RedsBullsReds (13) 23 / 18 (6) Bulls (Final Score)

The Reds and Vodacom Bulls did battle in Super Rugby at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 10:40 SA Time (08:40 GMT, 18:40 Brisbane Time).

• Penalties – Quade Cooper (3)
  • Tries – Jono Lance (1), Quade Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Quade Cooper (2)

• Penalties – Louis Fouché (5), Morné Steyn (1)

Reds: 15 Jono Lance, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Anthony Faingaa, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Eddie Quirk, 5 James Horwill (Captain), 4 Ed O’Donoghue, 3 James Slipper, 2 James Hanson, 1 Greg Holmes.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Albert Anae, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Curtis Browning, 20 Nigel Ah Wong, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Mike Harris.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (Captain), 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Morné Mellet.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jan Serfontein.

Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Lees (Australia), Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)
TMO: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)

149 Responses to Super Rugby: Reds vs Vodacom Bulls – Live Game Article

Tryyyyyyyyyyyy JJ?

Ohhhh…. just out…. 2 centimetres…

Oof, unlucky.

Final Score: Reds 23 / 18 Vodacom Bulls

Well, 2nd Bru score absolutely spot on for me… must be jumping up the ladder a bit

Tough luck Bulls that was so close but not to be.

Bulls were crazy to rest their best today, this is the game they should have targeted with their best side they would have beaten this Reds side easy. Brumbies are way way better than this side tired or not. Next week they might not win. This game they would have with their full team. Still come away with a bonus point. Well done Bulls.

Also well done Reds, but if that is the best they can give with their best side they not great.

Shit. I hoped that the Bulls would win.

126 @ grootblousmile:

I was going with Reds but thought they were just too terrible right now, thought even the Bulls 2nd side would beat them. Not to be… must be right on the bottom bru now…. 😛

GBS

what happened buddy…..brumbies the only Aussie team the bulls will be worried about!! Just reminding you of your preseason game talk!!

Be Happy

Just giving you a wind up!!!!!

Well 5 points for Bulls on the road so far. Next week the Brumbies. I really hope the Bulls beat them, some team has to stop them, otherwise they will hold a semi and probably a final at home.

This reds team are just not clicking!! They are terrible at the moment.

130 @ Wallabie.:
    Howzit Walla, How you doing?

Tell you what if NO saffa side is in the final and Brumbies are I will support them that day. Just hoping one of the saffa sides make it.

You worried for Brumbies this afternoon? I think Stormers could win this one. Then with this terrific Brumbies side have no idea. Jake is doing the business there that is for sure. Brumbies have the best coach in Super Rugby this year, by a long long way.

Hey be nice about my team. Who-s-the-man

132 @ Wallabie.:
    Reds are not doing it this year. Then they too have had injuries. I do expect them to get a lot better now that they have Genia and Horwill back. Probably click when my Sharks are in Brisbane…lol. Hope not, hope Sharks by that time have all their injured back as well.

134 @ Wallabie.:
    They were outstanding last week Walla. Well done to them. Jake is making all the difference there. Brilliant coach.

Hey Puma

I tipped the brumbies purely on history at Newlands and not current form. Brumbies have won in Cape Town when they have not a good team. Stormers are short a quality fetcher. Back line equals each other out.

Just my two cents….. Maybe I am just wishing them on.

I tipped the sharks the obvious. I do like the sharks to top SA conference.

I believe the bulls got their replacements wrong today. They should have had their senior team the rung the changes in with 30 min to play

GBS

Where are yooooooou?

I Have a sweet tasting pie for you to dine on!!!!!!

137 @ Wallabie.:
    Brumbies playing some of the best rugby I have seen them play for years. They are terrific to watch Walla. Are you going to the game next week? Should be a cracker.

Sharks will get it right, we have some of our big guns out injured. Once we get Bissie, Alberts, Deysel and Whitehead back we will start to deliver I am sure of that. Today just hope we play better than we done last week. Very hot here today and the humidity is up where last week the humidity was not that high, but we did have rain. Just hoping we can click today finally. Has not been really going our way this year even if we have won 3 games. Last week was a big wake up call for us. We played a lot better in the 2nd half with PSDT, Cooper and Herbst on. Today if we lose I think our season is over. As last year even when we were losing we were picking up losing bonus points, when we were winning we were getting the 4 tries. So hope we get it back together until our injured are all back. Also hope no more injuries to my team today.

Puma

This is my issue I live in Sydney and support the Brumbies. I will go to watch them when they play in sydney.

Hope the brumbies last the tournament with little injuries but the nature of the game is there will be injuries and losses around the corner.

Keep your chin up about the sharks they look tactically sound. I was surprised about their performance last week and think it was more mental….they did not pitch it looked!

Bulls were laughing stock, again
    Siestog

GBS

where are you mate? You gone into hiding?

I have baked a lekker sweet pie for you!! Delicious

144 @ Wallabie.:
    What are you on dude? You really need a new crack dealer!

Sounds like you had some bad crack, butt nuggets & snarf dust… or was it just plain soiled Queensland air?

Reds won, not because the Reds were good on the day, but because my team, the Bulls, was bloody worse on the day than the pityful Reds.

So, what happened to YOUR Brumbies this weekend… and while your’re at it explain what happened to the Rebels rubble and also to the Force?

Brumbies looking the best Aussie side out of the 5 Aussie sides, yet they still took one up the riempie from the Stormers who usually don’t get bonus point tries. Waratahs are truly diabolical, Rebels got fut-bucked by 10 tries and the Cheetahs beat the Farce at Farce Central for 3 from 4 on tour.

As for the Reds, jeez please tell me you’re not extatic by THAT performance of the Reds and a win by 2 centimetres (that’s how far out to touch JJ Engelbrecht was whilst not able to score the winning try, by the way)….. this all whilst the Bulls team with NINE CHANGES (making them close to a Vodacom Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup side) butts should be kicked till just before they play the Brumbies next weekend for playing poorly and squandering chances.

Oh, and by the way, the Super Rugby Logs are skewed because your Ozzmob have had ONE EXTRA WEEK in the Competition because you soft cocks need an extra week to prepare for the Lions Tour in June…. not that much is going on for the Aussies on the Logs bar for the Brumbies anyway.

You wanted to say something… now’s your chance.

“Ozzmob…. soft cocks”…..LOL!!! Happy-Grin Mooi man,jou ou ‘prosudeerder’!

GBS

I was not gloating about how good aus was. Just reminding you of the preseason game talk you were doing.
    My banter was just a little bit of harmless chatter but the long response tells me there is a little more pain to the result. I am sure you would have taken into account the bulls would have made changes to cope with the rigours of the tour.

Anyways the bulls are playing well, reds are playing poorly and we have a great super tournament.

Reading your response today…. I did not yesterday as the length of it told me a story.

You see GBS sometimes to own up with a bit of humouros gest will get you out of a sticky situation like you being gung Ho about pre season predictions. I sensed a bit of bite then and I read it in your comment. Why?

To cover it up you try brush it over by trying to deflect from the original topic. You see I don’t get all moere when my team loses….it is a game in the end! I enjoy my team but there is more to my existence than to live or die by my team or ruin friendships!!

I hope our friendly

148 @ Wallabie.:
    I don’t know what you’re on about, truly I don’t…. unless you just wanted to grate my gut.

Hell, I even picked the Reds by 5 on SuperBru well before this game, because I’d already sensed that with NINE changes in silly rotation, the Bulls won’t win.

The fact that the Bulls B side came close to winning the game at the death is a blight on the Reds, who have looked very mediocre this year.

There is nothing Gung Ho about my expectations of the Bulls this year, I said well before the start of the Competition that the Bulls would not win the competition this year, but that I expected them to come in 3rd of the 5 SA Franchises in the SA Conference.

Yeah, I also said the Australian sides would not amount to much this season (bar the Brumbies who should do well and have done well so far)… and I stick to that. Pre-season the Aussie sides in my mind ranked as follows in the Australian Conference: Brumbies, Reds, Waratahs, Rebels, Force…. and not much has changed from that stance, except for the fact that the Reds and Waratahs are worse than I thought they would be.

Who’s getting the moer in, me or you, with you now so vehemenently wanting to chuck pie into faces? Grow a pair, brother… and send regards to your family – your little ones must be getting big now.

Total 17 users including 0 member, 17 guests, 0 bot online