Renaldo Bothma

The Pumas defeated defending Currie Cup champions, the Sharks, 32-22 (half-time 18-9) at Mbombela Stadium on Friday night.

The hosts used their majority possession to score a four-try bonus point victory to move to the second place on the Currie Cup log.

Playing an exciting brand of rugby, the Lowveld-based side demonstrated how to win with an expansive mindset.

The Sharks initially did well to soak up the pressure from a probing Pumas attack by exiting well from their own half using flyhalf Fred Zeilinga’s clearance kicking to great effect.

Sport24

The visitors were unlucky not to score an early try when veteran flank Jacques Botes – playing in his 150th Currie Cup match – planted the ball millimetres from the line.

But the Sharks did take an early thanks to a Zeilinga penalty in the sixth minute.

The Pumas only got onto the scoreboard in the 21st minute when flyhalf Justin van Staden slotted a penalty conversion. Two minutes later the Pumas grabbed the lead as they attacked from depth to score the first try of the night.

Winning a scrum penalty, Pumas No 8 Renaldo Bothma took a quick tap and sent the ball wide to danger-man Rosco Speckman.

The Pumas wing flew down the left-hand touchline before the ball again went infield.

From a ruck metres from the line the ball went to Bothma, who burst over the line for the try, with Van Staden converting.

Van Staden extended the home side’s lead to 10 points with a penalty goal on the half-hour mark, before Zeilinga responded with one of his own two minutes later.

Shortly before the half-time break, the Pumas scored a fantastic try again running from depth.

Standout centre Stefan Watermeyer broke the line before he off-loaded to Speckman on his outside, who in turn passed to a flying Van Staden on the wing for the try (18-9).

The Sharks turned in a markedly improved performance in the second half as they erased a nine-point deficit to grab the lead once again in the 56th minute.

The visitors started their fightback with a Zeilinga penalty in the 42nd minute.

The Pumas came close to scoring their third try of the night when Sharks wing Odwa Ndungane deliberately knocked the ball down on a Pumas attack inside his own 22.

The indiscretion earned Ndungane 10 minutes in the sin-bin, while the Pumas opted for a lineout instead of the three points which proved fruitless.

The scales seemed to tip in the Sharks’ favour and in the 55th minute they confirmed this with a five pointer.

The visitors won a tighthead scrum just outside the Pumas 22, with scrumhalf Conrad Hoffmann sending a long floating pass wide to Sibusiso Sithole, who off-loaded to SP Marais for the try in the corner.

Zeilinga converted the try for a 19-18 lead before he extended it with another three-pointer in the 61st minute.

However, the Pumas’ resolve remained strong as they forced their way back into the game.

Ten minutes from time Watermeyer was rewarded for his performance as he finished a Pumas attack, with replacement flyhalf JC Roos converting.

With their tails up, the Pumas added the four-try bonus point with seven minutes on the clock with imposing lock Giant Mtyanda diving over on the left-hand corner.

Roos added the conversion to give his side a well-deserved 32-22 victory.

Steval Pumas:

• Tries: Renaldo Bothma (1), Justin van Staden (1), Stefan Watermeyer (1), Giant Mtyanda (1)
  • Conversions: Justin van Staden (1), JC Roos (2)
  • Penalties: Justin van Staden (2)

Cell C Sharks:

• Try: SP Marais (1)
  • Conversion: Fred Zeilinga (1)
  • Penalties: Fred Zeilinga (5)

19 Responses to Currie Cup: Match report – Pumas floor Currie Cup chumps

Well played Pumas.
    Well done to those who backed them on Bru, I just somehow couldn’t, all the hype around the Sharks, didn’t think the champs would lose.
    They have some serious issues down in Durban, it’s nice having all the big name players swoop in from Japan to play SR, but who is left behind to nurture the youngsters in the CC?

Well done Pumas – I missed the game, so don’t have anything really to say… except – it is almost the end of the world on emoworld…

A few:

Sharks need to take some brave decisions if they hope to retain their fan base and win any silverware. You can only use the building/adjusting excuse for so long.

Don’t think it really matters though – WP are streets ahead of the rest in this year’s competition.

What a shambles.

I think BMH must go ask Hilton College for his R1 million a year job back.

He is obviously not coping with Brendan Venter off the scene. The Sharks have regressed over the past year.

Joordaan and Marias are playing like shit. Seriously, Jordaan has no impact.

all Jordaan does in the game is tackle he offers nothing at 12 on attack!!!!!! SP is useless at the moment and needs to go!!!! To be brutally honest the Sharks got what they deserved!!!!! If the powers that be does not change things now it’s going to be a long Currie cup and an even longer Super rugby next year!!!!!!!!!

The pain oh the pain…

I particularly liked the first one…

Sharks need to take some brave decisions if they hope to retain their fan base… Are these supporters called seasonal supporters – support who are leading the way… no wonder many just vanish when the chips are down… 😆

I thought I was watching an Animal Planet Special about how some toothless sharks must go through life trying to gum their prey.

3 @ Gumboots:
    “no wonder many just vanish when the chips are down… ”

Or when they lose to a Strompie “B” team

3 @ Gumboots:
    “no wonder many just vanish when the chips are down… ”

Or when they lose to a Strompie “B” team

They have stayed away longer than normal… When do you think they will return? Maybe when they win the Super 15… It may be a long time mate… 😆

You two carry on like this and you may just lure them out of their self-imposed exile long enough to come and moer you…I can already hear SharksLover grinding his teeth across the ether, with Puma swearing softly at you under his breath in the background, while patting his Lambie statuette gingerly…

6 @ Gumboots:
    It’s going to be a long exile then 😀
    7 @ Pietman:

Morning all.

Watching Watermeyer at 12 for the Pumas cut through the Sharks backline time and again makes me wonder if the Bulls let the wrong 12 go….

The Pumas played an amazing running game, one of the most entertaining games i have seen this year.

Well played Pumas, they give 110% and won’t give away any easy points this year.

They did make it look easy at times

You two carry on like this and you may just lure them out of their self-imposed exile long enough to come and moer you…I can already hear SharksLover grinding his teeth across the ether, with Puma swearing softly at you under his breath in the background, while patting his Lambie statuette gingerly…

I’m missing the banter… they must come BACK…

Cats eat fish… Whistling

They will be back, no worries…we must just decide WHEN Tounge-Out …and they will be here in a flash!!
    After the Sharks next win, of course, whenever that is….

Watermeyer showed Jordaan up big time last night…
    Morning BB, you off to Loftus also?

Watermeyer showed Jordaan up big time last night…
    Morning BB, you off to Loftus also?

For me Jordaan is a 13, he reminds me a bit of Robbie Fleck. Good on the outside but not great on the inside. They need a hard tackling 12. Thought they had it in Frankie Steyn, now that he is free of his Bok contract.

@ Pietman: Yebo yes, as soon as I can get off work although I won’t make it to Trademarx by 15:00

But having said that I am never early nor late for an appointment…I get there at the exact time that I intended to…

Conceited

And who knows, play your cards right & I may even Shout for your team!!!

Enjoy! say hello to the boys….

@ Pietman: Will do, thanks boet.

Approve

I doubt the Sharks will risk dropping their No8 and the No13 now?
    It possible they just don’t rate the CC competition too much? 😉
    I for one don’t 😆

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online