Dawie TheronThere are five changes in the starting line-up of the Junior Springboks to play against Wales in the IRB Junior World Championship rugby semi-final in Vannes, France, on Tuesday evening.


Amongst the backs, flyhalf Robert du Preez returns to play in the No 10 jersey while Handré Pollard moves to inside centre in place of Rohan Janse van Rensburg. Stefan Ungerer reclaims the No 9 jersey from his Sharks provincial team mate Hanco Venter.

Andrew Beerwinkel will start at loose head prop in place of Sti Sithole while Luan de Bruin is restored to the side after missing the match against France because of suspension. De Bruin’s suspension of four weeks was set aside following a successful appeal. Marné Coetzee therefore moves to the bench to make way for De Bruin.

Amongst the replacements, flanker Kwagga Smith comes in for the injured Jannes Kirsten while Justin Geduld, who missed the French match because of a slight knee injury, was included amongst the backs after passing a fitness test on Monday.

Junior Springboks coach, Dawie Theron, commented: “This is a very important match for us and we know that Wales is a well-coached side with a good structure and especially a very good kicking game. We have done our homework and believe that we are a well-prepared physical side and we are comfortable with the way we want to play. The team is looking forward to play in this semi-final match.”

Kick-off time is 18:15 and SuperSport will show both semi-finals live, with broadcasting starting from 18:00.


The SA Under-20 team to play Wales on Tuesday 18 June 2013 in Vannes:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province)
14. Luther Obi (Platinum Leopard)
13. Dries Swanepoel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
12. Handré Pollard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted)
10. Robert du Preez (The Sharks)
9.   Stefan Ungerer (The Sharks)
8. Ruan Steenkamp (captain, Vodacom Blue Bulls)
7. Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
6. Roelof Smit (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
5. Dennis Visser (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4. Irné Herbst (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
3. Luan de Bruin (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
2. Jacques du Toit (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
1. Andrew Beerwinkel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

16. Michael Willemse (DHL Western Province)
17. St Sithole (DHL Western Province)
18. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)
19. Kwagga Smith (MTN Golden Lions)
20. Percy Williams (MTN Golden Lions)
21. Justin Geduld (SARU contracted)
22. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
23. Marné Coetzee (The Sharks)

4 Responses to JWC 2013: 5 Changes to Bokkies

  • 1

    Thats 6 out of the starting pack from Blue Bulls, and the tight head who is listed under Free State is from Affies :-)

  • 2

    When you look at this team, you can see why so many of the Bulls senior players are leaving due to their contracts being downgraded etc. The Bulls have simply contracted every talented young player around. How they can sustain this is quite unexplainable.

    Shit like this lead to the credit crunch.

  • 3

    1 Gareth Thomas2 Ethan Lewis3 Nicky Thomas4 Carwyn Jones5 Rhodri Hughes6 Sion Bennett7 Ellis Jenkins (C)8 Ieuan Jones9 Rhodri Williams10 Sam Davies11 Hallam Amos12 Jack Dixon13 Steffan Hughes14 Ashley Evans15 Jordan Williams16 Elliot Dee17 Thomas Davies18 Daniel Suter19 Jack Jones20 Daniel Thomas21 Joshua Davies22 Aaron Warren23 Thomas Pascoe

  • 4

    Bokkies moet vinger trek!
    Espescially Pollard, he has to attack the gameline (he is big enough)and offload to the loosies, trying to set Kolbe free with some forward ball…..and get his tactical kicking on a par.

    They suffer from the same disease as the seniors, no #4 bashing it up a la PSDT/Bakkies Botha, loosies not working in tandem, no proper fetcher…..Jaques du Plessis have to do all the work.

    So, stick with the plan Bokkies, and give our dangerous backline some space….MOER HULLE!


Bam Advert

Bornman Graphic