Frans Steyn

In the wilderness – Frans Steyn.

He hasn’t ruled it out completely, but Springbok centre Frans Steyn says it’s unlikely he’ll play international rugby again.

Steyn, 27, shocked the rugby fraternity in June this year when he made himself unavailable for Springbok selection shortly before a Test against Wales in Durban, after playing against a World XV in Cape Town the previous week.

It emerged that his decision to pull out of the Springbok squad was due to a monetary dispute with the South African Rugby Union (SARU) regarding his image rights, which were handled by a third party.

Sport24

Steyn was upset about a promise SARU made to him when he returned from French club, Racing Metro, to play for the Sharks in 2012. Due to the dispute with SARU, Steyn was earning less than half of what he could have made overseas.

In an interview with the EWN Sport website, Steyn said he’s made peace with his decision but doesn’t expect a return to the international fold.

He described the past six months as a “rollercoaster ride” and a period in his life he does not want over.

However, he feels he made the right decision because his “heart and soul wasn’t in it”.

When asked if he thinks he will ever play international rugby again, Steyn said it was a tough question to answer.

He said it would be nice to play for the Boks again, but has “pretty much made peace with it, I don’t think it is going to happen”.

Steyn has represented the Boks in 53 Tests since making his debut as a 19-year-old against Ireland in 2006.

43 Responses to Springboks: Steyn doesn’t expect Bok return

30 @ nortierd:
    Game is nog ver van klaar.

Hou die blink kant bo.

31 @ Jeraldjay:
    Ha ha JJ, daar is nie genoeg polish in die land om so blink te kan vryf nie 😆
    As jy 206 lopies afstaan moet jy maar jou pyne vat

@ Jeraldjay:

Joker you mean.

32 @ nortierd:

They won the toss and should’ve batted 1st.

These Northern Lights guys played their qualifying games at this venue so they know the conditions.

@ John Galt:
    “Personally I think its ridiculous and Prince seriously needs to just grow the fuck up already. Jeez that oke has always had issues. Its like anyone who says anything bad about him is automatically a racist.
    Proper chip on the shoulder.”

What happened exactly? Do you know?

What did Prince do or say?

Personally you also thought that Vernon Philander was, and I quote, “USELESS”

@ MacroBok:
    “Apparently Prince came out himself and said it was not a racial slur and has distanced himself from the ECB disciplining Gale for Racism.”

…and of course John Galt got quiet, when he read that.

When Prince scored his best ever score of 257* about 3 months ago, he was not talked about. The moment there was a “perceived” negative story about him, John Galletjie, and some others (they know who they are), came out in full force to down him.

Fukkitt.

gunther wrote:

Robzim says they are the best domestic franchise……….in the world.

Yes, I said it, but you know very well that I was referring to the full team they had at that stage. It included Graham Smith, Jaques Kallis, JP Duminy and Steyn. It is a far cry from the team that is playing at the moment.

“However, he feels he made the right decision because his “heart and soul wasn’t in it””

Good riddance then. If his heart wasn’t “in it” to play for the Boks, fukkim.
    Overrated piece of fat arse and ego in any case. Claim to fame was kicking 2 drop goals vs Aus and 3 long range penalties vs the AB. Other than that, he was useless in a Bok jersey.

Glad you will not ever play for the Boks again, you overrated fat plonker!

Don’t bother you about what Gunther says.

A few years ago he bragged about playing with Ashwell Prince. Now Ashwell is an “doos” in his eyes. Happy

11 @ John Galt:
    “Gale moved himself in the field in an attempt to squeeze in one further over. He moved closer to Prince who is alleged to have told him to “f*** off back to cover point.” Gale responded by saying “Well you can f*** off back to your own country you Kolpak f*****.” ”

“The case against Gale is likely to hinge in whether the word Kolpak is racist.”

Prince was very upset, I don’t really understand why being called a Kolpac is derogatory. It does not make sense.

#11 John Galt: “Personally I think its ridiculous and Prince seriously needs to just grow the fuck up already. Jeez that oke has always had issues. Its like anyone who says anything bad about him is automatically a racist.”

#12 Macro: Apparently Prince came out himself and said it was not a racial slur and has distanced himself from the ECB disciplining Gale for Racism.

So, Gale calling Prince a “Kolpak Fuck” was racial? Was it Prince who made it into a “racial” thing?

Maybe, YOU’RE the one one who should take off your racial spectacles.

@ Nama:

He also told me a few weeks ago that the Bokke would win the RC, it’s most unlike our dogmatic friend funny guy to be wrong. :mrgreen:

@ Nama:
    and those scum at news 24

This Prince story sounds like a storm in a teacup.
    The only thing missing so far is for someone, surrounded by microphones and visibly indignant, to utter the words “but, but, but….I have lots of friends who are Kolpak players”

@ Nama: No I couldn’t disagree more Nama. It is a loss and he was seriously gifted. I’m not condoning his response to his selection however. Just saddened we wont be seeing him in a Springbok jumper again. What a waste.

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online