Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has been cited for allegedly making contact with a the eye of a Scotland player in the Test match played at Murrayfield on Saturday.

rugbyweek

Following this weekend’s round of Autumn International matches, two players have been cited by independent IRB Citing Commissioners.

The South African lock forward Etzebeth, was cited by Alan Mansell of England for contact with the eye(s) or eye area under Law 10.4 (m) on Scotland No 10, Greig Laidlaw, after 14 minutes of the second half of the match at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Juan Figallo, Argentina’s prop forward, was cited by Mike Rafter of England for striking with the head (Law 10.4 (a)) on French Captain Pascal Pape at the end of the first half of the match in Lille on Saturday.

Under IRB Regulation 17, hearings for both players will be held on Tuesday (Etzebeth) and Wednesday (Figallo) this week before independent IRB-appointed Judicial Officers.

177 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Eben Etzebeth cited for alleged eye-gouge

57 @ superBul:
    Super,

For pete sakes, Morne has been give a chance for 2 damn years and he is still getting a chance. Don’t worry Meyer is there to look after him. Victor and FdP did last year and it is still carrying on. Morne I can tell you never played at Loftus only because Meyer spared him his own people BOOING at him and again at Soccer City. Now he is back there dammit. He was terrible in the semi of CC has just terrible the in the June tests and AGAIN during the RC. Count how many times this player gets a chance? Then look he plays the style Meyer likes so please Meyer must let him play. The game has moved on we need a more thinking fh not a robot man. Hate to see us kicking these daft, daft up and under and Meyer has made Goosen, Elton and now Lambie do it. Just not on, just let him play Morne as that what he does best up and unders kicking and more kicking.

Now out of here.

WE all saw Lambie out playing Morne hands down

That WE must be all Sharks blind people.You cry about Lambie playing out of his comfort zone but no ways will you say that Morne had to play in a unsettled Bulls squad. There is almost nothing left of the Bulls team accept their pride and guts.

Meyers game plan right now is very limited. We will get klapped huge come next year by the Samoans, ABs and Wallabies also the French on the eoyt. We will be found out with this very limited game plan. If we don’t start doing the off-loading game we will be left behind. NOT saying we must not play at all to our strengths but dammit let us also play with our backs. There has to be a brain somewhere to show this coaches how to play both styles.

Horrible, just horrible to see us playing braindead game like we do.

Eben is a lot calmer than his uncles. But just as tough and probably a lot stringer than they were at the same age.

He has a rep as a result of his family, I wonder how that must have dogged him all his life.

On the couple of times that I’ve sat and had a drink with him he has come across as very grounded.

60 @ Pietman:
    Jy beter maar met my praat oor WATTER Antivirus programme… daar is regte kak goed waarin sommige ouens glo.

Ek werk daagliks met geinfekteerde klienterekenaars wat ek moet reg dokter… dit beteken ek moet die gevaar doelbewus koppel aan my rekenaars… om hulle skoon te kry.

Beste ene is VERNIET beskikbaar vir mense wat wettige Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7 of 8 op het…. Microsoft Security Essentials… stel hom reg en jy keer al die kak, sonder dat dit jou ‘n sent kos en sonder dat hy verval na ‘n jaar.

62 @ superBul:
    Stop standing up for your love child Super. Morne has been out of from since last year actually for 2 years now and HE IS STILL THERE?????

Now I am out of here. No use saying the same thing over and over.

Peter was going to drop Morne last year but when we came back from the away leg that the B team went on suddenly Morne was back.

We all know it was Victor and FdP that had a hand in keeping Morne on. Anyhow that is gone now he is still here. We will never move forward with the type of game plan Meyer is playing or with the type of FH Morne is. For now just let Meyer play Morne as he fits Meyers game plan best. It is very limited like Morne is with his style of play. Let them keep it. I will wait for Super Rugby to watch some decent rugby.

I dont find winning horrible, and be honest we are winning a fair lot. If HM wins the two drawn ones, we might have a year with 9 wins out of 12, farkit would you be unhappy with that, listen carefully we CAN win 75% of our gmes, in fact we were in a great position and chance to be above 80% THIS Year

Differenc e all those players at the Bulls are used to BUlls style rugby, which Hm is now implimenting at the Boks, now for players from other unions its a very different style of PLay Super.

At the Bulls you lost 5 players, the Sharks have lost 5 players , they still play the same style, Nee Super ur now in a way blamming the loss of Matfield and Fdup of Morne’s poor form?

If anything you should blame HM for MOrne’s form , he turned him from a Running flyhalf a few years ago and made him a skop and jag artist, yes it worked when you had certain players at the Bulls, but rugby has changed a lot, the Bulls have not, and they have been caught with their pants down.

When Victor has anything to say in the studio too, all he can talk about is the bloody kicking. WHAT??????? What about ball in hand or attack? He has no clue. Rather we listen to Mallett he knows and is straight forward and says it like we all know. Not just me saying all this go look on all the rugby sites.

Morne/Lambie/Koos Tieties/PietPielietjies….what’s the diff, in the present Bok set-up/game plan? Presenting a surgeon with a breadknife to perform eye surgery? It is like putting Lambie in the pocket with no ‘go forward’ ball to play with….
    Kuk argument bruvvas.

I hope for the BUlls sakes and sa Rugby sakes?? that the new fabtastic backline players they have gained are not also turned into skop and Jag players, the centers you have gained should be left to express themselves on the field, you might just find the Bulls being a running team, other teams would then have to watch out,

Dankie PIeta, you just stated the facts.

Untill our forwards play the full 80 min?? our backline players will look ordinary

68 @ Sharks_forever:
    We are going back very fast. You just have to see how the clubs in nh are playing. They have all adapted the off-loading game. Even Samoa has and Arg and just look at the beautiful rugby the French are playing. We damn lucky we never played them this year they would have whipped us solid like they done the Wallabies. Only All Blacks right now could live with them. We had better adapt or get left behind like we done in the Straueli years.

@ Sharks_forever
    Bulls players playing Bulls’ rugby, WP okes playing WP rugby, Sharks playing theirs….the coach and those mamparra assistants of his can obviously not get the bunch of them to adapt to a coherent Bok style of play, or what?

This is a tweet from Dan retief, he is 100% correct

Dan Retief‏@retiefdan

You said it!@retiefdan recall Bakkies and Eben will be cleared in three minutes”

I will wait for Super Rugby to watch some decent rugby

I will enjoy the rise of our best coach possible. I was very anti HM before , but looking at the scene lately there is only 2 teams i fear, the ABs and the French, the French though are a funny bunch, they can rightly be called the lucky packet team, you never know wat you will get.

Heynecke started off with his ja broer assistants, soon he will bring in his more industrious helpers.

70 @ Pietman:
    100% correct.

Okay out of here finally. Cheers Piet and again thanks for that video, really enjoyed it. Man, had a laugh about that false eye and when he put it back with the grass stuck behind! bwaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaa. Must have been scary for sure, but damn funny to hear it. See all the players of that tour BIL and Boks have now made huge friendships over the years. Good to see that. What rugby is all about really.

weereens is jy 100% correk Broer, and by the way i am still awaiting your Skype addy lol.

Problem is HM is living in the past boet, Rugby has evolved, AB’s are way ahead of the Boks, it’s sad but its tru, what worries me is he is to stubborn to change or admit it, I am not one calling for the end of HM, but i am praying he realises he is going nowhere fast with the old style of play, get rid of the assistant coaches he has, get for example a HAwies Fourie for the backline, etc etc

Super thats the reason I am not having a go at you personally , i have witnessed you having a go at HM where you think he is wrong.

The late Gordon Grown called De Bruyn the ‘one-eyed grass monster’ in his autobiography!

76 @ superBul:
    Meyer needs to bring in better assistants and not wait too long, his backline coach has not one clue and that goes for Van Graan because he is the attack coach as well. Both seem useless right now with the backline players. We wait until next year RC we have had it. Next June we have easy peasy games we should try something there. Then again we have Samoa and if they play like they are they will bliksem us too. We falling behind. Samoa are playing the off-loading game as well. We need to go and hound Carlos Spencer. He done brilliant with no bodies in the Lions side that have now become Boks.

You should read the article where Gert Smal says why he took himself out of the Bok coach race,

and he states that our SA coaches are to scared to help each other and shed ideas and styles etc.

Let GBS send me your mail addy, and I will reply, ok?

Anybody else impressed with the Bokke defence?

Maybe the best defence in the world at present, even if we include the All Blacks.

McFarland the defensive coach not doing badly, I say!

Pieter de Villiers, our scrum doctor also not doing badly… forwards are hard and the pack is almost sorted… so forwards not doing badly either. Lineouts are 100%, scrums are OK… and they are slowly getting there regarding valueing the breakdowns enough.

The problem currently comes at the backline, the backline coach, not enough speed on getting the ball to the flyhalf, not the right options by flyhalves… not the right attacking play, not enough ball-in-hand play.

These are things which can be sorted out though.

Zactly! Now how must the national coach get it together in his first year?

80 @ Pietman:
    Never read that book Piet. But jeez it was funny the way that Scots player in that video clip discribed it. LAUGHED OUT LOUD think the neigbours could have heard me that how loud I laughed……….bwaaaahaaaaaaa. I could just imagine looking at someone with grass coming out the back of his eye…………… 🙂 🙂 Jeez it must have been scary and bloody funny, well funny afterwards…………… hehehehe.

WE need to get more of those clips. Take our minds off the Boks not performing right now and we all chill……….hehehe.

Okay now have been trying to log out for awhile now. So going now. Catch up another time Piet. Very busy today and probably tomorrow.

Puma, we can bring in all we want, it wont help unless minsets change, HM must accept his way is outdated and move on, you do not have to select a smaller weaker pack to play the modern game, so you can still have a dominant pack, and big locks and loose forwards, its all about coaching. and mindsets.

Defense is brilliant right now.

weereens korrek PIet, Thats why am not complaiing that we won ugly on the weekend, i am complaining that Lambie is blammed for it?

not right, blame the whole team and blame the coaching staff, then at the same time be understanding to the fact the it’s a new coach bringing in his own style of rugby that the majority of the team is not used to playing.

85 @ Pietman:
    Before I go Piet,

You know what got to me was watching the Sharks towards the end of Super Rugby. WE can all admit they were playing some brilliant breath taking rugby to watch. Look I know others might not think so, but after watching my Sharks play so well then we had to watch our Boks against Arg in Mendoza play such dour rugby it was a HUGE letdown to be honest. Watch a brilliant off-loading game to a arm wrestle is just not fun. Just look at Arg playing now and even Samoa? They playing great rugby and the French are looking just awesome to watch. The ABs are in a class of their own right now and that is sad as I always want OUR Boks to be their greatest rival not the French or any other team. We can only be if we play TOTAL rugby. Need to keep what we doing now but we have to bring our backs more into the game we simplay can’t play this style for the next 4 years. By that time Portugal will be beating us…………..hahahaha. Overjoy

Okay now catch up tomorrow if I am not too busy.

Total 25 users including 0 member, 25 guests, 0 bot online