Ask-Ads Left

CrusadersThe Crusaders Super Rugby licence has been awarded to a limited partnership that is owned by the six provincial unions within the Crusaders region with the Canterbury Rugby Football Union (CRFU) being the major shareholder.


The New Zealand Rugby Union has awarded the licence to run the Crusaders under a new licence agreement to a limited partnership which includes the CRFU, the Tasman, South Canterbury, Mid Canterbury, Buller and West Coast unions.

CRFU Chairman Stewart Mitchell said this licence agreement is the best possible outcome for all of the provincial unions involved and for the future of the Crusaders.

“This will give the provincial unions involved real input in the future of the Crusaders. Each of the provincial unions that make up the Crusaders region has committed to the new structure, so we are all in this together.

“The provincial unions, as the custodians of rugby in this area, were keen to see that we all remained involved in the management of the Crusaders.”

“We are obviously all huge supporters of the Crusaders and we believe that it is in the best interests of this great rugby organisation that decisions around its future continue to be made by the rugby unions that have always been at the heart of it.

“This licence means that fans from throughout the Crusaders catchment area can be satisfied that all of the unions will continue to have a genuine stake in the Crusaders,” Stewart Mitchell said.

The new licence will apply from 1 January 2013.


Bam Advert