Rugby-TalkIt’s PUB NIGHT again…

The heading suggests we talk about the past weekend’s rugby, where 3 South African sides recorded wins in Super Rugby and I think that qualifies as a good weekend of rugby!

Unfortunately the DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs let South Africans down… baaadly, sis on you muppits!

This weekend is Easter Weekend, but the rugby will continue, 2 games on Easter Friday and 4 games on Saturday.

I guess this makes for a few good discussions!

It is time to straddle a bar stool and order a drink or 2.

Let’s focus on the PUB tonight…. the idea with PUB NIGHT is to lighten up our dull Tuesday evenings with music, comedy and fun.

Rugby takes a backseat tonight as the clan and fellow rugby nutters gather and wheel in their old friends…

Read the rules below carefully, or you WILL get burnt!

Just for clarity sake, when someone does not adhere to the Rules of the PUB, EVERYBODY jumps on them and pummels them, right… understood?

Here’s how it works:

1. Before you are allowed to greet, comment or take part in general discussion about anything else, you enter the PUB with a lekker Music Video found on Youtube.
  2. You copy the URL (web address) of the clip… and you make sure it is NOT the Mobile version of the URL (the Mobile version has a solitary “m” in the beginnig of the URL… just replace the “m” with “www” if there is a solitary “m” somewhere).
  3. Sometimes you have to replace the “http” part with “https” too… but we do not take excuses, we will pummel you anyway!
  4. You Paste the URL into the Comment Form Box of this Article and you SUBMIT your comment.
  5. Your video will appear in the Comments section.
  6. If you fail with your attempt and it does not appear, we WILL kak you out, we will pummel you with insults… and LAUGH at you, you silly muppit!
  7. Once you have a successful Video loaded, you can take part in the discussion and add more music, but beware, every broken link will cop you an “Uitkak” and a laugh at your expense.
  8. Failure to abide by the rules, will be punished by requiring you to say a seriously denigrating thing about the Provincial / Club side you support and asking all of us, by name, for forgiveness and acknowledging our clear superiority.
  9. Most important rule: Nobody is allowed to get angry… this is all in good fun!

Fire away!

Today, our FIRST VIDEO will be this one, here it is!

Come on, show me up, do better than me!

189 Responses to PUB NIGHT: Here’s to a good weekend’s rugby – Music & Comedy night

@ Bullscot: cheers bud. Will do.

Interesting to see the fallout from the Proteas semi final selection debacle.

An enquiry looms ,

Can anyone identify all the names on this jersey??

Attachment:

gunther wrote:

Interesting to see the fallout from the Proteas semi final selection debacle.
    An enquiry looms ,

Agreed.

Hope it’s not true, I am enough of a cynic as it is…..

As always it wouldn’t be the fact that it happened that would disappoint me we all realise the realities of this country after all.

It’s the cover up that will stink.

As usual

95 @ JAM:
    Hello and welcome to Rugy-Talk.com!

I recognise a number of the Signatures:

Juan Smith
    Pierre Spies
    Bismarck du Plessis
    Jannie du Plessis
    Morné Steyn
    Jaque Fourie
    Heinrich Brussow
    John Smit
    Johan Muller (lock – looks like his signature)
    Fourie du Preez

Maybe some other people can add to my list.

Would be easier to figure out if we know during which Test on what year and date the Jersey was signed, because then one can simply compare it to the Team sheet for the match!

The SASOL era of Springbok jerseys date a few years back… not many though.

Maybe we should just wait till this page clicks over to above 100 comments, because load speeds will be much faster then, to continue the discussion

gunther wrote:

As always it wouldn’t be the fact that it happened that would disappoint me we all realise the realities of this country after all.
    It’s the cover up that will stink.
    As usual

Also the fact that it came at 1am in the morning rather than having discussed all this upfront and before it all had to come to this.

95 @ JAM:
    Seems to contain 26 signatures… so it might be match 22 PLUS coaching staff??

Indeed Stormersboy I think the public have a right to know.

I’m sure the public would like to know:
    1) Who’s sms is at fault is it that we got clobbered by India?
    2) Who’s SMS was at fault that we lost to Pakistan?
    3) Why wasn’t Abbott picked over Steyn? The same bowler who couldn’t defend 12 runs in the final over.
    4) Why wasn’t Thami Thsolokile not picked over de Kock? Maybe he would have scored some runs in more than only game?
    5) Why wasn’t the money spent on Hussey and Horne rather invested in a proper bowling coach that could have given Parnell and Lobsi a better chance? Both finalists used their left hand seamers as their trump cards, yet we didn’t use any of our LH bowlers.

Lots of questions, but no answers will be forthcoming.

gunther wrote:

Indeed Stormersboy I think the public have a right to know.

Agreed.

I believe it was the squad that won all the trophies and were named the team of the year – 2007? I think the trophies were Tri-nations, Web Ellis, World Cup? I am not very clued up, but as we have inherited this jersey I would like to get all the information on the team and their achievements at the time?

105 @ JAM:
    Go to the Following website, there you will find all the Springbok Squads of 2007 as well as all the Tests & Results of the Tests in 2007.

http://www.genslin.us/bokke/SARugby.html

See if you can figure out more of the signatures from those Squad names.

I think if there is political interference in sport people have a right to know but that’s just me.

I’m sure you have a point there somewhere.

@ gunther:
    We know there is….it’s SA after all.

I personally feel the media this time sucks with the way it’s portrayed, like a sour grape effect and wanting to look for a reason why we lost to NZ.

The reason we lost is simple, we weren’t good enough to beat the top teams, and no amount of speculation by them to sell papers could change that.

I can’t think what they are trying to prove though….it’s insulting towards the Blackcaps that they can’t admit defeat to a better team, not just on the day, but during the whole tournament.

Steyn takes appeal to Swiss court
    01st Apr 2015, 10:35

In an unprecedented move, Francois Steyn has flown to Switzerland for an emergency meeting with the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in Switzerland.

The last ditch effort to appeal his ban comes after the SANZAR Appeals Committee allowed an appeal by SANZAR against the verdict of the initial SANZAR judicial hearing that cleared the utility back of a tip-tackle.

Since there is no sporting body that can out-muscle SANZAR in the southern hemisphere, the former Springbok has looked north to CAS in the hope of overturning the decision.

Steyn, who will be accompanied by du Plessis brothers Bismark and Jannie on the mission, is set to meet with CAS Head of Arbitration William Sternheimer and Secretary General Miguel Abelairas at the CAS Headquarters in Lausanne on Friday.

Jannie du Plessis, who normally plies his trade as a doctor, will be acting as the 27-year-old’s lawyer.

The news of the noble quest has captured the rugby universe, leading to the creation of the ‘Free Francois Steyn’ Facebook page, which had over 9000 likes at the time of writing.

The Twitterverse has also exploded, with #FFS trending in the Swiss capital and back in South Africa.

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3551_40541,00.html

109 @ nortie:
    Obviously an April Fools joke…..where on earth would Steyn get 9000 likes on anything?

I agree in that some of the media has been ridiculous in to try and portray it as a reason for losing.

I think that’s extremely unfair on Philander who had been a star for the national team.

However a lot of the more nuanced reports haven’t tried to do that at all.

It’s a different issue.

The selections you mentioned are coaching issues and they’re fair enough.

My point is that if there IS political interference in selection then say so.

Don’t interfere and then pretend you didn’t.

Once again we have an unpleasant situation which had helped nobody.

@ gunther:
    I agree, but we live in SA and we know for a fact that their is political interference in everything, not just sport.

We have sort of gotten used to it, so it’s strange why it’s such a big issue in the media now.

If we played better and won the tournament I’m sure nothing would be written now.

@ gunther:
    Maybe Lorgat is scared of Afriforum, Steve Hofmeyr and Sunette Bridges?
    That’s why he doesn’t want to admit anything….their Facebook supporters will be saying all sorts of things about him if he confessed

I still think it would be an issue even if we had won my point is not so much about the interference but the cover up.

Let’s call it what it is.

I see Quintin de Kock has made the Worst XI of the CWC as selected by a NZ website.

Maybe Lorgat must sms them to complain.

105 @ JAM:
    In fact, it is NOT a 2007 Jersey, must be a 2009 or onwards jersey!

Morné Steyn only started playing for the Bokke in 2009.

Looking at just a few of the names which all have to be in the squad… Johann Muller, Juan Smith, Heinrich Brussow, John Smit, Bismarck & Jannie du Plessis, Jaque Fourie, Pierre Spies and Morné Steyn… I’d start searching around 2009 and make a determination from the info given.

And your point

gunther wrote:

And your point

Use your imagination. I am not going to spell everything out for you.

(Déjà vu Norman Arendse/Mickey Arthur/André Nel/Charl Langeveldt: Any of you remember Charl Langeveldt declining selection to the Proteas Test squad touring India in 2008?)

Why are AB, Vern, Kyle, Farhaan & Rilee quiet about this matter?
    They can so easily expose it as media fabrication – if indeed it is a lie.
    Silence is a different kind of statement, but a statement nonetheless.

Angostura wrote:

(Déjà vu Norman Arendse/Mickey Arthur/André Nel/Charl Langeveldt: Any of you remember Charl Langeveldt declining selection to the Proteas Test squad touring India in 2008?)
    Why are AB, Vern, Kyle, Farhaan & Rilee quiet about this matter?
    They can so easily expose it as media fabrication – if indeed it is a lie.
    Silence is a different kind of statement, but a statement nonetheless.

Yes good point. Nothing from the camp itself, just Lorgat and Fikile.

Total 99 users including 0 member, 99 guests, 0 bot online