South AfricaScotlandSpringboks (19) 55 / 6 (6) Scotland (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Scotland did battle in the June Internationals at

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth 17:00 SA Time (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Marcell Coetzee (2), Willie le Roux (1), Lwazi Mvovo (2), JP Pietersen (1), Lodewyk de Jager (2)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (5), marnitz Boshoff (1)

Scotland:

• Penalties – Duncan Weir (2)

South Africa

Scotland

28 June at 17:00
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 Zane Kirchner
  • Team: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Henry Pyrgos, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Robert Harley, 5 Grant Gilchrist (Captain), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson
  • Replacements: 16 Kevin Bryce, 17 Moray Low, 18 Euan Murray, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 Tyrone Holmes, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Dougie Fife, 23 Peter Murchie

Expected weather: Clear with a high of 19 C, dropping to 10 C
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

504 Responses to June Internationals: South Africa vs Scotland – Live Game Article

@ Nama:
    thats true. he has steadily progressed these last four weeks. I am still unsure if he will play in the RC and im sure guys like nortie will absolute ly hate the fact that de allende will be forced to play ten minutes in a test match when he is so far behind the que 😉

@ Hondo:
    I think its more of a bok weakness for ages now. get under our skins and our rugby quality drops dramatically. scotland yesterday managed it for about twenty minutes and wales managed it the first half of the second test.

but what can we say? we knew we were lucky in so many ways but we still celebrated and jake is a world cup winning coach

poor pdv had one very unlucky game where the ref destroyed us and he will be remembered as a failure.

Pollard is a poor man’s Zweilinga.
    Every time that the Springboks from The Sharks and The Sharks B team perform well then the Bokke is on song.
    Percy Mvovo once against proved all his critics wrong,Matfield has proven once again that he is a poor version of the outstanding Lewies.
    Boom Prinsloo deserves a call up on form.

@ Fern:

Wragtag?

Hands up for ”Boom”……….
    Me, me meeeee : Shout: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

@ Fern:
    En hier dog ek die heeltyd dat Hondo die grootste kak prater op RT is

@ Hondo:479

I was under the impression that, after seeing some reactions, that the AB’s also needed refereeing intervention in the 1st and 2nd test against England.

Walsh didn’t win us the game against Wales, Wales lost the game all by themselves.

@ Fern:483

Jy weet natuurlik dat as Jake sy sin kon kry en vir Bekker oorgebring het soos hy wou toe PSdT seergekry het, Lewies seker nog Vodacom Cup sou gespeel het.

Dis waar dat die Sharks A en B span goed gespeel het, maar ek sit dit ne’er op die feit dat hulle vir n slag n ordentlike afrigter gehad het en nie Jake en Naka nie.

Heyneke gaan nou weer tydens die RC van voor af moet begin, aangesien die spelers nou weer onder daai marabse se invloed gaan wees vir n paar weke

“poor pdv had one very unlucky game where the ref destroyed us and he will be remembered as a failure.”
    Not by me Boet
    PdV was a 5:2 vs the ABs after his 2nd year in charge, HM on the other hand is a cool 0:4!
    (and on his way to a 1:5 or possibly a 0:6)
    PdV’s only mistake was to stick with JS and Spies, those 2 EACH could have brought down a battle ship on their own, let alone a Boks team
    He has the wisdom and the courage to drop The Beast, I’ll give that to him too

@Hondo
    The only parallel I could so far draw between watching all the soccer is that the Fatboy missed his calling.

The criteria for being a successful soccer player is you must be able to kick the ball far, have very little grey matter as you hit the ball with your head repeatedly and it could cause damage if you had some brains that were in danger of being damaged and lastly, you must be able to overreact and act like a prima Donna, crying also helps.

So my consensus is that Fransie missed his calling, he would have been a superstar at soccer, he ticks all the boxes

?
    That includes the try by Mike Brown that never was?
    You are wrong, again, the Refs kept the Poms in the 2 tests which they should have won because of forwards dominance, but failed because of Lancaster’s back-line selection
    The 3rd test with Lawes and Vanipula among the forwards put paid to the Poms forwards’ dominance (the Daily Telegraph said that too)

@ Hondo:
    Nonu escaping a card for holding a player back, but the Yardie not so lucky?

But Fransie can’t dribble, he is no Mesi, certainly not a Beardsley or Best?
    I haven’t watched soccer since WC 1990 (and Liverpool Champ)
    You surprised me
    Did you REALLY believe that a multi million rated starts will risk their legs and huge income playing against 3 world teams who have the license to chop them brutally from the FIFA appointed 3rd world referee?
    (incld Italy, Spain, England, no idea who else)

@ Hondo:492
    Granted, he can’t dribble like Messi, but he can put him to shame in the Lays commercials, I’m sure Messi won’t be able to keep up with him when it comes to gobbling down copious amounts of chips?

What about Bissie yesterday?
    Missed to connect few hooks?
    The Poms were also off side and holding on the ground with no firm retaliation from the referees, I doubt a try in the opening minutes would have won it for the Poms anyway
    The Poms in the 1st test were dominant in the loose, I was surprised that Messam and Kaino were reselected, they won’t be there against the Boks unfortunately

@ Hondo:492
    You can add Portugal to that list, but to be fair, they only had one pretty boy with an attitude and dodgy knees…….come to think of it, that sounds like the Sharks as well

@ Hondo:
    Messam will always be there, he is the new designated Haka leader after Piri’s retirement…..and after the Hollywood at Eden Park Hanson owes him big time

Dale’s first test wicket… hell his action looks a lot better now!

152 runs before the 1st wicket fell.

We had to go through a little pain 🙂 and then Lanka to get there, but we got there 😀

452 Dan
    Hi pal.You well?Sowerby was class.Agree with your comments
    re Marcel Coetzee/
    Now an excellent hybrid fetcher /carrier.As is Bissie.
    Kind regards
    Rye

@ ryecatcher:
    Hi Rye, you well?
    Yep, Sowerby could have had some international career for France, had he not had that 1 Bok cap.

Coetzee was great yesterday, but he has also had a very good year in SR as well.

what a fightback

Sien dit op Keo se Facebook, wonder of dit waar is?
    Sal die Shark supporters op hol jaag en seker sorg dat Jake aftree.

“The word is also that Heyneke will b reappointed 4 another 4 years pre the World Cup, regardless of the WC outcome. And deservedly so.”

Total 26 users including 0 member, 26 guests, 0 bot online