HurricanesStormersAll Black and Hurricanes centre Conrad Smith admitted he was surprised by the Stormers’ showing against the Lions in Johannesburg last week.

Sport24

The Capetonians produced one of their worst performances ever to go down 34-10 at Ellis Park in their first Super Rugby game of the season.

“I watched a replay of the game and yes, I was surprised,” Smith said while his side prepares to tackle the Stormers at Newlands on Friday.

He does, however, expect the Stormers to be much better on their home ground.

“As was the case with us, the Stormers played their first game last weekend. The same happened to the Crusaders last year when they lost to the Blues after having a bye in the first round.

“These things happen. I’m sure the Stormers will be a totally different team this week.”

The Hurricanes themselves lost 27-9 to the Sharks in Durban last week and Smith said they must take their chances this time round.

“We struggled in the scrums early in the game. It’s not like set pieces are a weakness for us but it counts as one of the Sharks and Stormers’ strengths.

“It’s easy for the backs to blame the forwards, but we had enough chances to beat the Sharks. We let ourselves down.”

Friday’s clash kicks off at 19:10.

195 Responses to Super Rugby: Canes cappie, Conrad Smith, surprised by Stormers poor form

60 @ ufo:

Most of the kiwi’s have come over here as well. Cane, Hurricane and NZINCHINA. I have always enjoyed speaking to the kiwi okes as well. So good to have them on board. Gunther joined up last week as well. Gumboots is also here, but think he is away on holiday right now. Plenty has flown over here from keo and it is great to have all our old buddies back here blogging again together.

60 @ ufo:
    I’ve been contact with him since the Jinx tribute, on mail… he’s a good fella.

Now we must just get the rest of the stragglers here, of course the good ones and not those who make severe trouble.

And they will fall in here, on the friendly rugby website no problem.

We need Katman to come on board now as well seeing that his Lions are doing well.

61 @ Puma:
    Oompie, the good thing is, everybody has embraced R-T and R-T has embraced them… and our community has not changed for the worse.

you’re too kind GBS… but it is good to see them here… and also good to see all the old ‘original voldy’ guys like you here too… 😉

Hey Puma… thanks bud, but that’s way more credit than I deserve… Hurricane and RobZim are both way ahead of, and far more current than, me when it comes to knowing their music… And you’re not too shabby yourself…! Will be cool chatting to all of you again.

Yeah, Rye and I are in quite regular contact… excellent human being is our Rye…

Must say Puma… your Sharks are looking the real deal this year… Jake has assembled a formidable staff and playing group… When he signed Sherylle Calder (sp?) I knew everyone else would be playing for second spot… which… right now… the Lions are looking like taking…

Stormers… well… yeah… nuff said…

63 @ Puma:
    Jeeeez, is old Katarsus still going?

He and my little bro were friends in Pretoria when my little boet was still a drummer in a band….. yeaaaaars ago.

This calls for a song…. nominate one and I’ll find the Youtube video and post it here!

oh… didn’t know that… that’s cool too… always enjoyed the banter with our kiwi buds… and gunther…

yeah was in touch with Gumboots and told him I would come and chat… but then couldn’t remember my password and then got busy so didn’t contact GBS till today when I have little more time…

Here’s one called M83 Reunion…

65 @ ufo:

Your knowledge of music is tops as well bud.

Yeah for now my Sharks are doing well. I will take it one game at a time and not get ahead of myself with my team. Seen us way ahead just to fall behind. So will wait and see. Really pleased we have Jake he has the players really fit and he is a great coach to have. Pleased we have Calder as you can see Pat’s place kicking on the weekend was far better, she must be working with him for sure.

I think your Stormers will bounce back bud, just too many big names in your team not too. I think they will win this weekend. Not sure about the Bulls/Lions game. It depends on who Bulls select at fh and sh I feel. If Lions win this weekend I tell you they will do well this year. I am also weary of them playing my team the following week as they have become our bogey team. So hope we are ready.

65 @ ufo:

Yip Rye is a terrific bloke. One of the most decent bloggers around. He blogs here under another nic as Grumpy.

66 @ grootblousmile:

Yes Katman was still around on keo. So do hope he joins up as he and Gunther have a good sense of humour. He should follow over if Gunther is here.

Old Friends – Simon & Garfunkel

I have a heap of rugby news to put up… so will do it inbetween songs… hehehe

One blogger that I would really like to see here is Sodajoe. He was a terrific bloke as well with a really good sense of humour. He hardly ever blogged on keo any longer though, only came on once or twice when the Boks played. Now that his Lions are doing well hope he joins us all here.

Yeah… will be good to have Katman aboard too… if ever a long-suffering and loyal rugby fan deserves some bragging rights it’s him… He’s never wavered…

72 @ grootblousmile:

Enjoyed that GBS. Good selection of song that for our old buddies all joining up there.

Was saying to some mates on the weekend… and today… How impressed I am with Beast… he had slimmed down and ripped up incredibly over the off season… and as a result is getting through a helluva work load… good to see…

Yeah… it going to do Pat’s career a world of good to be able to settle in one position for the season, make it his own and prove what he can do and win Heyneke’s full confidence…

75 @ ufo:

Yip always enjoyed Katman’s posts. Also Sodajoe though he has hardly blogged at all for the last 2 years or so. Think too many trouble makers chased him always. Enjoyed his posts very much and his knowledge of music is terrific as well. Need CoachPete to come on board as well.

77 @ ufo:

Beast is looking great and he played really well this past weekend. How good does Fransie look bud? Jeepers the last time I saw him look so fit and trim was when Jake coached the Boks. So think Jake is good for Fransie as well. Yeah good to see Pat is backed totally by Jake, that will do his confidence the world of good.

hey bud… what a neat feature this video link is… ! awesome stuff…! cool selections too… will have to think of cool songs to suggest…
    going to go down well with all the music lovers among all us rugby fans…

if my memory serves me well… weren’t you a big pink floyd fan…?

80 @ ufo:
    MASSIVE Pink Floyd Fan!

It is easy to post a YOUTUBE video here… just copy and past the YOUTUBE URL of the song / video and Bob’s your Auntie… even Puma can do it… hehehe

81 @ grootblousmile:

Ja if I can do it anyone can…. Overjoy

64 @ grootblousmile:
    For sure boet.

@ ufo:
    Katman is giving me a good go on Facebook. As you say he deserves it!

Hi pal/Keep well/Regards @ Puma:

yeah… great sense of humour and banter with katman, gunther and bod around… all very sharp wits…

sodajoe and coachpete too are quality guys and add lots of value as far as input and interesting chats go…

let’s hope they all come on board…

yip… perhaps jakes biggest… or best… attribute as a coach… is getting his players to believe in themselves and that they can do it…

Fransie too is playing with a lot more assurance and confidence… and has also slimmed down significantly…

sadly… (for some of us 😉 ) the stormers bulls and cheetahs seem to be going to fight it out for the bottom 3 places…

hope they can all turn their seasons around though… i’d much rather have 5 strong teams to take on the kiwis and aussies…

but hey… if the sharks go on and win the whole thing… will be very chuffed too and would rather a saffa team than a kiwi or aus team…

85 @ Stormersboy:
    Tell Katarsus to come over to R-T

86 @ Ryecatcher:

Howzit Rye, Really good to see you have your old nic back. How you doing? Hope well.

Of course one of my favourites….

Total 9 users including 0 member, 9 guests, 0 bot online