Cricket: 3rd T20 – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

South Africa and New Zealand did battle in the 3rd T20 International at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth at 14:30 SA Time on Wednesday 26 December 2012.

This was the Live Game Article for the match.

South Africa posted a mighty 179 / 6 in their allotted 20 overs.

New Zealand started the chase well but after Martin Guptill and Brendan McCullum departed, it was all over bar the shouting.

South Africa won comfortably, by 33 runs and with only 1 New Zealand wicket left standing.

South Africa: 179 / 6 (20 overs)

New Zealand: 146 / 9 (20 overs)

Match over

• New Zealand in South Africa T20I Series – 3rd T20I
  • T20I no. 297 | 2012/13 season
  • Played at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
  • 26 December 2012 (20-over match)
South Africa innings (20 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
H Davids c Anderson b McClenaghan 68 67 51 7 2 133.33
F du Plessis* b Hira 1 5 9 0 0 11.11
Q de Kock† c Anderson b McClenaghan 2 12 4 0 0 50.00
JL Ontong c Anderson b Franklin 48 39 30 1 3 160.00
DA Miller c Anderson b Bracewell 28 27 15 4 0 186.66
F Behardien c McClenaghan b Bracewell 22 19 11 2 1 200.00
RK Kleinveldt not out 0 2 0 0 0 -
Extras (lb 4, w 6) 10
Total (6 wickets; 20 overs; 86 mins) 179 (8.95 runs per over)
Did not bat RJ Peterson, R McLaren, AM Phangiso, M Morkel
Fall of wickets 1-2 (du Plessis, 1.5 ov), 2-26 (de Kock, 4.4 ov), 3-115 (Ontong, 14.5 ov), 4-135 (Davids, 16.3 ov), 5-179 (Miller, 19.5 ov), 6-179 (Behardien, 19.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
MJ McClenaghan 4 0 24 2 6.00 (2w)
RM Hira 4 1 24 1 6.00
NL McCullum 3 0 27 0 9.00
JEC Franklin 3 0 30 1 10.00
DAJ Bracewell 3 0 35 2 11.66 (1w)
JDS Neesham 3 0 35 0 11.66 (3w)
New Zealand innings (target: 180 runs from 20 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
RJ Nicol lbw b McLaren 5 2 3 1 0 166.66
MJ Guptill c Peterson b Phangiso 24 26 20 3 1 120.00
BB McCullum*† c Ontong b Phangiso 25 31 22 3 1 113.63
C Munro c †de Kock b McLaren 3 14 10 0 0 30.00
JEC Franklin c Ontong b Phangiso 16 17 13 1 1 123.07
JDS Neesham c Morkel b Peterson 12 15 10 2 0 120.00
NL McCullum c Peterson b McLaren 17 23 14 2 0 121.42
Corey J Anderson run out (McLaren) 12 16 9 1 0 133.33
DAJ Bracewell not out 15 9 2 0 166.66
RM Hira c Ontong b Kleinveldt 12 11 9 2 0 133.33
MJ McClenaghan not out 1 1 0 0 100.00
Extras (lb 1, w 3) 4
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 146 (7.30 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-6 (Nicol, 0.4 ov), 2-53 (Guptill, 6.6 ov), 3-56 (BB McCullum, 8.3 ov), 4-60 (Munro, 9.4 ov), 5-84 (Franklin, 12.3 ov), 6-87 (Neesham, 13.1 ov), 7-116 (Anderson, 16.4 ov), 8-116 (NL McCullum, 16.5 ov), 9-137 (Hira, 19.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
R McLaren 4 0 25 3 6.25 (1w)
RJ Peterson 3 0 24 1 8.00
M Morkel 4 0 37 0 9.25 (1w)
RK Kleinveldt 4 0 25 1 6.25 (1w)
AM Phangiso 4 0 25 3 6.25
JL Ontong 1 0 9 0 9.00
Match details
Toss South Africa, who chose to bat
Player of the match tba
Umpires JD Cloete and AT Holdstock
TV umpire S George
Match referee AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire BG Jerling
Match notes
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 36 runs, 2 wickets)
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 8.1 overs (49 balls), Extras 4
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 42 balls (H Davids 27, JL Ontong 25, Ex 2)
  • H Davids: 50 off 41 balls (6 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • South Africa: 100 runs in 14.1 overs (85 balls), Extras 5
  • South Africa: 150 runs in 18.1 overs (109 balls), Extras 9
  • Innings Break: South Africa – 179/6 in 20.0 overs (RK Kleinveldt 0)
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 45 runs, 1 wicket)
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 6.1 overs (37 balls), Extras 0
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 14.5 overs (89 balls), Extras 1

203 comments to Cricket: 3rd T20 – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

1. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 13:53 SAST

OK, so I’ve woken from my Christmas and pre-Christmas slumber.

I have not put up a Christmas Greetings video… why… because I’ve been plain bone idle.

Will put up a combined Christmas and Newyear’s Video message when I get time.

Who’s joining me for the Cricket today?

2. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:02 SAST

Blomme won the toss… and chose to bat first

3. Loosehead
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:18 SAST

Is Graham Smith out yet?

4. Loosehead
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:19 SAST

Hello GBS? Did you have a good Xmas?

5. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:21 SAST

4 @ Loosehead:
    Yes thanks Loskoppie… and you and yours?

6. Loosehead
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:24 SAST

5 @ grootblousmile: yeah,good thanks. I got a kindle.
    Going to braai some steak later.

7. Bullscot
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:24 SAST

Hello all trust you all had a good Christmas, GO PROTEAS!

8. Bullscot
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:25 SAST

I see Levi has been left out, also no Steyn.

9. Bullscot
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:27 SAST

SA Team: H Davids, F du Plessis*, Q de Kock†, F Behardien, DA Miller, RJ Peterson, JL Ontong, R McLaren, RK Kleinveldt, AM Phangiso, M Morkel – so Davids and Faf to open according to that

10. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:29 SAST

Anthems done and dusted

11. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:31 SAST

Hello Muppets , hehehe hope everyone had a great Xmas day.

Now for some cricket and lets hope out team has fixed the problem area’s

12. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:34 SAST

OK, we’re A for away… and a shout for LBW in the 1st over… turned down

13. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:37 SAST

O donner… Faf bowled…

SA 2 / 1 after 1.5 overs

14. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:40 SAST

dagse Rudi onse Burgermeeater van BakkenjanPan :lol:

15. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:41 SAST

Faf goes early. Jeez it looks tough out there for batting. Why they play a T20 in PE??? A pitch suited for spinners. Not going to see the 6′s and 4′s out there, which most of the crowd come to see no doubt.

16. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:46 SAST

14 @ Sharks_forever:
    Hello Tjarkie.

By the way, I put your Looseforwards Article back on Draft, all the Locks articles not done yet.

9 @ Bullscot:
    Hello Bully!

15 @ Puma:
    Hello Oompie!

17. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:48 SAST

I saw bro no problem

18. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:49 SAST

2nd Wicket down… Quinton de Kock goes

19. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 14:50 SAST

Both Wickets to fall due to seriously stupid shots, hell they should have a little look first

20. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:03 SAST

We are struggling to make runs, this is not good as we need to make atleast 150 runs

21. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:09 SAST

SA 63 / 2 after 10 overs

22. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:27 SAST

SA 113 / 2 after 14.3 overs

23. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:27 SAST

Ontong & Davids doing stellar work now

24. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:28 SAST

Ontong persihes on 48 off 30 balls

SA 115 / 3 after 14.5 overs

25. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:29 SAST

Wonder how much will be enough here? 140 or more? They chased us down well the other night.

26. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:32 SAST

Little Davids now the one to see to it that SA gets a decent total…

27. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:33 SAST

I think if we get around 175 we should be OK’ish…

28. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:34 SAST

SA 131 / 3 after 16 overs….

4 overs (24 balls) to go in the innings

29. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:35 SAST

Come on fellas.. post a handsome total for us, please

30. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:38 SAST

Henry Davids persihes on 68

SA 135 / 4 after 16.3 overs

31. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:40 SAST

170 is still on if they concentrate

32. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:44 SAST

SA 147 / 4 after 18 overs

33. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:44 SAST

SA need 2 great overs now…..

34. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:47 SAST

150 up for SA as 2 successive wides are bowled

35. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:48 SAST

Ah, a 4 and a 6 too!

36. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:51 SAST

SA 165 / 4 after 19 overs

Bad bowling by Neesham… 3 wides in the over

37. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:51 SAST

One last great over.. boys!

38. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:53 SAST

2 x 4 off the 1st 2 balls… 4 balls to go.

SA 173 / 4 off 19.2 overs

39. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:54 SAST

OK, the 175 is up, 3 balls to go

40. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:54 SAST

41. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:55 SAST

Wicket

SA 179 / 5, 1 ball to go

42. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 15:58 SAST

SA 179 / 6, with 2 wickets falling in the last 2 balls

New Zealand needs 180 to win, that is 9 runs per over.

43. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:04 SAST

Much better after a poor start, the guys took the singles and ran a lot of 2′s excellent. the boys have an excellent target to protect

44. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:09 SAST

43 @ Sharks_forever:
    Bulls Locks & Southern Kings locks are up… now we’re only waiting for Kickers to put the Stormers Locks up.

Southern Kings are in the poo with only Sykes & Bulbring really any quality in the locks department.

45. Sharks_forever

Our Bowlers have to really make sure their bowling lines are good as well as the lengths. Also vary the pace.

Our spinners should also have a say if they bowl well

46. grootblousmile

45 @ Sharks_forever:
    We need to get Guptill quickly this time….

47. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:11 SAST

@ grootblousmile
    Eish ya they in big shit, Sykes is a good lock yes but if he is injured??? no depth is a huge problem and a rugby match is won by the tight 5, they not great in that department.

48. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:12 SAST

Wicket!

Nicol GONE!

49. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:13 SAST

Yeah we do. Nicol out, shit ball by Maclaren and then a wicket, he seriously needs to up his consistency when he bowls

50. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:14 SAST

We need Guptill now fast, also MaCullum is a threat

51. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:15 SAST

NZ 7 / 1 after the 1st over

52. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:15 SAST

McCullum that is

53. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:18 SAST

8 / 1 after 2 overs, just a single from the over

54. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:18 SAST

Morne Morkel now the bowler… 1st ball spot on!

55. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:19 SAST

2nd Ball too much on leg by Morkel… 2 runs

56. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:20 SAST

Then too wide, and there’s a 4

57. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:22 SAST

NZ 14 / 1 after 3 overs

Only superb fielding by Davids prevented a 4 there

58. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:22 SAST

Guptill… 4

59. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:23 SAST

Guptill gets a single and goes to 1000 career T20 runs

60. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:24 SAST

Big 6 by McCullum

61. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:25 SAST

NZ 29 / 1 after 4 overs

We MUST get these 2 quickly, otherwise it’s tickets

62. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:27 SAST

Our Bowling is poor and these 2 have now got the BIT between the teeth, we in trouble here

63. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:28 SAST

They off to a better start than us, well for now it seems. Though we finished very well.

64. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:29 SAST

9 From the 5th over

NZ 38 / 1 after 5 overs

65. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:30 SAST

62 @ Sharks_forever:
    I feel we could be in trouble. They playing better than us at this stage.

66. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:30 SAST

63 @ Puma:
    Oompie, you had a good Christmas?
    No more knee damage?

67. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:32 SAST

They’re getting runs far too easily

68. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:33 SAST

NZ 45 / 1 after 6 overs.

That’s a great start for them!

69. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:33 SAST

66 @ grootblousmile:
    Had a great Christmas boet. Did you have a good one too?

NO more knee damage….hehehehe.

70. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:34 SAST

Phangiso on and goes for a 6, 1st ball

71. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:35 SAST

69 @ Puma:
    Yip, had a good one… ate too much as per usual

72. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:36 SAST

Huge wicket Guptill out

73. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:36 SAST

Wicket!

Guptill goes off a bad ball actually.

NZ 53 / 2 after 7 overs

74. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:37 SAST

Guptill gone. Big wicket too.

Go Proteas!

75. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:41 SAST

71 @ grootblousmile:
    Think we all over eat this time of year. Need to exercise more to work it off…….hahaha.

76. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:42 SAST

NZ 55 / 2 after 8 overs
    Only 2 runs form the 8th over

77. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:44 SAST

McCullum OUT!

NZ 56 / 3

78. Sharks_forever

NOw McCullum out

79. Sharks_forever

Phangiso gets his 2nd,

80. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:45 SAST

Now the Keeee Weeeee’s in groot Kakkas

81. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:46 SAST

NZ 56/3 now. Think that could be them done. PE not always the best place to bat 2nd no matter which format is being played here.

82. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:46 SAST

NZ 59 / 3 after 9 overs

83. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:48 SAST

Run rate required already over 11 needed per over

84. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:48 SAST

79 @ Sharks_forever:
    Don’t watch too much domestic cricket so have not seen Phangiso before. Well done to him getting those two wickets.

85. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:50 SAST

Wicket!

NZ 60 / 4 after 9.4 overs

86. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:53 SAST

NZ 64 / 4 after 10 overs

87. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:55 SAST

NZ 71 / 4 off 11 overs

88. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:56 SAST

Run rate now over 12 an over

89. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:57 SAST

Ontong’s 1st ball goes for a 6

90. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 16:59 SAST

NZ 80 / 4 off 12 overs

91. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:01 SAST

Wicket… Franklin goes
    NZ 84 / 5 after 12.3 overs

92. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:02 SAST

90 @ grootblousmile:
    Doubt they will catch us this time gbs. Where do we stand in the world in this format after this series? I think we are number one.

93. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:05 SAST

MOrkel takes a blinder

94. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:05 SAST

92 @ Puma:
    No, not Number 1…. I think we were 4th or something.

Wicket!
    NZ 87 / 6

95. Blue Bird
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:09 SAST

Afternoon Gentlemen, how do I find you all today?

Hope you have had a great Christmas in the sun.. Rain lashing down here rather cold and the fire lit!

96. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:09 SAST

NZ 95 / 6 after 14 overs

Run rate is getting pretty steep for them now

97. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:13 SAST

New Zealand 100 up…. only 5.1 overs to go

98. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:14 SAST

NZ 105 / 6 after 15 overs

99. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:15 SAST

75 required off 30 balls.
    That is 15 runs per over

100. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:19 SAST

NZ 114 / 6 after 16 overs

They are too far adrift now, no chance!

101. Blue Bird
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:20 SAST

Seasons Greetings to you GBS, sorry you are too busy to greet an old friend!!

Have a lovely New Year anyway.

102. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:23 SAST

Wicket

Anderson gone

NZ 116 / 7

103. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:25 SAST

And another wicket… NZ 116 / 8

104. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:28 SAST

Question now is… can we bowl them out.

That would be the final coup!

105. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:30 SAST

NZ 123 / 8 after 18 overs

Only 2 overs remain

106. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:31 SAST

Hehehe, they require 28.5 per over…

107. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:32 SAST

9 x 6 could do it for them… haha

108. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:33 SAST

49 Needed off 8 balls… not even 6′s could do it for them now

109. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:34 SAST

NZ 136 / 8 after 19 overs

110. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:38 SAST

… and the 9th wicket falls, 4 balls to go

111. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:43 SAST

So, South Africa wins this one comfortably, by 33 runs

112. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:45 SAST

Good win, and it is trophy time

113. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:45 SAST

South Africa also takes the T20 Series by 2 / 1

However, we should NEVER have lost the 2nd T20 match, that was an abomination.

114. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:48 SAST

In the Tests, SA should be supreme too… New Zealand’s batsmen are just not in the same league, apart from Martin Guptill and Brendan McCullum.

Also, our bowling attack is better, has a much harder edge to it, so on all counts we should take that too.

115. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:49 SAST

In T20 games one could still pox a win with 2 good batsmen, but in any of the longer formats THAT should not happen.

116. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:51 SAST

Henry Davids gets the Man Of The Match for his 68

117. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:53 SAST

Faf du Plessis wins the Series in his FIRST run in a Series as capatin… well done Faf, you’ve been great.

118. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:53 SAST

Well done Proteas. We win the T20 series.

Much more looking forward to the tests.

119. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:54 SAST

117 @ grootblousmile:
    Agree well done to Faf.

120. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:56 SAST

119 @ Puma:
    He’s led from the front, OK he did not get runs today but in the other 2 contributed bloody well.

121. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 17:58 SAST

Now to be serious… this was not even our strongest T20 side… AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn was not even here… so too Amla, Smith, Kallis

122. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:00 SAST

120 @ grootblousmile:
    Since the Oz tour he has been really good with the bat. Not going to say much if a batsman gets our quick in this format. Here is is luck sometimes as you just going for everything.

Only sports24 and ourselves have a thread on the cricket. Though we done a live commentary here. This has to be the best site not only for live games in Rugby but the cricket too. Well done gbs very impressive with running of this site.

123. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:02 SAST

be back in a few

124. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:02 SAST

121 @ grootblousmile:
    This is most definitely not our strongest side. So them winning this series tells us what good shape our cricket is in.

I wish we had England touring here now. Now that would generate HUGE interest especially in the tests coming up.

125. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:04 SAST

122 @ Puma:
    I’ve actually gone and bought the Domain names and rights of the following as well:

http://www.cricket-talk.co.za
    http://www.soccer-talk.co.za

So who knows, one day we might be a conglomerate of Sport sites, covering Rugby, Cricket, Soccer…. and maybe Motorsport and Golf too

126. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:06 SAST

Gbs what happened to the Loose Forwards article? We had one up this morning commented on it then…. WEG so vinnig? Waar is dit nou? :shock:

127. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:08 SAST

126 @ Puma:
    I’ve put it back on Draft Mode, told Tjarkie so earlier… I still had to put the Bulls & Southern Kings locks on… and Kickers still has to put the Stormers locks on, before we start with the Looseforwards.

128. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:11 SAST

125 @ grootblousmile:
    I think that is brilliant. We could cover almost anything here. Just need some knowledgeable Soccer heads here as I am most definitely not one of them. I know more about golf……. :) Not that much into Motorsports though some are. Would get into Athletics as I really enjoy that sport too. For that matter enjoy the tennis as well, then only the Grand Slams none of the rest. Rugby the best of of the lot though… :) Cricket is my 2nd best sport then the rest.

129. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:13 SAST

127 @ grootblousmile:
    Okay thought you were the gremlin that took it off…… Overjoy

130. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:16 SAST

128 @ Puma:
    I know shit-all about soccer… and I would have to get an equally dedicated dude to run the full-time Soccer or Cricket sites… I simply can’t do all.

Maybe I should build up an Advertising leg for the sports sites, then EMPLOY a dedicated soccer guru to handle that one… and also a dedicated Cricket dude, to handle and run that one… and earn money off those in the process.

131. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:19 SAST

130 @ grootblousmile:
    You should as you do a heck of a lot of work here. Get something out of it for sure boet.

132. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:21 SAST

131 @ Puma:
    You know of course that you’ll be one of our Sharks Authors in 2013… you promised!

133. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:23 SAST

132 @ grootblousmile:
    I am useless at it. Sharky does a expert job at doing it…….. :) I will do the team of the week for S15 as we don’t have that here, that kind of thing I said I would do. That should be easy enough…. lol.

134. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:24 SAST

133 @ Puma:
    Oh fark, it will be full of Sharks players every week… hehehe

135. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:25 SAST

132 @ grootblousmile:

Another thing other sites to Rating of players after each game, I DON’T like it, just not fair on players as everyone but everyone has their own view and then there are about 8 different ratings about for a player that week. So for me personally don’t agree with that. Team of the week would be great as we don’t have to have a rating next to the player. Rating players with a score for me is a cheap skate thing to do to a player. End of story.

136. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:26 SAST

134 @ grootblousmile:
    Probably……………….. Tounge-Out Happy-Grin Happy-Grin

137. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:30 SAST

134 @ grootblousmile:
    I have thought of a way to do it. We will get the regular bloggers here that watch all the games to send me their team of the week. Say 5 of us, none speak to the other who they think are their team of the week. Then from that list each player that has the most selected for that position gets selected as to the team of the week. That way it will be fair who gets onto team of the week. It should never be one persons choice. Best way to do it.

138. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:34 SAST

:lol: pooms

139. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:37 SAST

:lol: Pooms atleast the team of the week is a start

As for the player ratings? Maybe we should have it where Rudi, Myself, For Kicks and cheetah4neva discuss each match and then do a unanimous rating.???

140. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:37 SAST

i love ratings, i can build a story around it, it usually expose the Sharkies, hahaha

Hi guys i missed another sports game, this clinging sound of the “tille” GBS calls it is adictive

141. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:38 SAST

. Puma bro?? you know of course Lambie will always be in the team of the week?? @ Puma:

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

142. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:40 SAST

Blogging on R-T has made Puma and Me tough bloggers :lol: we just ignore you other okes chuning our Sharks Happy-Grin Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

143. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:43 SAST

139 @ Sharks_forever:
    I just don’t like rating a player. Think it is unfair on a player. Some sites have a player at 9 while other give 6 it is just hit and miss really.

Team of the week is a far better. Making a team from all 15 teams is excellent. Need one supporter from each franchise to select their team of the week, then we see who has most votes for each position that week and that is how they will ge nominated for team of the week.

gbs
    Cheetah4Eva
    Sharks one week then me the next…. :)

Stormersboy one week then JFK the next
    For Kings have no idea at all. Our Lion friend will have to do that one.

Remember we could only do a saffa team of the week or a overall from all teams. I think overall from all teams is the way to go. So it has to be someone that watches all the games. Unless some don’t have time to watch all the games, then we just do a saffa team of the week as we all watch all the saffa teams playing.

144. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:44 SAST

139 @ Sharks_forever:
    I think closer to the start of Super Rugby, we will know which bloggers have time available and will be able to see all the games.

Then we could easlily compile a panel to send their Team of the week to Oompie Puma to publish.

Now the excercise and huge task would be to teach Oompie Puma how to publish articles AND how to use his EDIT keys before submitting the article…. hehehe

145. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:45 SAST

Shark – fornever and pooms, we had it here before , in fact well organized with a spreadsheet and all the thing is , people who pick have their own favorites and dont like it if their players dont make it.

Discussing a player after a game is also something some dont like. Remember we must stand by him… bla bla bla

Another thing i miss is real analyses of the game , McLook is still trying his utmost best to explain his views, most other here just stick to their “my province/franchise is the best” seldom do they analyze the players flaws etc.

146. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:46 SAST

141 @ Sharks_forever:
    Oh absolutely! Know it already….. Approve Happy-Grin Overjoy AND Frans Steyn and JPP also Keegan …………. Overjoy Sommer all the Sharkies every week……… LOL.

147. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:48 SAST

145 @ superBul:
    Ou Wille Bees… het jy darem ook paar af-dae gehad nou oor die Feesseisoen?

Of werk jy ELKE dag?

148. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:49 SAST

:lol: pooms player rating and team of the week is kinda the same thing, by putting a player in your team of the week it is your point of view, someone else will for example pick a different team to what you would?

It seriously does not matter what team of the week you put or what ratings people will always differ, If you see rugby 365′s team of the week?? they have 5 Journo’s selecting their team and then form a unanimous team

149. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:51 SAST

superBul wrote:

seldom do they analyze the players flaws etc.

with the above in mind Puma , why do you feel it is unfair to criticize a player? He is well trained , gets paid to do his job. Do you feel the same way about the plumber who farks up your house.

150. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:51 SAST

146 @ Puma:
    We would HAVE TO teach you how to blog AND watch at the same time though…. hehehe

151. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:52 SAST

145 @ superBul:
    McLook is excellent in giving a analysis of the game. Then doubt he will write about all the games. Well the saffa games he just may, then it is a lot of work that.

The thing there will be 5 of us selecting a team of the week. We don’t discuss it AT all between each other. We send in our team of the week and from there the player that gets most votes in that position gets onto the team of that week. We can moan if our favourite player of that week in that position is not there, but that will be it. Nothing we can do if he is not selected by most. Fair if 5 votes and none know which the other are selecting. That is fair and square. Then if we moan after so be it. Lambie though will be there, first up even if sick……….. Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

152. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:54 SAST

149 @ superBul:
    I give my GRANITE guy a 3 out of 10…. hehehe

His craftmanship is tops, but he has now taken money from me and has not installed the rest of my stuff.

He eventually phoned me last week and promised to install the rest before the 10th of January….

153. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:54 SAST

AF wat is dit, nee jong die besigheid is jonk ek werk dat dit bars

Gister was dit so 42 grade heel middag, entoe kry ons die wonderlikste reen, n hele 80mm, en raai wat toe werk ek sommer weer met nuwe geesdrif. Maar ja iewers moet ek bietjie rus , sal probeer na die Mango seisoen.

154. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:56 SAST

150 @ grootblousmile:
    That has to be done……hehehe. I do blog while watching but have to move damn fast to my study to say something about that minute of the game. By that time I know it is a bit late in saying something, but I always do as you know…………… :) I am not the fastest either :)

I need to use my laptop I know, but just too much strain on my neck. Will HAVE to get a tv in my study. I do use my laptop sometimes though.

155. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:57 SAST

153 @ superBul:
    Na die Mango seisoen is dit Perske seisoen, dan druiwe… dan die volgende.

Die swart mense het ‘n gesegde…. die werk raak nie klaar nie, die man raak klaar.

156. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:59 SAST

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

157. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 18:59 SAST

who on Earth would pick any Spears player for their team, damm you must be joking in asking a Lions supporter to give them any positive rating, oohhhhh
    maybe GBS would do it for them, at least he knows them better than anyone with his research for his articles.

158. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:00 SAST

154 @ Puma:
    One gets a special Notebook table, which slides over your Lounge chair, almost like that table one gets in Hospital which slides accross the bed… that might be your answer… hehehe

159. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:01 SAST

157 @ superBul:
    As long as I NEVER, EVER have to rate Luke Watson… hahaha

160. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:01 SAST

149 @ superBul:
    I do complain about quite a few players Super. I just don’t really rip them apart. Though the way it does end up like you can read on some sites it is just not on. I don’t enjoy ripping a player apart. That is not me so sorry I won’t do it. Will if we do it with decency. Then will, not the way I see it done on other sites. Hope we never become like that here. Journos do enough of it anyhow.

161. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:02 SAST

hahaha , die sequence is hier perske, litchi, druiwe, mango avo,s ,suurlemoen, pomelo, lemoen, ….
    ek is nou al so slim soos n porra

162. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:04 SAST

158 @ grootblousmile:
    Jeepers, that is not for me………. :D istort: NOOIT boet….. Overjoy

163. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:04 SAST

161 @ superBul:
    En die Guav’s & Grindelsh?

Solank jy netnie soos ‘n Porra begin lyk en praat nie, is jy nog OK!

164. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:05 SAST

:lol: super is al klaar n groente gees :lol:

165. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:06 SAST

157 @ superBul:
    Gbs will give them zero that is why…….. :) I just said Lion as he blogs here a lot. Not sure who should, you could Super if you want…. :)

166. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:06 SAST

Any ideaas re the changes yet?? or you still building courage to start ?:lol:

Als boet we gonna do an article for each team as a team in a afew weeks?? in other words an article coming out of the breakdown article’s we have done??

167. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:07 SAST

164 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, let’s sommer call him Carlos Gomez from now on… hehehe

168. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:08 SAST

Ok so we give Luke Watson a -10 rating handicap :lol: so when and if he does have a good game he will example end up with a -3 or 04 etc :lol:

169. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:09 SAST

152 @ grootblousmile:
    If any granite installer took my money and not installed yet, I would give him a big fat 0 and that would be too much.

I would probably give myself -0 for giving him the money first before installing……… :razz:

170. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:09 SAST

I just don’t really rip them apart.

i sort of agree , look by now you must know me, just think Dean. I believe any player can make a comeback.

So when i “RIP” , it is in fact his play of the day, not his person.
    I will tell a Morne Steyn he kicked like a arshole and cost us a few tests this year, but i know he can do better, and i wont write him off. Thats how i feel about players.
    They are not 10 year old kids , if they played bad and cost their team, they must face the music.

171. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:11 SAST

166 @ Sharks_forever:
    If you look under the Top menu on the site, under Super Rugby, 2012… you will see the Full 5 squads of 2012… so when we’re all done, I will condense all of a team’s players and put them up on the top under 2013… team by team.

We might also do an Article for each team tin total like you suggest… we’ll see.

I have not started with the design changes, that will happen from Friday onwards… to busy on the stuff in and around the house still… except for today, I did vet mooi nokkol on the house.

172. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:11 SAST

Not sure who should, you could Super if you want…. :)

dan gee ek weer 9 vir Luke al sit hy op die bench Delighted

173. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:12 SAST

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy This is luigi Luigi Super Mario Bros the Porra from the far north, he is a onyon, potatsche, gringadelsch, Bonnansche, gwavs, grapsch Overjoy Overjoy

174. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:13 SAST

die gendelchh en kwawas is ook al deur my hande, sheez maar hul raklewe is kort hier in ons hitte

175. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:13 SAST

:lol: that’s fine bro,

176. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:14 SAST

170 @ superBul:
    Hey Carlos Gomez… you do veggies and salad stuff too?

177. Puma

170 @ superBul:
    Of course we should say something Super. I do all the time if a player lets his team down. I just don’t go into a frenzy and call them despicable names, like we see on many, many sites. We do our criticising with decency we get taken more seriously than if we do it in a disgraceful way.

178. Sharks_forever

eish Ya daai valley van jou is a blerrie oond

179. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:16 SAST

169 @ Puma:
    Don’t worry, ek sal nog hard op sy ballas trap…. hehehe

180. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:16 SAST

172 @ superBul:

181. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:17 SAST

Agreed, that’s the one thing I hate and luckily it does not really happen on R-T

The personal insults there players have to endure on blogs is pathetic, If n oke has a shit match, rate him a 3 for example and say he was poor on the day,

182. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:17 SAST

179 @ grootblousmile:
    And you should…. :)

183. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:20 SAST

agree, and normally one tries to stay calm, but demmit , if you lose a game by some inept performance someone must be blamed.

184. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:24 SAST

Well this made my day , getting here in time for some opinions from my great friends

185. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:25 SAST

If all is said i am logging out, have a great evening

186. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:25 SAST

181 @ Sharks_forever:
    Exactly that is how it should be done, not rip the poor player apart with some digusting names. I have read it on many sites. Just not great to read that. Saying a player played poor or not up it in that game, say why but not run the player down in a bad way. Just about every player has a off day or two, that happens.

Look I will be honest, I did call Meyer a ‘idiot coach’ I was so angry with his selection and game plan by the end of the RC and for letting Lambie waste away on the bench where we could have used him and probably have won in Mendoza. Anyhow all gone and dusted now. I know it was wrong and have apologised on this site for saying that. I just hardly do it. It takes a lot for me to get to that stage, I did eventually. I am okay with him now though even if we stick to the tried and tested game plan. Peter also at the start of his Bok Coaching career made me very angry but after 2009 I enjoyed him very much and supported him from then on. I never called Peter names though. I met Peter as I have said here many times, he is such a top class man and have huge respect for him. I know he said funny stuff and confused us a lot but he is such a decent person. Meyer comes across as a top class person and very decent too.

187. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:26 SAST

So, how do you guys objectively rate the Southern Kings locks… hehehe

188. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:27 SAST

185 @ superBul:
    Nee flok… jy kannie NOU gaan pis en rus nie!

189. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:27 SAST

183 @ superBul:
    I know and we can blame the player but not trash the player in doing so.

190. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:29 SAST

Wonder what happened to Turky… he probably received an Italian Lolita as a present for Christmas….

191. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:29 SAST

Okay everyone. Going to watch a dvd now.

Enjoy the rest of your evening.

Catch up tomorrow.

192. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:30 SAST

waaroor gaat ons nou praat?

I saw the Bulls locks, they look secure, you agree.

193. Puma
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:30 SAST

190 @ grootblousmile:
    He mostly blogs when the games are on. Otherwise hardly see him, but always here with the live games.

Okay that is me out of here for now.

Catch up tomorrow.

194. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:31 SAST

a blow up doll?

195. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:32 SAST

192 @ superBul:
    Ten minste is ons site nog aan die gang en lewendig die tyd van die jaar.

196. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:33 SAST

194 @ superBul:
    Don’t know if he likes the blow-up stuff… hehehe

197. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:34 SAST

Good night Puma, i must say one thing moreto you.

Last year the Sharks started late, but according to news today they are very active at the moment, some early victims reported.

198. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:40 SAST

OK, I see evrybody bailing now… so greetings Earthlings… see you on the otherside of one night’s darkness.

199. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:41 SAST

@ superBul: Where did you read that Super?? eish you saying we already have more injuries?? Luckily February is still far away lol

200. superBul
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:42 SAST

OK then this is official i am also out

201. grootblousmile
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:47 SAST

199 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, the rest of your hookers broke down… and your locks are’nt well either but they did’nt need to break down for us to know that… hehehe

Oh, and Fransie Steyn fell over Lambie’s ego….

202. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:47 SAST

Well now that everyone has bailed I guess I will too lol

203. Sharks_forever
    December 26th, 2012 at 19:48 SAST

:lol: