John Philip "Bakkies" Botha

John Philip “Bakkies” Botha

John Philip “Bakkies” Botha, born 22 September 1979 in Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal has had a glittering international career that drew to a close on 22 November 2014.

He will continue to play for his French Club Toulon and has even hinted at retiring in South Africa with the Currie Cup.

In his professional career Botha has won everything there is to win.

With the Blue Bulls he won the Vodacom Cup in 2001 and then went on to add three Currie Cup titles to his name in 2002, 2004 and 2009.

With the Bulls in Super Rugby, Botha was part of the first South African team to lift the trophy in 2007 (in the professional era – with Transvaal winning the Super 10 in 1993), and then again in 2009 and 2010.

rugby365

For the Springboks he has won the World Cup in 2007, the Tri-nations in 2004 and 2009 as well as a British and Irish Lions Series Trophy in 2009.

Botha has also picked up the Mandela Challenge plate in 2005 and 2009 against the Wallabies and the Freedom cup against the All Blacks in 2004 and 2009.

For Toulon, Botha won the European cup back-to-back in 2013 and 2014 as well as scooping the Top 14 League in 2014.

A true giant of the game in every sense, it is easy to smile when watching this clip…

Bakkies Botha, Willie John McBride, Victor Matfield & Heyneke Meyer

Bakkies Botha & Juan Smith in the streets of Toulon with their home-made BOEREWORS - You can take the BOER out of South Africa but you cannot take South africa out of the BOER!

Bakkies Botha & Juan Smith in the streets of Toulon with their home-made BOEREWORS – You can take the BOER out of South Africa but you cannot take South africa out of the BOER!

Bakkies Botha & Bryan Habana having a BRAAI in Toulon, France.

170 Responses to A TRIBUTE to Bakkies Botha, the hard man of Rugby

@ gunther:

I gotta go………………………………………..God Bless most of you.
    cane.

Pity we couldn’t compete in the 1987 world cup, after we beta the cavaliers in ’86….we would have had three cups by now then….for keeps! Happy-Grin

@ cane:

As you prefer, Cane

My post was about the year 1986 (which included a State of Emergency); not so much about Apartheid, other than obliquely when prompted by questions.

{Off topic now, this IS a rugby site, eh?} 🙂

I got a feeling any International input here is soon to be defunct. Except maybe for Carol (bluebird) and Te Rangitara, the mightiest of all the Kiwi posters.
    Such is the belligerence shown to any who disagree with the ruling class.

@92 …beat the Cavaliers….I miss Puma iPhone

@ Angostura:
    Sorry to even comment on this issue Angostura.

I have no right.

Had we been at the 87 tourney Caner himself would have been dropping mealie pap bombs from a home made hot air ballon constructed from his old mans long johns and the family picnic basket.

The Boks never would have stood a chance.

87 @ Angostura:
    Ah, a fellow Officer in the then proud SA Defence Force..

You see, I said we will not agree… as is evident in our clearly differing endeavours to build a better South Africa at the time.

I have NEVER been affiliated to any political party in SA, as I believe all of them have flaws and a very skewed view of what TRUE Democracy is and should be.

We still do not have a TRUE Democracy in South Africa… that path is still a long one, and I suppose we can call it “A battle just as important as the battles of the ’70’s, ’80’s, ’90’s and the new millennium”.

In my opinion all polititians are clowns in a circus… sadly, an inevitable and much needed circus!

Your last sentence, is a debate for another forum… definately not for THIS rugby forum (I even think you would agree on that score)… not that I EVER voted for the government of the day.

What I was saying was, whether one believes the government of the time was pro-change or not, it was clear that the winds of change and the imminent path to a revised South Africa was already in motion in the mid ’80’s and that by all these combined moves and counter-moves of all parties and factions concerned… the end result was imminent.

Just to show how different approaches inside South Africa, could be considered equally commendable, I considered the ’83 Referendum as a step in the right direction… to be expanded on… sort of “Baby Steps Approach”, if you like.

My biggest fear at the time, was a take-over by means of the gun, in stead of by way of negotiated change. A sudden take-over would only have resulted in a different oppressor – that was my view and still is.

I am ever so happy that South Africa eventually resorted to a negotiated change, even if flawed in so many different ways and with so many agendas attached, and I hope the political landscape allows for that negotiated change to continue, towards the Democracy I would like to see here in SA.

@ cane:

Don’t be humble .

It doesn’t suit you.

94 @ cane:
    Flok, the pity party continues… you are indeed farking irritating!

92 @ Pietman:
    Flok broer, netnou kruip die Suzie eksuuse weer uit… daai lot sou dit nooit oorleef het nie!

Delighted

99 @ gunther:
    He’s not being humble, he’s being “Jannie Jammergat”… there is a massive difference.

I’m going to miss Cane.

@ gunther:
    Cane & Coke. Sorry.Bad joke but conversation getting too
    intense.Will proudly debate with anybody which side of the
    political spectrum (divide a better word than spectrum) I stood ,but not here,not now not ever..Do not want to see population on this site divided over an ultimately meaningless
    argument. Am now 76 which I think is the same age as Ango.Have seen it all.Heard it all.Sadly,not done it all.(Written in another context)
    l.have earned right to be cynical.
    Cane,I suspect that you are a decent person.But,(always a but)
    do not paint everybody with the same brush.Which,thanks to
    you I am now doing to Kiwis.
    I am riled up.Time to chaw some baccy.
    Dare I say it.Disliked previous regime..Dislike current regime even more.Proud of a country whose school kids served with such
    courage.
    VIVA EFF and lets do some woodwork.
    Rye.

@ ryecatcher:104

bravo. as erudite as ever. keep them coming.
    hope you are doing well.

@ Charo:
    104 Walking now(badly) and driving(Even worse), and
    now have chemo once per 6 weeks,instead of weekly.
    So maybe Shunters Arms an attractive option soon.
    Was once quite coy about my affliction,but now couldn.t
    give a stuff who knows.After all,how long can one
    be expected to be secretive at 76.
    Kind regards to you and especially to Helen.

106 @ ryecatcher:
    Flokkit Oom Rye… I thought you were only 66… hehehe

Will HAVE TO call you Omie from now onwards!

You’re only 4 years younger than my late mom!

Born before the BIG WAR… hehehe

@ Angostura:
    Still chortling.Know what you meant .Just surprised as you
    never use lazy grammar.
    “Hooking fearlessly in a cap only.”
    No flannels?Shirt? and God forbid
    no Box.Quick singles must have been a sight to behold.
    Meant to be funny,not critical.Please read this in that spirit.

ryecatcher wrote:

Am now 76 which I think is the same age as Ango

haha, Rye …
    Nooit! I only sound, & perhaps look, 76 (no offence intended) 🙂 , but I sincerely hope I’ll reach that age

On a more serious note – sorry to learn about the chemo & mobility issues – I wish you well, Rye, as I’m sure all over here do.

GBS
    Is the Pub open tonight? – gotta grab me a Cognac, & some chocolate on the side (no subliminal message intended). 🙂

Time to go on home, ciao

ryecatcher wrote:

Meant to be funny,not critical.Please read this in that spirit

Of course, Rye
    Later then …

@ Jeraldjay:
    “hookers,pullers not idiomatically well expressed.
    Regards Rye 🙂

@ cane:
    94 Rangi is a class act.

Howdy all. Reading through some of these posts above reminds me why I keep coming here.

Bravo to all.

109 @ Angostura:
    I’ll open the pub… good you reminded me!

Have had some other things on my mind, as my 2nd mom (my late Dad GBS Maximus’ widow and my stepmom) is in hospital… was in ICU, now out of ICU, luckily.

I think I’ll call the thread: PUB NIGHT: Old Age is a bitch – Music & Comedy night, in honour of her, Rye and you… and Bakkies’ retirement!

Tounge-Out

As for Bakkies, one of my favourite players of all time.

A legend of the game, and thanks for the memories Big Fella.

Many other players will be breathing a sigh of relief.

Will have to choose a really, really old first video, to match…

Why do you think the war started.?

117 @ ryecatcher:
    Farkit Omie, don’t tell me it’s because of some of your severely soiled nappies!!

Jeez, you were born the same year as when Northern Transvaal broke away from Transvaal… to start their rugby domination!!

Farkit I love this 😛

It reminds me of the huge battles we had on Keo

Especially with ET

GBS ek het die Kiwis eenkeer kwaai afgepiepie toe ek die Haka die mensvreter vastrap genoem het

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online