Romain PoiteSteve WalshFrancisco PastranaIRBNo, this is no April Fools joke, it is true… the IRB has released the names of the Match Official Appointments for the June International Test window!

Romain Poite (FFR), hated by most South Africans, will referee the match between South Africa and Wales on 14 June 2014 at Growthpoint Kings Park and will be assisted by Steve Walsh (ARU), Francisco Pastrana (UAR) and Vinnie Munro (NZR).

One could be forgiven to believe, despite our assurances, that this MUST SURELY be an April Fools joke, because apart from the run-in with Romain Poite, South Africans have had run-in’s by Steve Walsh too and just recently Francisco Pastrana was taken off the Super Rugby officiating lists till further notice for his abhorrent and totally inept refereeing performance against yet another South African side.

Let’s cut to the chase and just place the Official Appointments list here for you…

JUNE 2014 INTERNATIONAL MATCH OFFICIAL APPOINTMENTS                 

DATE KO TOURNAMENT FIXTURE VENUE REFEREE ASSISTANT REFEREE 1 ASSISTANT REFEREE 2 TMO
30 05 14 International Japan v Samoa Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo John Lacey (IRFU) Dudley Phillips (IRFU) IRFU Appointment Simon McDowell (IRFU)
1 06 14 15:00 Representative Match England v Barbarians Twickenham, London Mathieu Raynal (FFR) WRU Appointment WRU Appointment Gareth Simmonds (WRU)
7 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Eden Park, Auckland Nigel Owens (WRU) Jaco Peyper (SARU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
7 06 14 International Fiji v Italy National Stadium, Suva JP Doyle (FRU) Rohan Hoffman (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
7 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Ben Skeen (NZR)
7 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Centenario, Resistencia, Chaco Glen Jackson (NZR) Mike Fraser (NZR) Jaco van Heerden (SARU) Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
7 06 14 International USA v Scotland BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Chris Assmus (Rugby
Canada)
Andrew Hosie (Rugby Canada)
14 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin Jaco Peyper (SARU) Nigel Owens (WRU) Jérôme Garces (FFR) George Ayoub (ARU)
14 06 14 International Samoa v Italy Apia Park, Apia George Clancy (IRFU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) NO TMO
14 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Wayne Barnes (RFU) Craig Joubert (SARU) Chris Pollock (NZR) Glenn Newman (NZR)
14 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales King’s Park, Durban Romain Poite (FFR) Steve Walsh (ARU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
14 06 14 International Argentina v Ireland Estadio Jose Fierro, Tucuman Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Glen Jackson (NZR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
14 06 14 International Canada v Scotland BMO Field, Toronto Mike Fraser (NZR) Stuart Berry (SARU) Nick Ricono (USA Rugby) Dave Ardrey (USA Rugby)
17 06 14 Representative Match Crusaders v England AMI Stadium, Christchurch Nigel Owens (WRU) Andrew Lees (ARU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 19:35 International New Zealand v England Waikato Stadium, Hamilton Jérôme Garces (FFR) Nigel Owens (WRU) James Leckie (ARU) George Ayoub (ARU)
21 06 14 20:00 International Australia v France Allianz Stadium, Sydney Chris Pollock (NZR) Wayne Barnes (RFU) George Clancy (IRFU) Ben Skeen (NZR)
21 06 14 International Japan v Italy Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo Jaco Peyper (SARU) Garratt Williamson (NZR) Brendon Pickerill (NZR) Peter Marshall (ARU)
21 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Wales Mbombella Stadium, Nelspruit Steve Walsh (ARU) Romain Poite (FFR) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Vinny Munro (NZR)
21 06 14 International Argentina v Scotland Cordoba John Lacey (IRFU) Pascal Gauzere (FFR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Deon van Blommestein (SARU)
22 06 14 Representative Match Pacific Barbarians v Tonga (TBC) Mt Smart Stadium, New Zealand Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment NZR Appointment NZR Appointment
28 06 14 17:00 International South Africa v Scotland Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port
Elizabeth
Glen Jackson (NZR) Romain Poite (FFR) John Lacey (IRFU) Vinny Munro (NZR)
2 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 1 New Zealand Federico Anselmi (UAR) Joaquin Montes (URU) Vlad Iordachescu (FRR) Matt O’Brien (ARU)
Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU)
Ben O’Keeffe (NZR) Alexandre Ruiz (FFR) Akihisa Aso (JRFU) Angus Gardner (ARU)
6 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 2 New Zealand
10 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 3 New Zealand
15 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 4 New Zealand
20 06 14 JWC JWC 2014: Round 5 New Zealand
13 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest Match Official Team
Chris Assmus (Rugby Canada) Marius Mitrea (FIR)
Ian Davies (WRU)
13 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Emerging Ireland v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
18 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Russia Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 17:00 IRB Nations Cup Russia v Uruguay Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
22 06 14 19:00 IRB Nations Cup Romania v Emerging Ireland Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
28-06-14 RWC 2015 Qualifier Fiji v Cook Islands National Stadium, Suva Nick Briant (NZR) NZR Appointment ARU Appointment
28-06-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
28-06-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Francisco Pastrana (UAR) SARU Appointment
02-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Zimbabwe v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
02-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Madagascar Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Luke Pearce (RFU) Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
SARU Appointment
06-07-14 13:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Kenya v Zimbabwe Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Lourens van der Merwe
(SARU)
Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment
06-07-14 15:00 RWC 2015 Qualifier Madagascar v Namibia Mahamasi Stadium, Antananarivo, Madagascar Francisco Pastrana (UAR) Luke Pearce (RFU) SARU Appointment

I kid you not, unless the IRB is FULLY into April Fools jokes!

116 Responses to Match Officials: June Internationals – Guess what, Bokke gets Poite, Walsh & Pastrana to referee!

Well I am thinking of going with: Bulls, Lions. As you know the Bulls always seem to play their first game away well and normally win that one. Lions are playing well this year but they are with out Franco for this game. Still think Lions will win. Stormers are about to come right at some stage and they may this week so that one for me is 50/50 pick right now. I also went with bulls last week and never in my life thought that a draw was on the cards. So one never really knows. You doing well so must be doing something right… Approve

90 @ cane:
    Nearly as fast as the Ebola virus up in Africa. (Fooking scary.)

88 @ cane:
    No Cane, that refereeing display by Bryce Lawrence, decided who went through to the semis of a World Cup.

Any and all previous good displays of 2011 were totally wiped by one of the most inept refereeing displays EVER!

He should not even have been nominated, much less CROWNED ref of the year in NZ.

It simply clearly sends the wrong message, that New Zealand Rugby condones bad refereeing!

Exactly the same with Poite now refereeing the Bokke again, less than a year after gross misconduct by him… it says, hey we the IRB condones bad refereeing!

91 @ Puma:
    Don’t give the webmonster too much praise.

He won’t be able to get his head out of the office door. Happy-Grin

another tosser of not who likes to focus all the attention on himself rather than just facilitate the game.

AND THAT is what is wrong with too many of the officials.

The best ref’ is one you don’t notice.

94 @ Scrumdown:
    Luckily it’s a double door, so I’ll just open the other half too and squeeze past!

96 @ grootblousmile:
    Bwahahaha. Ja boet.

90 @ cane:
    Hahahahaha. Be careful if any become as error prone as me this site would be unreadable…. Hahahahahaha. Overjoy

94 @ Scrumdown:
    Hahahaha. That is true. Then like he says he has a double door to go through so a big fat head his side does not matter. Overjoy

91 @ Puma:
    Stormers are going with Deon Fourie at hooker again, so I’ll be picking a Waratahs win at Boolands!

86 @ grootblousmile:

For sure.

We all have disappointments in life Groot.
    But you mothers,……………….. made it impossible for Bryce to continue as an International Referee.

Even we, didn’t do that to Wayne Barnes.

101 @ grootblousmile:

Okay that is a mistake for sure. Then who do they have for hooker? As all the others are out injured. That also has made up my mind. Though whoever I pick the odds are the other team will win… 🙂

103 @ cane:
    Fark Bryce Lawrence… and his dog!

He brought the game of Rugby into disrepute… simple as that!

104 @ Puma:
    Stormers should have played this Coetzee outjie… think it’s Stephan Coetzee, at hooker.

When he eventually came on, the Stormers started winning some lineout ball.

Deon Fourie should stick to Openside flank, and that’s it!

103 @ cane:

Pleased our voices were heard then Cane…. 🙂 As Bryce cost my Sharks many times and I warned everyone before that quarter final we had a problem that Bryce was reffing.

I did hear you okes go on a heck of a lot about Barnes as well. Though somehow Barnes stayed on for some reason. He made a massive error in that quarter final the ABs played as well.

88cane wrote:

One Game does not constitute a year Groot.
    You have to look at “The Big Picture”.

The big picture is, Bryce Lawrence’s Referee of the year in New Zealand, is probably one of the most ridiculous things to have happened in world rugby, the way he crashed under pressure and still was the “best”?… Ugh, I am still in Facepalm mode, I could even take the quarter final loss, but the referee of the year thing while he was simply out of his league in the international stage? I will never be able to stomach that.

106 @ grootblousmile: Have said so myself many times that deon should only play openside. He is actually very good there just not at hooker.

typical saffas

lets blame Lawrence, yet our own players dropped simple passes with no one in front of them and the tryline begging, on more than one occasion

lets not place the blame on the players mistakes, their ineptitude in making and taking those simple passes never cost the Bokke at all.

it was all the refs fault. I remember being told that NZ should still have won regardless of Barnes by many SA supporters, shame then that they can’t be as adamant with their own teams failings.

but we come to expect that from Saffa supporters, most praised Barnes until a fateful day in brisbane when he reffed SA, then he was public enemy number one.

lol long may it continue that Saffas feel hard done by, it stops them looking for the real reasons as to why they continue to be part of the chasing pack.

Beware, Stormers may just surprise some supporters this Saturday! If the weather a tNewlands is anything like yesterday morning when I left CT in pouring rain, it will be anybody’s game, me thinks.

@ nga puhi:
    Another night owl, welcome here on R-T, long time no see!

Hey Piet, hoe gaan dit boet? its daytime here, and doing my best to get more “hits” on this site 😀

I see Brendan Nel says Matfield is touring with the Bulls as a part of management, and will only be used in case of injury? this does not seem to be “in the spirit of the game” imho Wink

@ nga puhi
    All’s well mate, good to hook up with you again. Cool I have just arrived home, and need some shuteye, talk to you again when it is daytime in my parts. see you at the games, hopefully, that is when I blog mostly. Cheers!

and you too mate, enjoy your sleep, Im working during most games so cant blog at that time.

cheers

nga puhi wrote:

it stops them looking for the real reasons as to why they continue to be part of the chasing pack.

The lack of a long hard look in the mirror is, unfortunately SA Rugby’s biggest influencing factor in terms of CONSISTENLY beating NZ.

Let’s be honest, beating the Poms, the Frogs and the Aussies is nice, but the one EVERY SA supporter wants to win EVERY TIME is NZ, and it’s not going to happen (IMHO) until they start to adapt.

There will always be occasions where the Boks beat the Blacks, but I can’t see it becoming an “everyday occurence” in the near future.

SA Rugby, the IRB Union with the most potential, and the least knowledge of how to use it.

Total 19 users including 0 member, 19 guests, 0 bot online