WP jou lekker dingIt was a case of mission accomplished for DHL Western Province on Saturday, as they picked up an impressive 41-17 Absa Currie Cup win over the Vodacom Blue Bulls – their second successive bonus-point victory of 2014.

“It’s a good start for us at home – it’s mission accomplished,” DHL Western Province coach Allister Coetzee told www.wprugby.com at DHL Newlands on Saturday night.

“I think we would’ve taken this result any day of the week, it’s not every day that you score a big win like this over a Bulls team.”

“Overall, I must add that it was a good day for all three our DHL Western Province teams (today), with our Under-19s and Under-21s also picking up wins over the Blue Bulls.”

“It was a lovely sunny day, all our teams won and it was great to see all the Blue & White support in the stands (for all our teams) at DHL Newlands.”

Province’s six tries to one win was their second bonus point victory of 2014, the Blue & White hoops having scored four tries in Port Elizabeth in Week One.

The DHL WP boss added: “The key to our back-to-back bonus-point wins has been the way we have learnt to switch from defence to attacking mode.

“In the past, we were not always prepared to exploit turn-over possession, but we are attaining a balance between attack and defence.”

“There is a greater awareness of when to kick and when to run with the ball. We are no longer tentative when we suddenly get turn-over possession.”

“Our pack is securing good front-foot ball and the new leadership is seeing to it that we don’t stray from the way we set out to play. Our performances have been the result of excellent team work.”

One major blot in the Province copybook on Saturday was their discipline, as lock Manuel Carizza and wing Kobus van Wyk both spent time in the sin bin. The weekend before, in PE, the team conceded three yellow cards – something that the DHL WP coach is determined to eradicate from his team’s make-up.

“There is a tendency to be over anxious in defence because this team does not want to concede tries,” said Coetzee. “At times our players were also guilty of over-exuberance and that leads to penalties against us.”

“Referees are not going to allow cynical things and our players will be hit hard financially when this happens. We have standards for the way we want to play and we frown on players being yellow-carded.”

Province will host the table-topping Golden Lions at DHL Newlands on Saturday (August 23), with the winner of this match likely to move clear into first place on the Currie Cup standings – unless the Sharks beat the Cheetahs by a very big margin next week.

“We want to build on this performance because we are striving for consistency week in and week out,” said Coetzee.

“We must cut out the soft moments in the game when allow opponents through for a try because we did not retain our shape as a team.”

28 Responses to Currie Cup: Mission accomplished for DHL WP

This year…..

Sorry.

Stormersboy wrote:

This year…..

Sorry.

Lol, every year boet, every year
    Wink
    Just watch us this year, and just watch us next year in SR.
    It’s going to be our year, if not now, then next year, or maybe 2016, but it’s coming

Mission accomplished?

Already.

Don’t let Thelo “C.J” Wakefield hear you say that.

@ gunther:
    Just last weeks mission Gunther, just last weeks 😉

don’t worry boys….

it is definitely this year.

thelo has threatened hell on earth if you don’t do it.

@ Charo:
    For sure, this year we don’t have to contend with Brendan Venter 😆
    That’s already a huge plus point

Province counting their chickens before Thelo eats them.

Let’s hope it’s another year of disappointment.

The Irony is that if we do somehow manage to win this year’s CC it will likely mean a reprieve for the coaches and that’s not the best thing for WP so we are damned if we do and damned if we dont.

at least thelo will keep gert smal on if you win.

that oke seems to have made a huge difference to the game plan

Charo wrote:

at least thelo will keep gert smal on if you win.

that oke seems to have made a huge difference to the game plan

We have heard about the huge difference in game plan at the stormers for the fourth year in a row at currie cup level.

gunther wrote:

Province counting their chickens before Thelo eats them.

Let’s hope it’s another year of disappointment.

It will definitely be our year. Thelo has the refs in his pocket. Did you not notice the beautiful line the Ref ran to block the Bulls defence and to allow de Jongh to run in untouched for the last try?

Nothing new, Looking forward to the Stormers bombing another year and hear for 6 weeks in a row how shit the Stormers are from Nortie 😀

That ref was a disgrace.

Hondo must have shat himself watching that game.

mission accomplished…?? after the second round of the comp…??

sheesh… do we never learn…?

wp getting waaay too windgat waaay to early to be healthy for anyone…

calm down guys… union and fans… feet on the ground and keep performing on the park… and keep quiet and humble off it…

otherwise it’s gonna come and bite us on our asses and the sharks and bulls fan are gonna be deservedly vocal in telling us all about it…!

O’dear.

One game at a time.

At this stage of the Super Rugby season in April, the Sharkies were planning their ticker
    tape parade.

@ ufo:
    I do believe the reference was in regards to Saturday’s 3 matches, which they managed to win.
    In other articles Allister does mention that the players must remain grounded etc

Jeraldjay wrote:

O’dear.

One game at a time.

At this stage of the Super Rugby season in April, the Sharkies were planning their ticker
    tape parade.

They do love a great parade those fellows 😉

@ Charo:
    5 Charo

Hi pal.Good to see you holding the fort.(Against what is essentially
    a motley crew.Except UFO of course)
    Regards

@ ryecatcher:
    Rye………..
    I have a guilty conscience for not contacting you.
    Sorry mate…..
    I have been so busy with business travel…..
    But that is no excuse.
    Can your son get you and the missus through to Stationmasters some time?

Not this week though.
    I have to be in the Big Naartjie

Chris says: Sien in die Beeld Frans blameer alweer ‘afronding’ en vra dat ware supporters nou moet saam staan, net soos hy by die Leeus gevra het daai tyd, want hy het alweer baie geleer afgelope naweek, vlieg in jou maai Ludeke, BOIKOT!!

16 @ nortierd:

thanks for that nortie… i hope you’re right bud…

@ ryecatcher:

you’re too kind rye… but i’m as motley as the rest of the crue… 😉

Hello,
    Is there anybody in there?
    Just nod if you can hear me.
    Is there anyone at home?

Guess not…

Laters guys…

Bye

Hi UFO,
    I am here…..
    Still clambering over all those rocks and hills?

hey charo…

how you doing bud…?

yeah… as often as possible… really love it… and a great time of year too…

give us a shout next time you’re down here…

sorry bud… must go… on my phone… at a function…

keep well…

Cheers mate.
    Will call next time in the mother city

14 @ ufo:
    Wow there is a sensible WP fan out there, good on you ufo Approve
    History on the blog o sphere has shown any hint of success and WP okes can become unbearable, soon there will be calls for all WP players to get Bok call ups Star Struck

@ ufo:
    22 Saw what you did there.Quite proud to still know names of pop groups.
    DAMN Look at the time.Must try to get some sleep.Goodnight pal
    Rye

Total 47 users including 0 member, 47 guests, 0 bot online