Rugby-TalkIt’s PUB NIGHT again…

The heading suggests we talk about the past weekend’s rugby, where 3 South African sides recorded wins in Super Rugby and I think that qualifies as a good weekend of rugby!

Unfortunately the DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs let South Africans down… baaadly, sis on you muppits!

This weekend is Easter Weekend, but the rugby will continue, 2 games on Easter Friday and 4 games on Saturday.

I guess this makes for a few good discussions!

It is time to straddle a bar stool and order a drink or 2.

Let’s focus on the PUB tonight…. the idea with PUB NIGHT is to lighten up our dull Tuesday evenings with music, comedy and fun.

Rugby takes a backseat tonight as the clan and fellow rugby nutters gather and wheel in their old friends…

Read the rules below carefully, or you WILL get burnt!

Just for clarity sake, when someone does not adhere to the Rules of the PUB, EVERYBODY jumps on them and pummels them, right… understood?

Here’s how it works:

1. Before you are allowed to greet, comment or take part in general discussion about anything else, you enter the PUB with a lekker Music Video found on Youtube.
  2. You copy the URL (web address) of the clip… and you make sure it is NOT the Mobile version of the URL (the Mobile version has a solitary “m” in the beginnig of the URL… just replace the “m” with “www” if there is a solitary “m” somewhere).
  3. Sometimes you have to replace the “http” part with “https” too… but we do not take excuses, we will pummel you anyway!
  4. You Paste the URL into the Comment Form Box of this Article and you SUBMIT your comment.
  5. Your video will appear in the Comments section.
  6. If you fail with your attempt and it does not appear, we WILL kak you out, we will pummel you with insults… and LAUGH at you, you silly muppit!
  7. Once you have a successful Video loaded, you can take part in the discussion and add more music, but beware, every broken link will cop you an “Uitkak” and a laugh at your expense.
  8. Failure to abide by the rules, will be punished by requiring you to say a seriously denigrating thing about the Provincial / Club side you support and asking all of us, by name, for forgiveness and acknowledging our clear superiority.
  9. Most important rule: Nobody is allowed to get angry… this is all in good fun!

Fire away!

Today, our FIRST VIDEO will be this one, here it is!

Come on, show me up, do better than me!

189 Responses to PUB NIGHT: Here’s to a good weekend’s rugby – Music & Comedy night

59 @ Stormersboy:
    Watch a Stormers game.. you’ll fall fast asleep.. and stay asleep!

Hi Bullscot…. I have not been here for ages.

My short attentions span means the updating time on the Pub Thread does send me over the edge!! 🙂

Insomnia….. Now that is really tedious. My trick is to read a really dull book, then your eyelids grow droopy!!

59 @ Stormersboy:
    Watch a Stormers game.. you’ll fall fast asleep.. and stay asleep!

Haha eina! I haven’t been able to concentrate on rugby for the past while, priorities being what they are, and now this weekend who knows……

Evening Tassies, what is new with you?

Blue Bird wrote:

Insomnia….. Now that is really tedious. My trick is to read a really dull book, then your eyelids grow droopy!!

Yes, been a sufferer on and off for 20 years.

I need to get back in the gym, that makes a big difference. Need to make the time.

Hi Carol. Take a listen to this and I’ll fill you in on the Cape landscape and us trolls 😆

11 @ Angostura:
    Hi Angostura, good friends of mine are split on this the lady will be happy with the result while her man is a fervent Goodluck supporter, all I can say is I hope for some of this:

71 @ Tassies:
    Hi Tassies great song

Hi Blue Bird hope all well your side, just getting used to clock change time

@ Blue Bird: Howzit Carol. Right now chilling to the glorious and varied soundbites proffered by your blogging buddies. Other times, between trying to fashion an adequate living; having fun. About to engage in a 5k trek around SA in me Toyota. Drop off handbrake at ORT and continue on own to do the coast Mocambique to Muizenberg in trusty chariot, sleeping under the stars most places along the way. I call it work and I’m sticking to that story. Then off to China (to do some real work). That part’s not so much fun any more but their sushi’s improving. At least I wont be watching the Stormers on saturday mornings spoiling my post-toasties and the weekend.

@ Bullscot: Jip. Heard it on sunday in the garden of a friend and said to myself: this one’s for GB’s next pub night. I used to listen to this tune on my VW Kombi’s 8-track, checking out the surf at a spot down Strandfontein way, staring straight out to sea and Seal Island, behind the clean lines of surf on an autumn day. Funny how the smaller details stick.

Funny video…..!! I think ‘Groovy Man’ is what people said in those days !!

Your trip sounds fantastic, I would not be so keen on the China leg either. Are you fighting off potential family and friends from spoiling your solitude?

Stay safe and have a brilliant time.

@ Stormersboy: SB, Carol’s right. Works for me. Try reading “In Black and White”. Jake should leaden the eyelids.

75 @ Tassies:
    Geez you make me jealous painting that picture, sounds idyllic. Your road trip sounds like a lekker jol. If you enjoy the sea maybe you will like this one from the old silver surfer:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1voSt-3wd3M

Don’t know why that one didn’t load properly, let’s try another Robin Auld number:

I have tried the gym again recently, just can’t get into it. The music is never loud enough either!!

Try the boring book or music that you find tedious….sleep will be a relief!! 😉

Love the clocks changing….. means we get a life outside again! The downside is the garden springs back to life and you spend your weekends wrestling with nature!! 😉

@ Blue Bird: trust me I will Carol. Music will be my friend. The African landscape my sole. You can google-maps places like Sodwana, Coffee Bay, Cintsa, Keurbooms, Breede River and you’ll know what I’ll be about.

@ Bullscot: I’ve got one of this dude’s albums in my collection BS. Can’t remember which one though. Cool dude. Good voice. He’s still around this city, doing his thing.

81 @ Blue Bird:
    Yes the end of the day is nice with sunshine for longer but don’t like having to get up in the dark again for a few weeks having just got used to it being light when waking. Also takes some adjusting with work schedules based on GMT.

@ Blue Bird: I’ll take that over the winter months any day of the week Carol. Power up the old mower, press-stick your glass of Cape Chardonnay to the hood and trim those dandelions into submission.

83 @ Tassies:
    Enjoy his music must really try get some of his more recent work as have one of his earlier ones. Saw him live in a pub at Grahamstown festival in the early 90s, couple of my student mates and I travelled down for a week at Grahamstown, camped on the field of a school and basically lived off potatoes, in the middle of winter, crazy stuff 😆

@ Bullscot: Great song. Never heard it before but its instantly easy on the ears and the Long Beach backdrop contributes to the ambience. An old stamping ground long buried in the bank of memories. Now limited to the collection of black mussels for the chowder I frequently like to brew on the coals.

Hope Stormersboy has managed to drift off to sleep, here is a good night song from me Zzzzzz

87 @ Tassies:
    Gosh you even know the name of the beach in the video, impressive. Am going to make some long distance calls and then settle down, have a good one there Tassies, been nice to ‘chat’ here.

@ Bullscot: cut from similiar cloth BS. Wife says I’ll never grow up. I thought I was doing quite well though. People have finally gotten used to me wearing slipslops, shorts and t-shirts to work. They learn.

Total 43 users including 0 member, 43 guests, 0 bot online