Golden Lions prop JC Janse van Rensburg will fly to London on Tuesday evening to replace the injured CJ van der Linde in the Springbok squad.

rugby365

Van der Linde will return home to South Africa after picking up a hamstring injury at training on Monday.

Janse van Rensburg has enjoyed a great season, leading the Lions to the Currie Cup play-offs and showing some formidable form at scrum-time, so he will be a welcome addition as the Boks look to strengthen their scrum ahead of the clash with England this weekend.

“Seeing that Gurthrö Steenkamp was also not feeling 100% on Monday and after the late withdrawal of Tendai Mtawarira ahead of the Ireland Test, we’ve decided it would be best to have proper cover at loosehead,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“JC is an experienced player at Super Rugby and Currie Cup level and also captained the Golden Lions very well this year. He’s been knocking on the national door for long and this will provide an opportunity for JC to experience the Springbok culture and structures,” he added.

19 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Bokke call up JC Janse van Rensburg as replacement for injured CJ van der Linde

JC should have been on tour long, long before CJ van der Linde anyway, so in a sense natural justice has prevailed or been served.

Yip just posted about this on another thread.

Really pleased for him and I feel he should have been there before Heinke.

He should have been, think because CJ scrums on both sides got him a call up ahead of JC. Though JC should have been called up before Heinke I felt. Saying tha Heinke has played well, just like to see saffas that play their rugby here get rewarded first.

Very good call up for sure. Hope he is on the plane tonight.

Okay read he is flying out tomorrow night. Leaves little time to train with the Boks, still great news he will be there. Rate him.

3 @ Puma:
    Don’t think JC Janse van Rensburg will be used… the 4 Bokke Props should be Heinke van der Merwe & Jannie du Plessis (starting) and Gurthro & Pat Cilliers (on the bench)… but nonetheless, with Gurthro and Doc Jannie carrying niggles, you never know how it will pan out, and a fifth prop in the squad is essential!

5 @ grootblousmile:
    Guthro seems to have a injury of sorts, don’t think he was that great. I rate him, just don’t think in this game he played well. JC has been playing well for a long time now. Deserved this call up even before Heinke got a call up. Really pleased he is going. He must feel great right now.

6 @ Puma:
    I said above, both Gurthro & Doc Jannie are carrying niggles…

Heinke scrummed really well against Ireland, very strong there… I would start with him at loosehead.

donner bliksem dis die beste nuus wat ek vandag gehoor het,well done jc

Still now news on Eben. Just read this bit on Super Sport.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________Eben Etzebeth’s hearing for alleged foul play was due to start later on Tuesday, so the big lock was unable to train with the Boks at the Latymer School near White City.

The Boks are unable to comment on the Etzebeth situation because it is sub judice, but there is widespread confidence that the player will be cleared.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Think we have all been confident that Eben will be cleared, he done nothing wrong. That citing officer that got him cited should publicly apologise.

9 @ Puma:
    now = no

I was wondering how it was going

Eben has been cleared. Not guilty. Will play on Saturday.

Woop woop.

Knobbers

eish you okes are slow, I had a article up and put it up as the news came through, First one up 😆

Can remember Puma saying recently here that JC would be a good call for the Boks, hope if he is needed that he will be fresh enough although doubt he will play for long as he can’t be ‘match fit’ seeing as it would have been a while now since he last played. Think he may just come off the bench late in the game if at all, unless one of the starting props gets injured early on in the game. It looked to me like Gurthro was limping after he was subbed on Saturday and also had quite a serious look on his face. In terms of wanting to keep good relationship going with his French club may just be better to release him once JC arrives with the squad, no good keeping him away from his club team if he is carrying an injury and doesn’t play on Saturday anyway.

Congratulations young man.

Your unselfish dedication to your province, coupled with your excellent form make you a role model for aspiring young sportsmen.

I really hope you get to pull your National jersey over your head and get a run on the turf of Twickenham representing your country.

15 @ Scrumdown:
    Good post mate. I feel the same.

16 @ Puma:
    He and Derek Minnie are the only two Lions players that have publicly committed themselves to the Lions for the future. (That I am aware of)

JC feels that he needs to repay the Union for the opportunities they gave him when he was a nobody, and Minnie is just a Joburg Boytjie from the south (Forest Hill I think), who will probably want to stay there all his life.

Both JC and Minnie could, I’m sure, have strolled into most of the SA Super Rugby squads.

I guess laoyaly among the modern professional sportsmen is not really expected or given very often.

Still, enough said.

Ditto. Great team man. Loyal person.

Total 80 users including 0 member, 80 guests, 0 bot online