Duane VermeulenDHL StormersNo 8 Duane Vermeulen will captain the DHL Stormers in their Vodacom Super Rugby, Round Eight encounter against the Waratahs at DHL Newlands on Saturday night (kick-off 19:10).

The DHL Stormers are back at DHL Newlands for the first time since the end of February and Vermeulen will skipper a team showing four changes from last weekend’s five-point defeat in Brisbane.

Regular captain Jean de Villiers will sit out this week with a meniscal cyst, with Damian de Allende starting in his place at inside centre.

Kobus van Wyk will take De Allende’s place in the No 14 jersey, with Jaco Taute starting at fullback in place of the injured Gio Aplon and Michael van der Spuy moving onto the bench, having last featured against the Lions in February.

Up front, meanwhile, the fit-again Ruan Botha (ankle) takes the place of Jurie van Vuuren at No.4 lock in the only change to the pack this week, with Tazz Fuzani (on the bench) the only uncapped member of the DHL Stormers 23.

DHL Stormers coach Allister Coetzee told www.iamastormer.com: “Depth is crucial in this competition. Having Juan de Jongh back to full fitness, following his comeback from a pre-season knee injury, means that we can still field a formidable centre combination – with Juan and Damian – in Jean’s absence.

“Jean and other players will benefit from this two-week rest period, with next week being a bye, and more players will be returning after the brief break. Players like Scarra Ntubeni, Pat Cilliers, Schalk Burger and Cheslin Kolbe will all hopefully come into contention for selection (after the bye).”

Coetzee also paid tribute to incoming skipper Duane Vermeulen, who was a consistent performer for the team on their four-match tour of New Zealand and Australia

“It’s scary to think that Duane is just 27 years old, yet he has already played 68 matches for the DHL Stormers and he continues to get better as a player and a leader,” he said.

“Players like Duane are the future of this union and it’s an exciting opportunity for him to lead the team as we look to get back to winning ways now that we’re back at home at DHL Newlands.”

The DHL Stormers and Waratahs have met on eight previous occasions at DHL Newlands, with the Stormers winning five times and the ‘Tahs winning twice. One match has been drawn (in 2008).

Tickets for this weekend can be bought online atย TicketPros, or from selected Spar stores or PostNet outlets. Ticket prices start at R50 for standing and R80 for seating.

DHL Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Peter Grant (Vice-captain), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Duane Vermeulen (Captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Michael Rhodes, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Tazz Fuzani, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Demetri Catrakilis, 23 Michael van der Spuy.

Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)

76 Responses to Super Rugby: Vermeulen takes the lead for DHL Stormers

@ Romain Poite:
    What did you do with the money?

28 @ Stormersboy:
    Can’t remember… but I remember, we took the whole Voldy over one day years ago, when everybody became Jan something, in support of the Jan, Player 23 campaign… was a total hoot at the time.

31 @ MacroBull:
    Hookers & Gambling… could’nt help myself, I am French after all.

Ja we mos did that here too last year I think during the tri nations.

I was “bobbejanklimdiebergstormersboyspringbokjan”

35 @ Stormersboy:
    I was GrootblouJan

@ Romain Poite
    You should have spent it on soap, being a Frenchman and all.

I was a Jan here too last year just forget what Jan. probwbly Puma jan.

Having a laugh reading the Roar now how those Aussies are protecting Chieka’s bad behaviour last week coming down to the field first to speak to the assistant refs then has a go at the camerman. Hope he is better behaved this week when his team are playing the Stormers, as I doubt the supporters willl take to kindly to his behaviour there. Now really hope the Stormers trounce thos Tahs as their coach is a real hot head fool behaving like that and when he knocked out a glass pane at the Brumbies box when the Tahs got beaten then.

37 @ nortierd:
    I take ze bath once a month, when I am at Bath!

In summer I bath in ze glory of my achievements…

Jeez so many errors there just ignore. Hope the builders are finished early in my study tomorrow so can get back on my pc and pack th is IPad away…. Eish it is annoying working from this damn thing.

38 @ Puma:
    Wobbly Jan, sounds like you did quite a few alterations!

roman @ 39
    you … I mean your officiating stinks!!

LambiesdadJan??

๐Ÿ™‚

42 @ Ashley:
    No, no, it’s my French Perfume you smell!

@ Romain Poite:
    Essence of overly ripe cheese with hint of garlic??

OK, enough Poite for one day… I feel rather dirty now!

roman @ 44
    bit of advice
    next time don’t spray that shit in your eyes … make you see things that’s not there!!

@Romain Poite
    When you sent Bismarck off ,did his sister Janine whine and cry about the shame you brought to their family being bigger than when they left the Free State to go to Durban?

Also, was it a predetermined decision NOT to send Jannie off as it would have made it more difficult for the All Blacks to win without him on the field?

48 @ nortierd:
    Richie, Kieran & Dan Carter asked me so nicely to send Bismarck off and leave Stupid Jannie on the field.

41 @ grootblousmile:
    Many and can’t wait for it to be klaar now. Had to work with ear plugs today…hahahaha. The noise the last few weeks has been just terrible. Almost done just another few days and it should be all done.

Romain Poite wrote:

48 @ nortierd:
    Richie, Kieran & Dan Carter asked me so nicely to send Bismarck off and leave Stupid Jannie on the field.

Who-s-the-man
    I knew it

Stormersboy
    I-see-stars
    Think I was plain Puma Jan… Tounge-Out

My good friend Nama is here see his nick on top. Thought I recognised Clovis from keo as him. Welcome here Nama really good to have you, on board here boet. Hope your Stormers trounce those Thas this week.

Where is Rye these days? I miss my goood Shark friend here. Hope he starts to blog more often here afain.

Okay I am going to do a snag list. Do it each day so don’t have to wait for the builders to come back. They have to correct everything each day they come if there needs touching up. Like it to be done as they go along.

Cheers everyone catch up tomorrow.

Delighted

56 @ Puma:
    Builders are like referees… they do what they want and act surprised if they’re pulled up on not doing it correctly!

Thanks for the welcome Puma. Good to “see” you again.

Don’t worry. The Stormers will do their thing. Shock and awe on Saturday at Newlands. I’ll be taking the magic doepa with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

@ Nama:

My goeie vok! Another Stormertjie. Where’ve you been? We didn’t go that far.

Welcome. There aren’t too many late owls around here.

And my superbru is in its moer. As you’ve probably seen.

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online