ScotlandJonny GrayTeenage lock forward Jonny Gray is the only uncapped player in Scotland’s 23-man squad to face South Africa in the viagogo Autumn Test at Murrayfield on Sunday.

scottishrugby

Should Gray take to the field he will become one of 47 sets of brothers to have been capped for Scotland with his elder brother, British Lion Richie, restored to the second-row in one of six changes to the side that started last weekend’s 42-17 victory over Japan.

The other changes see Duncan Taylor, the 24-year-old Saracens back, replace the injured Matt Scott in the midfield to make his first start for Scotland; Alasdair Dickinson and Moray Low win the prop shirts; Jim Hamilton join Gray in the boiler-house and John Barclay, man of the match in Scotland’s last victory over South Africa in 2010, operate at openside flanker.

For Low it will be his first start for Scotland since the 2011 World Cup warm-up international against Italy.

Greig Laidlaw will captain the side, following his stint as skipper in two matches during the summer in South Africa.

Bench experience

While the younger Gray sibling is on the bench, there is no shortage of experience elsewhere among the substitutes as Scott Lawson, Johnnie Beattie, Chris Cusiter and Max Evans are added to the squad with 159 caps between them, Cusiter’s last outing having been against Samoa in Apia last year.

Omitted from the squad this week in addition to the injured Scott are Euan Murray – absent for reasons of his religious faith – Tim Swinson, Alastair Kellock, Kelly Brown, Pat MacArthur and Henry Pyrgos.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson said: “I made it clear from the outset that there would be some constants in our selection for these three autumn tests, while we’d also look at both form and to the future.

“Injuries have also affected our plans this week but the game is attritional so you just have to get on with it.

“We met South Africa a mere 151 days ago in Nelspruit and they’ve certainly played some quality footy since we gave them a bit of a scare that day. “I was proud of a lot of what we did in Nelspruit but in this business you have to perform for the entire game and we didn’t do that in the match during the summer.

“As I said last weekend and as you’ll hear me say without fear or favour at every game, the contact area will be vital this weekend and we have to improve there against a very clinical South African side.”

Scotland team:

15 Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors) 6 caps, 1 try, 5 points
14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby) 39 caps, 1 try, 5 points
12 Duncan Taylor (Saracens) 4 caps
11 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 80 caps, 12 tries, 60 points
10 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps, 3 conversions, 2 penalties, 2 drop-goals, 18 points
9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby) 22 caps, 3 tries, 23 conversions, 49 penalties 208 points CAPTAIN

1 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby) 28 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) 69 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors) 21 caps
4 Richie Gray (Castres) 32 caps, 1 try, 5 points
5 Jim Hamilton (Montpellier) 48 caps, 1 try, 5 points
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan) 36 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
7 John Barclay (Scarlets) 42 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
8 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby) 15 caps

Replacements:

16 Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) 38 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
17 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps
18 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps, 1 try, 5 points
19 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
20 John Beattie (Montpellier) 24 caps, 3 tries, 15 points
21 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) 62 caps, 3 tries, 15 points
22 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) 6 caps, 1 try, 2 conversions, 9 points
23 Max Evans (Castres) 35 caps, 3 tries, 15 points

Match Officials

Referee: Jerome Garces (France) Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France) and Dudley Phillips (Ireland). TMO: Marshall Kilgore (Ireland).

Footage from last week’s test between Scotland and Japan:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CeOWwVlM5s[/youtube]

Brothers in Arms

Richie (left) and Jonny Gray (right) to appear for first time together for Scotland

10 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Scotland team to face Springboks – changes galore

Can’t wait for this game between Scotland and the Boks!

Very surprised to see captain Kelly Brown has been omitted completely from the match day squad.

In the footage from last weeks game you can see the grass cutting up a lot not only at scrum time but just from players running on it.

So, young Jonny Gray is Richie Gray’s younger brother… interesting!

Still a teenager.. Oom Bakkies gaan hom BLIKSEM!

4 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes GBS will be a baptism of fire for him, he is good but not sure if better than Gilchrist yet but he plays with a lot of energy just still learning though so will need a lot of support and ‘on field coaching’ from the senior players. We have to wait and see what Springbok team is selected but if ‘Oom Bakkies’ starts then I think he may well be off the field by the time Jonny comes on. If I’m not mistaken Jonny Gray has already played against Bakkies this season, for Glasgow against Toulon in their Heineken Cup game.

4 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes did remember correctly Jonny and Bakkies were both starting 4’s in the first round of Heineken Cup game between Toulon and Glasgow, Gray scored a try in that match. Glasgow were well beaten, were 34 points to nil down at half time but came back very strongly and won the second half with final score being Toulon 51/28 Glasgow Warriors. I also seen Jonny Gray play in one of this seasons preseason match, quite a big lad 1.98m tall and weight 119kg and probably still got some growing to do, it shows how big groot boet Richie is that you can see towering above him.

Gbs you will see that I added the photo of the Gray brothers to the bottom of the article, quite chuffed that managed to get it in that format with the text embedded below it the way you do but not sure why the picture doesn’t sit correct in the ‘grey box’ background it seems to be shifted over to the left too much, how would I get it so the picture is centred in that box?

8 @ grootblousmile:
    Thanks a lot man will go in and look at the code to learn how you did it, bit by bit picking up things.

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online