Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Lions centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg is enjoying life at his new team after making the move to Johannesburg from the Bulls.

Janse van Rensburg is considered to be one of the top talents coming through the South African rugby ranks. He was recognised as one of the top young centres after showing great pedigree as a schoolboy at Waterkloof, while he also enjoyed a successful run as a junior at the Bulls between 2010 and 2014.

He impressed for the Junior Springboks during last year’s Junior World Championship before injury prematurely ended his tournament.

The 20-year-old now enters a new and exciting chapter in his career has he completed a move from the Bulls to the Lions after the Currie Cup. He hopes to achieve more senior accolades at his new team.

Sport24

“I made the change from the Bulls to the Lions for the chance to earn more opportunities and to get more exposure at senior level,” Janse van Rensburg said. “I want to play a bigger role at senior level, and I believe I can achieve at the Lions.

“It was an emotional decision as I’ve been at the Bulls since a schoolboy. But luckily, I have the right support system around me and I’m very happy with my decision so far.”

Janse van Rensburg said he was welcomed into the Lions family.

“That’s one thing that’s really great over here… the family environment. The guys have helped me to settle in quite quickly,” said Janse van Rensburg. “I’ve become good friends with all the guys. I spend most of my time with Ross Cronje and Sous (Franco Mostert).

“The great thing is that everybody is equal. Nobody is seen as senior or junior… we’re all treated the same. So that helps us younger players play our part in the senior squad. We’re not under pressure when we’re training or playing alongside the experienced guys. All that is expected of you is to do your best.”

The Lions achieved their most successful Super Rugby campaign in 2014, winning seven of their 16 fixtures. They also displayed an impressive style of attacking rugby, which Janse van Rensburg is excited to be a part of.

“At the Bulls, I was used mainly as a crash ball option, but I will have more freedom here at the Lions, which I’m very excited about,” said Janse van Rensburg. “The Lions have grown into a competitive force since their return to Super Rugby.”

With captain and loose forward Warren Whiteley making his Test debut, and tighthead prop Julian Redelinghuys and flank Jaco Kriel receiving national call-ups for the end-of-year tour to Europe, Janse Van Rensburg believes he can achieve his main goal of becoming a Springbok at the Lions.

“If I earn my chance of playing Super Rugby for the Lions, I will get more exposure against some of the best players in world rugby,” said Janse van Rensburg. “This will give me the opportunity to show the rugby world what I’m capable of.

“My main goals are doing well for the Lions and becoming a Springbok. With it being a World Cup year, it might be tough earning a national call-up this season. But 2016 will be a big opportunity for many young players like me.”

28 Responses to Super Rugby: Lions – Rohan Janse van Rensburg loves the freedom at Lions

“I made the change from the Bulls to the Lions for the chance to earn more opportunities and to get more exposure at senior level,” Janse van Rensburg said. “I want to play a bigger role at senior level, and I believe I can achieve at the Lions.

“It was an emotional decision as I’ve been at the Bulls since a schoolboy…”

Fair enough have been hearing/reading via cyberspace that he is a top talent for quite a while now so hard to believe that he is still only 20, just shows how impatient the guys are, maybe on a more positive note it could show how hungry and motivated they are to get the chance. What is his competition at the Lions going to be like – will he get more game time there than with us?

“At the Bulls, I was used mainly as a crash ball option, but I will have more freedom here at the Lions, which I’m very excited about,” – so he couldn’t resist the opportunity to get a dig in at his former employees who would have invested a lot in his development through the years as a junior…

2 @ Bullscot:
    I think it is pertinent that the players highlight what the mindset at the Bulls are, so that change can be forced upon the Bulls coaching structure.

I mean, how the hell do you just go and force Crash-ball on a centre, taking all creativity out of his play!

Sorry but the Bulls are entirely to blame here. No the players perceived impatience.

Their policy of signing every single junior player is going to leave most feeling disenfranchised and uncertain of whether they will get game time.

I would be having a full go at the Bulls if I was him, not just a little parting dig.

3 @ grootblousmile:
    Quite clear he wasn’t happy with not getting game time and being made to play in a way he prefers not so fair play to him that he took his boot and left for greener pastures, only advice can give is that sometimes the grass is greener on the other side as there is more manure there, hopefully this is not the case for the young man…
    I suppose it is hard for someone starting out to speak out when he is inside the system that he doesn’t enjoy, considering his prospects for future selection etc. but do wonder if it is not taking the easy way out to speak out after he is gone. Do hope he goes on to be really successful and add to the options available for national selection in time to come.
    There has been a lot of talk from various quarters for some time about the perceived pattern of Bulls play but do you really think any change will come from this or an ex-player speaking out or will it merely be an evolution made from decisions made within the structures? The backline I put up yesterday in reply to MacroBull was one that I thought if it gelled and were allowed to play expansively could be very exciting, lots of creative players with plenty of pace, with the benefit of added solidity of Serfontein at centre and Basson who is so solid under the high ball to guide and help if needed the young Kriel. Problem is are all of us Blue Bulls fans really ready for expansive rugby, with it comes an increase in mistakes, knock-ons, gaps left for intercepts etc, we will have to wait and see the comments in games if we do go expansive and some mistakes are made in the process. Another problem is that for it to be really successful your backline needs to get good front foot ball so our pack will have to step up even more as well this season.

4 @ John Galt:
    Hi John, point taken, but has he earned the right to make the dig, I mean all the good things that have been written about him have been for quite some time now that as I said I surprised to read that he was still only 20. I know other players get the chance at really young age, in his position specifically Jan Serfontein, and then guys like Pollard, so can see that the ones who don’t get frustrated but am also aware of a certain air or sense of entitlement among some folk these days, well I see it here so guess it also happens over there. We do sign lots of players granted but think you do exaggerate to say we sign every single junior player, there are at least half a dozen other top pro teams in SA that also have junior players on there books so no way can we be signing them all.

5 @ Bullscot:
    The more voices against the Bulls pattern (and it is not just a perceived pattern) and the obvious flaws, the more the pressure will be for positive change.

So, this insident alone, or the lone voice of Rohan won’t sway it… but a combination of more and more voices, like the voice of Wynand Claassen a week or so ago… and the combined voices of the Bulls supporters, the poor attendance figures in 2014, the poor results of a few years now… all these things will combine to reach critical mass or become load enough together, to force change.

It is starting to work as well, as we have now already heard Frans Ludeke intimating that there will be changes to the Bulls pattern in 2015… he said it but whether he’ll actually do it is another question.

To me Frans Ludeke is a very good chap, very nice and easy to get along with… nice human being!

But damn man, when things are right here in your face for years and you do not see the obvious or are too stoid to change or too unimaginative to change… and it keeps affecting your team and your supporters, then something has to give… so you either change tack and make things right or you must be out on your alie… in fokkofski mode!

Gosh a large part of what lead to his little game time was all the injuries he had.

All the best to him, but he will hardly first in line and will likely still be behind Hollenbach, Watermeyer, Mnisi and even Harold Vorster. Hard lesson in life is that there will be competition wherever you go.

8 @ MacroBull:
    “Competition”… I do not know much about that, bit of a foreign concept to me, always been the best out there in what I needed to do…. hehehehe

I know the word “Rival” though… it’s those green-eyed okes on the sidelines who have always wished I was not there… hie-hie-hie

9 @ grootblousmile:
    Ja jong Mr GBS I suppose your mantra in life is :”I once was conceited but now I’m perfect” Tounge-Out

11 @ nortie:
    hahahaha nortie good one, that is not a song that I can sing sadly. Once jokingly said to a senior colleague that I am very humble and his sharp witty without hesitating reply was “you have every reason to be” 😀

12 @ Bullscot:
    😆 good one

I mean, how the hell do you just go and force Crash-ball on a centre, taking all creativity out of his play!

That’s what Ludekak does, he turned Jan into one as well

To me Frans Ludeke is a very good chap, very nice and easy to get along with… nice human being!

grrrrrr @#@$$#%$

To me he’s an overrated moegoe who took over most of a WC winning team and lo and behold won some trophies

Meanwhile back at the Lions they fired him for farking up their team, like he’s doing now at the Bulls

They couldn’t afford to buy out his contract, but they didn’t want him near their team, so shameless Frans sat out his contract in his office reading the Beeld or rolling his mielie or something

He didn’t even have the common decency to go where he wasn’t welcome

and the combined voices of the Bulls supporters, the poor attendance figures in 2014, the poor results of a few years
    now

The poor attendance figures had them sit up and take notice

It means the losie and season tickets sales will go down too

Next will be the sponsors

All because they didn’t appoint a proper coach like Ackers or Jimmy Spiere

But with Barend running the show it’s to be expected, wasn’t he kicked out before, around 2000?

11 @ nortie:
    If that song was not so old, it would have had to be about me… hahahaha

Just joking fellas, I’m not always perfect… just most of the time!

Delighted

… and when my wife says so…. of course!

Wanneer maak jy die kroeg oop?

Of was jou Nuwejaarsvoorneme om ‘n geheelonthouer te word? 😀

18 @ Victoriabok:
    Flok, is dit al weer Dinsdagaand…. eish!

Ek sal maar die kroeg oopmaak en dedicate aan Fetchers!!

Fetchers en spankeuses:D

17 @ grootblousmile:
    If I remember right, it came about somewhere in the early 80’s?

11 @ nortie:
    If that song was not so old, it would have had to be about me… hahahaha

Just joking fellas, I’m not always perfect… just most of the time!

… and when my wife says so…. of course!

Alternatively, how about this one 😆

18 @ Victoriabok:
    Flok, is dit al weer Dinsdagaand…. eish!

Ek sal maar die kroeg oopmaak en dedicate aan Fetchers!!

Wat is ‘n fetcher in ‘n kroeg?

‘n Rowwe girl wat die balle daar diep, onder in jou Jockey gaan uithaal? 😈

nortie wrote:

17 @ grootblousmile:
    If I remember right, it came about somewhere in the early 80’s?

Ek dink dit was 1981, ek was in Std 7, ons het hom oor en oor op ‘n tape in ‘n Blaupunkt Ghetto Blaster geluister

Do you guys thing this is our Gunther?

It sounds like something he’d say

@ Victoriabok:

think, excuse the crappy spelling I’m only on my second cup of coffee this morning

23 @ Victoriabok:
    Moenie ‘n “Fetcher” en ‘n “Maklike Girl” met mekaar verwar nie, gehoor!

Pleasure

OK flok, laat my nou met rus, sodat ek die PUB se deure kan gaan oopsluit…. bliksem!

Total 7 users including 0 member, 7 guests, 0 bot online