John Plumtree & Carlos SpencerThe Sharks have recruited former All Blacks flyhalf and Lions assistant coach Carlos Spencer as they prepare for the upcoming Super Rugby season.

rugby365

The former Blues playmaker served as John Mitchell’s assistant at the Lions where he had a big impact on the development of Springbok flyhalf Elton Jantjies, and after parting ways with the Johannesburg franchise he has linked up with the Sharks.

A mercurial pivot, Spencer played 93 times for Auckland during a purple period in the team’s history, also playing 35 times for New Zealand before embarking on a career in the Northern Hemisphere, making over 100 appearances for Northampton Saints.

“His experience as a player and the opportunity for us to use him – no one was – was great for us,” said Sharks coach John Plumtree.

“He loves his coaching and his knowledge of flyhalf and backline play is invaluable, he will also be looking at kicking skills, he was a great tactical kicker himself and he is really good at passing on his knowledge.

“We’re thrilled to have the opportunity to use him here and it’s good for the players to have a change. Because he’s going to be here for a couple of weeks, he can enjoy himself and get to know the players which can only be of benefit for everyone.

“I was really impressed with what he did with Elton Jantjies,” added Plumtree.

Spencer said he was thrilled to be in Durban with the Sharks and looked forward to working with the team.

“I’m really looking forward to it; Plum [Plumtree] invited me to come here and spend a couple of weeks with the Sharks, obviously to have a look at Pat Lambie and a few of the other boys. I’m really happy to be here.

“The Sharks have always been a very competitive side, they’ve always been up there amongst the top teams, be it Currie Cup or Super Rugby. They’ve always had a very dominant forward pack and backed that up with some pretty skilful backs. They are always challenging for a top four spot and finals, they’re an exciting team to watch.

“They play a good brand of rugby, one I enjoy as well, being an attacking player.

“They came close last year and hopefully they can do it this year, I’m looking forward to it, to see how they go this year.”

Working primarily with the flyhalves, he will spend a lot of time with Lambie during his stay in Durban.

“I enjoyed my time with Elton, he’s an exciting and skilful player, Pat is built along the same lines. He’s one of those up and coming players with a lot of skill and one certainly for the future – both for the Sharks and South African rugby. I’m looking forward to spending a bit of time with him and hopefully I can share a few of my ideas with him and teach him a bit of stuff,” he added.

48 Responses to Super Rugby: Spencer at the Sharks

25 @ Sharks_forever:
    For sure…………hahahaha. Overjoy

30 @ Puma:
    My cholesterol levels is that of a healthy 18-year old, my blood pressure is low but not too low, my heart rate is about 62, I’m not fat… I’m generally very, very healthy (except for yesterday and half of today). My knees are fine, my back is fine, my sugar levels is 100%.

I’m lekker fit for an old ballie and play a mean game of squash.

29 @ Sharks_forever:
    No man, caramel is freegin awesome… try and mix caramel with rice crispies, stuff it in an ice-cream cone… that’s lekker stuff!

Eish Pooms a little condensmilk wont harm you πŸ˜†

Life is so short lol rather tell him to stop all his smoking πŸ˜†

33 @ Sharks_forever:
    Hey… I’ve only been smoking for 32 years and a bit…. hehehe

28 @ Sharks_forever:

Your take on Carlos being with the Sharks for a few weeks? I think it is brilliant, pleased we jumped in first getting his services. Hope we can talk him in to staying the duration of S15. Well if the budget allows for it I suppose.

Eish no boet, far to sweet for me, raw condensmeilk is awesome

35 @ Puma:
    Who’s been the Sharks kicking coach, before Carlos now arrived?

32 @ grootblousmile:
    Still bad for you, the damage will come boet. Give it up and also the smoking is really bad. Rather have some red wine it is good for you………. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

33 @ Sharks_forever:
    Jeez how you and gbs enjoy condensed milk, crikey I have no idea……………. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Soooooooooooooooooooooooo sweet, makes me feel sick…hehehe. Rather have a few glasses of wine instead…. πŸ˜†

πŸ˜†

Good move from the Sharks, BUT !!!! how much can you achieve in a few weeks??

Also my biggest concern with the Sharks is the lineouts and the breakdown problems, for me that’s where we really need a huge change.

39 @ Sharks_forever:
    I think you can pick up quite a bit, but agree longer would be better. Also agree it is our lineout that is giving us the problems and has done since the start of S15 last year, breakdowns if Bissie is not there. So we should have been bringing in some to help us there as well.

Though I think Carlos will just make Lambie’s game even better and he is already a top class fh but with some good tips from Carlos think it can only make matters even better for us.

Okay I am out of here. Catch up tomorrow.

Really looking forward to watching the Lions play Russia. Finally some rugby to watch. Should be good.

41 @ Puma:
    Tomorrow’s the 1st Cricket ODi as well

hou op suip

43 @ Bliksem:
    Kaaak man… hou op nonsens praat!

Jy sal jou watwou verbeel!

Dear Reader

Our great friend Puma is dispensing some great diet advice here, ignore him at your peril.

Diabetes is a terrible menace that is often caused by our terrible western diets, as for smoking…..Fark Me, you boys must get a grip!!

yeah I did. I remember him playing a instrumental part in the 13-3 win. Missing everything in front of the posts. He also played in that side losing for the first time in years to England at home

yeah right. Ek bet jou vrou het daai baie virgin jou gese

47 @ Bliksem:
    Bliksem,

‘n Vriendelike waarskuwing… jy soek moeilikheid met die verkeerde ou en my geduld is op met jou. Hierdie is nie ‘n konfrontasionele of “abrasive” blog of website soos sommige ander nie, die FIFO beginsel geld hier, so Fit In of figure self uit waarvoor die FO staan.

Ek vra nie weer mooi nie.

… en jy het FOKKOL met my vrou of enige ander persoon se vrou uit te waai nie, verstaan jy!

Total 39 users including 0 member, 39 guests, 0 bot online