Rugby-Talk LogoDISCUSSION: 

Why do you support your team?

Did you grow up to support team “X” because your father and family did?

Could it be because you were born there or something happened while you grew up that made you fond of a specific team?

There are many people staying in an specific area but support a team miles and miles away.

Everyone have their own story, what is yours?

76 Responses to Why you support the team you do?

Quite simple for me Gena short and sweet: because they are the BEST Happy-Grin

As a youngster I guess one tends to generally go with the succesful teams of the time, but as time went on I started to try and support the local team, example started supporting Transvaal cricket from a young age as that was the era of the ‘Mean Machine’ – Cook, Fothers, McKenzie, Jennings, Spook Hanley, Kourie, Kallicharan, Pollock etc, but in later years once was settled in Pretoria went over more to supporting the Titans, as they were local and being able to get down to Centurion was great. My initial choice on rugby seemed a no brainer as they were a good famous team and it proved correct as for a time lived just round the corner from Loftus. Interesting though even though was very young was not swayed by the period of domination by Province, just stuck with what has proved through the test of time to be the best team in the land.

I played with and against some very very good players who either played for the Freestate or were on the fringe of playing for the Freestate. Johan Styger, Ollie, Os,Toks, Naka, Bom Louw, Sean Baron, Dougie Heymans, Charl Marais, Ryno Opperman, Braam Els, Luther Bakkes, Rassie, Hentie Maartens,Smiley, Brendon Venter, Arrie Van Ryswijk, Arno Bakkes, Ryno Botha………supporting my mates was supporting the Freestate.

Rassie is a chop.

I was born in Pretoria, went to Loftus as a lighty, saw my 1st Test at Loftus (Springboks vs British Lions 1974).

I was totally enthralled by the likes of Thys Lourens, Moaner van Heerden, Louis Moolman, Naas Botha, Tommy du Plessis… and all the Bulls giants.

I went to Primary School (Laerskool Lynnwood), High School (Hoërskool Menlopark) and studied at Tuks… all in Pretoria.
    To me, the Blue Bulls (and Bulls) are my family, my friends, my heros… and there’s no changing my loyalties.

Hell, it also helped that they were and are the best team on mother earth!

We even had an African Grey parrot, named after old Thys Lourens.

My bloed is BLOU… en ek sal hou by die blou!

I grew up in Joeys, in era where one tended to support the province you lived in/were born in. When I started watching rugby, we had greats like Gerald Bsch, Paul Bayvel and Kevin De Klerk. Then the team went through a couple of lean years, for us to eventually win the inaugral Super 10 ( tongue in cheek I always say we also won the ’95 World Cup). It seemed to me that the Lions have always been the team everyone loves to hate, and I always support the underdog.

I was born in Kimberley but attended 9 schools in my upbringing all over the country.
    In Std 5 to 8 we returned to Kimberly and I watched a lot of Griquas games as I had an uncle at the union.
    At he time I was getting really getting into the game and it was also an era ( the 80’s) where a lot of WP players played for the Boks, so I started following them – Divan Serfontein, Michael and Carel du Plessis, Neil Burger and a few more. WP rugby started growing on me and I have been a supporter ever since.
    I will still stay in Cape Town, one day

I was born in a hospital in Mowbray. Went to school in Christiana 110km’s from Kimberly (there where the people wants to spit braai rhino’s or some protected species every year and still think FW de Klerk is president). Was once forgotten in Kimberly by my parents after a game against Northerns after a club match when I was 10. I been supporting WP since I could remember watching rugby. Went to Freestate stadium a lot and enjoyed the tonneljie staan till the nut Badenhoff ended that tradition.

I attended a match between The Burgers against Warrenton as well where Neil and Kobus, Tommy all of them played. Burgers won narrowly but the ref was Freek Burger so it not a neutral referee….

Moved to Cape Town when I was 15. Still living in Cape Town 18 years later

(Insert name) supports the Sharks because I know nothing about rugby and will mindlessly support a team of overpaid underacheivers, have a braai in the car park, walk around in a shirt with a popped collar, call everyone bru and drink Mainstay and coke.
    My name is (insert name) and I am a Sharks supporter.

So being born in Pretoria you must have Steve Hofmeyers whole hit collection?

(Insert name) supported the Freestate until the Sharks bought them and have been a Sharks supporter since.

10 @ Bliksem: you understand.

9 @ Bliksem: he is a life long member of the Steve Stofseier fan club.

3 @ Loosehead:
    Interesting stuff Loosehead, did you play for Free State as well?

9 @ Bliksem:
    Nothing wrong with Steve Hofmeyer’s music, have many happy memories from years ago listening to ou Steve Approve

8 @ Loosehead:
    Thats not very nice Loosehead

12 @ Loosehead:
    and thats not very nice either, its Hoymeyer not Stofseier Who-s-the-man

13 @ Bullscot:
    1 game on the bench for the then b team.
    Lots of scrumming and match practice against them.
    Also played practice matches against Wales and Japan during the 1995 RWC.

(Snoek) supports the Sharks because I know nothing about rugby and will mindlessly support a team of overpaid underacheivers, have a braai in the car park, walk around in a shirt with a popped collar, call everyone bru and drink Mainstay and coke.
    My name is (Snoek) and I am a Sharks supporter.

Correction Mofmeyer

18 @ Snoek:
    Delighted
    Snoek has a sense of humour.

All Sharks have a sense of humor. It’s in our nature. Wink

17 @ Loosehead:
    Good stuff man, you must have many fond memories from those time, plus as someone who has been there at that level you could maybe sometime explain to us folk what really goes on in the front row and what to look for when watching games, often find it hard to know which team is struggling and for example causing the scrum to be reset.

Ek het laas week by vriend Superbul se plekkie “Appelblaar” gestop. Was lekker om hom weer te sien. Baie mooi deel van die wereld daai.

Here’s one just for Loosehead and Lightning : 🙂

Loosehead and Tighthead has been giving us some great insights into the dark arts of the front row for many years. Dont know what happened to tighthead, havent seen him on a rugby blog for ages.

I am a All Black supporter and I believe in the Tooth Fairy, Santa Clause and Suzie. I also think the NZ 1995 team were awesome considering without Jonah Lomu we still would have beaten Ireland 24 – 19, Scotland 34 – 30 and would have lost to England 29 – 26. We were also poisoned because we defended better than in any game in the World Cup and Mehrtens kicked better than any game in the World Cup. In my country we have the highest food poison stats in the world and it is a common fact that you can tackle and run your hearts out in the African sun at high altitude for 90 minutes. All the medical experts are wrong saying you won’t even last 20 minutes. Also in the early 20 and 30’s South Africa did not grant our Pacific Island players visa’s not because we stole them from the Islands and call them New Zealanders to make our team look better but because of Apartheid laws that didn’t even existed yet. We are also the real World Champions in 1987 considering the mainstay of our All Black team got beaten by South Africa in 86. Richie McCaw do not lay offside and slow ball down and we do not intentionally takes a second or two longer to get away from the player to when making a tackle to slow ball down. Otherwise if we did that and teams committed players to the break down and twist them away we would have lost to England by a record margin in the end of the year tour.

(Just For Kicks) supports the Sharks Stormers because I know nothing about rugby,cricket, hockey, or women and will mindlessly support a team of suspect overpaid underacheivers, have a braai wear a raincoat in the car park, walk around in a shirt with a popped collar no shirt – just a tight vest if it’s cold, call everyone bru and drink Mainstay and coke bra, and sip vino.
    My name is (Just For Kicks) and I am a Sharks Stormers supporter.

18 @ Snoek:
    bwaaahaaaa… Tell em Snoek…. Overjoy Overjoy

We support our Sharks cause they sommer the best…. Happy-Grin

25 @ Snoek:
    He comes on here from time to time. Not often as he used did before.

Total 16 users including 0 member, 16 guests, 0 bot online