South AfricaCombining a fair bit of Springbok news, as speculation flows…

John McFarland, Springbok defensive coach says the Springbok defences were already better last week compared to the previous game against the All Blacks.

Scribes worry and remind Bakkies Botha to keep his dicipline on field and not to succumb to the “Red Mist” od ill-dicipline and the real threat of Yellow or Red Cards.

It also appears that both the formidable frame of young Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock) and that of Patrick Lambie will be in the run-on side for the Springboks on the weekend, with scribes writing up the virtues of Pieter-Steph du Toit almost non-stop, whilst others consider Lambie the perfect fir for the Scotland game.

John McFarlandDefence better:

Sport24 reports that Springbok defence coach John McFarland believes they showed an improved defensive effort in their Test against Wales in Cardiff.

The Boks won 24-15 without conceding a try.

While they still made a lot of mistakes, the accuracy of their defence improved since their last outing against the All Blacks at Ellis Park when they conceded five tries in a 38-27 loss.

“Wales only broke the line three times. We kept to our structure and were very physical,” McFarland said in an interview.

“The conditions were also very different than in the Rugby Championship. There we and the All Blacks were chasing four tries for a bonus point.

“You simply have to win these tour games in the Northern Hemisphere.”

McFarland also praised the defensive efforts of two Springbok forwards, flank Willem Alberts and debutant prop Frans Malherbe.

“Willem made 19 tackles – which is a massive amount. In most of his tackles he also physically dominated his opponent and drove him backwards. He set the standard with that.

“The one who impressed me was Frans Malherbe. He made 15 tackles on his debut.”

Bakkies BothaBakkies Botha dicipline:

Bakkies Botha is likely to make his return to the Springbok team for their clash against Scotland in Edinburgh on Sunday.

Botha, 34, was recalled to the Bok squad for their end-of-year tour but was not included in the 23-man line-up for last week’s Test against Wales in Cardiff as he only joined them last Tuesday evening.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer said that he is likely to call on Botha this weekend.

But fans will be hoping that the ‘hard but fair’ Bakkies Botha walks onto the field against Scotland and not the ‘dirty’ Bakkies who copped a 9-week ban back in 2010 for this act …

Pieter-Steph du ToitPieter-Steph du Toit impact:

SuperSport is of the opinion that Pieter-Steph du Toit has had his introduction to international rugby and is now ready to assume the responsibility of starting his first test when the Springboks play against Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

The South Africans haven’t trained since they arrived in Edinburgh late on Sunday night and they won’t be in any kind of action on Tuesday either, so there hasn’t yet been a chance for the media following the tour to see Heyneke Meyer’s shadow selection for Saturday’s clash running together.

But while he stressed that he wasn’t the coach and didn’t make the selections, assistant coach John McFarland gave enough indication of the massive regard the management have for the young Sharks player to suggest this will be the weekend when the former Swartland pupil’s ship will come in when it comes to realising his international ambitions.

“Pieter-Steph is just a physical freak, and he has an engine to go along with his massive size as well,” said McFarland during the first press conference since the squad’s arrival in Scotland.

“I am not the coach, and I don’t make the decisions, but Pieter-Steph has made a start to his international career now, hasn’t he? Heyneke has been very good at earmarking and identifying talent. He spotted Pieter-Steph way back before he had even played Currie Cup rugby, when very few people knew who he was.

“Heyneke has a proven track record when it comes to bringing through players who go on to become greats in the game and I think that will be the case here.

“Apart from everything else he brings, Pieter-Steph’s work rate is incredibly high. He is up and down off the flow so quickly, and it obviously helps that in his formative years he played in the back row. His athleticism is a huge bonus for a lock.”

Du Toit has been taken under the wing of veteran Bakkies Botha on this tour, and the pair are often seen together during the team’s downtime.

The debutant spoke highly of Botha’s mentorship role when he was interviewed following the 24-15 win over Wales that started this tour and his test career in Cardiff last weekend.

With Meyer wanting to rest some of his players so that his men can deal effectively with what is really a five-day turnaround between the Edinburgh match and the final game of the tour against France in Paris the following Saturday, Du Toit looks set to showcase his prodigious talents for the first time as a member of the starting team.

SECOND CAREER

And you can take it as a sure bet that Botha will be there to guide him through his first start, and in so doing join Jaque Fourie and JP Pietersen in beginning his second career as a Bok.

Like the Japan-based pair, before this tour Botha, who like wing Bryan Habana these days plays for French club Toulon, hadn’t had any involvement with the Boks since the 2011 World Cup campaign ground to a disappointing halt in the Wellington quarterfinal against Australia.

While Botha is back with the Boks and there is even talk of a possible comeback for Victor Matfield, Meyer does back the young duo of Eben Etzebeth and Du Toit, who many feel could go on to become even better than the famous Botha/Matfield combination.

Botha’s call-up, and Matfield’s comeback if it happens, is all about backing up the young players while adding experience and mentorship to the group.

The team for the Scotland test will be named on Thursday once the squad has trained and the management have had a proper opportunity to assess the seriousness of the few bumps and bruises picked up against Wales last week.

At this stage first-choice flyhalf Morne Steyn is the only player under an injury cloud, although team doctor Craig Roberts is confident he will be in the selection mix.

“Morne has made a big improvement so it is looking positive,” said Roberts.

One thing is certain: even if the Boks do experiment with a few of their selections for Sunday’s game, the South Africans will not be taking the Scots lightly.

They have been burned too often in the past for that, and while there are seven places separating the two teams on the IRB rankings, the Boks have fresh memories of the fright Scotland gave them in a match in Nelspruit in June.

“If I recall correctly, the Scots were leading 20-3 at one stage of the first half and we had to fight really hard to come back and win that game,” said McFarland.

“That was a really tough test and we are expecting another hard game on Sunday. I don’t think they will change much from that June match. Their tactics worked for 40 minutes of the game against us last time and they will be eager to try it again.”

Patrick LambiePatrick Lambie – the right fit for Scotland game:

Rugby365 believes that Patrick Lambie might be the perfect fit at flyhalf for the Springboks against Scotland.

Most of the fuss was about Morne Steyn’s back spasms, but Patrick Lambie may well be the player to steal the Springbok spotlight this week.

Lambie, who was earmarked to start at flyhalf against Scotland at Murrayfield this coming Sunday, received an unexpected additional 60 minutes of game time in Cardiff last Saturday – and it may just be to the Boks’ benefit.

Steyn suffered a back spasm during the warm-up and lasted just 18 minutes, before Lambie – who started at fullback – took over at flyhalf and Willie le Roux came into the last line of defence.

That is why the concerns about Steyn’s injury – which is improving enough to ensure he is likely to be available anyway – should not be a major concern.

Bok assistant coach John McFarland feels Lambie benefitted greatly from his time at flyhalf at the Millennium Stadium in the 24-15 win over Wales at the weekend.

And while the Bok medical staff will continue to keep a close eye on Steyn, Lambie is set to play a pivotal role against the Scots this coming Sunday.

“We are lucky to have two quality No.10s,” McFarland  told a media scrum at the team’s base in Edinburgh. “You need that at this level. Obviously Pat hasn’t had much game-time this year, but it was great that the got the 60 minutes that he did.  As the game went on he improved and got more comfortable with what we wanted and he did really well.”

McFarland also dismissed the notion that Lambie’s poor Currie Cup form could impact on his game as he prepares for a start in the No.10 jersey.

“In the Currie Cup Final he won the Sharks the game,” the Bok assistant said, when asked about Lambie’s poor kicking in earlier matches.

“It is great when you are a flyhalf and you are steering a team around for game management.

“When you win a big game and you play the sort of tactical game they did in Cape Town that is very encouraging to see.”

14 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springbok news – Bokke defences better, Keep dicipline Bakkies, Pieter-Steph du Toit ready, Pat Lambie at 10

OK, so John McFarland says the Springboks defences are already better….

Wales did not score a try against the Bokke, that may be so… but damn, I saw some bloody good line breaks past Jaque Fourie (Jonathan Davies), past Lambie (Wales No 4 lock)… and some silly errors losing the Bokke lots of ground at times.

I do not think the Springboks defences were better… I think it’s a statement only fools will believe.

Regarding Bakkies’ dicipline… well I think ALl the Springboks need to sharpen up considerably on the dicipline front and shrug off those typical needling actions of the oppostion. The best way to react against niggle, is to just play them off the park, then smirk in their faces!

Regarding Lambie and being the right fit at flyhalf… well we do not have Morné fully fit (and we need him against France) and Johan goosen is well undercooked… so I guess Lambie will HAVE TO BE the right fit, come hell or high water!

Pieter-Steph du Toit, I hope this weekend’s start, if you do get to start, is the beginning of a bright future of many starts and a lot of international success!

All is good though I feel:

Jacques Fourie was seriously bad, have never seen him playing that bad before, he also looks unfit and overweight to me, his defence was atrocious!!!

Lambie looked like a Deer caught in headlights, crosskicks were pathetic not to mention his attempts at dropgoals. Defence was awful! he also ran away from his support a few times. He must learn to become a team player. methinks the young man has a slight case of a swollen head!

Peterson was also way off his best! why he was even brought back into the team I don’t know.

Maybe they will gel better this weekend and start playing like springboks and a team again, I sincerely hope so!!!

5 @ Tripples:
    Your sentiments were exactly mine, as echoed earlier in the week.

Jy ken jou rugby vir ‘n dame… vriendin!

5 @ Tripples:
    I add ONE more factor… the Springboks DICIPLINE was not up to standard!

Ag dankie Mnr!!!!

Ja nee dit lyk my ons ouens laat toe dat die ander spanne onder ons velle inklim en krap!!

vir my was die Francois Louw insident so uit karakter vir hom, daai man het defintief iets aan hom gedoen en hy het gerataliate, hulle moet mos nou van beter weet, maar nou ja ek dink ook nie die flippen ref het enigsins die situasie en niggle op die veld gehelp nie. wat ‘n blerrie poepol was hy nie haha.

Weet ons wie blaas die Sondag?

Ek moet se ek wil net weer eenkeer in my lewe sien hou Bakkies vir ‘n speler van die ander span knipoog en ‘n soentjie blaas hahahahahahaha

8 @ Tripples:
    Hello Tripples the ref will be Jerome Garces (from France)

Thanks Bullscott…..don’t know much about him, hope he is not also part of the French Brat Pack 🙂

No such luck I am afraid.
    From SA Rugby

Jerome Garces will referee the Test between Scotland and South Africa in Edinburgh this November.

Garces took charge of the recent fixture between the Springboks and Wallabies at Newlands on 28 September. The French official made several shocking calls that impacted on both sides.

If not for a premature blow of the whistle, Bryan Habana may have been away for an important try. The Boks were clearly not happy with the referee’s management of the set-pieces.

The Wallabies will feel hard done by regarding the sin-binning of flanker Michael Hooper. It meant that they had to play 10 minutes with 14 men.

Alain Rolland will take charge of the Boks’ first tour match against Wales in Cardiff on 9 November.

Garces will referee the second fixture in Edinburgh on 17 November, and Wayne Barnes will handle the Boks’ final Test against France in Paris on 23 November.

12 @ Tripples:
    Didn’t know too much about Garces either Tripples, thanks for the post – oh dear hopefully this was a one off bad day for him otherwise we could be in for a frustrating afternoon’s viewing, am really hoping for it to be an exciting flowing game that am paying good money to go to. At least the report shows that even if he had a bad game he was consistent…

The question is which no 10 will play off the bench. Lambie needs an extended run, and also to be given the freedom to express himself. If MS is not fully fit, the JG has to play off the bench. And that could be problematic, considering the amount of time he has played this season, especially of Lambie is injured early on.

Total 30 users including 0 member, 30 guests, 0 bot online