Aaron Cruden

Aaron Cruden photographed with two bar staff at The Zookeeper’s Son on Saturday night.

First-five Aaron Cruden will miss matches against Argentina and South Africa after a late night drinking incident.

Aaron Cruden was found keeping his head down at his Hamilton home today – over 10,000 kilometres away from his All Blacks team-mates – after he was kicked off the trip to Argentina for having a late night drinking session in Auckland.

Stuff NZ

Cruden offered no comment when approached by media today as he contemplated the massive repercusions of losing his spot on the All Blacks’ trip to South America and South Africa.

Cruden, the incumbent All Black first five-eighths, did not travel with the team to Buenos Aires after missing the flight and was then reprimanded by All Blacks coach Steve Hansen after it was revealed a boozy night on the town with team-mates was the cause of his tardiness.

Hansen’s subsequent judgment to axe Cruden from the tour gained immediate backing from New Zealand Rugby boss Steve Tew who said it was “a decision I completely support”.

Tew added today he had spoken to Cruden after the decision to leave him at home and he had been “very disappointed” but accepted he had breached team protocols and standards.

“He is deeply disappointed in himself and he accepts that there are consequences and he is working his way through those in an appropriate manner,” Tew added.

Hansen explained the process to exclude him soon after the team arrived in Buenos Aires.

“After going out and drinking he is not here. As a consequence of those actions he won’t be coming on the Argentinean or South African leg of the trip,” Hansen said today.

“We wanted to be up-front about that.”

The incident occurred in Auckland after the team’s flight was delayed from Saturday afternoon until Sunday morning and players were given a free evening.

Some players used the time to go to Auckland pub The Zookeeper’s Son. Photos from the night were later posted on Facebook saying “The ‘Men In Black’ dined and partied with us last night… thanks guys! Great to see you again!”

Pub owner Lindy Catchpole said the group arrived around 8pm, dined, played pool and were well behaved, leaving before midnight.

“They had a great time, they enjoyed themselves, they had dinner and just hung out. Nothing out of the ordinary,” she said.

Cruden, Aaron Smith, Brodie Retallick, Kieran Read, Conrad Smith and Sam Whitelock were at the pub, according to Catchpole. And the pub’s Facebook page featured the players posing with staff and patrons.

All but Cruden were understood to have retired at an acceptable time after dinner.

“We didn’t have a curfew. He was out drinking and he didn’t get there in time,” Hansen added.

“It’s obviously disappointing and out of character for [Aaron]. He’s extremely disappointed in himself. He understands there has to be a consequence for his actions.

“Once we get this out of the way then he will be coming back into the group when we go to Brisbane [for the third Bledisloe Cup test].

“It’s not what we, or he, stands for. We all make mistakes. Like our children we loved them but sometimes we don’t love their behaviour.

Aaron Cruden

HOME AGAIN: All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden at home in Hamilton today after he was kicked off the team’s Argentina and South Africa tour for having a night out drinking.

“The team is well aware when we don’t get that right there are consequences. He’s paid the price for that.”

For Cruden the consequences could be far reaching. He has effectively handed two straight test starts to his young rival, Beauden Barrett, and it would not be the first time should the Taranaki youngster seize his unexpected opportunity.

Barrett appeared to enjoy his flight to Buenos Aires, posting on Twitter a photo of himself on the plane giving the thumbs up with team-mates Jeremy Thrush, Cory Jane and Julian Savea. He sarcastically captioned the photo “12 hour flight to Argentina with Thrushy.. Oh and these idiots at the back.”

Cruden will be replaced in the 30-man touring squad – but not by veteran No 10 Daniel Carter, who will remain at home to continue his return from a fractured leg in the NPC with Canterbury.

Canterbury’s Tom Taylor was most likely to be called up, but that decision was still to be made by the All Blacks coaches.

Cruden started six of the seven tests this season and Barrett now got the chance to add to his solitary start at No 10. Canterbury’s Colin Slade, who was in the squad anyway, would step up as the likely bench cover.

Tew confirmed today that Cruden was not suspended from all rugby and any decision on his availability for Manawatu in the provincial competition would be between him and the union.

The NZRU boss said there was likely to be a more formal disciplinary process around the incident, though any further actions around the night out by a group of All Blacks would be left with the team.

“I’d envisage as we speak there are some fairly honest conversations going on in Argentina,” he added.

Hansen was confident his side would not let the delayed travel and Cruden incident distract them from Sunday morning’s test against the Pumas in La Plata.

“As silly as it might sound the adversity created by one of the players having a mistake usually brings the group tighter and they focus really well,” he said.

“We’ve talked about it, we’ve now put it behind us and we’re getting on with it. As you do in your family you deal with the problem, you dish out the punishment and you move on.

“That’s what we’ve done. There’s not point looking over our shoulder. We’re here now and looking forward to playing Argentina who are a massive challenge.”

Hansen had spoken to Cruden directly but the pair did not discuss whether he was available to turn out for Manawatu.

“That will be up to him,” Hansen said.

All Blacks past and present on the booze:

Aaron Cruden’s exclusion from the All Blacks side to Argentina has once again brought up concerns around the drinking culture of our boys in black.

Here are some of the more notable alcohol incidents involving All Blacks.

• 2013 – Former All Blacks halfback Byron Kelleher was arrested in France after allegedly driving on the wrong side over the road while four times over the legal limit.
  • 2012 – Aaron Smith was punished by team management for a late night “breach in discipline” after the All Blacks’ victory over Argentina in Wellington.
  • 2011 – Cory Jane and Israel Dagg were punished for spending a night on the town during the World Cup.
  • 2011 – Zac Guildford admitted to being an alcoholic after a drunken incident in Rarotonga came to light. Guilford had staggered into a local bar, naked, drunk and bleeding before assaulting two holidaymakers.
  • 2008 – Jimmy Cowan was ordered to stop drinking and fined $3000 by the NZRU after several arrests for oafish behaviour while drunk.
  • 2007 – Doug Howlett jumped on two cars in London after the 2007 Rugby World Cup quarterfinal loss to France.
  • 2007 – Ali Williams was sent home from a Blues tour of South Africa after disciplinary indiscretions – including late-night drinking.
  • 2005 – Mills Muliaina and Tony Coughlan were reprimanded for urinating at public bars.
  • 1999 – Norm Hewitt smashed through the glass door of a Queenstown house after a late night bender.
  • 1972 – Keith Murdoch was sent home from a UK tour after punching a security guard at a Cardiff hotel.

72 Responses to The Rugby Championship: All Blacks – Cruden left at home after night out drinking

Anyway lots on so I’ll leave Noodleboy and Aaron to reflect on their poor life choices.

πŸ˜†

@ gunther:

sure you have buddy

NZINCHINA wrote:

big difference between NZ & SA players is that a fair number of yours sleep with a bible under their pillow

Jawellnofine:
    Prayer sessions (& presumably also the Friday captain’s run?) could become interesting when Nizaam Carr (& subsequently a few others) become Bokke …

@ Angostura:

ha ha yip that could get messy, rocking the old boys club with that one

@ NZINCHINA:30

youngsters go on the piss and make fools of themselves.

we have all done it.

but, an international sportsman going really, really big and then missing the team flight????

not in all countries, noodles, sorry to say.

@ Charo:

Yip very stupid, he’s been publicly shamed though and dropped for two very important tests. I think you’ll find most countries sportsmen have had the odd case of this every now and again. SA rugby has been dominated by the bible belt so that explains most of thier exemplary behaviour off the pitch not so on the pitch though with our friend Bakkies been a perfect example.

“being”

@ NZINCHINA:
    Are you intimating that Cruden and the All Blacks don’t live according to Christian values and don’t read or care about the bible?
    Dangerous statement to make, unless you are in the inner circle.

If the AB’s are a cross section of NZ’s current society I would think most/many of them wouldn’t be reading the bible Norty, I could be wrong mate but I doubt it. Does this surprise you?

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

didn’t know he went to the same school as Trevor Nyakane

Did ‘The Trevor’ go to ‘school’?
    Any school?
    πŸ˜†

@ NZINCHINA:
    I just fail to see how you managed to twist Cruden’s indiscretion to young SA players and even Bakkies.
    He messed up and not anyone else. It’s not to say the young players in SA also don’t enjoy a night out, they are perhaps a bit more responsible than Cruden was?

@ Hondo:
    He wanted to, but missed the assembly bell, so missed out.
    Think the difference between Trevor and Cruden is Trevor got stuck at the buffet and was late, while Cruden got stuck at the bar

22 @ ufo:
    No ufo not seen much am afraid but Kolbe must be really good if you rate him above Senatla at WP. Maybe just subscribe to the theory that a good big un will beat a good little un most times. North’s hattrick against Gloucester a few weeks ago was something else. You seem to enjoying the exciting creative players so think you would really appreciate Niko ‘Magic’ Matawalu, Glasgow Warriors scrumhalf, unpredictable with a capital U, I am a big fan of his and his ability to create something out of nothing, always looking to keep the game going at high speed.
    Just back in from enjoying one of those all too rare life is good moments, having a picnic with wee lass and daft labbie dog at loch.

Angostura wrote:

could become interesting when Nizaam Carr become Bokke …

Should be a relief for the ABs I guess? πŸ˜†

πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
    Could you imagine a player who had been missing a flight under Christie, Mallett or JW and then reinstated?
    Could you imagine a prop with no mobility and such a low match fitness playing for those coaches?
    Just asking

Clearly the vast majority of them are more responsible than Cruden was last Saturday. NZ as a country has a big problem with drinking so it’s no surprise to me that the Ab’s as a cross section of NZ’s society also have problems with it. Your fine country has many problems too but binge drinking amongst your elite rugby players isn’t one of them.

Are you intimating that Cruden and the All Blacks don’t live according to Christian values and don’t read or care about the bible?
    Dangerous statement to make, unless you are in the inner circle.

Should a National representative rugby side (like the All Blacks or the Bokke) necessarily live according to Christian values, and read the Bible and care about the Bible?
    Is this a ‘dangerous’ question to ask, & if so, why?

@ Angostura:
    See post 41
    It has nothing to do with the story, which is my point

Nope, although Noodles brought the bible into it (but not disparagingly), he saw the Bible as an area of differentiation between SA & NZ, & he also embroidered on NZ’s drinking problem, & was imo for a change quite self-deprecating about NZ & the All Blacks, & mostly gracious & complimentary about the Bokke (barring Bakkies) relative to the issue irresponsible drinking. It was YOU that attributed to Noodles things about the All Blacks (inferred) lack of Christian values and caring for the Bible.

I thought your response to Noodles was needlessly caustic, perhaps based on your sensitivity towards the Bible, which brings me back to the questions I posed & which you failed to answer.

BTW, threads & stories have a knack of morphing & expanding, which make for interesting blogging & broadening of minds; had it not been so we would still be living in caves, & not even know about rugby, Christianity, the Bible … (& drinking binges? Dunno: p’haps we’d already have followed the example of animals getting inebriated from eating fermenting Marula fruit)

Fokkit, julle manne is diep vandag, net omdat ou Crudentjie Γ± paar doppe gehad en verslaap het… ai…

I’m with Nortier on this.

Noodles is just looking for attention again.

Besides a lot of those Islanders can be very religious.

When they’re not trying to remove your head from your shoulders.

πŸ˜†

43 @ Bullscot:

yeah scotty… most times a good big un will be preferred to a good little un for sure… and i get that… but sometimes creativity or the oft over-used “x-factor” get’s the smaller good player picked over the bigger good player…

didn’t see the game where north got his hat trick though… will youtube it later…

i’m a big seabelo fan too… and we are missing him at wp while he is out injured… he certainly has made the trade between 7s and 15s as seemlessly as anyone we’ve seen… he (176cm 79kg) and cheslin (171cm 74kg) working together has been really exciting to watch… seabelo will most probably make the bok side before cheslin… (if cheslin makes it at all because he is regarded as too small… πŸ™„ ) but he is a tough and very brave guy who has taken some huge hits this season… and got right back up again…

while seabelo’s speed (10.6 at 17 years old) may top cheslin’s … i’d give the creativity prize to cheslin… and his stepping in tight space is a sight to behold…
    but don’t get me wrong… not knocking seabelo in any way shape or form…

just really pleased they both play for wp… πŸ˜†

sure do enjoy the creative exciting players… (don’t we all…? πŸ˜‰ ) but haven’t seen niko β€˜magic’ matawalu yet… will def look out for him…

very very cool day you’ve had at the loch… great stuff… one of life’s most underrated activities… picnics with family… special times…

50 @ Rage:
    Road Rage,

Hellooooo, long time no speak!

I agree with you and others that we must be careful not to judge the oke too harshly, we’ve all perhaps had a toot or 2 too many… but this oke did it so well that he did not pitch up for the team and for the plane… en route to an international tour.

So, he deserves to be whipped a bit by all and sundry, as it is not at all good what he did.

If he still pitched up and made the plane, we would probably not even have heard about it, even if was still fall-over dronkies at the time!

It’s a pity he did this, because now the All Blacks are forced to play Beauden Barrett, a much more rounded flyhalf (if he sorts out his sometimes shoddy kicking for goal). To me Barrett is a far greater threat to the Bokke than the threat Cruden poses. I don’t particularly know why Cruden is so hyped up by all and sundry, to be honest.

53 @ grootblousmile:

agree gb…

said earlier beauden is the best 10 in the world right now… imo of course… just love watching him play and also can’t understand why he hasn’t started more often… and also think he is more dangerous for us…

and also…

howdy rage… good to see you here again..!

@ ufo:
    Because, not even the All Blacks, as good as they are, can afford a 10 who slots 1/5 kicks at goal.
    The 19 point margin they beat Argentina by should/could have been 35 odd points.
    It’s ok against less serious opposition, but they will never risk it in a playoff game in the world cup

54 @ ufo:
    Jeeez, for a flyhalf Barrett has some farking speed and is a very, very dangerous and unpredictable runner… distributes excellently… and for a skinny dude he defends bloody well too.

I’ve been calling for Barrett to usurp both Dan Carter and Aaron Cruden for a while now already.

Things just seem to happen around him on the field… very, very dangerous… even if not always perfect.

55 @ nortierd:
    I don’t think Barrett’s kicking percentages to goal is much worse than that of Cruden overall… Cruden is also a bit shoddy sometimes at goal.

It was a bit of an abberation that Barrett only got 1 from 5 against the Wallas.. not naturally like that.

A couple of weeks with a decent kicking coach and you’ll already see the difference… and if that kicking coach sticks around Barrett… beware the whole world, World Cup or not…

55 @ nortierd:

hey norts… everyone is allowed an off-game or two… but because it was in an AB jersey people are holding it against beauden… but with respect… they… and you… are wrong about that… imo…

“Carter was the best goal-kicker, averaging 86 per cent, compared with Barrett at 74 per cent and Cruden at 69 per cent. Where Cruden diverged was in the number of times he kicked in a game; his average kicks in play last year was six, compared with Barrett’s 10 and Carter’s seven. He also passed less than the other two – his average was 14, Barrett’s 28 and Carter’s 26.” from gregor paul – nzherald during super rugby…

even if form has changed for both recently… i reckon their kicking is much of a muchness… and with two 10s whose kicking is neither’s strongest point… i’d go with the more creative player… who is gonna make things happen… like barrett does…

but maybe that’s just the romantic rugby lover in me…!! πŸ˜†

i used that quote cause it was the quickest i could find… but do remember one of the nz commentators (mehrtens/goldie…?) (which is why i looked for it) comparing their stats at the beginning of RC and wondered why beauden is being saddled with a statistical millstone around his neck for tilting at windmills he never tilted at… πŸ˜‰

56 @ grootblousmile:

absoloodle… he get’s my vote…

very dangerous and makes stuff happen…

Total 61 users including 0 member, 61 guests, 0 bot online