Matthew Burke

With just one match of the Super Rugby season remaining, who have been the standout players for the year?

Matthew Burke reveals his top 12.

Choosing ten players proved tough, so I called on my chief researchers to help me out and, not surprisingly, the majority of the players that feature have played a part in the finals. We got down to 12, so here they are, in no particular order.

Do you agree with his choices?

Sydney Morning Herald

Luke Jones

His introduction to the Wallabies was justified after an enormous year. He took ownership of that Rebels pack and thrived on the responsibility. One of his strengths is his versatility. He has the ability to play lock or in the back row. Wherever he turns out, his physical presence is enormous.

Willie Le Roux

The chip and chase king – I love that. You know its coming but you can’t stop that deft touch. He has the speed to finish tries and an ability to turn nothing into something. A real game-breaker, as the Welsh found out. A player that makes you want to watch the game.

Matt Hodgson

If there was ever a player who represented what it means to play with heart, he is the one. Brilliant for the Force this year and the catalyst for the team having its best season yet. So strong on the ball, and effective in so many turnovers per game. A genuine leader.

Jacques Potgieter

The new owner of Allianz Stadium. As the marquee player, he has delivered. His energy around the field has been his standalone feature. Combine that with the physicality he brings and you have the makings of a player everyone wants to play with. Not ignoring his ability at the breakdown and his passing skills, his running and support play has been a highlight of the Waratahs’ season.

Bernard Foley

Top points scorer in the Super Rugby competition who showed composure and leadership in guiding the team to the top of the ladder. What was most impressive was his decision-making. With the talent outside, it would be easy to distribute to them, but he mixed up his running and passing options to keep rivals guessing. He has the ability to play flat and take the ball to the line, keeping the opposition under pressure.

Beauden Barrett

Another No.10 to really make an impact. From his accurate goal-kicking to his option taking, Barrett has been the form five-eighth in New Zealand. Some of the touches he has had for the Hurricanes this season need to be rewound and watched a second time, they are that good. The unfortunate situation he finds himself in is the quality of competition when it comes to the All Blacks.

Bismarck du Plessis

The raging bull. What would you give to have someone on your side like him? He somehow keeps expanding the role of a hooker. Has technique in the scrum, is a seriously strong defender and is fast becoming a very good ball runner. Those attributes make him the best rake in the world. His most decisive feature is his aggression. He has such a massive influence on the Sharks.

Brodie Retallick

The 23-year-old is a man mountain. He has presence at lineout time and great fitness to get through so much work around the park. Strong in defence, offers up as a ball carrier and creates a nuisance of himself at the breakdown. He is becoming the ultimate spoiler. Throw in his awareness for opportunity and it makes for good rugby.

Scott Fardy

Since making his debut for the Wallabies, he has a clearer understanding of what his role is. Aggressive, physical and dominant are the words that best describe him. His challenge is to enhance those attributes, play smarter and raise the standard. His influence in the Brumbies pack this season has been huge.

Israel Folau

MVP. Tops the try-scoring list for the season and clean breaks, third for defenders beaten, over 1000 metres run, leads offloads, but for all of those statistics, it’s his presence on the field that is most reassuring for his teammates. They know he is there and that something will come from just about everything he touches. What the stats don’t tell you is how hard he works off the ball. That is the key feature of his play.

Ben Smith

Like Folau and Le Roux, Smith has taken the game to another level. His ability to make metres in games is astounding. What sets him apart form other players is his balance through the tackle. The ability to keep control of his body in contact is the main reason the Highlanders had a turnaround in form this season.

Kurtley Beale

I have been impressed with his maturity on the field this season. He has embraced the responsibility to execute a game plan to make others look good. For all the attributes that Folau has shown this season, the yin to his yang is Beale. He provides the time and space for the fullback to work his magic.

42 Responses to Super Rugby: Opinion – A dozen of the best STARS of 2014

Names which immediately spring to mind include Michael Hooper, Nemani Nadolo, Lood de Jager, Jaco Kriel, the Lions props & Marnitz Boshoff.

Don’t forget Lambie, Fransie, Boetie, Beast, Bresler, PSdT, the Cullen of loosies Keegan, Kanko, Deysel, Alberts, Reinach, McCloud, Swiel, Jordaan, Zeilinga, Percy Mvovo, Sithole, Marais

2 @ nortierd:
    Jeeez, I have a problem looking objectively at the players from other countries bar SA, New Zealand and Australia….

having fun boys?

5 @ Charo:
    Arghh come on Charo… don’t be shy, kak us out proper!

Delighted

@ Charo:
    Kuk sommer vir Scrumdown ook uit, asb Charo!!!

Charo wrote:

having fun boys?

nope, had my rant for the year already 😈

what did scrumdown do? normally i go easy on the lions blokes – too much sympathy for the boys.

Kuk sommer vir Scrumdown ook uit, asb Charo!!!

I am teribly upset that you should suggest that i be kukked out.

I think I’ll pop down to the petrol staion on the corner, buy a genuine Sharks replica (made in Vietnam, not China) 2015 jersey, and slip slowly into retirement until my team wins a Super Rugby title.

(Or not)

F @ Charo:
    No, don’t spare Scrummie, he is my chum…kuk hom maar uit…
    Check on the other thread about the Blue Bull signings Wink

@ Scrumdown:10

ok, now you have gone too far…….

fark you and your mangy pussiecats.

… en toe sê ek vir myself… “Self, jy moet werk, die geld gaan nie self inrol nie en die tille gaan hulleself nie slaan nie!

Chat a bit laters again!

Charo wrote:

@ Scrumdown:10

ok, now you have gone too far…….

fark you and your mangy pussiecats.

Daasit!
    Gooi Charo the “f” key skopskiet fuckadilly style Overjoy

Charo wrote:

fark you and your mangy pussiecats

But didn’t you read in my post that I am going to repent and buy a Sharks jersey?

After all, I couldn’t have been talking about the Lions’. They’ve already won a Super Rugby trophy.

he is my chum

Isn’t chum what vissermans / hengelaars / anglers use to attract Sharks?????

10 @ Scrumdown:
    “Sharks replica (made in Vietnam, not China) 2015 jersey”

Isn’t the 2015 version the one with the Conference Cup on the sleeve?

“Self, jy moet werk, die geld gaan nie self inrol nie en die tille gaan hulleself nie slaan nie!

Yup. the corpses won’t walk into the undertakers. You’ll have to go fetch them!

OK, maybe the living dead of Kings Park will walk in, but I hear they’re a bitch to get into the coffin.

Again?

Scrumdown wrote:

Again?

No, that’s wishful thinking, next year they will still be reminiscing about their 2014 season

Let’s bite the Antipodians kak for a while, they are the ones who knocked the South African challenge out of the Finals…

No wait, the Bulls knocked themselves out against the Lions and the Stormers… eish!

Jeeez, we do not have much to rave about this coming weekend.. it’s Sheepshaggers against Convicts… and we are simply nowhere!!

Wait till The Rugby Championships… or even safer, just wait till the Currie Cup, a South African team is bound to win that one… unless it is the Sharks, of course!!

Scrumdown wrote:

he is my chum

Isn’t chum what vissermans / hengelaars / anglers use to attract Sharks?????

Touche!!!
    Thought about that as I typed it Happy-Grin

i think i recall a lot of backslapping down newlands way when your lot “won” the plascon shield.

didn’t the cape times have it as their headline?

not a word mentioned in the local press – pisswilly little cups don’t interest us.

Jeeez, we do not have much to rave about this coming weekend..

Womens World Cup starts soon. Friday I think!

18 @ Scrumdown:
    Fark, I’d much rather work with corpses than with Sharks Supporters… the corpses are even more “ALIVE” than the current Sharks crop… and a corpse talks more sense anyway!

24 @ Scrumdown:
    Jeeez bro, that one is going to be a farkup of note, sommer in the 1st game already against the Aussie women!

22 @ Pietman:
    Gee. So I’m actually quite (half) awake so late on a Tuesday.

Wonders never cease.

and a corpse talks more sense anyway!

Please send me a new keyboard.

I just spewed coffee all over mine when I read this. (Not for the first time I might add!)

23 @ Charo:
    You should have seen that ticker tape parade Charo….streets were lined 1 deep

26 @ grootblousmile:
    Do you think our “girls” might be better going for a tight (as in 15 (wo)man) maul from the outset.

Surely our superior set piece coupled with speed and guile (occasionally, at least against teams like Sri-Lanka) should win the day.

Total 49 users including 0 member, 49 guests, 0 bot online