Heyneke Meyer emotional and animated in the game between Wallabies vs Springboks, 2013

Gesels jy op ’n gewone oggend met Heyneke Meyer sal dit jou dalk opval dat daar onder die goeie maniere en vriendelikheid waarskynlik ’n paar senuwees en ’n bra intense persoonlikheid ook is.

Die Beeld

Maar die Meyer van die gewone oggend en die Meyer van die toets-agtermiddag is amperse foto-negatiewe van mekaar.

Eergister was die breier van die Springbok-span se “vertoning” in die afrigterslosie net-net minder vermaaklik as die Bokke se vertoning – en die span het ’n uitmuntende oorwinning van 38-12 oor die Wallabies behaal.

Meyer het sy kop agteroor gegooi en weer vorentoe; op sy tande gekners en die lessenaar geslaan; vuiste geswaai en geskree – intens betrokke by sy span.

TV-kameras hou die afrigters reeds geruime tyd dop, maar tot nou het Meyer die spanning meestal verwerk deur in ’n tweerigting-radio te sit en roep. Eergister was hy veel meer virtuoos en die Australiese uitsaaiers het hom gereeld gewys.

Meyer het effens skaam geglimlag ná die wedstryd. “Ek is maar baie emosioneel,” het hy halfverleë verduidelik.

Hy herinner soms aan Ian McIntosh, ’n voorganger en deesdae Bok-keurder, wat ook in Australasië is. McIntosh se oë het in die vroeë 90’s so styf gaan staan sodra sy span op die veld draf dat mense vir sy gesondheid gevrees het, maar hy meen hy was ’n vulletjie in vergelyking met Meyer.

“My oë het eintlik so styf gestaan omdat die kameras my kontaklense só opgetel het,” het McIntosh gister gesê.

“Ek was nooit so intens nie.

“Maar ek waardeer dit; dit wys hy gee om vir sy span en is passievol oor hulle.”

Ses dae en 22½ uur per week is Meyer besig om ’n sukses te maak van een van die moeilikste betrekkings in Suid-Afrika; die ander 90 minute is hy sweerlik daarop geregtig om op die tafel te kan slaan.

Total Home Away Neutral
Played 18 100.0% 10 55.6% 8 44.4% 0
Wins 13 72.2% 8 80.0% 5 62.5% 0
Losses 3 16.7% 1 10.0% 2 25.0% 0
Draws 2 11.1% 1 10.0% 1 12.5% 0

The Thumbnail picture above deserves to be shown bigger… here it is:

Heyneke Meyer emotional and animated in the game between Wallabies vs Springboks, The Rugby Championship, Brisbane, 7 September 013

Heyneke Meyer emotional and animated in the game between Wallabies vs Springboks, The Rugby Championship, Brisbane, 7 September 2013

29 Responses to Springbokke: Bloed groen hart op mou

Nice to see him so emotional about his team, gives a good vibe (unlike Henry)

’n Yslike biefstuk én ’n glas witwyn is die rede waarom die Bokke die Wallabies eergister ore aangesit het in Brisbane, reken Bakkies Botha.

Dié voormalige Blou Bul- en Springbok-slot het gister twee foto’s op Twitter geplaas by ’n twiet wat lui: “Wonder waarom die Bokke die Aussies gedomineer het gister (Saterdag).”

Op die een foto poseer lede van die Australiese rugbyspan kaal bolyf soos modelle. In skrille kontras staan die voormalige Bok-voorspeler Danie Rossouw op die tweede foto met ’n yslike stuk vleis in die een hand en ’n glas witwyn in die ander.

Die Wallabies was so seker hulle gaan die Bokke wéér in Brisbane klop dat hulle verlede week ’n video waarin met Suid-Afrikaners gespot word op You- Tube geplaas het. Die Aussies was die naweek maar stil op sosiale netwerke, wat gewemel het van bydraes deur Suid-Afrikaners wat breëbors is nadat die Bokke die Wallabies met 38-12 – en vir die eerste keer in 42 jaar in Brisbane – geklop het.

Great passion shown by Heyneke Meyer… you’ve got to love the fact that this man lives and breathes for his players, and they in turn for him!

… Think I also looked like Heyneke on Saturday during the game….

Kyk daar op die fotos in Media die foto wat Bakkies Botha geplaas het. Ek weet nie hoe om hom hier in n post te sit nie. Aai die Springbokke se wen is so lekker ek wil nog heeldag daaroor lag , praat en juig.

Danie Rossouw and his steak!

McKenzie’s men come up short in power race

By
    Paul Cully
    Rugby columnist

A few snippets from Paul

Power is king this year. The game is moving away from how Australia wants to play it.

It is not news that Francois Louw is an excellent operator over the ball, so even when the Wallabies did make ground with an aggressive run, the gap between the the ball carrier and his support was far too big. Louw, Eben Eztebeth, Bismarck du Plessis – take your pick – were allowed to feed at will on Australian ball.

It is now push or perish.
    The Pumas gave the All Blacks a working over at times in Hamilton, and the excellent Springboks simply walked all over the Wallabies on their feed. This new set-piece is the game distilled down to its essence – physically dominate or be dominated – and the Wallabies do not look ready for it.

Israel Folau’s future is in the midfield.

Ewen McKenzie has a dilemma on his hands. Folau does not have the kicking game to be a Test No.15 at present (twice he was turned over deep in his own territory), nor does he have the express pace of a winger (Bryan Habana and Julian Savea have exposed his lack of top-end speed).

I did post something on here this morning. Just never came up.

Think Meyer is really passionate about our Boks. Also think we are all exactly the same, all of us Bok Supporters it is heart thumping stuff. Only on Saturday because we were in totally command I was more relaxed…lol. Still pumping my fists up everytime we scored…lol.

The only difference is Meyer is on camera and we are not getting scrutinised as he is. Still would rather see a coach really passionate about our team. Just do worry for him sometimes and hope he has a strong heart…hahaha.

And a good warning by the columnist above

Kieran Read v the Springboks could define the year.

What is bad for the Wallabies is good for the Rugby Championship. The competition needs a rival for the All Blacks, and if the Wallabies cannot provide it, then the Springboks will.

And his team of the week

superBul wrote:

Kieran Read v the Springboks could define the year.

Read was tremendous against Argentina – in boxing terms, he’s a natural heavyweight, not a pumped-up middleweight – and he will need all of his growing authority against the Boks with Richie McCaw sidelined. Those anticipating anything less than brutality in the All Blacks v Springboks game on Saturday are unlikely to be disappointed. If star code-switcher Sonny Bill Williams does move back to rugby, it’s because of this sort of game.

End of Paul,s quotes

superBul wrote:

And his team of the week

Team of the week

1. Beast Mtawarira (South Africa)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (South Africa)
    3. Jannie du Plessis (South Africa)
    4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)
    5. Sam Whitelock (New Zealand)
    6. Steven Luatua (New Zealand)
    7. Francois Louw (South Africa)
    8. Kieran Read (New Zealand)
    9. Aaron Smith (New Zealand)
    10. Morne Steyn (South Africa)
    11.Bryan Habana (South Africa)
    12. Jean de Villiers (South Africa)
    13. Conrad Smith (New Zealand)
    14. Willie le Roux (South Africa)
    15. Zane Kirchner (South Africa)

Whow the Boks won him over 10 Boks and only 5 AB,s

As Bakkies so sê, dan moet dit so wees… Bakkies kan dan ‘n vuur aansteek met ‘n ysblokkie.

En toe Alexander Graham Bell die foon ontwerp het, was daar glo 3 ‘missed calls’ van Bakkies Botha.

Dis vandag moer lekker om ‘n Bok te is, TE IS!!!

@ Gena_ZA:
    Ek geniet nog elke wedstryd verslag van die Aussie Press

The Wallabies hit back with a penalty goal after the break and threatened in attack but the Springboks back row had them on toast, their flankers turning it over and defusing instantaneously.

They survived a late assault at their try line by the skin of their teeth, openside Michael Hooper single-handedly batting back lightning outside back Willie le Roux on the chalk.

Dankie GBS , nou is daar weer n spotprent

Spotprent

goeies!

There are quite a few good articles in the New Zealand Herald.

Did copy one earlier and posted it on one of the Boks threads here.

We should get some and put them up here as they make for good reading.

Murray Mexted: Physical Springboks are still our greatest adversaries

By Murray Mexted

The physical confrontation is what blows away most of the Springbok opposition. Photo / Getty Images
    Expand

The physical confrontation is what blows away most of the Springbok opposition. Photo / Getty Images

Every international team have their strengths but the Springboks are a particularly physical side – it’s been the same since year dot.

The physical confrontation is what blows away most of the Springbok opposition and we are one of the few teams in the world who can handle the physical factor.

We saw in the weekend that the Wallabies can’t handle it, but we can.

When a Springbok team are playing well, the only side in the world who can beat them are New Zealand and sometimes we can’t beat them either, which is why I think they are our number one adversary.

The Australians have had their moments through being clever and playing a good brand of rugby but they lack the physical presence of the Springboks, who are big, strong men used to playing at a fast pace in good conditions.

The game of rugby is all about winning the contest areas and the Springboks are pretty effective at that.

They treat us with high regard and have incredible respect for the All Blacks and New Zealand rugby players because we can beat them and are very consistent in our performance levels.

They don’t have the same regard for other teams, I’m pretty positive about that.

We toured over there for weeks and it was very hard to win with local referees in South Africa and that is a fact, not an accusation, and I think it was similar for them here in New Zealand.

I played three tests when they toured here in 1981 and then for the Cavaliers in 1986 and of course in the Currie Cup.

They were and still are our greatest adversaries and they play a fast and powerful style of rugby which is a challenge for any loose forward.

They are the ultimate challenge – a test of your rugby manhood in many respects. Long may it continue, it’s a great contest.
    By Murray Mexted

Nice. He’s correct of course.

And Vica Versa.

18 @ Stormersboy:
    Of course Mexted is correct and yes, vise versa for sure.

I do wish gbs would put up some articles written in the NZ Herald. All of the articles were terrific read. They respect our rugby as much as we respect theirs. All feel the Boks have always been the ABs greatest rivals and to this day as well. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all those articles in their papers. Just compare the Aussie press last week? Look I know the Aussies have a good sense of humour, but really they can be crass and let themselves down. For me it can be a total put off. In NZ they have welcomed us and truly respect us and we them of course, and it is about the two best rugby countries going to play each other this weekend. I love it bro. I wish we were there now going to play 3 tests against them. That would have been unbelievable. Also them coming here for a 3 test tour. How I miss those tours between our countries. Nothing for me compares to our Boks playing the ABs. NO test from two countries can get any bigger ever.

Bring it on ABs! Can’t wait.

Totally agree with you on a longer test series, with midweek games in between. The older stories of the smaller unions who got to play against the greats, even once in a lifetime are the stuff of legend. It gives the game a much wider exposure as well.

I remember as a young kid going with a school group to watch the 1980 Lions play the Proteas at Coetzenberg in Stellenbosch. Ollie Campbell vs Errol Tobias. I’ll never forget it as long as I live. I collected all the Lions Matches tour pictures in the match boxes, along with the sticker book. I had all the Boks and all the Lions.

I was 9 at the time and I remember that as being the moment that I really began to get excited about Rugby beyond my own sporting activity.

I thought I posted yesterday that I wonder what Meyer thinks of his actions that are caught by the camera when they do the video analysis on a Monday morning, or does he edit it out?

But my comment seems to have disappeared.

Could it be the fikkle finger of a Webmonster taking exception to anyone even remotely having a go at the national coach, or were the cyber gremlins in attendance yesterday?

21 @ Scrumdown:
    Nee flok, I took nothing away!

@ Scrumdown:My money would be on an internet glitch.

If Rudi takes exception to a post (Usually only as a result of inappropriate or racist remarks) you will know about it.

23 @ Stormersboy:
    Etzakkerly!

A Person really has to test my patience or the combined patience of the Rugby-Talk community with BAD behaviour or SPAM ADVERTISING, before I remove stuff. Must say, it very, very rarely happens, a sign of how mature our audience actually is.

Cyber gremlins then?

These things happen when you’re blogging from Scandanavia.

Yes, you get what you give.

People know this site by reputation, so the “chancers” stay away.

27 @ Stormersboy:
    We’ve set the benchmark here from inception regarding behaviour towards one another… it is easily picked up… and is adhered to with little fuss.

The chancers, trolls, troublemakers stay away because they know they would be unwelcome… it is the natural order of things.

@ Stormersboy:Flip SB, jyt ons almal ‘n PK gegee die naweek op suberbru.

Total 78 users including 0 member, 78 guests, 0 bot online