Shaun Veldsman

South African Television Match Official (TMO) Shaun Veldsman was assaulted in his car after officiating Saturday’s Super Rugby match between the Stormers and Blues at Newlands.

According to reports, Veldsman was attacked in his ‘bakkie’ on the N2 after leaving the stadium.

The incident occurred at about 21:00, with Veldsman on his way to Robertson. He was stabbed in his lung.

SARU’s head of corporate affairs, Andy Colquhoun, said Veldsman’s window on the driver’s side was broken and someone stabbed him with a sharp object.

“He has a hole in his lung after being stabbed,” said Colquhoun.

Veldsman managed to escape from the vehicle and ran away, before someone helped him on the side of the road.

The car’s ignition was damaged but only Veldsman’s cellphone was stolen. His bag with laptop was still lying on the back seat.

Veldsman was in a stable condition in the Stellenbosch Medi Clinic on Sunday.

It remains unsure if he’ll be able to be in the TMO booth for Saturday’s Six Nations match between Ireland and England in Dublin.

Sport24

23 Responses to Super Rugby: TMO Veldsman knifed after Newlands game

Something here sounds way off… the N2 is a Highway, so there are no traffic lights or Stops, so why would he have been parked, for the assailant to be able to assualt him?

I’m not condoning the assault, not by any manner, just saying something does not add up here….

They either throw rocks onto the cars from the bridges, or, the more popular way to get cars to stop is that they place rocks in the road.
    When the car hits it the driver can’t go further, car is stuffed up, sometimes rolls.
    Then they rob, they don’t care if you are half dead in the wreck

2 @ nortie:
    Article says nothing about rocks thrown or rocks placed on the road though… and I recon it would have, as it would have been material to the incident…

Guess more info will come along at some time.

Yep, maybe he just pulled over for a cell phone call or a whizz.
    I was generalizing how they usually get cars to pull off the road, as you mentioned, it’s highway with no stops or robots.
    He was probably on a phone call, if they just smashed the window and grabbed the phone, that makes sense.

4 @ nortie:
    Yip, could be something very simple….

This story makes no sense.

Why would you take the N2 to Robertson.

Easiest way is take the N1 and then go through Worcester to Robertson.

Why would you want to go all the way to Swellendam on the N2 to get to Robertson.

@ Jeraldjay:

N2 then the R300 to the N1 ?

gunther wrote:

@ Jeraldjay:

N2 then the R300 to the N1 ?

Korrek.

To follow that route at night is however more dangerous than facing Dennis Lillee on a greentop without a helmet and box.

Look, old Veldtie makes some dodgy TMO calls, so I expect him to make some dodgy calls on which Route to take home to Robertson too!

He makes some dodgy purchases too if you look at those shades…

Distort Disapproval

10 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Yip!!

Delighted

I wonder if he was in the process of making another kind of dodgy “Purchase” whilst he was illegally parked on the N2 Freeway… and was then assaulted in the process.

Look, old Veldtie makes some dodgy TMO calls, so Ixpect him to make some dodgy calls on which Route to take home to Robertson too!

Ek is seker dit was hy wat die een keer nie ‘n drie van die Bulls op Loftus toegelaat het nie, ek dink dit was Ndugane, hy het gesê die bal was nie geground nie terwyl die speler op die bal geval het en met sy hele lyf lengtegewys oor die bal gerol het

Ek dink dit was teen die Chiefs of die Hurricanes, een van die spanne wat geel gedra het

Dit was nog in die goeie ou dae toe dit nog die BULLS was en ons nog drieë gedruk het 🙁

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

He makes some dodgy purchases too if you look at those shades…

I think he wears it when he’s the TMO
    No wonder he can’t see anything

10 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Yip!!

I wonder if he was in the process of making another kind of dodgy “Purchase” whilst he was illegally parked on the N2 Freeway… and was then assaulted in the process.

You mean something like this?

Princess You-re-HOT All-I-See-is-Love In Love

OK, outta here for now, back later (if I can get back in again because the response times on my phone are too slow)! Zzzzzz

10 @ BrumbiesBoy:

I wonder if he was in the process of making another kind of dodgy “Purchase”

A “Whorechase” ? 😈

16 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Cheers BrumbiesBoy maybe see if you like when you come back about going on the PRO12 thread and sharing some of your tunes with us Bye

14 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    17 @ Victoriabok:
    Yeah… or some Pappegaaislaai or Vitamin Green or Afkyktwak or Doobie!

Devil

Jeeez, the poor oke is not a good communicator as a TMO, I often feel like shaking him awake, wildly!

Wasn’t good to read about this attack, hope Shaun Veldsman is doing ok. Has there been any update on the situation?

““He has a hole in his lung after being stabbed,” ” and
    “It remains unsure if he’ll be able to be in the TMO booth for Saturday’s Six Nations match between Ireland and England in Dublin.”

Am no medical kenner but how do you get up from your hospital having a hole stabbed in your lung on Saturday and fly to Dublin, probably including a few connecting flights, less than a week later to go and officiate a 6 Nations game….

To be honest I don’t think it matters with Veldies form in the TMO booth I think they could get the tea lady into press the buttons snd nobody would notice

22 @ gunther:
    Hi Gunther maybe they think he is the Chuck Norris of TMO’s Amazed shouldn’t be joking in something serious like this it was more a dig at that part in the piece. Regarding his form, I don’t get to see much of SA rugby has he made some bad calls lately?

Total 37 users including 0 member, 37 guests, 0 bot online