South Africa and New Zealand did battle in the 2nd T20 International at Buffalo Park, East London at 18:00 SA Time on Sunday 23 December 2012.

This was the Live Game Article for the match.

After New Zealand won the toss again, they decided to field first.

South Africa set a wonderful total of 165 / 5 after 19 overs (match was reuced to 19 overs due to a power outage in the flodd lights). bad fielding by South Africa, shoddy bowling with a wet ball and a marvelous innings of 101 not out by Martin Guptill saw New zealand home off a 4 on the last ball.

South Africa: 165 / 5 (19 overs)

New Zealand: 169 / 2 (19 overs)

Match over, New Zealand win

• New Zealand in South Africa T20I Series – 2nd T20I
  • T20I no. 295 | 2012/13 season
  • Played at Buffalo Park, East London
  • 23 December 2012 – day/night (20-over match)
South Africa innings (19 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
RE Levi c NL McCullum b Hira 5 13 13 0 0 38.46
H Davids c Neesham b McClenaghan 55 46 38 7 1 144.73
F du Plessis* c Anderson b Bracewell 63 68 43 8 1 146.51
DA Miller c Hira b Bracewell 33 35 18 2 2 183.33
F Behardien not out 5 5 2 1 0 250.00
RJ Peterson c Neesham b Bracewell 0 2 1 0 0 0.00
Q de Kock† not out 0 1 0 0 0
Extras (lb 2, w 1, nb 1) 4
Total (5 wickets; 19 overs; 87 mins) 165 (8.68 runs per over)
Did not bat R McLaren, M Morkel, RK Kleinveldt, AM Phangiso
Fall of wickets 1-13 (Levi, 3.1 ov), 2-81 (Davids, 11.3 ov), 3-160 (Miller, 18.2 ov), 4-160 (du Plessis, 18.3 ov), 5-161 (Peterson, 18.5 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
MJ McClenaghan 4 0 32 1 8.00 (1nb)
RM Hira 4 0 37 1 9.25
DAJ Bracewell 3 0 33 3 11.00 (1w)
Corey J Anderson 2 0 21 0 10.50
NL McCullum 4 0 23 0 5.75
JEC Franklin 1 0 10 0 10.00
RJ Nicol 1 0 7 0 7.00
New Zealand innings (target: 169 runs from 19 overs) R B 4s 6s SR
MJ Guptill not out 101 69 9 6 146.37
RJ Nicol c Miller b Peterson 25 24 4 0 104.16
BB McCullum*† c Miller b McLaren 17 15 2 0 113.33
C Munro not out 8 7 0 0 114.28
Extras (lb 9, w 8, nb 1) 18
Total (2 wickets; 19 overs) 169 (8.89 runs per over)
To bat JEC Franklin, Corey J Anderson, NL McCullum, JDS Neesham, DAJ Bracewell, RM Hira, MJ McClenaghan
Fall of wickets 1-76 (Nicol, 9.5 ov), 2-149 (BB McCullum, 16.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
RJ Peterson 3 0 28 1 9.33 (1w)
M Morkel 4 0 29 0 7.25 (1w)
RK Kleinveldt 4 0 35 0 8.75
R McLaren 4 0 26 1 6.50 (1nb, 1w)
AM Phangiso 4 0 42 0 10.50 (1w)
Match details
Toss New Zealand, who chose to field
T20I debut AM Phangiso (South Africa)
Umpires S George and AT Holdstock
TV umpire JD Cloete
Match referee AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire BG Jerling

178 Responses to Cricket: 2nd T20 – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

Okay see it was not only us losing the electricity today……… Amazed They have lost it there as well. Pondering

If this is load shedding again, it will make me so damn angry. Especially in this heat.

31 @ Puma:
    Only 1 stack of floddlights that went, so it’s not load shedding… more like one set of flood lights shedding it’s load… hahaha

Hellooooooo all. Compliments of the season to you all. Hitting the Christmas spirit hard now. Off to the outlaws tomorrow to celebrate the mass mutilation of the turkey population (here’s hoping THE Turky survives!), then back home on boxing day.

Just switched on the cricket, and as usual I get stumped – no lights. Glad to see Henry go so well, but Levi must be skating on thin ice by now – a real one horse wonder

Mud Island dweller… come talk to us…

28 @ Sharks_forever:
    I only just got the tv back. Now you lose the computer…… 🙂 See you later bro.

35 @ Puma:
    A PC is like underpants….. I don’t loan mine out… and I wear a couple simultaneously…. hehehe

In fact I continiously use 5 simultaneously…. my main PC, my Server, my 2 Rondfok PC’s and my Notebook… and nobody else may use them at all.

😆 ok back wifey decided to make dinner first, 😆

This is pathetic really, all momentum the proteas had is down the drain

I hear you lot have been having some great weather over there – up to 40 in my old stomping ground. Been pouring with rain here, floods every where. Fortunately we have been spared. I was able to go for a long bike ride today – even if I was cycling backwards at times, the gales were so strong. I hope Bully is OK, I haven’t heard from him. There has been some serious flood warning up the East coast of Scotland, so I am sure he has been slightly affected too.

37 @ Sharks_forever:
    Your wife desperately needs her own Notebook for Vleisbook, handcrafts and shit… bro

39 @ Just For Kicks:
    Riots or Floods… tough choices… hehehe

@ grootblousmile:Give me floods, any day – at least you know that someone is coming to help!!!!!

42 @ Just For Kicks:
    At least one can look rioters straight in the face… and fark them around!

One can’t fight mother nature.

36 @ grootblousmile:
    That is a lot of computers to have, then you work with them. Here we have two. That is enough for now..lol.

Only one tv though, so that sometimes is a problem when my dauhter is here visiting. I always get the remote when the rugby is on or when Test cricket is on.

37 @ Sharks_forever:

Losing the lights is not great, should not happen but it does. Pity they never bowled first on Friday, that way the crici would have been on for longer for the crowd. We would have batted right through and probably have gotten them out quick. At least that way the crowd would have had a good night out. It ended just too quick for them. Had a good crowd there too. Think they said 18 thousand. Good turn out for the cricket.

PC in spare Bedroom bro, with Adsl

We in Lounge with Laptop and using wireless adsl

And Kirsten says you offering a free Laptop?? she will make use of it for sure , Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

44 @ Puma:
    meant – daughter

Hello all not much time this side at moment, looks like there was a nice innings from Davids and Faf doing well now, but Levi failed yet again, which is a pity as he seemed so promising at domestic level, how many more chances can he get for SA?

44 @ Puma:
    We have more TV’s in the house than people… hahaha

1 In the Children’s family / play room, 1 for every bedroom, 1 for the family room, 2 in my office….

Mmmmm, none in the kitchen and in the loo’s…. will have to make a plan… hahaha

45 @ Sharks_forever:
    I only give stuff away mahala for the needy… hehehe

47 @ Bullscot:
    Bully… You have a boat?

Sounds like might need it soon… hehehe

39 @ Just For Kicks:
    Howzit JFK, Your weather don’t sound great, then that is expected this time of year in Scotland. Not flooding though, so hope all is well that side. My daughter said Cape Town was roasting this past month. Well she brought the heat with her, we have had very hot weather this past week. Today it was 34 and that is damn hot here in Durbs, humidity 92% that is a killer with the heat. Then we had not electricity for 3 hours, was hectic in the heat. Will never take my air con for granted again…… :mrgreen:

Hello JFK doing ok here, yip there was a lot of rain and wind but not too badly affecting the part of city I live and toward work, but there were a lot of the major roads around the city closed today because of the rain which is very unusual. Feel very sorry for the folk in a coastal village just south of here that got bad flooding after river burst. The worst wind has been around Orkney and Shetland and in fact the folk in Shetland had to have a few Hercules flying in there the last few days to help them stock up on groceries as the weather has been too rough for the ferries to run, I think its about 5 days since last ferry made it in from mainland.

32 @ grootblousmile:
    I know was just kidding. Though was not sure when ours went out today. Felt like forever with this heat.

52 @ Bullscot:
    Shetland… is that where those dwarf ponies originate from… those ordinary, stubby little shits?

@ Bullscot:Glad you’re ok, mate. Seems to have by-passed us completely, except for the winds. We’ve been lucky.
    @ Puma:Always struggled with the humidity in Durbs, but that sounds tough! Hope you’re still able to find the Christmas spirit though!

Come on lights… the last thing we want is reduced overs now

48 @ grootblousmile:

Jeez that is a lot of tv’s you have……hahahaha. We have one that is enough, though would like one for my study, said so last year so might get down to getting one. As you know my computer is in the studay (of course) and no tv there. So when I do blog with everyone when the rugby is on, have to come quick here to say whatever and dash back, otherwise miss too much. I do have a lap top but don’t like using it too often, as with the slipped disc in my neck it puts to much pressure there. I do use it sometimes on the verandah, not always though. Like the comfort of my study. So will think about getting a tv for here this year.

stay = study

50 @ grootblousmile:
    No boat GBS but will manage Happy

55 @ Just For Kicks:

Used to having Christmas in this heat. I have to say I do not enjoy the humidity. Seems to have gotten worse with age, never bothered me when I was younger.

We normally do Christmas Eve dinner, have all the tradtional food then, For Christmas day we normally do a braai. Just seems more relaxing for everyone.

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online