South AfricaAustraliaSpringboks (5) 28 / 10 (10) Wallabies (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Australian Wallabies did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Newlands Stadium, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT, 01:00 Sunday AEST).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Drop Goals – Patrick Lambie (1)
  • Tries – Marcell van der Merwe (1), Jean de Villiers (1), Patrick Lambie (1)

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (1)
  • Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (1)

South African Springboks
Australian Wallabies
27 September at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper (Captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper
    Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 James Horwill, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nic White, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Rob Horne

Expected weather: Sunny with a southeasterly breeze, a high of 14°C and a low of 9°C.
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

344 Responses to The Rugby Championship: South Africa vs Australia – Live game Article

Will say this, Schalk did more in his first 10 minutes than Mohoje did in his 60
    Schalk was immense when he came on……and congrats to the Porcelain Poodle, did well when he came on as well.

and Terror’s a bit of an enigma. I’ve seen one great performance from him, which surprised me I have to say. Simply because he doesn’t look the part. But I think he needs to lose the boep and he’ll get better.

@ nortierd: ja ek weet mos. WeePee is speciaal as die Bokke nie speel nie. 🙂

@ nortierd: Schalk is Schalk. Always industrious. Mohoje I think just got on with the collective job. One very noticeable great take in the air though.

He did nothing wrong, I recall one line out he won, and he was on the field, didn’t make any errors, but didn’t make an impact like Marcel, Vermeulen or Schalk IMO.

I take it by Porcelain Poodle you mean Lambie. Yes, that was an unbelievable try he scored. Came from nowhere and poodled his way to the line. We collectively nearly shat ourselves at the H B Y C bar.

@ nortierd: three very tough acts to follow I’d think. Vermeulen is currently one of the best players in the world. Marcel is playing the rugby of his life and is right up there with the best. And Schalk WAS the best player in the world not too long ago. This oke is only 22 with only 11 professional games under his belt. Not too shabby a debut I thought.

Nortie, I’ve recorded the game and will watch it in the morning. Chat to you tomorrow. Cheers boet.

Cheers Tassies, will wait up for the AB’s

Hells bells I stumbled on Atlas’ profile photo

Wish I was a fly on the wall just to see old Puma’s reaction when Lambie scored that try.

@ Jeraldjay:
    Did Eben play?Did Oupa?

@ ryecatcher:

Hi Rye.

Yes both did.

Eben was good in the line outs but kept a low profile in general play through out the game. We need him more next week.

I thought Oupa had an excellent start to his international career. No frills but did what was expected.

His a natural athlete and if his given the opportunities will blossom into a role model lots of youngsters can aspire to.

@ Jeraldjay:
    Hi Pal.Txs for your reply,

Total 16 users including 0 member, 16 guests, 0 bot online