Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has been cited for allegedly making contact with a the eye of a Scotland player in the Test match played at Murrayfield on Saturday.

rugbyweek

Following this weekend’s round of Autumn International matches, two players have been cited by independent IRB Citing Commissioners.

The South African lock forward Etzebeth, was cited by Alan Mansell of England for contact with the eye(s) or eye area under Law 10.4 (m) on Scotland No 10, Greig Laidlaw, after 14 minutes of the second half of the match at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Juan Figallo, Argentina’s prop forward, was cited by Mike Rafter of England for striking with the head (Law 10.4 (a)) on French Captain Pascal Pape at the end of the first half of the match in Lille on Saturday.

Under IRB Regulation 17, hearings for both players will be held on Tuesday (Etzebeth) and Wednesday (Figallo) this week before independent IRB-appointed Judicial Officers.

177 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Eben Etzebeth cited for alleged eye-gouge

29 @ superBul:
    You know what I laugh at stupid statements like that, to be honest it is now bordering on childish. I have stood up for him BECAUSE he was left to ROT on the bench. Now I truly hope he is not selected to play this darn crap game plan that our clever Bok coach thinks every fh that he selects must play like Morne. He is WASTED playing that dribble. Let him play for Sharks only much better. He totally out played Morne at the tank only a few weeks back. Says enough for me.

Right now I am more worried that we won’t have JPP. Not worried about Eben he never done anything. Our clever coach has a scrummie playing wing this nh tour. Gave no other wing a chance. Now we just might need one of our wings to actually play a full 80min. None that he has can crash ball. So it will have to be Taute as he can and go all game long for the high ball as that is our boring game plan.

Ja hope not. Almost choked on my braai leftovers.

Delighted

Hiyas Puma!
    I left you a Lions’ clip and message on the Kirkpatrick thread.

Lambie and Goose will be at the next WC, probaly Pollard and Jantjes as well, barring injuries.
    Great young talents we have in SA, just manage them properly, as Stormersboy suggested.

See HM must be given time to get his game plan together etc, But dont dare give a player like lambie the chance to settle, hell no, they will come with all kinds of BS, Yet it is their love child HM thats trying to reinvent the wheel, or rugby perse.

Lambie is being forced to be a Morne mini me, a type of play whichhe is totally unacustomed to, at the same time lambie gets blamed for all these bad kicks, he i have now watched for the 4th time, and i fail to see where they can substanciate their claims of Lambie failing???

actually pretty pathetic really,
    I t seems lets run down Lambie and we will get Morne back is the agenda yet Morne was given years to stuff up, that was acceptable.

The words “Unhealthy obsession” springs to mind…

Gurthro now on his 3rd missed tackle too

ok 54.2 min is the alleged eye gouging, and like i said before totawl rubbish, he wraps his hand as he tackles around the guys face, laidlaw was ducking at the time, Eben immidiately then slides his hand down to around the chin area, theer was never enough time of his hand on the upper part of the face to be a gouge, SHOCKING SHOCKING CALL MY THE POMMIE PRICK

Puma there is no medicine for you, childish blaming the coach…. Fark i never fought for HM so far but i know my own principles, from the Keo days , a win is a win. If we beat the All Black five times in a row with zero tries scored i will gladly take it. Win is what its all about. So to hell with the Sharks game plan , it brought you zittz nada f ooll cups this year. Funny earlier this season , i will have to put the stats facts on the table to show my point, but earlier the Sharks supporters asked for JohnPlums blood. You gave him the gap, so please give HM the same.

The call against eben is of the worst i have ever seen,

I’m calling my mates in Essex, they know people……

This will not stand…..

Devil Devil Felon Censored

Super. the fact is not Puma blamming the coach for the Bok poor play, Its the fact that everyone is shifting the Blame onto lambie?? we accept the ugly win we accpetd the fact that many players had good and poor games, we accept that HM is Building for the future as he has claimed. how come Lambie is not afforded time and patience???

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

38 @ superBul:
    You amaze me sometimes, old friend…. you fight for what you believe in, no matter what… and THAT is a marvelous trait!

Nobody could ever accuse you of too much love for Heyneke since Snorrie left office, yet you stand strong today and come up for him… admirable…

I love this site, I love all the characters… marvelous stuff!

the fact is if wde accpet HM is rebuilding??

then lets be big enough and not have selectice memories, when it comes to certain players, accpet the whole team made mistakes and thus are not in unison as per HM;s style of play, unless you want to argue the fact that Lambie is playign very differently to what he normaly plays for the Sharks??

33 @ Pietman:
    Thanks Piet,

Enjoyed it. Much appreciated.

Would you be able to handle a comeback from Morne Steyn? Well every coach is given the rights to build his team, something i hate, i still believe in trails and a group of selectors. But with the rights HM has i can foresee a great comeback from Morne, and why not, you need n experienced Pivot, one who will do the things his coach wants and one guy that plays to the coaches game is Morne. Love it hate it thats what we will get.
    At the end it all about winning .
    If Heynecke wins the game vs England his record looks quite OK, no one can really complain, losing only 3 tests in his first 12 attempts i good enough.

Stand strong bro, 😆 you know they always blame the other players but their own,, I have sat here and like i said i am busy watching the game again, till now Jnadre missed 4 tackles, so again the stats dont tell the full story, hougaard dropped 2 passes to him, gurthro has missed 3 tackles,

Eben, imo, should specialise in #5, not 4.
    He is an athlete, not an enforcer (although everyone expects an Etzebeth in the Cape to be a ‘meanie’!!!)

This citing is bullshyte, and not good for the youngster’s confidence; refs will be out to get him a la Scalla and Bakkies.

I can understand you obviously dont read all posts,

I have stated before, IT WOULD BE CRAZY TO WRITE OFF MORNE STEYN, I believe he still has much to offer SA rugby, and you wont find posts where i am having a go at Morne all the time to get my player into the team

all Puma has asked for is that a Lambie for example be afforeded the same chances Morne was. simple really, yet after one match where the who,e team was poor in both games you okes have been screaming in here that lambie has failed.

If morne plays and plays well i have no problem,

35 @ Sharks_forever:
    Agree 110%. Not only us saying it go look on every rugby site. They ALL saying it. Enough said.

Just hope he does not come back to Sharks damaged with this useless game plan still stuck in his head. The problem is most these youngsters all of them, Pat, Elton and Goosen all want to play for the Boks and when they back with their franchise that is where they will want to show this idiot Bok coach that they can play this game, they will bring it to their franchise dammit. Just hope they not that brainwased. It is a useless game plan and hope that we never see the likes of it at the Tank EVER! Just look at the Samoans, French and Argies playing? They all of them off-loading and playing brilliant with their fowards and backs. With the Boks it is a forward game plan only it is them that have to play our backs are spectators mostly. Or instructed to kick kick kick and more kicking. Just see what Mallett had to say on Saturday? Well I would take what he says first before any blogger that is for sure.

NOW that better not play JPP if he has even just a niggle it could turn into something far worse. Right now the Sharks don’t need their best wing coming back injured because all he had to do on Saturday was also to crash ball all game or tackle tackle and more tackle. Eish!!! Terrible to watch our Boks right now.

Think I will give Bok rugby a miss for now. Will wait for Super Rugby far better watching the rugby there.

Cheers bro. Catch up another time.

presies Piet, pathetic Poms. EBEN IS NOT GUILTY

Flips yellow vard was justified,

@ grootblousmile
    (Net vinnig, ja, laptop is nuut, maar ek gebruik flash sticks op die ding vir my werk en so tel ek oral virusse op by ander universiteite en akademies wanneer ek inligting by hulle aflaai, vermoed ek. Moet gereeld re-format.)

ok i have witnessed 11 missed tackles.he stats say 7????

Gurthro 3, Brits 1, Jandre 4, Vermuelen 2, Jannie 1

48 @ Sharks_forever:
    Morne has been afforded 2 damn years, he has been useless for 2 YEARS! WE all know it was Victor and FdP making sure he played in the wc at fh last year. It has been widely said on every site. So he was given a chance then and now again. I rest my case. Others like Taute had 3 chances and a player like Elton a half a game. Lambie 2 games. Elton and Lambie playing a style of rugby they not used to as well. Both are better flyhalves than Morne if they were allowed to playe their own style. WE all saw Lambie out playing Morne hands down totally in the semi of this Currie Cup and he already had dome in it in 2010 in the semi of that Currie Cup.

I think these Bully Boys are still hurting because of it…………..whooohoooo That is the problem they don’t like Lambie, staging up their player……………. Overjoy Overjoy Okay now out of here.

52 @ Pietman:
    Jy gebruik duidelik dan nie die regte Antivirus Program nie, Pieta.

As jy die regte ene gebruik, stel jy hom sodat hy elke External Drive of Stick scan… die GROOT risiko van alle Universiteite, skole, colleges is hierdie oordrag van kak met stokkies en External Drives.

In plaas van gereeld Format, laai mens die masjien klaar en maak dan ‘n “Image” van die hele installasie (kloon met ander worrde die gelaaide masjien, voor hy kak optel). Gebeur daar dan iets, dan wipe mens die masjien en restore die kloon Image… en binne ‘n halfuur het jy jou vol masjien terug voor jou, mail adresse, wifi en al…

Hougaard has had a chance this whole year with Meyer playing him out of position. Some get countless chances others dropped straight up. Meyers favourites will get all the chances they need.

I simply am starting to care less and less about our Boks while they play under him.

Sharks_forever wrote:

all Puma has asked for is that a Lambie for example be afforeded the same chances Morne was.

You are dead right, i have not read all here , simply dont have the time anymore. But jus as much as you want to give Lambie time i feel that the right man is written off far to quick. There is a lot of rugby left in Morne. His game is great for HM, no one can fill that style so quickly.

@ Sharks_forever:y
    @50 If they are looking for citings post match, they need look no further than the Samoan game….

oh hell for sure,Piet shocking

Ek hoor jou, sal hierdie week beter anti-virus gaan soek by my ‘comp doc’.

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online