Cell C SharksThe Cell C Sharks have named their team to take on Saracens in the friendly Sharks pre-season encounter at Allianz Park, London, England on Saturday 25 January at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 GMT).

Quotes from Director of Rugby, Jake White

“What I enjoy about this game is that it mimics a little bit of what we can expect from the Bulls.

“Saracens play a little bit like the Bulls, they have a big pack of forwards, their set-piece is strong and they kick a lot. It gives me and the coaching staff an opportunity to see the things we want to do against the Bulls and to have an idea of whether or not we can play against the Bulls in a certain way.”

Quote from the Cell C Sharks Captain, Bismarck du Plessis

“Saracens have been the form side in the English Premiership for the last few years. They are midway through their season so it’s going to be tough for us, but we are looking forward to it. We want to test some new combinations and tick a few boxes.”

Notes

• The team has arrived in London. There are a few players that have picked up stomach bugs and are unwell;
  • Match to be televised on SHD and SuperSport 1. Coverage from 16:15
  • Keegan Daniel, Frans Steyn and Marcell Coetzee did not tour after picking up injuries at training.

Team: 15 Tyler Fisher, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Tera Mtembu, 5 Pieter–Steph du Toit, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Heimar Williams, 23 Jaco van Tonder.

23 Responses to Saracens vs Cell C Sharks: Sharks team named for Saturday!

Not a very flush back division for the Sharks… fullback, flyhalf and outside centre are rookies.

That said. I think its a pretty strong team for a warm up game. Forwards are pretty strong, I think Jacque Botes will be a critical player this year. he was playing the best rugby in his life last year till he got injured.

2 @ MacroBull:
    Look, for a 1st game outing we cannot expect flawless Sharks play… and Saracens are deep into their season and going pretty well, so it will be interesting to see what Jake White conjurs up.

#3 not seen the Saracens team yet but with Six Nations looming can be sure many of their first choice players will not be there, Owen Farrell, Vunipola, Kelly Brown and hopefully Duncan Taylor etc.

4 @ Bullscot:
    The Saracens squad named for this match was a good one… their final team should be bloody good.

We had an article with the Sarries squad named for this match here on R-T sometime in the last week or 10 days.

Jake White must know best but I think tag of Saracens being a kicking team is one from the past that doesn’t necessarily apply anymore. They have been scoring lots more tries the last few seasons, saw them running the ball quite nicely in Premiership not long ago.

They were playing weaker opposition, Connacht, in last Heineken Cup match, and scored 11 tries.

5 @ grootblousmile:
    yeah GBS remember reading that here, but not seen any finalized team yet, but with some first choice players missing it should help even things up a bit

Saracens are top try scorers in Aviva Premiership so far this season, they have scored 38 tries in 12 games and only conceded 16. They have 6 bonus points and only lost one game so they must have got bonus points for scoring tries in at least 5 of their games.

8 @ Bullscot:
    Without Lambie (got married), Frans Steyn, SP Marais, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, the Sharks are fielding a half-and-half side in this game but the forwards are strong.

8 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes seen there are lots of Sharks first choice missing too, but still looks quite a good pack and considering the strength of Sharks pack and relative inexperience of their backs (that you also mention in your first comment) I would expect Saracens to try and play quite an expansive game if overhead conditions allow, at least they are on the really good synthetic pitch.

Other players still to return for the Sharks that have not been mentioned are, Bresler, JPP, Kanko, Whitehead

12 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, we dealt with them all in the Squad Contender Articles.

@ grootblousmile: Dagse Rudi ou maat, gaan dit goed??? hoop so…..

A question for you, The Sharks for example have bought 14 new kids into the academy, the bulls have bought something like 50? is that wise?? whats your thought on it?

For example the Sharks are going with a what positions are in need for refill?

14 @ Sharks_forever:
    Hello Tjarkie_Fornever!

Ja, dit gaan goed… veral as mens weet jy gaan weg vir ‘n langnaweek in die oggend.

The Bulls new Contracting oke, Xander Janse Van Rensburg is a youngster… and what he’s doing is biting the senior side in the arse a bit, as we saw in the Currie Cup already.

Can tell you one thing though, the Junior sides and up to Vodacom Cup level will be moerse strong… and the Bulls side still boasts 14 Springboks (think the Sharks have 15 Bokke).

2014 will be a hard test for an inexperienced depth porion of the Bulls Super Rugby squad… it’s sink or swim.

I guess that the Bulls will end mid-table in the 2014 Super Rugby table.

Bulls always very good at junior level, no arguments there, and yes interesting to see the different ways the Unions go about their planning, and it is going to be a very interesting season.

16 @ Sharks_forever:
    This year when doing all the Squad Contender Articles I had to do your whole job… in fact I did the Bulls, Sharks & Lions!

Moerse lot of work.

Timothy did the Stormers & Cheetahs Squad Contenders.

Everything OK with “K” and there by Harteboospeerdam?

Everything ok with us thanks boet, just so busy, starting to slow down a little now,

We been working between 95 and 109 hours per week because of the busy times.

Hopefully soon I will get more time to help out again

18 @ Sharks_forever:
    95 to 109 hours is about half a week’s hours for me…. hehehehe

Just joking, 95 to 109 hours is a massive bunch, hope they making it count in your pockets!

If only, basic and that’s it lol

21 @ Sharks_forever:
    I hope you’ll be playing in our 3 Bru Pools??

Sharks_forever wrote:

Everything ok with us thanks boet, just so busy, starting to slow down a little now,
    We been working between 95 and 109 hours per week because of the busy times.

Welcome to my world.

Total 25 users including 0 member, 25 guests, 0 bot online