Cell C SharksBullsSharks (3) 10 / 17 (8) Bulls (Final Score)

The Cell C Sharks and Vodacom Bulls did battle in Super Rugby at

Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Fred Zeilinga (1)
  • Tries – Marcell Coetzee (1)
  • Conversions – Fred Zeilinga (1)

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (4)
  • Tries – Francois Hougaard (1)

Cell C Sharks
Vodacom Bulls
18 April at 17:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 S’bura Sithole, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Giant Mtyanda, 20 Etienne Oosthuizen, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Lionel Cronje, 23 SP Marais
  • Team: 15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (Captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Dean Greyling
  • Replacements: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Morné Mellett, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Lappies Labuschagne, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Jurgen Visser

Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker

143 Responses to Super Rugby: Cell C Sharks vs Vodacom Bulls – Live Game Article

Don’t say that according to Hondkak that will make his head even more swollen.

seker nou nie almal nie 😉

@ gunther:
    hondkak is a professional internet troll, secretly he has pollard posters all over his house, between bolla conradie and paul ackford.

hmmm

‘n Pollard sandwich?

seker nou nie almal nie
    @ gunther:
    hondkak is a professional internet troll, secretly he has pollard posters all over his house, between bolla conradie and paul ackford.

Daar is seker n plek vir Eben erens……

😛

Pierre is improving week by week but he still lags behind the other 2 (whitely and Vermeulen) in my book. Add into the mix the likelihood that Carr will go and we have an interesting selection problem…..

Agreed, people should not want Spies selected because “at least he is playing better”… Whats counts in Carr’s favor is his successful Springbok tour last year… formwise they are probably on par, Spies maybe slightly ahead… Problem is Whitely and Duane are miles ahead of the rest.

Whitely at 8, Vermeulen at 7 and Marcel at 6 would be a mean combination imo

Agreed, people should not want Spies selected because “at least he is playing better”… Whats counts in Carr’s favor is his successful Springbok tour last year… formwise they are probably on par, Spies maybe slightly ahead… Problem is Whitely and Duane are miles ahead of the rest.
    Whitely at 8, Vermeulen at 7 and Marcel at 6 would be a mean combination imo

I’d go for that except for FLO’s outstanding current form for Bath.
    Alberts is also looking better and better, and lets not forget Schalk.

We will have to see who is fit and available, also with some of the mounting injuries to valuable players in all teams, the eventual team may look a lot different.

Key players out so far:

JDV (I doubt he’ll be string enough in time)
    Brusouw
    PSDT (see JDV)
    Aaron Cruden

Players under rehab:

Spies
    Lambie

There is still a lot of Rugby between now and the WC, and more injuries to come I expect.

Yep, arguing about the “best available 15” is pointless now… I would like to see Schalk get game time at 8, but AC is loyal to Carr and rightly so, Carr helped them to a currie cup there… but Super Rugby is a different beast.

Yep, arguing about the “best available 15″ is pointless now… I would like to see Schalk get game time at 8, but AC is loyal to Carr and rightly so, Carr helped them to a currie cup there… but Super Rugby is a different beast.

Yes he is and the combo does work the way it is now.

I would really like to see some of the form players get a run during the Midyear inbound tests, players like Whitely (to start), Kriel, Ruan (paul) Botha, Koch, Scarra and Kitshoff ( great unit and a form front row across all teams), some of the Lions players.

We may need to play some of them if the last minute injury trend continues

Should say “best team for the world cup”

We can always debate on the best players available of course.

Should say “best team for the world cup”
    We can always debate on the best players available of course.

And we will….

What has Kock’s penalty count been lately? he started with a bang but the penalties have been accumulating in the last few games, he is on 12 with Morne Mellet, who I know has really been struggling.

I wonder what it is? Have opposing teams “figured” him out? Though obviously it works for him when it works…

Oh the scrum… forever a mystery to those who played in the backline 😆

Koch*

What has Kock’s penalty count been lately? he started with a bang but the penalties have been accumulating in the last few games, he is on 12 with Morne Mellet, who I know has really been struggling.
    I wonder what it is? Have opposing teams “figured” him out? Though obviously it works for him when it works…
    Oh the scrum… forever a mystery to those who played in the backline

YOu need to balance that against the tightheads that were won by that front row, and then he starts to make sense.

Still, Malherbe has done well too, so maybe the secret ingredient is Scarra or Kitshoff.

I know that Proudfoot put in some serious time with the scrummers over the season break, and it shows….

Oh k@k.

My first Monday evening “off” in about 2 months, and suddenly I realise there’s no Rugger to watch.

I guess all of the re-runs will have to do.

Mind you, I have to be in the metropolis of Rustenburg at 06h00 tomorrow, so it will be a VERY early start.

Koch is still on a steep learning curve I think playing in pretty much his breakthrough season against international players, I have noticed when Koch came off and Malherbe (even taking the blame for losing the chiefs game) comes on the scrum tends to struggle and also the other way around. When Malherbe went off after starting.

Scarra and Kitchoff has been awesome, whichever way you look at it.

What happened to GBS?

Why is he awol today

How serious is Page’s injury?

How long will he be out?

137 @ Victoriabok:
    I’m here…

Never fear when GBS is near…

Bly jy’s weer aanlyn

Ek dog julle het weer load shedding en jy probeer die server hardloop op ‘n Eveready PM 9 battery? 😛

140 @ Victoriabok:
    Ons was veronderstel om Loadshedding te hê vandag van 12:30 tot 15:30… toe beplan ek maar ‘n klompie rywerkies vandag, na klompie plekke toe.

Het sommer ook netnou my kantoor se badkamer se lightfitting vervang en so paar ander odd-joppies gedoen.

Vanaand doen ek so bietjie die Rugby-Talk ding, met klomp nuus wat moet op kom en terwyl ek daarmee besig is, is ek besig om 2 Hard Drives te kloon en dan ook ‘n Notebook wat ek vir iemand custom laai en configure.

Het jy dalk gehoor hoe lank Paige uit gaan wees?

Total 10 users including 0 member, 10 guests, 0 bot online