End Of Year Tours - 2013This weekend sees Round 4 of the 2013 End Of Year Tours. It is the last weekend on tour for the Springboks from South Africa, with their last game on tour probably the most difficult one. A a win over France will see the Springboks ending with what can be called a great season.

All in all a good weekend of rugby lies ahead and it will be enjoyed the world over, like always. Here are the head to head stats to help you with your SuperBru picks. Good luck to all sides.

Here’s a Preview of the weekend’s matches:

WalesTongaMatch 1

Wales vs Tonga

Millennium Staduim, Cardiff
22 November 2013
k/o: 19:30  (Local) / 21:30 (SA)

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Owen Williams, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 James Hook, 9 Lloyd Williams, 8 Ryan Jones (Captain), 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Andrew Coombs, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Dan Lydiate, 20 Sam Warburton, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Jordan Williams.

Tonga: 15 Vunga Lilo, 14 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Viliami Helu 10 Latiume Fosita, 9 Taniela Moa, 8 Viliami Ma’afu, 7 Nili Latu (Captain), 6 Sione Kalamafoni, 5 Joe Tu’ineau, 4 Lua Lokotui, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Vaea Taione, 1 Eddie Aholelei.
Replacements: 16 Suliasi Taufalele, 17 Taione Vea, 18 Tevita Mailau, 19 Hale T Pole, 20 Opeti Fonua, 21 Samisoni Fisilau, 22 Fangatapu ‘Apikotoa, 23 David Halaifonua.

The teams have played 6 times, Wales have won all 6.

This clash appears to be a no-brainer, seeing that Tonga have never beaten Wales, a statistic which is unlikely to change this weekend. So, the only question that remains is by what margin Wales will beat Tonga? Wales have shown good form during the Six Nations and afterwards, having only gone down to South Africa. Wales should take this one quite easily with at least a 19 point margin and a scoreline close to 31-12.

GeorgiaSamoaMatch 2

Georgia vs Samoa

Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi
23 November 2013
k/o: 16:30 (Local) / 14:30 (SA)

These teams have played once, with Samoa the winner.

This is a hard one to call, seeing that these teams have only ever met once. One does however feel that Samoa should take this one and should do it quite handsomely. The only time these sides have met was back in 2003. Samoa should win this one with a 37 point margin at least and a scoreline close to 46-9.

ItalyArgentinaMatch 3

Italy vs Argentina

Stadio Olimpico, Rome
23 November 2013
k/o: 15:00 (Local) / 16:00 (SA)

Italy: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Giovambattista Venditti, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Gonzalo Canale, 11 Tommaso Iannone, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Edoardo Gori, 8 Sergio Parisse (Captain), 7 Robert Barbieri, 6 Alessandro Zanni, 5 Valerio Bernabo, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Michele Rizzo.
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Matias Aguero, 18 Lorenzo Cittadini, 19 Marco Bortolami, 20 Joshua Furno, 21 Tobias Botes, 22 Luciano Orquera, 23 Tommaso Benvenuti.

Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Lucas González Amorosino, 13 Horacio Agulla, 12 Gabriel Ascárate, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Benjamín Macome, 7 Julio Farías Cabello, 6 Juan Manuel Leguizamón (Captain), 5 Mariano Galarza, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Eusebio Guiñazú, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Matías Díaz, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Pablo Matera, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Javier Rojas, 23 Santiago Cordero.

The teams have played 18 times, Italy winning 5 times and Argentina winning 12 times. There was 1 draw.

This one can almost be seen as the clash of the weekend, as these teams are evenly matched and ranked. Argentina lead the statistics with 12 wins over 5 but have been lacking form of late. So, the Italians will most likely be backing themselves for a win here. According to the statistics a safe pick will be to pick Argentina for a win by 8 points. Argentina however are playing under a new coach, were hammered by Wales last weekend and have not been in their best form, this does then make a 5 point win for Italy the most likely outcome.

CanadaPortugalMatch 4

Portugal vs Canada

Estádio Universitário de Lisboa, Lisbon
23 November 2013
k/o: 15:00 (Local) / 17:00 (SA)

These teams have played 2 times, with Canada winning both times.

Canada should prevail on the weekend. I recon that Portugal will still put up quite a fight and not make it a walk in the park for Canada. All in all, Canada should win this one with at least a 5 point margin and a scoreline close to 22-17.

RussiaUSAMatch 5

Russia vs USA

Allianz Park, London
23 November 2013
k/o: 15:00 (Local) / 17:00 (SA)

These 2 sides have played 5 times, USA winning all 5.

This should make for a interesting clash. A battle between Russia vs USA almost sounds like a newspaper heading for World War 3. In this case I will be backing the USA for a win by quite a big margin. USA should win here by at least a 15 point margin and a scoreline close to 33-18.

JapanSpainMatch 6

Spain vs Japan

Estadio Nacional Complutense, Madrid
23 November 2013
k/o: 16:00 (local) / 17:00 (SA)

These sides have met twice, with Japan winning both.

This clash should under all circumstances be a walk in the park for Japan, as they are the far superior side in this clash. Spain will still score some points but is unlikely to pitch a score close to the one of the Japanese. Japan should win quite handsomely with at least a 19 point margin and a scoreline close to 37-18.

RomaniaFijiMatch 7

Romania vs Fiji

Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest
23 November 2013
k/o: 18:30 (Local) / 18:30 (SA)

These teams have met twice, with 1 win each.

The previous meetings were in 1991 and then again in 2009. All in all a difficult pick to make here as Fiji have not been in the best form of late. Fiji should however still be able to sneak in a victory here with at least a 4 point margin and a scoreline close to 22-18.

ScotlandAustraliaMatch 8

Scotland vs Australia

Murrayfield, Edinburgh
23 November 2013
k/o: 18:00 (Local) / 20:00 (SA)

Scotland: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Dave Denton, 7 Kelly Brown (Captain), 6 John Beattie, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Euan Murray, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 Kieran Low, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Max Evans.

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Christian Lealiifano, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben Mowen (Captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Sitaleki Timani, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nic White, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Bernard Foley.

These teams have played 27 times, Australia winning 18 and Scotland winning 9 times.

Australia have had a very poor season this year, however they seem to have started to come together as a team on this tour and should be able to beat Scotland quite easily. Scotland will however not make it too easy but will not really threaten the Wallabies on the score board. The Wallabies should win this one with at least an 11 point margin and a scoreline close to 24-13.

South Africa FranceMatch 9

France vs South Africa

Stade de France, Paris
23 November 2013
k/o: 21:00 (Local) / 22:00 (SA)

France: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Sofiane Guitoune, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Yoann Huguet, 10 Rémi Talès, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Damien Chouly, 7 Wenceslas Lauret, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (Captain), 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Pascal Papé, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Yannick Forestier.
Replacements: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Thomas Domingo, 18 Rabah Slimani, 19 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 20 Yannick Nyanga, 21 Jean-Marc Doussain, 22 Frédéric Michalak, 23 Mathieu Bastareaud.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts , 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Siya Kolisi, 22 Jano Vermaak, 23 Pat Lambie.

These sides are old foes and rivals, who have played 38 times against one another. South Africa have won 21 times and France have won 11 times, whilst 6 games were drawn. Interesting to note that outh Africa last won against France IN France 16 years ago when Nick Mallett was still Springbok coach.

This is most likely the most anticipated clash of the weekend. There is a lot of talk regarding the French, stating that this same team made the All Blacks battle for a win. I recon that this game will most likely turn out more or less the same. France will make South Africa work for a victory but are unlikely to topple South Africa. South Africa should score a win here by at least a 5 point margin and a scoreline close to 20-15.

IrelandNew ZealandMatch 10

Ireland vs New Zealand

Aviva Stadium, Dublin
24 November 2013
k/o: 14:00 (Local) / 16:00 (SA)

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll, 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 David Kearney, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O’Brien, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 Paul O’Connell (Captain), 4 Devin Toner, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Declan Fitzpatrick, 19 Mike McCarthy, 20 Kevin McLaughlin, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Luke Fitzgerald.TBC

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Ben Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (Captain), 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Wyatt Crockett.  
Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Owen Franks, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Sam Cane, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Ryan Crotty.

This has been one way traffic throughout history. Ireland have at least managed 1 draw against the All Blacks, this was however all the way back in 1973 and will have no bearing on this result. Ireland has a lot of heart when it comes to rugby but I doubt that will be enough to topple the number 1 team in the world. The All Blacks are currently just in a class of their own. The All Blacks should win this one quite handsomely with at least a 19 point margin and scoreline of no less than 30-11.

13 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Round 4 – Head to Head

Honour among thieves: The battle to steal the opposition’s ball will be hotly contested by Francois Louw and France captain Thierry Dusautoir. (Gallo Images)

Hier le die ding! Ons moet hulle beroof van die bal. Francois Louw is die man.

Prim and PROPer: Coenie Oosthuizen will have to prove his tighthead credentials against Yannick Forestier, who will be starting in only his 2nd Test for France. (AFP/Gallo Images)

En verder moet Coenie hulle vrek druk voor en skoonmaak in die los!

Andre Joubert Who-s-the-man
    2013-11-22 08:47
    The ‘Rolls Royce’ of fullbacks fields YOUR questions. He discusses Pat Lambie’s best position, facing the French in 1995 with a broken hand and what makes Willie le Roux so special.

WILLIE LE ROUX IS OUR NEW ROLLS ROYCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

David Lyness asked: Long time no see. What work keeps you occupied these days?

Andre Joubert: I own and manage the Konica Minolta dealership in KwaZulu-Natal. We deal mainly with the office equipment environment. The transition from the rugby field to the boardroom has been an exciting and, at times, colourful experience.

Johan Dyers asked: Since retiring have you enjoyed any involvement in the game?

Andre Joubert: No, the closest I come to the rugby field these days is watching my 15-year-old son play at eighthman for his school side. I’m enjoying my new role as a bench critic.

Neil Kruger asked: Apart from the 1995 Rugby World Cup final, what is your fondest memory of your playing career?

Andre Joubert: I spent eight great years at the Sharks. My most memorable moment in a Natal jersey was winning the 1996 Currie Cup final by beating Transvaal 33-15 at Ellis Park. On the day, my two tries in the final proved decisive, which made me a proud man.

John Isaacs asked: What was your most disappointing game and how did you overcome it?

Andre Joubert: The 1999 Currie Cup final was a bitter-sweet moment for me. It was mine and Gary Teichmann’s final competitive game and it was sad not to end off a winning note. (Natal were defeated 32-9.) However, I realised then the time was right to retire, because although the mind was still willing, the body no longer was.

Neil van Rooyen asked: The best player/s you played with and against – domestically or internationally?

Andre Joubert: Locally, Thierry Lacroix was the best player I ever had the pleasure of teaming up with. He had great vision for the game and we forged a formidable partnership. Collectively we scored a lot of tries because we were able to read each other’s minds out on the field. When playing fullback it’s crucial to have a flyhalf that can lead you. Internationally, the toughest player I came up against was Jonah Lomu. Lomu was an unbelievable athlete that possessed devastating strength, speed and power.

Dominic Valentine asked: Ian McIntosh has just won the Vernon Pugh award for distinguished serve to the game. Was he the best coach you ever played under?

Andre Joubert: Mac certainly deserves that accolade. He was easily one of my best coaches – he introduced a style of play at the Sharks, which I enjoyed and we scored a lot of tries owing to that approach. Kitch Christie was also unbelievable. He always thought one step ahead and his greatest trait was his managerial ability in the mould of the best football managers. He was unafraid to delegate and introduced consultants he believed would add value to the cause.

Abel Stolz asked: What’s required of the modern fullback and how do you rate South Africa’s current crop?

Andre Joubert: The modern fullback should effectively play as a secondary flyhalf. What this does is not only offer one’s scrumhalf two options on attack, but it serves to confuse the opposition defensively. I believe a fullback’s primary role is to turn defence into attack. For me, Willie le Roux is the best fullback in South Africa at this moment. He’s an exciting player to watch and I hope that Heyneke Meyer retains him in that position. What I most like about Le Roux is that he’s prepared to take risks and gets involved on attack. He possesses a high work-rate and another strong suit of his is, at times, playing at first receiver. I’ve noticed that he has become more involved in blindside play and is getting closer to the rucks.

Mihlali Qoma asked: Do you believe Pat Lambie is unlucky to have been omitted from the starting XV this Saturday? What do you regard to be his best position?

Andre Joubert: Lambie is an unbelievable talent and the current situation is tough for him, but he’s still young and must keep on persevering. He’s proven himself on numerous occasions at Currie Cup and Super Rugby level and he’s a natural-born competitor. In my view, he’s definitely the best of the flyhalves plying their trade in South Africa and that’s the position I would like to see him concentrate on.

Vaughn Du Plooy asked: Did your stint with the SA Sevens side aid your attacking game in the 15-man code?

Andre Joubert: Yes, at Sevens level I spent most of my time in the No 10 playmaking role, which I believe gave me a greater tactical understanding of coming in at first receiver. And over the years, as the defensive lines became increasingly occupied at Test level, my Sevens experience was something I drew upon to break down those tight defences. The modern game has certainly become more defensive and, for the most part, has become a tactical battle of the boot.

Lonwabo Rippah Jam asked: You played against France in the 1995 World Cup semi-final with a broken hand. How did you last the full 80 minutes?

Andre Joubert: The power of the mind. I was given neither painkillers nor an injection. It was a pressure game for me as I had broken my hand against Western Samoa the previous match. It was a nightmare day weather-wise in Durban, but it proved a great result for us. I’m proud to say that I never lost to France during my playing career.

Raymond Silinga asked: What makes the French such tough opponents? Are you predicting a Springbok win on Saturday?

Andre Joubert: France’s unpredictably makes them dangerous. If they click on the day they can be deadly, but if not, they tend to play as individuals. I’m backing the Boks to win as they carry with them winning momentum. They are also no longer one-dimensional on attack and will ask plenty questions of the French defence.

England in trouble at end of day 2 bowled out for 136 by Australia, Australia resume on 65/0 tomorrow

Tim,

I differ somewhat with your assessments.

Georgia / Samoa – You see a big margin for Samoa, I see a Samoa win but not by that much. The European sides like Romania, Russia & Georgia have steadily been improving in recent years and most of their forwards now play in the French, Italian & UK leagues (mostly in France though), which is starting to make their forwards very competative.

I’m also unsure about the Italy / Argentina match and I think I’ve gone for Italy to win on Bru… honestly cannot remember by how much.

Even though Canada has been very shitty, I still think they will beat Spain by some margin, so I think your 5-point margin is light.

Because USA have not been on form and because the Ruskies seem to be improving, I have actually picked a win for Russia on Bru… game is played on neutral ground in London though, so your guess is as good as mine.

I think Fiji will win by more than your 4-point margin.

I picked the Wallabies rather big on Bru because of the 28-point difference there was between the Bokke & Scotland… but then again effectively 8 Wallabies are out of the side, with 6 Internal suspensions, 1 IRB Suspension (Kuridrani) and 1 injury (Toomua)…. so basically I took a gamble and I recon Scotland’s forwards could really push the Wallabies,yet the Wallabies should prevail.

I am worried about the Springbok game… but have also gone for a Bokke win.

The All Blacks should murder Ireland on Sunday… they are gunning for history and an unbeaten season and will be fierce, whereas the “Oirish” were simply rubbish on attack against the Wallabies last weekend, is struggling with injuries… and are not in the All Blacks class.

@GBS: I have to agree that this has weekend had some hard picks to make. Some games were quite easy to pick with just the margin the difficult part and then some of the other games were quite a bit more difficult. Like the Italy vs Argentina, France vs SA and Russia vs USA.
    All in all I feel that this weekend will be the deciding factor in our Superbru pool, I had a look just now and most picks are scattered across the board the Italy vs ARG game is almost split 50/50. The rest of the games are all drawing more or less in the same direction as most bru’s are picking the same teams. So it will come down to margins then.

I saw your picks, i get the feeling you went with a few brave calls, this can be the week where you shoot right to the top or fall out of the bus. So far you were right on the money. Good luck

5 @ Timothy Bornman:
    Hope I’ve picked well… am sitting so pretty on the Global Rankings and on top of all the Pools I play in…. you’re hoping I have a shocker, so you can catch up the 3 points I am ahead of you in 2nd spot… hehehe

6 @ superBul:
    Hello BlommieBul,

Hoe gaan dit met die rug se aansterk?

Ja, het maar gepick soos die verstand my lei, nie soveel kans gehad om regtig alles te be-oordeel nie…. daar’s paar picks waar ek in die sop kan wees…

Sorry was weg van PC , die rug doen goed, voel niks pyn daar nie. bene geen pyn meer , loop weer lekker flink. Stut hou my redelik styf so buk is nie maklik nie. Nog bietjie meer as 2 weke dan sien ek die Dok en dan sal ek seker die ja-woord kry om rug sterker te maak. Ek doen so paar voorgeskrewe oefeninge maar ek voel dit is te mak, geen werklike oefening nie. My gewig ook nou mooi af so die rug rus nou sonder daai moerse k3ksak, LOL

Ireland team to face the All Blacks on Sunday is due to be announced at 3.30pm SA time so not long to go for that.

The games I am worried about are USA vs Russia, Italy vs Argentina and France vs SA. But at least there are not too many minnow games to confuse us. Those are the games that really threw me last week.

n Hele boel Franse in die Bokspan, Morne, Guthro, Bakkies, Habana….so dis eintlik Frankryk “A” vs Frankryk “B”….. Amazed

12 @ Pietman:
    Daar’s nog Monsieur Jano Vermaak ook… hehehe

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online