Rugby-TalkIt’s PUB NIGHT!

Was a lady day for me, I did not do much and did not WANT to do much… one needs to be lazy sometimes… it is part of the rejuvenation process!

What’s better than capping it off in the pub!

This coming weekend the Springboks take on the old enemy, England, at Twickenham. Question is, will the “Rooinekke” also beat the Bokke, or will the Bokke bounce back from the Irish disaster and once again get one over the “Bleekbene”?

The Springboks controlled the set pieces against Ireland, but did not finish off their opportunities, allowing Ireland to eventually trounce them and to end the shitty weekend off, Saracens really put DHL Western Province to the sword on Sunday… 6 tries to 3.

OK, let’s focus on the PUB tonight…. the idea with PUB NIGHT is to lighten up our dull Tuesday evenings with music, comedy and fun.

Rugby takes a backseat tonight as the clan and fellow rugby nutters gather…

Read the rules below carefully, or you WILL get burnt!

Just for clarity sake, when someone does not adhere to the Rules of the PUB, EVERYBODY jumps on them and pummels them, right… understood?

Here’s how it works:

1. Before you are allowed to greet, comment or take part in general discussion about anything else, you enter the PUB with a lekker Music Video found on Youtube.
  2. You copy the URL (web address) of the clip… and you make sure it is NOT the Mobile version of the URL (the Mobile version has a solitary “m” in the beginnig of the URL… just replace the “m” with “www” if there is a solitary “m” somewhere).
  3. Sometimes you have to replace the “http” part with “https” too… but we do not take excuses, we will pummel you anyway!
  4. You Paste the URL into the Comment Form Box of this Article and you SUBMIT your comment.
  5. Your video will appear in the Comments section.
  6. If you fail with your attempt and it does not appear, we WILL kak you out, we will pummel you with insults… and LAUGH at you, you silly muppit!
  7. Once you have a successful Video loaded, you can take part in the discussion and add more music, but beware, every broken link will cop you an “Uitkak” and a laugh at your expense.
  8. Failure to abide by the rules, will be punished by requiring you to say a seriously denigrating thing about the Provincial / Club side you support and asking all of us, by name, for forgiveness and acknowledging our clear superiority.
  9. Most important rule: Nobody is allowed to get angry… this is all in good fun!

Fire away!

Think it’s suitable to have an Irish opener… or one about the Irish anyway!

Come on, show me up, do better than me!

69 Responses to PUB NIGHT: Recovering from Irish disaster – Music & Comedy night

and a few cute Irish lasses…….

59 @ Victoriabok:
    Thanks VicBok, really had that tune on my mind lately and was on my mobile earlier so couldn’t post it then.

A lovely laid back tune I heard for the first time on drive home tonight:

57 @ robzim:
    Hey robzim good one, when I drive in to work some Sunday mornings I listen to a program on sport radio about fishing called Fishermen’s Blues, find it quite interesting and the old guys have got such a relaxed way of talking, often feel almost sorry that my commute gets to its end and I can’t listen to the show for longer.

Will head out on a livelier note :

Bullscot wrote:

57 @ robzim:
    Hey robzim good one, when I drive in to work some Sunday mornings I listen to a program on sport radio about fishing called Fishermen’s Blues, find it quite interesting and the old guys have got such a relaxed way of talking, often feel almost sorry that my commute gets to its end and I can’t listen to the show for longer.

The stories on the radio show are probably about “fish who got away”.

The song “Fisherman’s Blues” by the Waterboys is probably about a person longing to escape from the (bitter) realities and constrictions of his daily existence and find a freedom somewhere else in the arms of his lover.

“I wish I was a fisherman
    Tumbling on the seas
    Far away from dry land
    And it’s bitter memories
    Castin’ out my sweet line
    With abandonment and love
    No ceiling bearing down on me
    Save the starry sky above

With light in my head
    With you in my arms”

and so on………

Beautiful song indeed…

btw.. The Waterboys were not really an Irish Band although some of the musicians were Irish. The driving force behind the band is a bloke called Mike Scott who is originally from your neck of the woods.

Howdy

Pic courtesy of http://theeastterrace.typepad.com/photos/rugby_vogue/biggs-1895.html

“SHIT

Handre Pollard – South Africa’s wunderkind turned up and attempted to play like, er, some kind of wunderkind in very un-wunderkind friendly conditions. The result, his wunderarse placed in his wunderhands by erstwhile Irish wunderkind Jonny Sexton.

Mike Brown – Needs to find the jar in which he put his 2013 mojo for safekeeping. Lancaster is a loyal coach and Brown has proven his class at this level, but netierh of them can afford another brainless, aimless runout like this.

Rhys Webb – Yes, he played pretty well. Yes, he scored a clever and insouciant try. But if you can’t see a 6 foot odd bloke all dressed in yellow stood inbetween you and where you want to pass, and that pass is also about 137 feet long then the computer will take a dim view.

Christian Lealiifano – Never has looked that convincing, and did nothing on Saturday to suggest that view will change at this level. The computer would like him dropped for purely solipsistic reasons as it has to keep spellchecking his name.

GOOD

Joe Schmidt – Good coaches are those that can make fans say, “why’s he done that?” before a game, then “ah, now I see” afterwards. Schmidt did a turbo version of this for the hammering of the Boks.

Dave Attwood – one of the great things about England under Lancaster for this blog has been the resurgence of Attwood and his performance on Saturday – full of new dad pride and old rugby nous – was outstanding.

New Zealand – even at 70% they carry out what in the end was a comfortable win. Another away from home World Cup malfunction may be required for another side to get a look in.

Rhys Ruddock – This blog thought he should’ve started ahead of Chris Henry anyway and after this performance so should everone else.

Adam Ashley-Cooper – His tackle on George North to hold up the big man and deny a try was outstanding and, as it turned out, crucial.”

http://www.bloodandmud.com/2014/11/shitgood-ratings-autumn-internationals-week-one.html#more

Attachment:

Total 44 users including 0 member, 44 guests, 0 bot online