HighlandersBluesHighlanders (24) 30 / 24 (0) Blues (Final Score)

The Highlanders and Blues did battle in Super Rugby at

Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Lima Sapoaga (3)
  • Tries – Malakai Fekitoa (2), Waisake Naholo (1)
  • Conversions – Lima Sapoaga (3)

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – George Moala (1), Patrick Tuipulotu (1), Keven Mealamu (2)
  • Conversions – Dan Bowden (1), Ihaia West (1)

Highlanders
Blues
18 April at 09:35 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Ben Smith (Co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Jason Emery, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu (Co-captain), 7 James Lentjes, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Mark Reddish, 3 Josh Hohneck, 1 Liam Coltman, 1 Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Brendon Edmonds, 18 Pingi Tala’apitaga, 19 Tom Franklin, 20 Dan Pryor, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Marty Banks, 23 Richard Buckman
  • Team: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Pita Ahki, 12 George Moala, 11 Melani Nanai Vai, 10 Dan Bowden, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 James Parsons, 1 Ofa Tu’ungafasi
  • Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Tony Woodcock, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Hayden Triggs, 20 Blake Gibson, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Francis Saili

Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand), Mike Lash (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

48 Responses to Super Rugby: Highlanders vs Blues – Live game Article

Loadshedding here, so I won’t be able to do any score updates in the 1st Half!!

Hello Swanie, welcome on board, sorry if you have been around for a while, just this is first time can recall posting at time I see you.

Landers going well this season. Backing them to win tonight.

Talk is that the blues will try and slow the game down and play a forward orientated game.

McLook wrote:

Landers going well this season. Backing them to win tonight.

Yep, most will have backed the Landers, problem is most backed the Canes as well.
    2/2 for the away teams already this round.
    Still hoping the Landers just sneak this one though

Hi all thought would put an article up that you may find interesting to read before this game kicks off, about WP Nel. Be keen to hear your thoughts, the thread is just below this match thread.

He played last night didn’t he?
    Won huge amounts of scrum penalties, at least in the 1st half that I watched

7 @ nortie:
    Hi nortie yip he did play last night and from the reports did well in the scrums. You seen more of that game than I as I didn’t get to watch it at all. I know the scrums have be a mystery at times but Edinburgh scrum has been quite solid this season, a pity the Dragons coach apparently said Edinburgh were cheating. Sounds just like sour grapes to me.

I updated the WP Nel article adding a great try he scored, really enjoy watching that one Approve

Great try by the Landers….Kiwi’s look so good when counter attacking, using their huge wings.
    Landers 10-0 Blues 12 minutes gone

After 13 min – 10/0 to the Highlanders

8 @ Bullscot:
    I was surprised by the huge margin at the end Bully….big score for a semi.
    Nel was very impressive in the scrum during the part I watched

10 @ nortie:
    Snap you must have posted while I was typing, not watching just looked for a site that was updating the scores online.

Naholo in for try nr 2
    Assisted over the line by the Blues defense

Landers 17-0 Blues

NAThol scoring for the landers.

Great kick by Aaron Smith.

12 @ nortie:
    Great to hear that. I wasn’t so sure how they would go so was even more surprised by the margin of victory. Dragons had beaten Leinster in the PRO12 last week although it was far from a full strength Leinster, but thought even so that would give them confidence against Edinburgh who were hammered at home by Munster in the PRO12 last week. There were quite a few changes to the Edinburgh team and it seemed to work well, I think playing Burleigh at flyhalf instead of the usual centre must have helped a lot. Quite a few of the changes were enforced on Solly with injury, especially in loose forwards where he was without David Denton and the Argentine Tomas Leonardi and young recently capped Scot Hamish Watson who has come on so well this season. In the end they played with captain Coman at number 8 who normally plays flank and on one the flanks they played Stuart McInally who used to be a number 8 but who has been converted to a hooker. Not sure why as to me McInally looks more like a loose forward, seems quite tall and not stocky enough for a front rower.

Do you think Sarries will beat Clermont today?
    I picked them, and went Toulon in the second game

Load shedding here…..according to the schedule it will last until 13:00

19 @ nortie:
    Clermont have been playing quite well and have home advantage but just have a feeling that Sarries could win by a narrow margin. Toulon must be favourites but some of the Leinster players were huge in Ireland winning the 6 Nations and have been rested in their last couple of PRO12 games with it looking like they are focussing more on the European Cup at the moment, that one may just be an upset but I think you were still right in going for Toulon as favourites.

37 min gone still 17/0 to the Highlanders

@ McLook:
    Hi McLook howzit, you have gone quiet do you also have load shedding Pondering

Power finally back on!!

Tried to keep the scores up to date for you through my Phone!

Try Tuipulotu, Blues!

Highlanders 27 / 10 Blues

TMO looking at tackle… a tip-tackle.

Hell, if THAT was a tip-tackle, then I do not know anymore… the man was tackled aal in all less than a foot off the ground… hardly any lift at all as the oke was already parrallel to the ground!!

Travesty!!

Tip-tackle ruled… indeed and a penalty and a Yellow to Joe Wheeler!

Try Keven Mealamu, Blues, under the sticks.

Converted by Dan Bowden.

Highlanders 27 / 17 Blues

Lima Sapoaga slots another penalty for the Landers.

Highlanders 30 / 17 Blues

Total 69 users including 0 member, 69 guests, 0 bot online