Heyneke Meyer

Is Heyneke Meyer putting too many “old eggs” in one basket?

Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer continues his “Dad’s Army” approach by recalling veteran flanker Juan Smith for a training camp ahead of next month’s Rugby Championship.

French club Toulon confirmed three of their South African signings – Smith, lock Bakkies Botha and wing Bryan Habana – would be involved in the Boks camp.

Smith, 32, hasn’t played for the Boks since 2010 as Achilles injuries requiring four surgeries ravaged his career, eventually forcing him to “retire” early last year.

But he made a remarkable comeback in France last September, signing with Toulon and helping them to win the Heineken Cup. A happy Toulon management recently extended Smith’s contract through to 2016.

Meyer admitted earlier this year he was tracking Smith’s form and fitness with interest, believing the former Cheetah’s player hadn’t lost any of his class and that his body was young in mileage terms because of the amount of time he had spent on the sidelines.

Now it seemed Smith might be a contender to feature for the Boks again and even press for another World Cup after winning the 2007 title under Jake White.

Meyer has had no hesitation in looking to experienced players to bolster his squad and also to offshore stars given the leniency of the South African selection policy.

Botha, 34, has confirmed the current European season will be his last, but also expressed his desire to be involved in next year’s World Cup in England.

Like Botha, Matfield was a long-time ally of Meyer from his coaching days at the Bulls.

Matfield completed a remarkable milestone earlier this year when he became the most capped (113) and oldest (37 years and 48 days) Springboks player when he captained the Boks in the second test of their series win against Wales.

The 31-year-old Schalk Burger was another veteran back in favour after missing the last two years with injury and illness.

54 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Springboks – Is Heyneke Meyer putting to much faith in his ‘Dad’s Army’ approach?

The lions props are all young and while it is generally accepted the lions scrummed well its hard to recall their names really ever standing out at any stage?

Agree generally except maybe in the last game v Cheetahs.

Sri Lanka 241/3 , going at almost 4 an over, messing with the Proteas.
    Only Steyn worth something as a bowler, the rest just making up the numbers.

32 @ nortierd:
    Revenge of the Tea Farmers?

Looks like it.
    4 down now, Jayawardene still going strong, 120 odd

Imposing in what way?
    You have a Bok front row playing for the Sharks who is seen on the field for all the wrong reasons…arguing with referees, copping yellow cards etc.
    I would prefer the props to do their primary work in the scrums and not get involved in side shows, like the Lion’s props this year, but that’s just me

Imposing, as in get a reputation of a fearsome player or an “aura” that players like beast and coenie have. It is easy to say they just need to do their primary work… yet do you want a flyhalf that primarily kicks well? do you want a lock forward that primarily wins his lineout and less of the other stuff?

All I am saying is while it it is widely regarded that the lions front row has been exceptional(and all under 25years old)… it is not like rugby fans are generally saying “Did you check that Redelinghyus oke? he is having a monster of a season, he should be in reckoning for the boks bru!”… but what you hear is, “Meyer needs to look at the lions front row, they have done really well”

30 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    I hear that Bobby is quite wayward on the golf course.

Hence the fore-warning!

Just comparing Redelinghuys and Jannie to Marcel whoisonlyintheteambecauseheisabull:

Redelinghuys/Marcel?Jannie

Minutes played(used as a base)
    Redelinghuys=883
    Marcel=568
    Jannie=899

Penalties conceded
    Redelinghuys=1 every 58 min
    Marcel=1 every 95 min
    Jannie=1 every 59 min

Metres run
    Redelinghuys=1m for every carry (25 carries)
    Marcel=3m for every carry (45 carries)
    Jannie=1m for every carry(23)

Tackle success rate
    Redelinghuys=87%(90tackles)
    Marcel=92%(39tackles)
    Jannie=74%(59tackles)

Turnovers won
    Redelinghuys=3
    Marcel=6
    Jannie=3

Tries
    Redelinghuys=0
    Marcel=2
    Jannie=0

25 @ nortierd:
    Tea Farmers now 285/5.

If the blommetjies can take the tail for 50 – 80 runs they’ll be in a good position.

This wicket is normally a batter’s paradise.

And then you have one of my faourite props Frans Malherbe (spit spit)

Penalties conceded 1 every 120 min

Metres run 3.3m for every carrie (30 carries)

Tackle success rate 89%(64 tackles)

Turnovers won 4

Tries 2

Bobby had a great first test against he Wallabies at Loftus, scored a try in front of me north LH corner!
    Conrad Jantjies was motm that day, he was excellent from fullback , he ran the Ozzies fktup, Matthew Burke didn’t know where to cover…
    Conrad was another outstanding player that got messed up in the Cape…and by that Fortuin cherry, of course. WP hasn’t been a happy hunting ground for the Jantjies clan.

@ 37 Redelinghuys Who-s-the-man 100% !!!!

35 @ MacroBull:
    What is Beast’s reputation?
    Every time he catches a ball, whether he does buggerall with it or not, the crowd shouts Beeeaaaast.
    Let’s be honest, his best game was last week when he sat in the stands, the Sharks front row on the field was 10 times more dominant on the day as when he played.

Looks like Jake is getting his excuses in early, check the new thread.
    He should just sometimes keep his mouth shut

Let’s be honest, his best game was last week when he sat in the stands,

You owe me a new keyboard….

Gobbed my coffee all over it when I read that.

35 @ MacroBull:
    What is Beast’s reputation?
    Every time he catches a ball, whether he does buggerall with it or not, the crowd shouts Beeeaaaast.
    Let’s be honest, his best game was last week when he sat in the stands, the Sharks front row on the field was 10 times more dominant on the day as when he played.

Beast lives and breathes on his apparent reputation to be honest. I personally believe he is overrated and plays 1 good game every 5 games then gets praised for weeks. I also stated a few times I would start Chadwick ahead of him.

But at least most people will know him when they talk about the Sharks front row, unlike people naming the lions front row, “eh Redelinghuys, um that hooker and eh Schalk?”

44 @ Scrumdown:
    Wink I’m sure Rudi has a couple of spare keyboards lying around. 😀

But at least most people will know him when they talk about the Sharks front row, unlike people naming the lions front row, “eh Redelinghuys, um that hooker and eh Schalk?”

We (Lions supporters) prefer it that way.

Keep our players on the field instead of warming the bench for the SA national side.

As for “that hooker”, watch Armand vd Merwe. I reckon he’s one for the future.

Scrumdown wrote:

We (Lions supporters) prefer it that way.
    Keep our players on the field instead of warming the bench for the SA national side.
    As for “that hooker”, watch Armand vd Merwe. I reckon he’s one for the future.

I think the best thing for the lions is that Robbie Coetzee, Julian, Schalk, Armand are all under 25.

But to say Marcel only got selected because he is a Bull is absurd, his stats back him up “dubbel en dwars”… Too bad Ludeke won’t back him up.

48 @ MacroBull:
    According to the Lions’ website the oldest forward is Willie Wepener ar 33 years old.

The youngest is Malcolm Marx at just 20.

The average age of the forwards is 25y 9 months including Willie Britz but excluding Armand vd Merwe.

In the backs the oldest is Deon v Rensburg at 32, and the youngest is Faf de Klerk at 23. (Courtnel Skosan turns 23 TODAY)

The average age of the backs is just over a year more than the forwards at 25y and nearly 10 months.

48 @ MacroBull:
    Also of interest is that the Lions have been AGGRESIVELY signing U19 and U21 players, as well as a LOT of U18 players at Craven Week.

Surprisingly (or not?) a lot of the U18 players are from Pretoria, including Johan Ackermann’s son and a number of his school team mates.

I suspect that the move to contract so many youngsters is probaly the work of Rudolf Straeulie.

Scrumdown wrote:

the youngest is Faf de Klerk at 23. (Courtnel Skosan turns 23 TODAY)

Brainfart?

Obviously then Skosan would be the youngest.

Is Willie injured? he was an ENORMOUS loss to the Bulls, he and Jano did a lot to get the Bulls in the top 2 teams last year.

52 @ MacroBull:
    Yes. That’s why they drafted A. vd Merwe in.

I believe he’s signed for another year with the Lions.

overall 305/5 is not too bad, too bad about that drop catch from Philanders bowlign early in the game, then we could have put more pressure on their top order… Game is fairly even for now, if anything Amla would sleep quite comfortably tonight, just need to get them out before they get to 450-500.

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online