South AfricaNew ZealandSpringboks (21) 27 / 25 (13) All Blacks (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Ellis Park, Johannesburg at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 04:00 Sunday NZ Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1), Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Francois Hougaard (1), Handré Pollard (2)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (3)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (2)
  • Tries – Malakai Fekitoa (1), Ben Smith (1), Dane Coles (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (2)

South African Springboks
New Zealand All Blacks
4 October at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen / Schalk Burger, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger / Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty

Expected weather: Mostly sunny with a high of 19°C and a low of 10°C – good weather for rugby.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), JP Doyle (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

471 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

Habana really pissed me off early in the game when he took that quick tap when 3 points was on offer.

447 @ Charo:
    I am perfectly calm.. no problems this side… same cannot be said about you.

I’ve been saying since the End Of Year Tour last year already that the Bokke are playing a more balanced game, said it a number of times in June this year again… and your assertion that it is only a recent thing for 2 games is utter, utter crap!

I am also glad Heyneke and the team is moving away from the kick-and-chase game, over the moon in fact.

It has absolutely bloody nothing to do with where Heyneke coached before, at the Bulls or otherwise, in fact under Heyneke fewer Bulls players have been selected than under 4 previous Bokke coaches… once again no problem with that.

If you have issues with the fact that Heyneke previously hails from the Bulls, do not project it onto me or onto Bulls supporters, for goodness sakes!

And just so as you know, I also see where I think Heyneke goes wrong from time to time, like his insistence on selecting that donkey, Ruan Pienaar, and not rather bringing Reinach through earlier / alternatively not having brought Sarel Pretorius into the Bok fold. I have also bemoaned not playing more ball-in-hand and possession rugby and have been vocal about it, urgng Meyer to evolve the Bokke to better possession rugby. There is no Heyneke glorification from my side!

But when someone like you types absolute shit, I will speak out, no matter whether that person supports the Sharks, Bulls, Province, Timbuctoo, the All Blacks or Wallabies for that matter.

Face it, you have a deep-seated mistrust in Heyneke Meyer… then move past it!

@ Jeraldjay:450

100% correct. how about our games vs los pumas though?

hm has done well with the boks, no doubt about that, but he is not perfect (yet) so i am going to pronounce the saviour for a while yet.

when he gets to kitch christie’s level i will be happy 😉

450 @ Jeraldjay:
    Charo will NEVER see or admit to that… the blinkers are on. The mistrust in Meyer is an infestation he won’t shrug.

@ grootblousmile:452

big accusation pal.

show me where i “typed shit”

455 @ Charo:
    Read your comments… you won’t see it though…

453 @ Charo:
    You are all over the place. I have no idea what your point of argument is anymore.

@ MacroBlouBul:457

i’ll tell you what my argument is.

there is too much fawning over heynecke amongst the bok supporters.

the bloke has done well but this image of him meticulously planning a strategy for the team and sticking to it (as most bloggers here proclaim) doesn’t seem to be true. in my view it is a bit of a myth built up from the halcyon days of the bulls winning sr 3 times.
    the sudden change of game plan mid tournament shows this.

i support him as the best coach available in sa at the moment but he is by no means beyond criticism.

@ Charo:
    The points you have been trying to make lately have been laughable getting you egged on the face quite a few times, your criticism of Schalk or Victor etc, you have never come and said, well okay i was wrong, it was a great selection. “Not using enough experts”, while Richie Gray has done an incredible job not to mention the rest of the people in HM’s management system, like the good work the conditioning coach has done. Claiming that “our forwards lack commitment and respect for van Graan”, while even Beast pulled off some miracle tackles this weekend that he probably wont ever match… yes we need to improve, we always have to, the Welsh game and Argie games were hard to swallow, even if they played out of their skins, we still should always beat them and we did.

In the end, while it is okay to be critical, there should be a balance, give credit when it is due.

@ Charo:
    Also only minute our entire front row is useless, then after the Argie games you were one of the guys climbing on the John Smit bandwagon about the illegal scrum tactics they were using… Where is the consistency apart from consistently moaning? 😆

@ MacroBlouBul:459

@ MacroBlouBul:460

are there 2 charo’s on rt?

i did wind my neck about schalk and happily said he had a great game against oz.
    we need vic while lood de jager is struggling.
    hm has two amateurs in his coaching circle – i never said the whole lot weren’t up to it.
    johan van graan is the son of the makulu nomzaan of ntvl rugby – i wonder if that impresses the ou manne in the pack?
    i said that the pack did not look well coached against oz – why are you now referring to the ab game? i have already said they were a lot more accurate and the backs sharper!

pls show me where i said that the entire front row was useless???????
    i simply pointed out that experts had proved that the argie front row was using useless tactics.

and you accuse me of being all over the place?

@ Charo:
    HA, i don’t buy it sorry 😀

You can wait for Nama to come back to enjoy your pity party

Amateurs, badly coached forwards, dads army 😆

@ Charo:
    @ MacroBlouBul:460

are there 2 charo’s on rt?

Heaven help us when that happens :mrgreen:

@ MacroBlouBul:462

Nama is his own man. I do not speak on his behalf.
    Any similarity in view is purely coincidental.

It’s kind of funny….. after this Abs loss on the weekend it has released all that pent up tension of a loss is just around the corner…. We as Ab supporters know the Abs are not unbeatable, so better to get it over with now than to go into the WC next year looking to be reactive rather than proactive … They know what they have to work on now and with some big names still to come in I’m more confident than ever that the Abs will succeed in becoming the first back to back WC champions….. The Ab machine will do what they do best and that is digest what happened on the weekend and start adapting…..Everything to play for….

Twice the stupid.

@ gunther:

hahaha….

you bulls okes are so sensitive

but clever

Charo wrote:

@ gunther:
    hahaha….
    you bulls okes are so sensitive
    but clever

This coming from a Tjark 😆

Sensitivity chirps from a Sharkie on R-T

@ grootblousmile: 437
    Rudi.Charo is a good person who is voicing an opinion.This is after all the purpose of a blog.
    Retgards Rye

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online