Keegan DanielThe Sharks suffered a major injury scare after the Kings match, but have received some very good news ahead of their match against the Brumbies at KINGS PARK on Saturday, allowing them to name a strong team.

Official Sharks Media Release

“Jacques Botes was initially diagnosed with a cracked wrist, but on later examination we discovered that he has had it for a long time, that it was a previous injury, it just shows that the older you get, the tougher you get,” said Sharks coach John Plumtree after Wednesday’s training.  “It’s not a new injury but he’s alright and that’s good news for the team.”

Botes will play off the bench while Keegan Daniel returns to the side, having been out of action since the first warm-up match against the Leopards in Pietermaritzburg on 8 February. His return comes at the perfect time and he will take over the captaincy again.

Plumtree has made two changes in the backline, two very experienced players getting their first starts in this year’s Vodacom Super Rugby campaign.

“Charl McLeod hasn’t had an opportunity, he’s been really looking forward to having one and I think it’s a good time to re-introduce him. He’ll be looking forward to a good game.

“It’s the same with Odwa Ndungane, he hadn’t started a game yet so we wanted to give him an opportunity at some point, it’s a big game this week.”

Although this is the first time The Sharks show any changes in three weeks, the team looks very settled and balanced.

“We’ve had some enforced changes and a couple of rotational changes amongst the backs, we have a good squad and both those backs deserve a start, it’s up to them to take the opportunity,” the coached concluded.

The Sharks

1 Tendai Mtawarira, 2 Craig Burden, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 4 Anton Bresler, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Keegan Daniel (Captain), 8 Ryan Kankowski, 9 Charl McLeod, 10 Patrick Lambie, 11 JP Pietersen, 12 Francois Steyn, 13 Paul Jordaan, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 15 Louis Ludik

Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

9 Responses to Super Rugby: Sharks side – Keegan is back

Loosies are lank lightweight.

Not sure about the Sharks, so much of their game depends on Alberts/Deysel or Bissie smashing it up, not something any of the current pack do particularly well. Thinking home ground advantage, but still think the Sharks are lacking something, so I reckon Brumbies to edge it

2 @ Cheetah4eva:

You have to remember we played our very best rugby with that loose trio last year. Light weight or not they were outstanding against the Big Bulls pack at the Tank and again against your Cheetahs then again against the Reds and even after travelling and tired against the Stormers in the semi. That was the games that loosies played together.

Remember too we use Fransie as a extra flank as well. Only player we are missing is Bissie. Alberts played Lock in those last games.

Very pleased to see Botes also on the bench. Se sorted pal.

How you see your Cheetahs going against the Tahs? Think Cheets could win that game. Still have not put my picks in everyone changing my mind….hahaha.

3 @ Puma:
    Se = we

Piet, See you up there. How you doing boet? Hope well. You still in Saudi or now back in the Cape?

Exactly, in those matches Alberts was the “Basher” No no Basher lol. Tounge-Out

Anyway, lets hope I am wrong, and the Anchovies can break out of their ultra dour game plan

Yes,I am back bru, like Keegan!!!
    Will stay logged on for tomorrow’s games, though not always blogging.
    Talk then, cheers.

Hello julle ou fosiele, magtig man die lewe buite Telkom is vinnig en besig. Flok ek is bly ek het bygekom , betyds. Harde werk maar baie vervullend.

anybody who want real facts of the Sharks, the slippery ball et all, go here and paint your own picture

http://www.lassen.co.nz/s14mat.php?year=2012&mround=18&teama=10#hrh

Total 19 users including 0 member, 19 guests, 0 bot online