Jacques BotesKeegan DanielSharks flank Jacques Botes will equal the record for the most Currie Cup matches played when he runs out to face the Blue Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Friday (19:10 kick-off).

Botes was on Wednesday included in the Sharks starting team and will equal former Free State centre Helgard Muller on 142 Currie Cup games.

He has played 115 games for the Sharks and 26 for the Pumas.

Sharks skipper Keegan Daniel will also achieve a milestone by playing in his 100th Currie Cup game for the union.

Sport24

Speaking ahead of Friday’s game, forwards coach Brad Macleod-Henderson said:

“It’s going to be another tough game against the Bulls away from home, they’ll be desperate to keep their hopes alive of qualifying for the playoffs.

“Last week, they would have known that they needed three wins to get a semi-final place, and they played a fantastic game against Griquas to get the result they did. That will give them a lot of confidence, they have quite a few young guys in their squad and some previous results hadn’t gone their way, so last weekend’s win would have given them a big boost.”

Backline coach, Sean Everitt, said:

“The Bulls put in an incredible performance against Griquas on the weekend. No-one else has been able to put that kind of score on them this year, and in Kimberley, Griquas are difficult so the Bulls were really good and we’ll have to be at our best at Loftus on Friday.”

Sharks: 15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Heimar Williams, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (Captain), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Stephen Lewies, 4 Peet Marais, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Kyle Cooper 1 Dale Chadwick

Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Edwin Hewitt, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Butch James, 22 Louis Ludik.

23 Responses to Currie Cup: Sharks – Milestones for Botes and Keegan

Come on my Sharkies. Just klap these boys in blue……..hehehehe.

Congrats to Botes and Keegan.

Congrats Botes and Keegan, that’s a lot of experience between them. Don’t know the numbers but wouldn’t be surprised if the two of them had more Currie Cup experience between than all the Blue Bulls forwards together. Even the relatively young Marcel Coetzee would be a veteran in our pack.

1 @ Puma:
    Ag no man Puma give us a chance, you guys must already be sure of a home semi-final while we fighting to make it. Worry

4 @ Bullscot:
    hahaha. I know but we want to hold a final as well if we win our semi. So need to win this one and the next….. Happy

Big pain waiting for You, Bulls have seen RED, they only need 4 wins to have a great year. Watch the BULL run.

6 @ superBul:
    Howzit Super,

I never saw the Bulls game last week. Did hear about it and heard that William Small-Smith was brilliant. I am interested to know, did you see that game and how did he play? I saw him in the JWC last year with Serfontein and though Small-Smith was superb and was a Springbok in the making. How do you rate Small-Smith over JJE? Because I am still suspect of JJE at 13 for the Boks.

I am not sure about this game on Saturday Super. Sharks may struggle, then we may not. We need to get our set pieces sorted. We struggled in the scrum and lineouts. If we got that sorted we would be excellent. We do have Marcell back for this game. He is on the bench though as he only gets back with the team tomorrow. You do remember next week we will have our Boks back? They would make a massive difference if they could slot straight in that is. Sharks get more players back after this weeks Bok game than any other team. We will be topped up with excellent players.

Did hear about it and heard that William Small-Smith

I did not watch the game, but hell what a great surprise, in fact a shock. I expected the Bulls to win by 3 only, so far the Griquas had i losing bonus point in almost every game. So surely it was great to see the final score. Who made the difference i don’t really know , but its nice to see them clicking at least.

On the basis of my prediction of the Bulls only needing 4 more wins it is more about me dreaming of the old glory days , when we had pride. Maybe we do have, if we do somehow win this years CC we will start a great new chapter , albeit expectantly for me.

A man can dream , cant We

8 @ superBul:
    Super,

Just trust your team. They re-building and that takes time. The Bulls have some brilliant youngsters in their team. They just needed to find their feet so to speak. They will build up to be a great team again I am sure of that. Just look who you have coming back as well. There are quite a few out to the Boks and injured.

I just rate that William Small-Smith. Will take notice how he plays against the Sharks this week. I think he is even better than JJE.

Anyhow I am off to bed. Good night Super. Good catching up and chatting again. I can’t wait to see our Bokke go against the ABs this week. Going to be a cracking game.

8 @ superBul:
    9 @ Puma:
    William Small-Smith was great in the Blue Bulls / Kwas game, but he also only played as well as those around him allowed him to play.

Of course it helped that he played against that old fart, JP Nel… who is a shadow of what he once was.

geluk met die blad bloues. die deng laai nou ook in portrait op my foon 😀

Sharks make the right call ; but at a PRICE!The Sharks have welcomed cellular network provider Cell C on
    board as title sponsor for the 2014 season and beyond.

The union has just confirmed via Twitter that Cell C will
    replace Mr Price as headline sponsor from next year and that, effective 1
    January 2014, the team will be known as “The Cell C Sharks”.

maybe this will help the Sharks get their Line out calls right! I can just see Kyle Cooper texting Daniel before each throw in

@ Raggie:
    I hope the signal is good then.

The bulls of Loftus do graze
    Upon it’s verdant lawn.
    I hear them in the morning haze
    Mooing to the dawn.

They trample all the whitewashed lines;
    They crush the fine turf.
    And then they leave giant mines;
    As the defile the earth.

And what’s this sticking to my shoe?
    ’tis this I truly hate,
    For it’s the stinking residue
    Of what the beasties ate.

So then I say, let’s have some fun.
    We’ll let them eat the grass.
    Whilst with my trusty BB gun,
    I shoot them in the ass.

I hope that they get a good reception!

Raggie wrote:

“The Cell C Sharks”.

The Shall see Sharks
    Sannie sannie sal sewe sakke sout eet
    …….

@ Raggie:
    youre a poet and you dont even knowit

18 @ superBul:
    Noem hulle sommer die “Shell Sea Sharks”

Jammer om te hoor hulle het so ‘n kak selfoonnetwerk gekies as hoof title sponsors…. jammer om van hulle kakkas te hoor!

Eastern connections in the East Coast?

Het jy gesien krieket SA gaan kwotas instel op hul volgende vergadering die 11de
    http://www.espncricinfo.com/southafrica/content/current/story/676327.html

21 @ superBul:
    Simpel klomp sirkusnarreas hulle dit doen!

Ja jong die vloekwoord was altyd apartheid. Nou is dit meriete.
    In sport is dit eenvoudig die beste moet dit top bereik, klaar.
    Waar is ons ou manne wat honderde kilometers met n fiets gery het vir n rugby oefening, verseker het nie elkeen wat dit gedoen het n Springbok geword nie. Maar baie was bereid om soveel op te offer om deel te wees van die spel wat hulle geniet.Daar is tans soveel werkloses maar hulle sit eerder ledig as om n stuk veld skoon te maak en iets te speel. Daar is dalk net n persoon wat hul sien en n kans gee. Dit geld vir Krieket, Sokker, Rugby…..

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online