Super RugbyIt is Round 11 of Super Rugby 2014 this weekend! We have 6 games in Round 11, with 3 games on Friday and 3 games on Saturday.

The Crusaders, Lions & Melbourne Rebels have bye weekends.

In June / July 2014 the Antipodian teams will catch up in played games with the South African counterparts, when the South African sides sit out for 1 Round.

The Combined Log will therefore be skewed for the majority of the competition and one has to question why individual countries are allowed to start such a long competition ahead of it’s rivals. In 2013 the Australian sides started a week early, but at least they had the excuse that they needed an extra week in the middle of the year to prepare for the British & Irish Lions series, which they lost.

Super Rugby – Round 11

All Times are in SA Time (GMT + 2)

Blues

Waratahs

25 April at 07:35
  • Team: 15. Charles Piutau, 14. Frank Halai, 13. Francis Saili, 12. Ma’a Nonu, 11. Lolagi Visinia, 10. Simon Hickey, 9. Bryn Hall, 8. Peter Saili, 7. Luke Braid (Captain), 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. Keven Mealamu, 1. Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16. James Parsons, 17. Sam Prattley, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Hayden Triggs, 20. Piri Weepu, 21. Steven Luatua, 22. Ihaia West, 23. Pita Ahki
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Cam Crawford, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Kurtley Beale, 11. Rob Horne, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Dave Dennis (Captain), 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Jacques Potgieter, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Will Skelton, 3. Sekope Kepu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. Tola Latu, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Paddy Ryan, 19. Patrick McCutcheon, 20. Wycliff Palu, 21. Brendan McKibbin, 22. Jonathan Lance, 23. Matt Carraro

Brumbies

Chiefs

25 April at 09:40
  • Team: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Joseph Tomane, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Robbie Coleman, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. Jarrad Butler, 6. Jordan Smiler, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Scott Fardy, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16. Siliva Siliva, 17. Ruan-Henry Smith, 18. Jean-Pierre Smith, 19. Jack Whetton, 20. Tom McVerry, 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Pat McCabe
  • Team: 15. Tom Marshall, 14. Tim Nanai-Williams, 13. Andrew Horrell, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10. Gareth Anscombe, 9. Augustine Pulu, 8. Liam Messam (Captain), 7. Sam Cane, 6. Nick Crosswell, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Ross Filipo, 3. Ben Tameifuna, 2. Mahonri Schwalger, 1. Pauliasi Manu
  • Replacements: 16. Nathan Harris, 17. Jamie MacKintosh, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Matt Symons, 20. Tevita Koloamatangi, 21. Brad Weber, 22. Dwayne Sweeney, 23. James Lowe

Cell C Sharks

Highlanders

25 April at 19:10
  • Team: 15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Jaco van Tonder / JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. Sibusiso Sithole, 10. Tim Swiel, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Keegan Daniel, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Willem Alberts, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Ettienne Oosthuizen, 20. Ryan Kankowski, 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. SP Marais
  • Team: 15. Ben R Smith (Captain), 14. Richard Buckman, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Shaun Treeby, 11. Patrick Osborne, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Nasi Manu, 7. Shane Christie, 6. Elliot Dixon, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Jarrad Hoeata, 3. Chris King, 2. Liam Coltman, 1. Kane Hames
  • Replacements: 16. Ged Robinson, 17. Craig Millar, 18. Ma’afu Fia, 19. Josh Bekhuis, 20. Gareth Evans, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Trent Renata, 23. John Hardie

Hurricanes

Reds

26 April at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Andrรฉ Taylor, 14. Cory Jane, 13. Conrad Smith (Captain), 12. Alapati Leiua, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. TJ Perenara, 8. Victor Vito, 7. Jack Lam, 6. Faifili Levave, 5. James Broadhurst, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ben Franks
  • Replacements: 16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Chris Eves, 18. Reg Goodes, 19. Blade Thomson, 20. Ardie Savea, 21. Chris Smylie, 22. Tim Bateman, 23. Matt Proctor
  • Team: 15. Ben Lucas, 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13. Ben Tapuai, 12. Mike Harris, 11. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Beau Robinson, 6. Ed Quirk, 5. James Horwill (Captain), 4. Rob Simmons, 3. James Slipper, 2. James Hanson, 1. Ben Daley
  • Replacements: 16. Saia Faingaa, 17. Greg Holmes, 18. Jono Owen, 19. Ed O`Donoghue, 20. Curtis Browning, 21. Nicholas Frisby, 22. Anthony Faingaa, 23. Rod Davies

Western Force

Vodacom Bulls

26 April at 11:40
  • Team: 15. Jayden Hayward, 14. Dane Haylett-Petty, 13. Marcel Brache, 12. Kyle Godwin, 11. Nick Cummins, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Ian Prior, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. Matthew Hodgson (Captain), 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Sam Wykes, 4. Adam Coleman, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pekahou Cowan
  • Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Oli Hoskins, 19. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20. Brynard Stander, 21. Justin Turner, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Chris Tuatara-Morrison
  • Team: 15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Akona Ndungane, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Jan Serfontein, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9. Francois Hougaard, 8. Grant Hattingh, 7. Jacques Du Plessis, 6. Jono Ross, 5. Victor Matfield (Captain), 4. Paul Willemse, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1. Dean Greyling
  • Replacements: 16. Bandise Maku, 17. Marcel Van Der Merwe, 18. Jacques Engelbrecht, 19. Wimpie van der Walt, 20. Rudy Paige, 21. Handre Pollard, 22. Ulrich Beyers, 23. Mornรฉ Mellett

Toyota Cheetahs

DHL Stormers

26 April at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Raymond Rhule, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Rayno Benjamin, 11. Willie Le Roux, 10. Elgar Watts, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Boom Prinsloo, 7. Jean Cook, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Jakobus Uys, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Maks Van Dyk, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Caylib Oosthuizen
  • Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Rossouw De Klerk, 19. Waltie Vermeulen, 20. Teboho Mohoje, 21. Shaun Venter, 22. Riaan Smit, 23. Cornal Hendricks
  • Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Damian de Allende, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11. Devon Williams, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Nick Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Siya Kolisi, 6. Nizaam Carr, 5. Michael Rhodes, 4. Ruan Botha, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff
  • Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee, 17. Oliver Kebble, 18. Brok Harris, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Schalk Burger, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Kobus van Wyk

53 Responses to Super Rugby 2014: Weekend Teams – Round 11 (Final Revision)

@ Lion4ever:

Well good luck and remember there are weeks ahead of you on superBru……..This might just be your week! ๐Ÿ˜€

OK, here’s how I have decided to pick on Bru this weekend:

1. Any overseas side playing a SA side overseas (weaker conference) will win, UNLESS it is against the Sharks – OK that means the Force wins against the Bulls

2. Favour the home team as far as possible, unless it is the Blues – OK that means a Waratahs win against the Blues

3. If the Stormers or Cheetahs play, pick the other side… if they play each other you have a problem – and you have the choice to either pick the home side (Cheetahs) OR the better defensive side (Stormers) OR you have the choice between the side which knows where the opposition try line is but who also knows bloody well what it looks like behind their own try line (Cheetahs) OR the side who does not know where the opposition try line is at all (Stormers). You have the choice between Toetie (Stormers) OR Naka (Cheetahs) or between No 14 (Stormers) and No 15 (Cheetahs) on the Combined Log…. OK that still leaves me nowhere – Fark that, Gooooooooooo Cheetahs!

4. Always pick last year’s champs for a win even away from home, unless they are playing last year’s runners-up at home…. argh what the fark…. Goooooooooo Chie…. errrrr Brum…. errrr Gooooo Rugby!

5. Always pick the Sharks, unless they are on tour, because if you do not pick and support the Sharks, you upset their sensitive supporters – OK Sharks to beat the Highlanders, sorted!

6. Never bet against Julian Savea, Conrad Smith or Beauden Barrett, unless you have a Will Genia & Quade Cooper… arghhh WTF – Gooooooooooo Canes!

And THAT is how I see it!

Well GBS that is sound reasoning!! ๐Ÿ˜•

๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† @ grootblousmile:

34 @ Sharks_forever:
    Do you have another way of looking at it??

I-see-stars

Semantics GBS
    Picking the Sharks is ok, picking ON the Sharks is taboo
    Happy

36 nortierd wrote:

Semantics GBS
    Picking the Sharks is ok, picking ON the Sharks is taboo

I’d rather pick my nose, than pick the Tjarks…

Don’t we all?

You’ve just lost a friend. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

38 IAAS wrote:

Donโ€™t we all?
    Youโ€™ve just lost a friend.

Sorry, I think I may be a bit slow tonight… which friend did I lose just now?
    What did I do to lose a friend? I have only been joking here on the blog, of course!

Ek is al gatvol vir superbru

I feel the same way – took me less than a minute to make my picks. Maybe there lies the problem. ๐Ÿ™„

The 3 LIVE GAME ARTICLES for tomorrow (Friday 25 April) has been scheduled!

Now I have to go make those ugly Bru picks!!

@ IAAS:
    I didnt even change my fantasy league, just replaced a player or two who is off this weekend from my own squad

Didn’t even bother with fantasy league this year – the concept didn’t grab me.

Superbru is proving to be a lottery this year with upsets every weekend. I’m just there for the fun in the sun.

This round is the last of my picks I made in March already.
    So no thinking involved, what was in was in and it was judged on the form a month ago
    If it goes pear shaped this weekend I will probably strip my moer again and pick this weekend until June

Sharks Lover – we all, know Sharks supporters don’t have a sense of humour. ๐Ÿ™„

Tahs, Brumbies, Sharks, Reds, Force, Stormers – there you have it.

I’m gonna live or die by those this weekend.

I went Blues, Brumbies, Sharks, Canes, Bulls and Stormers

We agree on 3 – only one of us will be happy – right now if I get 4 out of 6 I’ll be happy.

@IAAS
    I see we went for some of the same sides by even the same scores, but I will claim a moral victory and say that my scores were in first, wayyyyyyyy first
    Wink
    If I could have chosen today, I would have probably also have gone for the Tah’s and the Force, but nothing I can do except hope for some upsets

Ag I don’t know with those Aussie sides. The Force beat the Tahs then lose against the Rebels. I was hoping the Bulls would get a win last weekend against the Tahs after their loss against the Force. Stuff it this season, I’m just there for the fun.

@IAAS
    Agree, I’m so far down the leaderboard it’s not even funny.
    My only goal is not to end in the bottom three of my money pool, can’t afford the penalty fees.
    On another note, I see our friend in Africa has malaria again.
    We must send him some Shark pajamas, the type Puma sleeps in, I reckon it will keep the mozzies away.

46 @ IAAS:
    No, old Tjarkie_Fornever and I go way back and understand each other!

He was here at my place a week or 2 ago with his Notebook, which I fixed up nicely for him.

He knows my style and will know that I commented in jest.

You know, I have met MANY of the regular commenters here in person, have made a few my personal friends and my life has been enriched because of Rugby-Talk to a marvelous extent.

Anyway, Handbriekie asked that I do not work too late tonight, so let me get away from my office and get myself into the house…

See you guys in the morning early for the Rugby!

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online