Super RugbySome interesting facts to emerge from the first 4 rounds of Super Rugby 2013.

We look at tackle accuracy and percentage and we also take a look at attendance figures.

Leading Super Rugby Tackles completed after Round 4

Top Super Rugby Tackles completed after Round4 

Team

Number of tackles completed

1. Kings 94.4
2. Sharks 90.2
3. Crusaders 90.1
4. Blues 89.3
5. Reds 89.3
6. Cheetahs 89.1
7. Chiefs 87.9
8. Hurricanes 87.6
9. Rebels 86.5
10. Stormers 85.8
11. Brumbies 85.2
12. Bulls 84.3
13. Highlanders 83.8
14. Waratahs 83.8
15. Force 83.8

It took only 22 matches and four rounds of Super Rugby to reach the 500,000 spectator mark.

In only four derby matches in South Africa attendances have already reached 142,086 spectators, an incredible average of 35,521 spectators per match. Non derby matches account for 90,885 spectators, an acceptable average of 30,295 per game.

In total South African spectators make up 232,971 spectators in a mere seven matches and even though the Southern Kings have played two matches (plus one bye) they account for 33% of spectators thus far in South Africa.

The Kings, currently sit on top of the list with an average of 38,928 spectators per match, which is an indication of how deserved the Eastern Cape is of having a franchise in Super Rugby.

The other 4 South African franchises of the Stormers, Bulls and Sharks all average in excess of 30,000 spectators per match.

22 Responses to Super Rugby: Tackling stats and attendance figures

What a crock of shit.

The game in PE was in a stadium with a capacity of 42000, and that is what the Kings said the attendance was. EXACTLY 42000?

BULLSH1T.

There were many empty seats, the corner blocks were covered with advertising, and I saw at least one other small block completely empty.

Whilst the attendance was excellent, between the Kings and DSTV they are basically selling the Rugby public a bullshit line, and the majority of us swallow it hook, line and sinker.

Hoorah. Viva the Kings VIVA.

2 @ Scrumdown:
    Hehehehe

Bwahahaha

I agree… let’s see how their figures start dropping after a few losses as well and how well they are supported when their Log position is at No 5 in the SA Conference.

Look, they are new in the Competition and so far passion and guts have brought them their limited success as well as their gutsy defensive efforts. But teams are going to find them out, they are going to find the chinks and weaknesses PLUS their “Passion and Glory” period can only last so long until it starts crumbling.

They are embarking on tour soon… and that will be interesting.

The figures are also way skewed becase the Stormers have only had 1 home game and both the Cheetahs and Bulls are currently on tour… so how do you really measure the Kings at home against teams who have played away from home and teams on tour?

Kings are doing well considering, but for goodness sakes, the scribe who penned this was really attempting to put the Kings in a favourable light.

I say, good for them… but just remember, the truth shines through at the end.

“The Kings, currently sit on top of the list with an average of 38,928 spectators per match, which is an indication of how deserved the Eastern Cape is of having a franchise in Super Rugby.”

Anyone know the average attendance for Lions games the last few years, bet you it will be a shocker

P.S thy reflect ticket sales, not actual people that come to the game, I have been at Loftus and Ellis Park for sold out Bokke games with plenty a seat empty…

The Eastern Cape is rugby starved. I could name many a region in SA where they would also get 40 000 people to watch a S15 game. Does the EC deserve Super Rugby? As much as Kimberley or Nelspruit.

@ Lion4ever:
    I am the FIRST person to state that the Lions don’t deserve to be in SR based on performance, I am also one of the FEW to state publicly that a way to accomodate the EC should have been found a LONG TIME AGO. Irrespective of whether they are good enough at present or not.

What makes me absolutely sick to the pit of my stomach is the way in which SuperSport are bending over to market the Kings as the best thing since sliced fooking bread.

It makes me want to kick someone in the b@lls.

Good for the Kings and their attendance, it’s a great stadium and it’s not as if they are spoiled for choice as far as entertainment is concerned.

Where do these stats come from??

6 @ Stormersboy:
    I received it by Mail from a very credible source.

Don’t know whether HE penned it though.

I agree, it is a great staium, BUT the location is SHIT, far worse than Ellis Park ever was, and the PARKING is NON EXISTENT.

8 @ Scrumdown:
    It may also not be a bad STADIUM.

Cool. Deep Throat??

🙂

Hello GBS looks like you’re warming to the Kings : “The Kings, currently sit on top of the list with an average of 38,928 spectators per match, which is an indication of how deserved the Eastern Cape is of having a franchise in Super Rugby.” Approve yeah I know you said this someone elses opinion Happy

Are those tackling stats total number of tackles or percentage of succesful tackles GBS? If its total it seems quite low for the rough average of 3 games each team played, especially when you consider Wales made 102 out of 105 and Scotland 98 out of 107 tackles in there one match on Saturday.

Agree with you fully there. However, none of the Bulls, Sharks and Cheetahs deserve to be in Super Rugby. Their performances have kept them there.

I think we can safely assume, since there are commas in the number and it is hard to complete successfully 1,5 tackles, that it is a percentage of tackles completed. Possibly average amount of tackles completed per game.

12 @ Bullscot:
    Percentage of successful tackles, Bully!

Scrumdown wrote:

Hoorah. Viva the Kings VIVA.

You will alwys find something to moan about, i just larf at you , you are farking up your own credibiliy. Every team plays with the numbers , its been like that all the time. Remember that at Loftus almost 5000 ticket holders go home asking someone else what was the score, ditto to other stadia too. Why????

They bought the ticket and entered the gate but never got out of the BAR.

Kings are doing well considering, but for goodness sakes, the scribe who penned this was really attempting to put the Kings in a favourable light.

says the man accusing me off negative thinking, the half full glass man vs the half empty. GBS you have exactly the mindset you are accusing me of. The Kings are doing brilliant and surprised many “doemprofete” and the whole Eastern Province region is alive, the Madibas , the lot Rugby gained a lot of support.

Scrumdown wrote:

What makes me absolutely sick to the pit of my stomach is the way in which SuperSport are bending over to market the Kings as the best thing since sliced fooking bread.

prejudice?
    Go to Facebook, search Southern Kings and see the proud supporters there, the region fought for it and they have decent support.

14 @ Stormersboy:
    15 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes of course Stormersboy it couldn’t be amount of tackles with decimal places behind the numbers how dof was that of me, must be losing by marbles Happy

Thanks GBS makes sense then, I just focussed on the heading in the table Approve

If it had been average number of tackles per game it would show the Kings have been doing the most defending but with it being percentage of succesful tackles then it is pretty impressive of the Kings to be topping the table and a 94.4% succes rate is very good defending to me it shows a lot of commitment and good technique from the players and also a very good defensive coach.

16 @ superBul:
    With the greatest of respect, you are talking twak. I’ve NEVER seen any attendance figure quoted as the exact stadium CAPACITY. NEVER IN ANY SPORT. So it must be a first.

18 @ superBul:
    What has the proud Kings supporters got to do with SuperSports biased commentary and support for the Kings??????????

EVERY TEAM HAS PROUD SUPPORTERS OTHERWISE THEY WOULDN’T BE SUPPORTERS.

The secret is to be a supporter AND AT THE SAME TIME TO BE REALISTIC AND OBJECTIVE.

It’s great that the Eastern Cape public are getting behind the team in their first year in Super Rugby since 1994, and AS I HAVE SAID BEFORE ON THIS FORUM, I wish them every success, but that doesn’t mean that I have to like the location of their stadium, their team, their players, their strip over even their freeking “cheerleaders.”

I am a Lions supporter who has the sense to see and acknowledge their shortcomings both on and off the field, BUT I AM STILL A PROUD SUPPORTER.

I don’t have a “second” team in the SR comp’, and I don’t particularly favour any of the sides over another in any of the games.

I have personally spent too many hours alongside hard Rugby fields in “previously disadvantaged areas” on cold winters evenings trying to put back and develop this game that has given me a lifetime of enjoyment to swallow your nonsense

Why don’t you look into the mirror SIR, you who almost weekly has something to moan about your precious Bulls union, their strip, their players attitude, their playing style etc etc etc?????????

Wink @ Scrumdown:

Daaaasit! Vertel hom….!!!
    (Terloops, ek was al die jare n groot OP-ondersteuner, my neef Tobie was OP-kaptein vir twee jaar. Dit was n SPAN daai,glo my…..Giepie van Zyl, Draad Oliphant, Dennis Campher, China Bell, George Rautenbach, Armand du Preez, Adri Geldenhuys,Schalk Burger Frans Erasmus, Jan Serfontein, Chris Heunis (Johan se broer) Tobie Labuschagne, Hermanus Potgieter, die Human-broers….flippit, daai ouens kon speel!)

Southern Kings, gmmpfff!!!
    Wag vir die oorsese gedeelte van Super 15 en relegasie-wedstryd later vanjaar, dan praat ons weer. Hulle het sover nog net innie Baai gespeel, hulle kuk is innie pos binnekort…

Hellooooo ou Superbees, hoessit!

“…the region fought for it…” se jy? Hoe het hulle geveg, met politieke bemiddeling, of wat?

En nou veg hulle voort met ‘huursoldate’….bokkerol te sien van ‘South Africa’s first black rugby franchise’ and ‘black rugby development in the EC’, a la Cheeky se openingsrede.

Hulle is n ANC-span, klaar en gedaan, dis n ‘feit soos n koei’.

Maar dit gese, ek geniet hulle rugby, n hele klomp potensieele Bokke in daai span.

Total 21 users including 0 member, 21 guests, 0 bot online