Lourens AdriaanseeThe Sharks have secured the services of Griquas prop Lourens Adriaanse from next season.

Sport24

According to the Volksblad website, Adriaanse will still represent Griquas in this year’s Currie Cup before heading to Durban.

He is the third Griquas player to be signed by the Sharks in recent times. Lock Edwin Hewitt and flank Justin Downey have also moved to Durban.

Adriaanse, 25, who excelled for the Cheetahs franchise in this year’s Super Rugby competition, will fight it our for a spot in the Sharks team with Springbok Jannie du Plessis.

29 Responses to Super Rugby: The Sharks lure Lourens Adriaanse to the tank

If I was Wiehahn Herbst I would look to find another Super Rugby Franchise here in SA for 2014… Stormers, Lions, Cheetahs, Bulls…. in that order

Bit of a pity that Lourens Adriaanse leaves the Cheetahs in Super Rugby, he was busy making his mark there… think he feels with Coenie moving to tighthead he might not get that much game time at the Cheetahs…but then again he’s bound to fall in behind Jannie du Plessis at the Sharks too.

Is there a move from Jannie that we do not know about? Is it the lure of much more money? Is it the lure to be noticed more by the National Selectors?

Lourens Adriaanse is a great tighthead prop.

2 @ grootblousmile:
    I think it is a great signing by the Sharks. We going to have plenty rotation next year. Proper rotation where a player rests for a whole game. That is the way see Venter going with rotation. So a team will need to replace a player equally as good as the other.

I just hope they are not thinking of playing Herbst at loosehead that would be unfair to him. Though when he did fill in there this year he was outstanding there.

I also gave it a thought that could this be Jannie moving overseas? Then no he cant be as he has signed with Sharks for next year. This is all about rotation. We definitely need another quality Loosehead.

I see Force are busy signing more WP Province players for next years SR. That would be 6 South Africans in their team. Sias from Cheetahs, Brache (sp) from WP, also a prop from WP just for get his name. Steenkamp from Bulls and another two players from Province. Now why the hell has Oz have 5 teams if they do not have enough players to fill those teams? WE here should have stuck to our guns and insisted we have Kings long before they had a 5th team. We have enough players and they surely do not.

3 @ Puma:
    Might be great for the Sharks, I don’t doubt it… but is it good for SA Rugby?

Both him and boet are pretty decent tightheads, though Jacobie always looked a bit unfit at the Lions.

4 @ grootblousmile:
    Not sure if it is good for SA rugby. No it is not. It is good for my Sharks though.

I think every team will have to have 2 equally good players in each position to be really competitive in SR. You saw how many injuries Sharks picked up this year and we struggled. We were getting players in from everywhere each week. The SR squads really should be allowed to be bigger than we are allowed right now.

Anyhow I think my Sharks need another Looshead as good as Beast. That is where we are lacking right now not at tighthead. I know Herbst stuggled a bit last week, but it was more so the whole scrum struggled. We have lost just about our whole scrum to Boks or some to injury. Chadwick is not the answer for us when Beast is away. Just hope that they don’t play Herbst now at Loosehead. As we saw this year when he filled in for Beast he was bloody good there. Just don’t want to mess him about.

Would like Smitty to now go get us the Kriel twins back from your Bully Boys……….. Tounge-Out Also to try and get Mnisi back.. Wink

Moet sê, Barney weet hoe om te adverteer en spelers te werf daar in Durbs:

KOM SKRUM ONS POER IN ONS …. DAN KRY JY ‘N SHARKS KONTRAK!

Baie geluk Adriaanse, hoop jy skrum goed daar by die Sharks, maar nie vanaand nie, groot asseblief !

Wonder watter Leeus speler gaan na vanaand se wedstryd op Kingspark ‘n kontrak kry ?

My geld is op Minnie, Kriel, Jantjes of Boshoff.

Wink

HM has already shown his preference for picking Coenie as the backup TH for the Boks so I think your question is largely irrelevant.

Add to that Brendan Venters preference for having a larger squad and rotating them, I think its a very good move by Lourens.
    I don’t think a move to the Sharks precludes him or Herbst from being chosen by the Boks anyway. If you remember back to the Sharks season, at one point both Beast and Jannie were injured which meant Herbst was playing loosehead with the very young Alan Dell coming on at TH. Not ideal.

He’ll get plenty game time with the Sharks, so will Herbst.
    So in the

8 @ John Galt:
    Hello and welcome to Rugby-Talk!

Look, I agree that the Sharks are clever signing Lourens Adriaanse, he’s bloody good and if Doc Jannie does’nt buck up, Lourens might get the starting role.

What I’m saying is I would have liked player stock in positions to be a bit more equally distributed in SA, I think that might be better for Bok prospects.

Anyway, it is a moot point it seems, it’s done and dusted… contract signed.

Yeah, rotational depth is becoming more and more important in Super Rugby… that I also admit.

8 @ John Galt:
    By the way, I figured out that you are JohnR who applied to our Bru Pool, so your Application has been approved.

SA should look to contracting Bok player like NZ does. Central contracting could see the Boks players being equally distributed among the 5 franchises. And SARU could monitor player welfare better.

8 @ John Galt:
    Welcome to this site John. Good to see you here. Another Sharkie to help me out here against these Bully boys…hahaha.

I am very pleased Smitty got Adriaanse to sign for our Sharks. We saw how we struggled with injuries this year and also remember we will be playing with 23 players in next years SR. That would mean a extra prop on the bench. So good thinking by Smit and Venter.

Hey thanks man.
    I actually registered a while ago just haven’t posted yet.

Good to be here.

7 @ ben-die-bul:
    Definitely not, Minnie gives away too many penalties as we saw when he filled in for my Sharks this year on our away tour. Also definitely not, Elton or Boshoff. We have Lambie and Fred Zielinga for next year. Fred is a exciting fh and hope he gets enough game time in this years CC. We also have the JWC fh playing in our u21s Du Plessis. So we totally covered at fh. Not a bad thing to get Kriel to the Sharks though………. hehehe. 😛 Sorry lion4ever just joking of course.

13 @ John Galt:
    I know you registered a while ago, I get notification of the registrations.

Good to see you here.

Join us here a lot, the discussions are good!

Howzit Puma, yep another Shark in amongst the Bulls.
    Mutual respect all round. Sometimes. Haha.

16 @ John Galt:
    Yip only us here bud. Sharky does blog here from time to time.

Plenty WP/Stormer supporters here though, think they out number us and the Bully Boys. This site really comes alive on game days. Great site for the live games.

@ Puma:Looks like the captaincy has caused Minnie to tighten his game up. I think he only gave away one penalty last week. And Puma, hands off Kriel.

@ John Galt:
    And just to spice things up a bit you have a Lions supporter or here as well.

@ Lion4ever:
    Hey GBS.

Its not the sharks fault SARUGBY want to include 6 teams in superrugby when we dont have the depth.

I hope the Bulls are also doing everything in their power to build a good quality of depth in all positions. Especially LH and TH

18 @ Lion4ever:

Minnie is a great player and when he came to help out my Sharks I was pleased until he gave away so many penalties. Like you say now that he is captain and has worked on not giving away so many penalties he will be a dangerous player again for other teams.

Ja, Kriel would be a great Shark……….hahahaha. Rate him. Great player.

When will Lions get A. Coetzee back? Hell I would love to see him in a Sharks jersey! 🙂 🙂 I still think he is better than Willie le Roux. Terrific fb he is. Pity he picked up that injury in the first game he played for Sharks. Was hoping to see a lot more of him in the black and white this year. Doubt he will ever leave the Lions, but I rate him highly.

I believe A Coetzee is out for the season. Great level headed player, but one who also keeps the opposition guessing.

22 @ Lion4ever:
    Well that is a shame he is out for the season. Also it happened in the last 3 minutes of that game he picked up the injury. Think it was his shoulder. Did he have a op on that shoulder?

Can’t remember.

24 @ Lion4ever:
    I remember. It was the game we played Cheetahs just before we left for our away tour.

Coetzee went for a high ball, got it then a Cheetah player came underneath him (NOT on purpose), it just seemed he clashed with Coetzee from underneath. Coetzee came down crashing onto his shoulder. What a pity as there was only 3min left in the game. Was sad to see him leave the field injured. Wanted to see him play fb for us. As at that time Ludik was out injured. Coetzee played on the wing that game. Was terrific there as well. Pity about that injury if it has kept him out the whole season. Great player.

I remember the game, but not if he had an op or not. Agree, he would have been a great temporary addition to the Sharks.

26 @ Lion4ever:
    So looks like Lions will only get him back for next years SR then.

He could be a Bok such a pity he ever played fb for Sharks this year because of that injury. I am sure Meyer would have called him up. For me anyhow I think he is better than Willie at fb. A really classy player.

ever played = never played. Eish, my typos get worse each day…hahaha.

Okay cheers everyone.

Catch up later.

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online