Here are the Super Rugby Team Sheets as they are announded for Round 3 of Super Rugby 2013.

Super Rugby Teams – Round 3

Blues

Crusaders

01 March at 08:30
  • Team: 15. Charles Piutau, 14. Frank Halai, 13. Rene Ranger, 12. Francis Saili, 11. George Moala, 10. Chris Noakes, 9. Piri Weepu, 8. Peter Saili, 7. Luke Braid, 6. Steven Luatua, 5. Ali Williams (Captain), 4. Culum Retallick, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. James Parsons, 1. Tom McCartney
  • Replacements: 16. Quentin MacDonald, 17. Angus Ta’avao, 18. Liaki Moli, 19. Brendon O’Connor, 20. Bryn Hall, 21. Baden Kerr, 22. Jackson Willison
  • Team: 15. Tom Taylor, 14. Adam Whitelock, 13. Robert Fruean, 12. Ryan Crotty, 11. Israel Dagg, 10. Dan Carter, 9. Andy Ellis, 8. Kieran Read (Captain), 7. Matt Todd, 6. George Whitelock, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Luke Romano, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Joe Moody, 18. Dominic Bird, 19. Luke Whitelock, 20. Willi Heinz, 21. Tyler Bleyendaal, 22. Tom Marshall

Waratahs

Rebels

01 March at 10:20
  • Team: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Tom Kingston, 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12. Tom Carter, 11. Drew Mitchell, 10. Brendan Foley, 9. Brendan McKibbin, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis (Captain), 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Mitchell Chapman, 3. Sekope Kepu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
  • Replacements: 16. John Ulugia, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Sitaleki Timani / Paddy Ryan, 20. Lopeti Timani, 21. Matt Lucas, 22. Ben Volavola
  • Team: 15. James O`Connor (Captain), 14. Richard Kingi, 13. Mitch Inman, 12. Rory Sidey, 11. Lachlan Mitchell, 10. Kurtley Beale, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Scott Higginbotham, 7. Scott Fuglistaller, 6. Luke Jones / Cadeyrn Neville, 4. Hugh Pyle, 3. Laurie Weeks, 2. Ged Robinson, 1. Nic Henderson
  • Replacements: 16. Shota Horie, 17. Paul Alo-Emile, 18. Jordy Reid, 19. Jarrod Saffy, 20. Nick Stirzaker, 21. Angus Roberts, 22. Tom English

Reds

Hurricanes

01 March at 12:20
  • Team: 15. Aidan Toua, 14. Dom Shipperley, 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12. Ben Tapuai, 11. Digby Ioane, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Ben Lucas, 8. Jake Schatz, 7. Liam Gill, 6. Ed Quirk, 5. Rob Simmons, 4. Ed O`Donoghue, 3. James Slipper (Captain), 2. Saia Faingaa, 1. Greg Holmes
  • Replacements: 16. James Hanson, 17. Albert Anae, 18. Adam Wallace-Harrison, 19. Radike Samo, 20. Nicholas Frisby, 21. Mike Harris, 22. Luke Morahan
  • Team: 15. André Taylor, 14. Alapati Leiua, 13. Conrad Smith (Captain), 12. Tim Bateman, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. TJ Perenara, 8. Brad Shields, 7. Karl Lowe, 6. Victor Vito, 5. Jason Eaton, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ben Franks
  • Replacements: 16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Reg Goodes, 18. James Broadhurst, 19. Faifili Levave, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. James Marshall, 22. Reynold Lee-Lo

Chiefs

Cheetahs

02 March at 08:35
  • Team: 15. Gareth Anscombe, 14. Lelia Masaga, 13. Tim Nanai-Williams, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10. Aaron Cruden, 9. Augustine Pulu, 8. Fritz Lee, 7. Sam Cane, 6. Liam  Messam (Captain), 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Michael Fitzgerald, 3. Ben Afeaki, 2. Hika  Elliot, 1. Pauliasi Manu
  • Replacements: 16. Rhys Marshall, 17. Ben Tameifuna, 18. Craig Clarke, 19. Tanerau Latimer, 20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 21. Charlie Ngatai, 22. Patrick Osborne
  • Team: 15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Willie le Roux, 13. Johann Sadie, 12. Robert Ebersohn, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Puilip van der Walt, 7. Lappies Labuschagne, 6. Frans Viljoen, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Lood de Jager, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Trevor Nyakane
  • Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Coenie Oosthuizen, 18. Ligtoring Landman, 19. Boom Prinsloo, 20. Piet van Zyl, 21. Riaan Smit, 22. Rayno Benjamin

Bulls

Force

02 March at 17:05
  • Team: 15. Zane Kirchner, 14. Sampie Mastriet, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Francois Hougaard, 8. Pierre Spies (Captain), 7. Arno Botha, 6. Jacques Potgieter, 5. Juandré Kruger, 4. Flip van der Merwe, 3. Werner Kruger, 3. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1. Morné Mellett.
  • Replacements: 16. Willie Wepener, 17. Frik Kirsten, 18. Grant Hattingh, 19. Jean Cook, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Louis Fouché, 22. Jan Serfontein
  • Team: 15. Will Tupou, 14. Nick Cummins, 13. Winston Stanley, 12. Kyle Godwin, 11. Alfie Mafi, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Alby Mathewson, 8. Richard Brown, 7. Matt Hodgson (Captain), 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 4. Toby Lynn, 3. Salesi Ma’afu, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pek Cowan
  • Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann, 17. Tetera Faulkner, 18. Sam Wykes, 19. Ben McCalman, 20. Chris Alcock, 21. Mick Snowden, 22. Jayden Hayward

Sharks

Stormers

02 March at 19:10
  • Team: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Francois Steyn (Captain), 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Jacques Botes, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Odwa Ndungane
  • Team: 15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff
  • Replacements: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Don Armand, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Peter Grant, 22. Gerhard van den Heever

58 Responses to Super Rugby: Teams for the Weekend – Round 3 (Final Update)

30 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes seen those injuries and also to JJ Engelbrecht but nothing about the two that were ommitted from the squad must just be a sensible plan of squad rotation, plus this team choice would provide the answer to my question on the Tuks thread as to why Willemse was playing against Maties, mmmm maybe in future the Tuks team in the same week as upcoming game for Bulls when they are playing in SA could give one some indication of who may not be in the Bulls team. Think many folk will be also be chuffed about Serfontein.
    Yes yay was good to see Jean Cook on the bench meant to mention that to you too just lekker vaak here must really get some sleep been up since before 4 yesterday afternoon. I-see-stars Zzzzzz Bye

31 @ Bullscot:
    Without wanting to sound harsh, maybe JJ Engelbrecht’s injury is a blessing in disguise. I don’t see him as a No 13, just as a No 14 right wing.

Also gives the space for Jan Serfontein to maybe come through quicker…

Worried about the imbalance in the Bulls loosies… with 2 No 7’s effectively playing with Spies. I think Arno Botha is the right fella for No 7 but I am not sure about Jacques Potgieter at all for openside. Luckily Jean Cook is a smaller and more mobile loosie… with great fetching skills, so he can replace Jacques Potgieter should things not work according to plan at the breakdowns.

11 @ Loosehead:

im laughing at no one in particular boet. i guess im laughing cos the Cheetahs are probably the only team in the SA conference that stand a good chance of beating the Chiefs.

Sharks side also out now…. I see Jean Deysel is at No 7.

I will of course place the Sharks side on the Article above… hang bal

@GBS – Jacques Potgieter shouldn’t even be playing the game Crazy Daze

35 @ fayaaz:
    He should be playing, but he needs an adjustment in the style he wildly adopts… he’s bit wild in stead of being more focussed, that’s all that’s the matter.

He’s got the talent, he’s got the size, he’s got the heart…. he needs to just think and focus a bit more. The right coach should get a lot out of him.

Only 2 sides still outstanding…. Chiefs & Force

36 @ grootblousmile:

you make a fair point. IMO hy is bietjie oorals, on the talent im not yet convinced but i do agree that with the right management he can most probably improve his technique.

thing that will be most difficult is finding the right coach. I still dont know how he got a Bok jersey…well actually i do know…but thats a story for another day lol.

38 @ fayaaz:
    I alwys make fair points, Fatima… I mean Fayaaz… hehehe

Hell, I’ll call you Fatima from now on anyway…. hahahaha

38 @ fayaaz:
    I alwys make fair points, Fatima… I mean Fayaaz… hehehe
    Hell, I’ll call you Fatima from now on anyway…. hahahaha

Daze Happy-Grin

Chiefs
    Pauliasi ManuHika ElliotBen AfeakiMichael FitzgeraldBrodie RetallickLiam Messam ©Sam CaneFritz LeeAugustine PuluAaron CrudenAsaeli TikoirotumaBundee AkiTim Nanai-WilliamsLelia MasagaGareth AnscombeRhys MarshallBen TameifunaCraig ClarkeTanerau LatimerTawera Kerr-BarlowCharlie NgataiPatrick Osborne

Sorry that turned out shitty
    Chiefs:
    Pauliasi Manu
    Hika Elliot
    Ben Afeaki
    Michael Fitzgerald
    Brodie Retallick
    Liam Messam ©
    Sam Cane
    Fritz Lee
    Augustine Pulu
    Aaron Cruden
    Asaeli Tikoirotuma
    Bundee Aki
    Tim Nanai-Williams
    Lelia Masaga
    Gareth Anscombe

Rhys Marshall
    Ben Tameifuna
    Craig Clarke
    Tanerau Latimer
    Tawera Kerr-Barlow
    Charlie Ngatai
    Patrick Osborne

41 & 42 @ Loosehead:
    Have already added the Chiefs team sheet, Loskoppie.

Remember last year 2012, Cheetahs defeated Huuricane in NZ, Defeated Rebels in Aus, Defeated western force, Defeated Waratahs, Lost to Chiefs but gave very tough fight for 33 – 39 points, Lost to Highlanders in another close fight 33 – 36 points – So as per me its a very good performance from Cheetahs against NZ and Aus teams. Chiefs coach Dave Rennie is taking the chance to rest co-captain Clarke and All Blacks halfback Kerr-Barlow.

So this is a very good oppurtunity for Cheetahs to pile a win against Chiefs on Saturday. Cheetahs if play at their best can pull a tight win Saturday.

By the way, i am a new addition to the membership of rugby talk. I am Blue Bull fan.

Hi and Hello to everyone here in this board ! Hello By the way, i am a new addition to the membership of rugby talk. I am Blue Bull fan.

Hi and Hello to everyone here in this board !

Ooopssssssss, its a lot of Hi and Hello !!!! Tounge-Out

44 – 46 @ bluebullion:
    Hello bluebullion,

Nice to see that you have joined our ranks here on Rugby-Talk! Welcome, welcome!

PS! These Smiley Thingies tend to cause the double and tripples sometimes, specially if you’re using Internet Explorer, so before you submit your comment, just check if it has not caused the double and tripple problem, edit if necessary and then Submit. When using Firefox as your Internet Browser, which is way better mind you, this does not happen.

Delighted

@ bluebullion:
    Welcome brother! Not as if there are a shortage of the Bulls scourge around here Wink , but lets hope you are of the rare “decent” Bools supporters. Is good to welcome new faces here lol

Thanks to grootblousmile and cheetah4eva. Lets share the good knowledge of Rugby between each other and enjoy this Super rugby season !
    Approve

Gents

Canes vs Reds. what is your tip?

I cant seem to seperate them. Reds lost last year but Reds had 12 first choice missing and Hurricances were on the up. Canes have not played in QLD since 2009 and not in QLD whilst Mackenzie has been coach?

I am trying to stay ahead of my pool!

next tip..Bulls vs Force.
    It may seem like a joke but the Bulls have been rampant before only to lose to the Force in the two years they won the super title!! One at home and the other away.

Welcome bluiebullion and good luck to your team, I honeslty think they go all the way to the finals this year

50 @ Wallabie.:

I picked the Reds over the Canes. they have homeground advantage and they won last week as well after suffering a first game defeat. The Canes are a quality side no doubt – but like you say, they have played at Suncorp sine 09 – and that place has become somewhat of a fortress for the Reds.

45 @ bluebullion:
    Howzit bluebullion welcome onboard you seem like a very friendy person Happy as you will see from my nick also support the Blue Bulls and thus by default also one of the more knowledgeable folk around here just like our fellow Bulls supporters, most of the others are ok even if they don’t support THE team Happy-Grin

The draw for Rugby World Cup 7s 2013 to be held in Moscow has taken place, with the following teams in each pool:
    Pool A: Australia, France, Spain, Tunisia. Pool B: SOUTH AFRICA, SCOTLAND, Russia, Japan. Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Philippines. Pool D: NEW ZEALAND, USA, Canada, Georgia. POOL E: FIJI, Wales, Tonga, Uruguay. POOL F: England, Argentina, Portugal, Hong Kong.
    The tournament starts in around 3 months time.

Adaptation will be key, encapsulated in stunning fashion when the Chiefs, losing to the Crusaders and Hurricanes to end the regular season, adjusted their game against the red and blacks the second time around – proving that great cliché that the best sides will always have a plan B…

Of course, this cliché was torn to shreds during the Super 14 era, when the Bulls three titles came via a gameplan that everyone knew was coming, but no-one knew really how to shut down.

Some feel this is the missing edge needed for South Africa to add to their Super Rugby titles, with their famed physicality, power around the set piece and defensive prowess obvious when running the rule from the sides from the Republic.

Even with imposing primary weapons, think the Bulls with Morne’s boot, the Stormers with their ironclad wall and the Sharks with their awesome scrum, count for little without the added brushstrokes, the multitude of options – that history has proven is required for a team to lift a Super Rugby trophy.

superBul wrote:

Of course, this cliché was torn to shreds during the Super 14 era, when the Bulls three titles came via a gameplan that everyone knew was coming, but no-one knew really how to shut down.

Just Do it again Bulls force your game plan down their throats.
    Smash the cliches.

^Think you forgot the being in possession of one of the worlds best tactical kickers and pivots in the name of Fourie du Preez, the worlds best ruck cleaner in Bakkies Botha, one of the worlds best line out jumpers and stealing the opponents balls in Victor Matfield and one of the fastest wings in world rugby andaman guy who could made nothing out of something in Bryan Habana. Who off course all ain’t there anymore

Thanks to Gena_za and Bullscot.

I would go with Reds provided that the hurricanes captain Conrad Smith himself won’t be risking too much today for his last week concussion and therz only counted big players in canes today, but the Reds might be more strong mentally as for they are playing at home.

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online