Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth has been cited for allegedly making contact with a the eye of a Scotland player in the Test match played at Murrayfield on Saturday.

rugbyweek

Following this weekend’s round of Autumn International matches, two players have been cited by independent IRB Citing Commissioners.

The South African lock forward Etzebeth, was cited by Alan Mansell of England for contact with the eye(s) or eye area under Law 10.4 (m) on Scotland No 10, Greig Laidlaw, after 14 minutes of the second half of the match at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Juan Figallo, Argentina’s prop forward, was cited by Mike Rafter of England for striking with the head (Law 10.4 (a)) on French Captain Pascal Pape at the end of the first half of the match in Lille on Saturday.

Under IRB Regulation 17, hearings for both players will be held on Tuesday (Etzebeth) and Wednesday (Figallo) this week before independent IRB-appointed Judicial Officers.

177 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Eben Etzebeth cited for alleged eye-gouge

1 2 3 6

O hel!

Hope it is’nt true!

I wonder of there’s footage. Didn’t see anything in the match.

It would be a big blow.

Okay just posted this on the JPP thread.

I never saw anything of the sort. If we lose Eben that is a MASSIVE MASSIVE MASSIVE BLOW. Also could have guessed it was a English Citing officer. BRING BACK BAKKIES MEYER. That is if Eben is cited. Bugger them this is unreal now. If we lose JPP as well we in the damn poo.

2 @ Stormersboy:
    For a late citing like this there must be some footage or a complaint by the Scotland team… or something to go on.

I just don’t believe it, we would have seen at least SOMETHING that looked like it, surely someone at the time would have seen, why did the player not complain? Surely he would have. I simply refuse to believe this until they can prove it.

If he did they he need to take the punishment. I just can’t believe he would do such a foolish thing.

Sorry meant = If he did then he needs to take the punishment.

See the ban for eye gouging is from 12 weeks to 24 weeks.

If Eben is found guilty… he’ll be a marked man amongst referees an citing commissioners… at age 21.

Sheisse.

@ grootblousmile: Ja. Not good at all.

Usually these things are about incidents that everyone know about, and yet no one seems to know what these guys are talking about. I really hope it’s much ado about nothing!

I hope this turns into nothing and it gets scrapped. Seriously the player would have complained on the field if anything of the sort happened. He said nothing, well nothing that I know of.

Remember Fransie was accused of eye couging during the world cup 2007, he was only 19 then, it was totally dropped as there was nothing he done wrong. This could just be dropped as well. For now let us hope it is just that, nothing. Eben is a huge player for us. If we lose him and JPP we in trouble I feel.

How come nothing was said on the field??

I mean the Ref would have pointed out nothing seen then issued a white card?? Amazing when ever we have to play england after a match against a previous UK team there are issues.

I am busy watching the match again to see if i see anything, they say 2nd half, ok so quite a way to go lol

Now this is why i seldom believe all the stats, 25.4 min played in the match and i just counted the 3rd tackle missed by Jandre

13 @ Sharks_forever:
    That is what I am saying as well. How come nothing was said from the player himself about this? Why not even speak up straight after? It takes this English citing officer this long to come up with this nonsense. Doubt it happened.

15 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip doubt anything happened, but keep counting the missed tackles by Jandre, think he missed more…. Distort Happy-Grin

15 @ Sharks_forever:

I feel the same don’t take too much notice of the stats.

😆 Puma, also noticeing whilst watching how many times Lambie is not the reciever from the breakdown , but a forward, eish

Also till now the Poor kicks have come from Ruan and Kirchner, how come LAmbie is blamed for this???

Our locks are always under the microscope, Bakkies, Flip, welcome Eben, you are in great company.
    The first off many i fear, a bloody farce man….

19 @ Sharks_forever:
    Lambie hardly ever received ball from the breakdown, it just about (with the Boks) always goes to a forward. Same in the Ireland game. Just watch the difference when he is back at the Sharks. Ruan too is starting to muck about there again, getting too slow.

Check how many tackles Lambie makes? AND he never misses any. They can say what they like about the youngster none get past him.

Ag dammit this is just spoiling my evening.

20 @ Sharks_forever:

I know… 🙄

21 @ superBul:
    Super,

I personally don’t think it happened. First thing a player would do if couged would complain ON THE FIELD right there. He never. Doubt much will come from it. Remember who is doing the citing?

Look if he did then he has to take the punishment. I just saw nothing.

54th min, Etzebeth hands on Laidlaws face, no gouging at all, it’s damn pathetic

23 @ Stormersboy:
    Relax boet, doubt anything will come of it.

26 @ Sharks_forever:
    See all this rubbish is coming from a English citing officer. Pathetic for sure.

Puma more worrying for me is your mad attraction to Pat, hell dammit old friend , you are heading for a big fall.he has this lovable face, a real mommas boy that everyone likes(sort off) but he is not clever enough. If he was he would do some intuitive great things, he is insecure and soft. I would gladly eat my words , but i dont see him as SA,s Saviour.

problem is they will find him guilty and give him a 2 week ban, its all pre planned, get him out of the weekends match

1 2 3 6

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online