HurricanesHighlandersHurricanes (13) 44 / 49 (32) Highlanders (Final Score)

The Hurricanes and Highlanders did battle in Super Rugby at Westpac Stadium, Wellington at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (3)
  • Tries – Ash Dixon (1), Ben Franks (1), Julian Savea (1), Chris Smylie (1), James Broadhurst (1)
  • Conversions – Beauden Barrett (5)

• Penalties – Colin Slade (3)
  • Tries – Mose Tuiali’i (1), Tamati Ellison (1), Aaron Smith (1), Kade Poki (1), Hosea Gear (1), Elliot Dixon (1)
  • Conversions – Colin Slade (3), Hayden Parker (2)

Hurricanes: 15 James Marshall, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith (Captain), 12 Reynold Lee-Lo, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Reggie Goodes, 17 John Schwalger, 18 Mark Reddish, 19 Brad Shields, 20 Jack Lam, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Matt Proctor.

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Shaun Treeby, 12 Tamati Ellison, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Elliot Dixon, 6 TJ Ioane, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Brad Thorn (Captain), 3 Ma’afu Fia, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Jake Paringatai, 19 Joe Wheeler, 20 Fumiaki Tanaka, 21 Hayden Parker, 22 Buxton Popoalii.

Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Richard Kelly (New Zealand)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

127 Responses to Super Rugby: Hurricanes vs Highlanders – Live Game Article

@ grootblousmile:Haha I don’t want to comment on his wors. Some things, once seen, cannot be un-seen….. πŸ™‚

Try Canes, a Franks brother.

Landers are down to 14 though with a Yellow

Stormersboy wrote:

I hope so boet, we can, but the Kings don’t give up tries too easily.
    I hope we are motivated, we need to keep ourselves in the hunt, however slim our chances are!

It’s difficult to hunt a lion barefoot and with a kettie
    πŸ˜€
    I think we are already back in the camp cooking food for those who are still truly in the hunt
    Just hope we have 2 decent games left in us, but then again, if we should maybe beat the Bulls then everyone is all hunky dory and AC gets a reprieve for a couple more years

Highlanders 35 / 20 Hurricanes

Love the commentators when they are talking about a NZ derby. No emotional stake for me.

“the Hurricanes spread the ball wide, and the big winger, Ben Franks goes over for the try!”

Classic stuff.

@ Ashley:
    More
    πŸ™‚

Try Julian Savea, under the sticks…

The Canes are back

Highlanders 35 / 27 Hurricanes

39 @ nortierd:
    Ahh but I wouldn’t fall into the Austin Healy trap nortierd – there are indeed loads of Wales players in the starting line up but to be honest most of them would have been in many folks starting team when the squad was initially announced let alone now there have been injuries, and in total there are 11 Welsh players in the match day squad of 23 – so less than half. The coaching and backup staff also has a big Wales tinge to it but the important forwards and defence coach positions are filled by England coaches. And you have to admire the Lions medical staff who have had to deal with so many injuries on this tour and managed to get Tommy Bowe from having a broken hand to three weeks later playing a Lions test – not only being able to play but also to last the whole game – that really surprised me. The Lions bench looks quite good to me and think could play the decisive role in this one, I don’t get to watch much Super rugby but many of the names on the Aus bench are unfamiliar to me.

πŸ˜€

That pretty much sums it up. Stranger things have happened, we just need to entertain and play good rugby.

gbs @ 60
    jou moer waste rosyntjies! Happy-Grin

Morning everyone

Come on Canes!

I guess a good result for us would be for the Highlanders to win, but I picked the Canes so I’m conflicted…

5m Scrum for the Canes… can they hit once more against 14 men?

OldG I see you logged on.

How you mate? Hope very well. Can’t wait for the BIL/Oz game later. GO THE AUSSIES! Really hope they win this one and the series.

72 @ Ashley:
    Hey, ek laat die Balju jou sommer WEER bel…. hahaha

76 @ Puma:
    Oompie… you finally awake?

Try Landers, Hosea Gear….

Highlanders 42 / 27 Hurricanes

Try Elliott Dixon, Landers, under the sticks

This is a very good Lion squad, that’s a fact
    If the Aussies lose players in the backline like the 1st test, they are in trouble with the 6/2 bench
    It’s going to brains against brawns this test
    The Lions will rumble it up and crash ball, the Aussies with 3 fetchers in the 23 will try disrupt and slow it down
    The Lions scrum should be stronger, but so far it’s been tit for tat
    If Warburton and O’ Connell had been playing, I would have gone for the Lions
    The fact those 2 and BoD are not on the field makes a big difference regarding leadership
    The best odds on this game is a draw, that’s how close it’s been
    Im just hoping I’m right with this one, but I’m not optimistic or sure about the pick
    If I had gone for the Lions, I would also feel the same though
    Too close to call with any confidence

Highlanders 49 / 27 Hurricanes

78 @ grootblousmile:
    Yip been up early this morning. Forgot about this game as was waiting for the big one next. :razz)

22 Points deficit, 12 minutes to go… too steep a hill to climb

83 @ grootblousmile:
    As I logged on saw OldG logged on. Now see he has logged off. Do hope our good Aussie friend blogs with us during the big game next. Have not seen him here in a very long time.

84 @ Puma:
    I don’t believe you…. you slept late… AGAIN!

Morning Puma
    I also hope the Aussies snatch this one
    Will be watching your team this evening from the suite, you want any particular player to get a naartjie on the head?
    πŸ˜€

Try Smiley, Canes…

Total 21 users including 0 member, 21 guests, 0 bot online