Jaco PeyperLionsLions coach Johan Ackermann has formally asked for “clarity” on certainly questionable rulings made by referee Jaco Peyper in their encounter with the Sharks last week.

Ackermann – who made it clear he is not blaming the match officials for the 23-37 loss in Durban, he laid at the door of a “poor start” by his side and “a lack of discipline” – has written to SANZAR Games Manager Lyndon Bray and South African referees’ boss Andrew Watson.

rugby365

The Lions mentor said despite his team’s own failings, some of Peyper’s ruling were “huge momentum shifters”.

He was most agitated by a call inside the final 10 minutes – when Lions centre Stefan Watermeyer and Sharks wing Lwazi Mvovo collided in mid-air, both chasing a high kick, and the referee penalised the Lions player for the collision, suggesting Watermeyer should have given way because Mvovo had jumped first.

Ackermann, who admitted his team did not have the ideal start and conceded three soft tries that contributed to the Sharks’ win, felt that in the last quarter they played their best rugby.

“We attacked well and we had them on the rack,” the Lions mentor told this website in an interview, adding: “[That was] till [referee] Jaco Peyper awarded what I felt was a controversial penalty – when Stefan Watermeyer jumped for the ball in the air and he awarded a penalty against us.

“We had good momentum, they were a man down with a [Ryan Kankowski’s] yellow card and from there [the penalty against Watermeyer] we struggled to get out of our half again.”

Ackermann told this website that he has made contact with the relevant authorities to get clarity on that incident and some other rulings.

“I have sent an Email to [SANZAR Game Manager] Lyndon Bray and [South African referees boss] Andre Watson.

“I want some clarity on some decisions.”

He said that apart from the penalty against Watermeyer there were “one or two incidents at the breakdown”, where he wasn’t sure if they were penalties.

“In my opinion there were also one or two scrums where we had them under pressure and then didn’t get the reward for it.

“I asked for clarity on those.

“However, I feel the big turning point was that penalty against Stefan [Watermeyer], where he jumped for the ball. If you look at the clip, he continued to contest the ball and won it, after he got to his feet. If that wasn’t a penalty, we would have had possession and who knows what could have happened.

“The momentum was in our favour at that stage and it swung back their way with that penalty.

“There are for or five incidents I want clarity on, which I felt changed momentum in the game.”

The Lions coach was adamant that he is not apportioning blame for the result on the match officials.

“We have to acknowledge that in the first half our discipline was just not good enough,” Ackermann told this website.

“We did silly things like throwing the ball away, [the referee marched the penalty] 10 metres on and three points [against us].

“Aspects like that, discipline, the yellow card we conceded [against replacement Corne Fourie for repeated infringements in the 75th minute, when just seven points down].

“We were forced to try and stop a maul with just seven forwards [in the last minute]. They got the bonus point and we lost a bonus point – that is not acceptable.

“The players must know the laws, know when to contest for the ball and when not.

“However, we should not have been in that situation – we should have been playing in their half and not them playing in our half – which was the result of that penalty.”

21 Responses to Super Rugby: Lions asks for ‘Clarity’ on Jaco Peyper rulings from SANZAR

Waste of an e-mail
    “Toilet” Peyper doesn’t have to answer to anyone, every one can see where his allegiance lay when officiating for the Sharks.
    Still can’t believe he has been selected to mess up the Waratahs game this weekend.
    I guess the Brumbies are a safe bet, Dirty Harry Peyper will ensure that the Tah’s don’t get close to his Sharks on the log.

the paid peyper

Not a fan, thought he reffed very poorly last weekend.

Glad they asked for “clarity” Wink

the paid peyper

Wink
    The snake oil salesman’s secret weapon

Waste of an e-mail
    “Toilet” Peyper doesn’t have to answer to anyone, every one can see where his allegiance lay when officiating for the Sharks.
    Still can’t believe he has been selected to mess up the Waratahs game this weekend.
    I guess the Brumbies are a safe bet, Dirty Harry Peyper will ensure that the Tah’s don’t get close to his Sharks on the log.

Don’t agree with you – do you for one moment think he is doing deliberately thus putting his livelihood in danger? – No
    Is he is general an bad ref – yes

Like the Bryce’s of this world he will not last..

and Tahs will pump the Brumbies

Missed the game, but a Sharks buddy complained to me that Peyper was biased against the Sharks. But then again, the Sharks can do no wrong in his eyes.

@Gena
    Never said his livelihood will be in danger, since the Bull’s game he has just been rewarded with more games.
    After the Lions he still gets to officiate.
    Poitte officiated in the 6 Nations this weekend and still refs in the NH
    No way they will drop “one of their own”
    Fact remains, Sharks are ensured 4 tries when Peyper refs at Kings Park
    Tah’s should pump the Brumbies, logic, squads and form says so, but by selecting a useless waste of space with bias to ref, SANZAR has just ensured that what could have been the best game of the weekend, could just end up as a lottery to be determined on the whim of someone who is bigger than the game and who’s agenda is more important

Aha !

Lekker uitgevang, crime does not pay in SA, maar dalk in Australia ?

Gedink hy gaan nie vir lank sy eie peyp kan stook en ook nog kan rook nie.

Police

“The Lions mentor said despite his team’s own failings, some of Peyper’s ruling were “huge momentum shifters”.”

Ackers is reg. Refs gaan nie op die veld om te verneuk nie, maar blatante foute kan ‘n wedstryd so swaai wat ‘n groot invloed het op die uitslag van die wedstryd, en dit is ‘n groot probleem.

Miskien 2 refs of weer neutrale refs ?

Nortried @ 1
    “every one can see where his allegiance”
    It’s where you are WRONG!
    Peyper like Joubert and the rest has his instructions from his employers SARU, better to come to terms with this ugly reality
    Those pathetic fools at the Lions should have protested PRIOR to the game, now it’s too late 🙂

I hope Ackers also asked for clarity on the truck and trailer rule where the shoulder at least should be bound to the players in front of you. That try was a great momentum changer.

Jaco “rooirok” Peyper klink vir my beter.

Crazy

@Hondo
    So you are saying ” his masters voice” has decided which SA team must progress?
    Or is “his masters voice” an undercover Guppie?
    SANZAR should shoulder the blame, they make the appointments, can’t think that SARU gains by having Dirty Harry officiating the Brumbies v Waratahs.
    What is clear though is that by making that appointment they have stuffed up what could have been a good game by turning it into an “one man playing by my own rules ” show.

@Snoek, 10 log points from 2 games with the “Paid Peyper” blowing shouldn’t be grounds for complaints.
    I’m sure he realized the folly of his ways and got an even bigger fright than Bissy when he saw it’s only 7 points difference, but that soon changed with the yellow.
    No sweat, he will be in your corner again sometime this season.
    Wink
    Jake and Bissy can relax, he’s got your back

@ Snoek:
    Do not forget the rubbish high tackle call against the Sharks plus quite a few more bad calls,

Fact is the ref made bad calls both ways, he simply did not have a good game.

As for our sad little anti Sharks brigade who cry every weekend that the Sharks are only winning because of the Ref?? sad life you fellows have?? to bad mouth another team day in and day out to make you feel good about yourself??

Actually you are only showing what losers you are and seriously poor sportsmen….

@S_F
    Quite the opposite, I have been saying since last year after you made all those positive appointments that you will easily walk the SA conference, end top or second on the log and then choke in the final.
    I still believe that, everyone knows the Sharks are the best of the SA franchises, whether we like it or not, that’s not the point, it’s a fact for all to see.
    The issue is they should be more than good enough to win these games and get 4 tries against the other SA sides without intervention.
    You will obviously disagree and think that it’s due to their brilliance that Reinach was awarded a try against the Bulls and that both games against the Bulls and Lions just happened to go on and on until they got the 4 try without anything untoward with the same ref just happening to be on the field.
    I’m not angry or anything that my team won’t even get mid table, it is what it is and I’ve made my peace, but remember when you guys hit that road and run into the refs that might not be fans, then we will see another story.
    But you will still get that final spot, so no need to stress or take everything so seriously, if we can’t make fun of the Sharks, who can we make fun of?

Ps S_F
    I love the Sharks at the moment, they are my only constant banker and source of SuperBru points
    Safe bet Overjoy

Hey old man I’m trying to get hold of you….

Pls call me

Stormersboy wrote:

Pls call me

He says please call me then he does not answer his phone, damn Capies!!!! Weary Stormersboy wrote:

Pls call me

He says please call me then he does not answer his phone, damn Capies!!!!

N kaapenaar is soos n gebruikde Kondoom 😆

Nortried @ 13
    Old new Nortried
    SANZAR did a lot already by revoking the home town referees this season and denied Jaftha and Co from being the match referees!
    However, the SA ‘Derbies’ are still running by the local referees (not all actually) and yes, SARU for obvious reasons told the little man to bend the game, as I noted last week
    Peiper is a below average referee but he isn’t THAT incompetent 😉

Best way to clarity, as well as parity is to toss him into a drum of hydrocloric acid.

Total 37 users including 0 member, 37 guests, 0 bot online