Ross Cronjé

Ross Cronjé

Xerox Golden Lions scrumhalf Ross Cronje has been called up to the Springbok tour squad in Cardiff as replacement for Rudy Paige.

Paige injured his medial knee ligaments in training earlier this week and will be out for approximately four weeks.

A request was made for Toulouse scrumhalf Jano Vermaak to rejoin the squad but it was rejected as he is playing for his club this weekend.

“Ross impressed during a very successful Absa Currie Cup campaign for the Golden Lions and also showed good form earlier in the year in Vodacom Super Rugby,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“We considered not calling up a third scrumhalf but that would’ve been very risky.”

Cronje will link up with the Springboks in Cardiff on Friday.

40 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springboks – Ross Cronje to join Springboks in Cardiff

Eish!

Farkit, he does not even need to unpack his kit… just go sit in the stands…

Unless Hougaard injures himself cutting biltong or one of his tattoos turn septic.

So, obviously no AA here.
    Wink

Meaning that HM regards both Paige and Cronje as better than Sarel or Groom.

What a joke!!!

Nama wrote:

So, obviously no AA here.

Speaking of AA, I’ve never seen an Indian rugby player (senior rugby not school)

The Sharks should work a bit harder

@ Nama:
    Couodnt get ahold of bolla 😆

@ MacroBok:
    Overjoy Apparently not, and Enrico was on voicemail…
    Sad

@ MacroBok:
    He would’ve been a better choice, don’t you agree? Happy

Nama wrote:

@ MacroBok:
    He would’ve been a better choice, don’t you agree?

Nee hy sal nie die bal kan raaksien onder sy boep nie 😛

@ Victoriabok:
    Hahaha… weet nie hoe hy nou lyk nie.

Kan egter nie kakker wees as Hougie sonder ‘n boep nie…en hy is no. 3 in HM se oge. Wink

Last 5 results between the Boks and Wales in Wales:

2005: 33 – 16
    2007: 34 – 12
    2008: 20 – 15
    2010: 29 – 25
    2013: 24 – 15

During that same period the scores in SA were:

2008: 43 – 17
    37 – 21
    2010: 34 – 31
    2011: 17 – 16
    2014: 38 – 16
    31 – 30

Can’t help but notice that the scores were quite close since 2010 apart from the 1st test earlier this year. So, it won’t be easy for the Boks tomorrow.

“But they face a somewhat depleted South African side on Saturday, as the Boks are without a few of their overseas-based stars.”

This is what some of our esteemed “rugby writers” say and I ask myself: Did we not beat the All Blacks earlier this year WITHOUT our “overseas-based stars” bar Habana?

Who then are we missing?

Bakkies…he was not there.
    FdP…he was not there.
    JPP…he was not there.
    Morne…he was not there.
    Pienaar…he was not there.
    Flo…he was not there.

Who else? Doesn’t matter really. Habana was the only overseas based player who played in that match.

The rest were not there when we beat the AB at Ellis Park, so hopefully we will not use their absence from the Boks tomorrow as an excuse IF we lose against Wales.

10 @ Nama:
    Those welsh are going to be “lis” for us… they are going to be a motivated bunch!

11 @ Nama:
    No excuses is acceptable tomorrow though

11 @ Nama:
    Hi Nama have been thinking those thoughts as well ie the Boks beat All Blacks with only Habana of their overseas contingent playing for them, although just a question did Schalk Burger play in that match? For me he is a big player missing tomorrow. But Wales also missing quite a few, especially in the front row, that is where we must target them, and it will be a big bonus not having George North running at us.

@ MacroBok:
    That should be te spirit but knowing how we love to seek the problem elsewhere instead of looking at ourselves, I’m sure we’ll be able to come up with some kind of an excuse… IF we lose. Pondering

The boks really miss a big ball career in the Northern Hemisphere, Flip and Alberts were our best players in europe the last few seasons.

Don’t know what they are doing with the roof, but even if its open should be ok, quite mild for this time of year maybe a bit dull after a bright start, not been raining there for the last day and a half at least, so hopefully we see a good running game of rugby.

Nama wrote:

@ MacroBok:
    That should be te spirit but knowing how we love to seek the problem elsewhere instead of looking at ourselves, I’m sure we’ll be able to come up with some kind of an excuse… IF we lose.

… it has been a long season, the players are tired 😆

Yes, Schalk did come on and played a great 30 minutes, or so. It was the test in which Oupa made his 1st start.

I see that some are already suggesting that Gatland should target our wings as both are suspect on defense. Can you imagine if he had North at his disposal tomorrow? Worry

@ MacroBok:
    Fourth game on tour…one foot on the plane…missing the koeksisters at home…AB only played 3 games in Europe…the freakin ref…wet/cold weather… Wales had their French players available…Zuma…Julius…weak rand…

Take your pick… Wink

15 @ Nama:
    Yeah I saw Brendan Venter was also mentioning this, but what is wrong with Bismarck and Etzebeth they should be able to carry well, often I think folk can focus too much on what a slog it can be up here, I have seen some good games of flowing rugby on dry days when fields aren’t heavy, so why not focus on forwards securing quick ball for the backs to run with.

@ Nama:
    This all black team is really exceptional, I dont know if we will ever see a team like this again, last week against Wales they were fodder, their 5th match since the RC, and you could see they just didnt look up to it… then suddenly they went into another mental gear against Wales behind Aaron Smith.

Would love to see how Reinach goes tmorrow after an indifferent game last week despite being named as MoM.

Now, that was a farce. Him being named MoM. Amazed

Nama wrote:

@ Victoriabok:
    Hahaha… weet nie hoe hy nou lyk nie.

Kan egter nie kakker wees as Hougie sonder ‘n boep nie…en hy is no. 3 in HM se oge.

Hougie is no 3 by default

Hy is soos die laaste vet meisie oor by die dans, waar jy moet besluit of jy gaan haar spyker, of skommel by die huis, die een is marginaal beter as die ander.

Maar nie baie nie

@ MacroBok:
    They have the believe…something the Welsch didn’t have.

Barret changed the game with that chip and gather to score. Had the ball not bounce his way, Wales would’ve been in the gme a while longer. That try sucked all their energy out of them just for a while and before they realized what just happened, the AB scored two more tries and that was that.

21 @ Bullscot:
    I assume your reply was to me?

I havent had time to read Venters article, should make some time this weekend, I think you are right, we should not force the stereotype about the field conditions in Europe and try to play our game, the problem though is that tactical kicking is important no matter what game plan you play and ours has been poor, last week we did not kick that mych but our execution was poor in the first half, because we were forcing the quick ball.

We need a little more balance.

19 @ Nama:
    Roberts is a danger at centre so if they are focussing on our wings then maybe they will swing the ball through him to the wings without him going on strong crash ball runs that he is so good at – that could help us defensively. Don’t understand what the problem folk have with our wings, from what I hear Mvovo is a strong hard running quick wing, remember I don’t watch these guys week in and week out like you and others do but I have been surprised at the opinions on Hendriks and his lack of game time on this tour as he really impressed me with his skill and strength at the Commonwealth 7s and what I saw of him in the Rugby Championship especially against Australia thought we had found a top wing for SA.

Nama wrote:

Would love to see how Reinach goes tmorrow after an indifferent game last week despite being named as MoM.
    Now, that was a farce. Him being named MoM.

Yep I had my foot in the mouth as during the game I and a few others were picking up that his decision making was very poor.

The try did it, that is all I can think off.

@ Victoriabok:
    Ja hougie is derde keuse na fdp, imagine die derde keuse na Israel Folau vir Aus, Johnny Sexton vir Ierland, derde keuse na Aaron Smith, Rettalick of Keiran Read… sal n moerse verskil wees met al daai spelers. Mens kort nou maar net luck ook in rugby.

@ Victoriabok:
    Watter tyd van die nag is dit en hoe dronk is jy?

Twee uur in die oggend, ‘n heel paar brannas onder jou gat en niemand (jou tjommies) wat jou sien as jy met haar loop nie nie dan is daar niemand mooier as daai goose nie. Overjoy

Baie beter as draadtrek. Wink

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online