retallick, Matt Symons, Ben Tameifuna, Hika Elliot, Mitchell Graham.

Res: Quentin MacDonald, Siate Tokolahi, Pauliasi Manu, Michael Allardice, Liam Squire, Brad Weber, Anton Lienert-Brown, Bryce Heem.

Saying he made a โ€˜clear error of fact and lawโ€™ – to me equates to them saying he was not competent…

Some things that MIGHT have counted against him.

1) Didn’t plead guilty ( sign of not showing remorse )
    2) Previous disciplinary record ( received a yellow card 2 weeks prior to this tackle and also one last year, think for throwing Kurtley Beale of the Waratahs )

Also, his demeanor after both the red, and especially the yellow against the Stormers, definitely didn’t show remorse as he left the field in both instances.

He needs to have a bit of a look in the mirror and decide whether he wants to continue acting the victim every time he gets penalized or sent off.

Last week, even with the threat of this case hanging over him, he shouted at the ref like a petulant soccer player. When Messam did the same in Durban, there were plenty of people who had a right go at him and questioned his captaincy credentials etc.

Not much has been seen about Steyn’s tirade at the ref though.

Personally I think it’s a blessing in disguise for the Sharks that he is out for 4 weeks, he hasn’t brought anything to their table since his return.

All this talk of “donkey boot” is a bunch of twaddle…..Sias kicked a 60m penalty just two weeks ago, no one is shouting for his inclusion into the national side because of his “donkey boot”

I doubt Steyn kicks further or more accurate than Pollard, or even Lambie.

The Japanese Sharks seem to be using Kings Park as a retirement plan at the moment, not one of Steyn, JPP or Kanko are even close to the best SA players in their positions and are there on reputation alone at this stage, but must be costing the union quite a sum.

@ nortie: a number of you guys have been taking on Nortie recently and there is nothing wrong with that. This site is about opinion and is exactly the reason we’re here. I’ve had the pleasure of recently reading both sides of the curve and both areguments make excellent points. I’m going to side with Nortie here because that’s what my sensibilities tell me. His logic makes good sense(to me) and that is what’s important(to me). Keep disagreeing please. Maybe you’ll even sway us. But don’t denigrate an oke’s opinion. After all, he’s entitled to it and that is exactly what we stand for.

@ Bullscot: Hi boet. I’m watching this one very carefully. I have to state up front; I am no Frans Steyn fan. It has nothing to do with the man’s talent and skill. That’s an unarguable fact. It is about fairness. And I’m not convinced this player is being given a fair deal. The punishment must fit the ‘crime’. That’s all one expects. Question is: does it?

Thanks Tassies…I’ve gotten used to it by now, so it’s cool and to honest, it’s expected as well

We can’t all be blue eyed boys ๐Ÿ˜†

@ nortie: Yes Nortie. All superficially true. But does the sanction fit the ‘crime’? That’s the key question. Not whether he’s fit for the Sharks job or not. Fransie is a talented player no question. Is he in a dodgy space right now? No doubt. Does he deserve fair treatment? Damn right. Under the right management he can be a world beater. I, and many others, have no doubt about that. SA need to manage him properly is all.

Good move by the Sharks to make Pat captain…..should have been done at the start of the SR…..kid has all the makings to be a real leader.

@ nortie: Indeed not. I wont always be agreeing with you but on the cricket issue, I’m right with you. I respect a person who can stick to their principles but simultaneously respect others and concede a point based on a sound argument. We need more not less.

Difficult one this….I thought part of the appeal might have been for SANZAR to show the ref that they back him and thought he made the right decision on the field.

The tackle itself was dangerous, but the extra players did play a part, no doubt.

I really don’t think Frans is helping himself at all at the moment. There are very little positives from him since he walked out from the Boks last year.

His on field demeanor doesn’t portray a happy player, much like Bissie.

His reactions to the two cards don’t show a player that has remorse….even if he doesn’t have remorse for his actions….clapping hands and laughing while leaving your team mates in the lurch doesn’t sit well, he can maybe be remorseful for dropping his mates?

I just don’t know, this is a guy who dropped his Bok team mates on a Tuesday before a test (whether his decision was right or wrong is not my point here) so it seems like he is shown red or yellow and the last thing on his mind is whether his mates will struggle a man down, because his demeanor shows that it’s all about him and how things are against him.

I might be wrong, but that’s the way it seems to me….some p,ayers are truly upset and show it when they get sent off

@ nortie: Absolutely. BdP is not a captains arse. Lambie is the pole opposite. A natural leader. I am not a Sharks man but I have massive respect for their No 10 and a selfish investment for my primary concern – The Boks. He is the man for the job. No question.

Well said pal.Re Norts.I have had some animated debates
    with him re:Frans.
    After all is said and done,and whether he is “going on
    a bit” or not,he is a man who has the courage of his convictions.
    Regards.Rye

@ nortie: Well, I share the exact sentiments. Frans is an extreme talent. He is out of control. If you want the resource then you have to manage the resource. I’m simply not seeing that right now. BAD management. POOR outcome.

@ ryecatcher: Exactly Rye. And the same could be said of yourself. Its why we’re here. Passion. Belief. Conviction. Loyalty. I can go on.

@ ryecatcher:
    Lol, howzit Rye ๐Ÿ˜†

As you will notice, much of what you have said in private has been taken to heart….I have purposely tried not to make derogatory statements about Frans….you see, I even refer to him as Frans or Steyn ๐Ÿ˜†

Just open statements without trying to play the man, just the topic he is involved in

Appreciated pal.Regards.Rye

@ ryecatcher:
    All of the best your side as well.
    Good luck to your Sharks tomorrow

Not tomorrow, but Saturday

Also, while I’m logged on….a big up to Durbanville-Bellville for their win over College Rovers today in Rustenburg.

Good luck in the semis tomorrow against Despatch

@ nortie: I’m thinking about this one. I wish I understood psychology but I don’t. We actually don’t want to lose Fransie’s talent based on a lack of understanding of how to nurture same. It doesn’t come around every day and when it does, use it. I hate to use the word but……..genius is a rarity. Don’t look a gift-horse in the mouth.

Norts.Hi pal.Not a devotee of the Newlands faithful.
    Given(as you state) his immaturity in sardonically
    applauding them,well this is is understandable,given
    the disgusting behaviour displayed towards him from minute one of the game.
    Having said that,and as a rabid Sharks supporter,I have to acknowledge that the Loftus guys are probably the most knowledgeable and fair of a bad lot,closely followed by the Ellis Park–as I knew them-
    crowd.
    But then again,I am “old school”
    Regards.Rye

25 @ Tassies:
    I’m sort of in the other camp at the moment….he was a boy genius, no doubt, but 2007 and 2009 has been a long time ago.
    Except for that one deft offload against the Crusaders last year that lead to a try in the game they won, I struggle to recall any stand out moments from Frans in the last few years.

Bear in mind, SBW makes about 10 of those offloads a game.

I don’t think he is the best in his position whether at 10 or 12 and other players have long since passed him.

He doesn’t kick 55m penalty goals anymore, his defense is solid, but at this stage it’s more of a liability to him and his team, I don’t think he kicks the ball out of hand further than the other players and even as accurate as them…..

I really don’t know if it will be such a big train smash if he isn’t there….Pollard and Lambie (even Zeilinga as we saw on the weekend) are better 10’s than him.

De Allende and Serfontein are both younger and more hungry at center, plus Jean might be back.

At 15, which I don’t think he wants to play, Willie is the incumbent and a guy like Kriel is showing he might be the next in line.

26 @ ryecatcher:
    You are right Rye, but that’s why I compared his sending off at Newlands in front of a “hostile” crowd to Bissie’s sending off at Eden Park.

No way that the Newlands crowd was any more hostile than Eden Park, yet Bissie, also while being jeered by the crowd, didn’t react by clapping hands at them.

You could see he was devastated at being sent off, probably thinking about the effect thereof would have on his team mates. And he must also have been bemused by the yellows, especially the first.

You know I’m no Bissie fan, but if I compare both their reactions under similar circumstances….hostile crowd, harsh cards….then the reaction Frans gave comes a poor second IMO.

Goodnight guys.
    I’m on the road tomorrow so need a good night’s kip.
    Gotta love you guys. Diverse opinions n’all.
    I’m no technophile but I’m massively grateful for 3G technology so that I can continue my banter with you poepols while on my travels. If you think about it, its like a travelling family. “tear drops off cheek”
    did I say that….

Total 38 users including 0 member, 38 guests, 0 bot online